Mafia Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 618 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mafia brings the 1930's underworld to life in this 3rd person 3D action game. Rise from the lowly but well-dressed footsoldier to the envied and feared Made Man in an era of big bands, zoot suits and Model T's. Take on the role of a hitman, enforcer, getaway driver and more in your struggleMafia brings the 1930's underworld to life in this 3rd person 3D action game. Rise from the lowly but well-dressed footsoldier to the envied and feared Made Man in an era of big bands, zoot suits and Model T's. Take on the role of a hitman, enforcer, getaway driver and more in your struggle for respect, money and power within the Salieri Family. [Take 2] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Yet Mafia oozes class, polish, and style like no other game so far this year. To not "experience" Mafia is a far greater crime than any in the Salieri family ever committed.
  2. The question here is: why don't you own this game already? This is an excellent game.
  3. Outside of my complaint with the racing level and a few very minor issues, Mafia is a really immersive game. The story is very good, and the cutscenes and voice acting are of the highest caliber.
  4. For a superbly crafted single player experience you probably won’t find many to touch it, everything combines to create such a cinematic experience that you can’t help but find yourself completely encompassed into it.
  5. As cinematic games go, Mafia is in a league of its own.
  6. I really enjoyed the missions, and even though they could be tough, the movie-like atmosphere makes for a truly compelling gaming experience.
  7. The pacing seems a little off in this game, and to compound the issue, there's no in-mission save. [Dec 2002, p.120]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 89
  2. Negative: 13 out of 89
  1. ChrisP.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    Probably one of the best games I have played. I don't know why everyone is complaining with XP. I have Windows XP Service Pack 2 and itProbably one of the best games I have played. I don't know why everyone is complaining with XP. I have Windows XP Service Pack 2 and it works fine. Even though its been out for a long time, still worth getting it and playing it. Even after you beat the main game, there is still other parts of the game to finish before truly "beating" it.

    Definately a great game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This game was obviously ahead of its time. The atmopshere, the mission design, the story, the music, the setting... Everything seems to blendThis game was obviously ahead of its time. The atmopshere, the mission design, the story, the music, the setting... Everything seems to blend together. The game's weak part is the freeroaming aspect. Many people compare Mafia to GTA but it is really more common with The Getaway series, but even then, it is much different. BY FAR one of the best games I ever have played. Expand
  3. Anima
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    It's easy to see when game developers like to play themselves.... A game done with love and carefulness.. And as for makers of the It's easy to see when game developers like to play themselves.... A game done with love and carefulness.. And as for makers of the Driv3r... c'mon guys, are you kidding me? Have you tried to play it at all? I just love Mafia, can't wait for the sequel. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    El mejor juego de todos los tiempos....... su música, la jugabilidad y la libertad de bagar por la ciudad es realmente lo mejor, elEl mejor juego de todos los tiempos....... su música, la jugabilidad y la libertad de bagar por la ciudad es realmente lo mejor, el nivel visual para la época era sorprendente, aunque algunas cosas eran deficiente y falta mas para pulir pero en general es una obra de arte.. Expand
  5. UK_John
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    Given we have had Scarface and The Godfather games, who would have thought a fictional gangster game called Mafia could outdo them both and Given we have had Scarface and The Godfather games, who would have thought a fictional gangster game called Mafia could outdo them both and be the No.1 game to immerse you into the world of the 30;s and the life of a Mafiosi! Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    Sure, let's compare a game to GTA V when it has 11 years between them... And Mafia II the sequel, many years later. It's not the game'sSure, let's compare a game to GTA V when it has 11 years between them... And Mafia II the sequel, many years later. It's not the game's problem if you suck. "Doesn't tell you how to go..." This is not a COD fanboy game with GPS dude... 1930... "Racing Car thing very hard" No problem at all with that. Easiest mission in the game in my opinion. The fact that you are too young and "weak" to finish the game because it's much harder than the **** out now doesn't make the game bad. It makes you WEAK! So stop whining and finish it.. This game is very impressive. 2002... Expand
  7. Taffe
    Sep 20, 2002
    0
    This game suck....the racing suck......I give mafia away cause the racing sucks.

See all 89 User Reviews