User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 114
  2. Negative: 34 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2014
    8
    At first I was deeply disappointed by limitations of DotP - this was because I approached the game as a long-time Magic TCG player. But after some time I switched to perceive DotP as a computer game, and in such case the 2014 version is great - fantastic graphics and overall style, challenging, deep duel system based on rock solid MTG mechanics, plenty of modes and things to do. Very good,At first I was deeply disappointed by limitations of DotP - this was because I approached the game as a long-time Magic TCG player. But after some time I switched to perceive DotP as a computer game, and in such case the 2014 version is great - fantastic graphics and overall style, challenging, deep duel system based on rock solid MTG mechanics, plenty of modes and things to do. Very good, already went to Magic 2015 on Xbox, hope it will be at least as good! Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    A lot of the people who play 'real' Magic with cards were disappointed with this game.

    Fair enough. The game lacks several key dimensions of the card game, especially building your own decks. Others complain about the DLC. Also fair. It is far easier to pay to win than actually grind the card unlocks. So yes, the DLC is bad. However this is still a good magic game, and it is an
    A lot of the people who play 'real' Magic with cards were disappointed with this game.

    Fair enough. The game lacks several key dimensions of the card game, especially building your own decks.

    Others complain about the DLC. Also fair. It is far easier to pay to win than actually grind the card unlocks. So yes, the DLC is bad.

    However this is still a good magic game, and it is an excellent product as an introduction to the game for beginners or the curious. If you are a veteran magic player you may wish to avoid it. But if you are an outsider who wants to see how this famous game functions this is a good place to start. And of course the way around the high price of DLC is PATIENCE. Wait for the inevitable Steam sale.

    9/10 as a great demo for magic.

    Orctowngrot.
    Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    Sure, the new sealed deck section is a bit of a disapointment but the core game has been improved. A few annoyances have gone and the decks are far less... dull than before.
    The decks are fun and varied, nice combos and more balanced (many of the past edition decks were solidly rock/paper/Scissor style great against certain decks, but useless against many others the kind of deck you
    Sure, the new sealed deck section is a bit of a disapointment but the core game has been improved. A few annoyances have gone and the decks are far less... dull than before.
    The decks are fun and varied, nice combos and more balanced (many of the past edition decks were solidly rock/paper/Scissor style great against certain decks, but useless against many others the kind of deck you would never ever have a chance of winning a tournament with)
    Draw card milling decks of the last version are (thank god) gone.
    Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    Magic 2014 is a continuation of the Duels of the Planeswalkers series of Magic: the Gathering video games. You can play a number of pre-made decks against computer or human opponents, which unlocks more cards that use can use to tweak the decks.

    The big improvements to this version are the music, which is pretty good now, and the story, which reveals something about the greater MtG
    Magic 2014 is a continuation of the Duels of the Planeswalkers series of Magic: the Gathering video games. You can play a number of pre-made decks against computer or human opponents, which unlocks more cards that use can use to tweak the decks.

    The big improvements to this version are the music, which is pretty good now, and the story, which reveals something about the greater MtG storyline for a change. The graphics are nice as always, and the control is decent as always. The new decks are fun to play with, but most of them are very similar to decks in Duels 2013. New encounters make the single player campaign more interesting. Sadly, the challenges are much easier this time.

    A new addition this year is Sealed Deck mode. There's a huge caveat that they don't tell you, and it was almost a dealbreaker for me: you can only play Sealed twice. I mean, you can use your deck from Sealed as much as you want, but you only get two pools to make decks from. The rest will cost you $2 a piece. Unfortunately, I was done with Sealed very quickly, and it didn't add much to the game for me. At least it's better than Magic Online?

    If you're going to buy a Magic: the Gathering game, Magic 2014 is the bet one so far, and it still had tons of content for the $10 price. It's definitely worth getting, but don't buy any DLC for it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    this game is great, if you loved 2013 you will not be disappointed, many complain about the challenges but you do not buy the game for challenges.I think the decks more balanced than last year.overall the game is great especially it doesn't cost a lot of money. The online experience is great especially with friends. If your main reason to buy this game is for the sealed deck do not do sothis game is great, if you loved 2013 you will not be disappointed, many complain about the challenges but you do not buy the game for challenges.I think the decks more balanced than last year.overall the game is great especially it doesn't cost a lot of money. The online experience is great especially with friends. If your main reason to buy this game is for the sealed deck do not do so because its a little bit disappoint Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    I was a long time MTG player, who quit because the price of the hobby was simply too expensive. Drafting and Sealed were 2 of my favorite types back when I played MTG, so when I heard this would have sealed, I immediately pre-ordered

    At first I was fairly unhappy with what I considered false advertising with "unlimited sealed" play. The way it works is: you open 6 booster packs and they
    I was a long time MTG player, who quit because the price of the hobby was simply too expensive. Drafting and Sealed were 2 of my favorite types back when I played MTG, so when I heard this would have sealed, I immediately pre-ordered

    At first I was fairly unhappy with what I considered false advertising with "unlimited sealed" play. The way it works is: you open 6 booster packs and they give you unlimited basic land for you to make your sealed deck. Finishing the Sealed Campaign nets you another 3 sealed decks. From then on, that is your sealed deck, and you can play "unlimited" amounts of games with that deck.

    YOU DO NOT OPEN UP CARDS TO MAKE A DECK EACH NEW TIME YOU START A SEALED GAME.

    You do get 2 "Sealed" sets with the game (2 x 6 packs 2 x 9 packs when you beat the campaign twice). You cannot mix the cards between your sealed sets to create 1 ultimate pool of cards.

    Now then, I am actually finding this game very enjoyable.
    - I've probably played 20 hours online against other opponent's against their sealed decks, and it has brought me several very close and enjoyable games. Everyone I've played against has also been very nice and polite.
    - I did experience the game crashing twice when trying to invite my RL friends to play against them online, but it wasn't too bad, and we did get several games in after a reboot.
    - There is an option to buy more sealed slots beyond then 2nd for $2 each, or 5 for $9, and I ended up buying 7 extra slots simply because I'm having fun online and want to try making different decks

    - Now this year's preconstructed theme decks for the normal campaign are MUCH MUCH better and a lot more fun than 2013's (with the one exception of the monogreen starting deck). I definitely enjoyed going through the campaign more than the previous year's

    - Unfortunately, all the puzzle "challenges" this year are way too easy.
    - They've also removed the "Planes Chase" mode to FFA. Now it's just regular FFA.

    Overall, I've spent about $21 on the game, and I've had 30 hours of game play, and I expect around 50-60 hrs until I start to get bored.
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This game is a lot of fun to play, you get a lot of bang for the 10 bucks. Sealed mode works EXACTLY as it should, and here is why: The booster pack limit is there to ensure that games are balanced when playing multiplayer (and more challenging single player as well). I want to play a casual game of Magic online once or twice a week, and I would not appreciate to be beaten by 12 year oldThis game is a lot of fun to play, you get a lot of bang for the 10 bucks. Sealed mode works EXACTLY as it should, and here is why: The booster pack limit is there to ensure that games are balanced when playing multiplayer (and more challenging single player as well). I want to play a casual game of Magic online once or twice a week, and I would not appreciate to be beaten by 12 year old kids who can afford to sink hundreds of hours into the game to unlock a gazillion booster packs and beat me 100% with their über-decks. It is also ridiculous to ask for new boosters each time you beat an opponent in SP again. If you want a new deck for whatever reason, open a new slot, and get a new chance at your 9 booster packs, nobody forces you into microtransactions as was stupidly alleged here. Single player sealed deck is challenging but fun I have not played magic for 20 years, but had no issues finishing single player campaign with a win rate of about 40%. It is challenging but fun, just ignore the whiners and go for it, you won't regret! Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    I have played all of the Duels of the Planeswalkers games and put 100's of hours into them (I enjoy Magic but don't have the money to play the real game!). That being said, I think this one is the best yet. It's nicely polished, the decks are interesting, the presentation has been improved, and the introduction of sealed play is a welcome addition to the series. Unlike others I don't haveI have played all of the Duels of the Planeswalkers games and put 100's of hours into them (I enjoy Magic but don't have the money to play the real game!). That being said, I think this one is the best yet. It's nicely polished, the decks are interesting, the presentation has been improved, and the introduction of sealed play is a welcome addition to the series. Unlike others I don't have ridiculously high expectations, I don't expect there to be a full deck editor and I was aware of the limitations of sealed play before I bought the game. Seriously people, it's a $10 game! When you compare what you get here with what you'd get in physical Magic for $10 this game is an amazing deal. If you have enjoyed the other games in this series, or just want to give Magic a try in a casual way, you can't go wrong with this game. Expand
  9. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    GREAT PRICE-GREAT GAME.

    A amazing game for 9$ This game compares to other titles priced at 29-59$ All the dlc,s are optional and only unlock the items you get for playing? Do people really buy a game unlocked and not play it? Unlocking the decks, and cards is the best part. There is a new game mode, that is separate from the game itself, and you have a option to buy extra deck slots..
    GREAT PRICE-GREAT GAME.

    A amazing game for 9$ This game compares to other titles priced at 29-59$ All the dlc,s are optional and only unlock the items you get for playing? Do people really buy a game unlocked and not play it? Unlocking the decks, and cards is the best part. There is a new game mode, that is separate from the game itself, and you have a option to buy extra deck slots.. This game is 9$ and is a better value then most games at 59$ price point. But that goes to show you that trolls and morons and fanbois, Still wright negative reviews that have no TRUTH.

    PS. I never thought I would be into Magic, but im hooked. It also teaches you the ropes well for us beginners.
    Expand
  10. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    The game available on steam, Xbox 360, and ps3 known as Magic: The Gathering 2014 is absolutely amazing. It takes after the trading card game produced by Wizards of the Coast. Whether you are just learning how to play the game, or have already mastered it, this game tailors to your skill level. In this game, you are a planeswalker; traveling the multiverse and conquering otherThe game available on steam, Xbox 360, and ps3 known as Magic: The Gathering 2014 is absolutely amazing. It takes after the trading card game produced by Wizards of the Coast. Whether you are just learning how to play the game, or have already mastered it, this game tailors to your skill level. In this game, you are a planeswalker; traveling the multiverse and conquering other plansewalkers. Who you battle and defeat is up to you, it could be a computer for practice, a skilled live opponent or a rival friend. The goal of the game in campaign mode is to defeat all of the other computer controlled plansewalkers and scenarios. Whilst online, the ultimate goal is to beat the other player.

    Magic: the Gathering 2014 introduced a very interesting concept with this game as well, sealed deck mode. Sealed deck is where you start off with 6 booster packs. Inside each of these packs, is a random set of cards. You have to build your own deck, and compete against others to unlock more and more booster packs. The goal is to unlock all of them, and tailor your deck to perfection.

    The tutorials aren’t boring and frustrating long either, it puts you right into a duel and teaches what you need to do to survive and flourish. After dueling some of my friends, I’ve come to the conclusion that Magic: The Gathering 2014 has a very clean and well-presented interface; its simply beautiful.

    The graphics and audio were surprisingly good as well. The animation during combat damage, or when you zoomed in on a card was a pleasant surprise. The epic background music during duels helped orchestrate an immersive experience

    Synthesing, Magic: The Gathering 2014 is an awesome game. It is a great introduction into the wonderful world of trading card games.
    Expand
  11. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    Everything you could possibly want from a duel game. Though the very few bugs it has does ruin game-play sometimes. Sealed play is okay but kind of disappointing Still a solid game for people who are new to Magic
  12. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    The majority of reviews have been bulls***. Obviously not from magic fans. Well Magic will always be best played in real life with a real deck etc. However this game fills the area of wanting to play from home. For what it is, and for the price, it does it perfectly. Mainly focusing on the multiplayer, getting a couple of friends together for a match of free for all or two headed giant isThe majority of reviews have been bulls***. Obviously not from magic fans. Well Magic will always be best played in real life with a real deck etc. However this game fills the area of wanting to play from home. For what it is, and for the price, it does it perfectly. Mainly focusing on the multiplayer, getting a couple of friends together for a match of free for all or two headed giant is so much fun! Also hopping into the multiplayer on your own is a breeze because I find the community so friendly and mature (when not over free weekends etc), they chat to you through team chat and I have even made some friends over it. Magic is challenging; no doubt about it. Put the time in and you'll do well. People complain about "OP" decks, all you have to do is look on the forums and there is a thread for just about every deck saying it is OP. When in reality you can easily counter each deck. For a game that is only £6 ($10 roughly) and only £1.74 on sale, it is so worth it. Pick up a few copies on sale and play with friends! Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    70
    If you enjoyed the 2014 version of the popular card game, then you have no reason not to play the expansion pack released in late September.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    The new version of Magic manages to capture the essence of its analogue original. Fast paced battles with plenty of room for strategy and modifications of your deck. Too bad it is not as mechanically deep or varied to work as a full-blown substitute. Still strongly recommended for beginners.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2013
    80
    The addition of Sealed Deck mode makes this the best Duels yet, but the requirement of microtransactions for deck slots leaves a rather sour taste. [Sept 2013, p.78]