Magic: Duels of the Planeswalkers 2014 Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available on the Android platform for the first time ever in addition to iPad, Xbox LIVE Arcade, Steam and PlayStation Network, Magic 2014 - Duels of the Planeswalkers will offer players exciting new features as they partner with Planeswalker Chandra Nalaar to track down a manipulative andAvailable on the Android platform for the first time ever in addition to iPad, Xbox LIVE Arcade, Steam and PlayStation Network, Magic 2014 - Duels of the Planeswalkers will offer players exciting new features as they partner with Planeswalker Chandra Nalaar to track down a manipulative and dangerous Planeswalker foe. An immersive storyline and strong integration with the Magic 2014 - Core Set ties the experience together for players, culminating in an end-of-summer Magic Celebration that brings all Magic fans together in stores across the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    90
    Duels 2014 has everything you've ever wanted from a Duels game. The Sealed Play option takes this version to a whole new level, and will make it exceedingly difficult for Stainless to one-up itself again.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    80
    Fans will like the new modes and the inclusion of Silver creatures, and newcomers shouldn’t feel scared of joining the fun, as Magic 2014 is once again another successful attempt at digitally recreating the intricate card game and breaking it down to easy, understandable fun.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    80
    The addition of Sealed Deck mode makes this the best Duels yet, but the requirement of microtransactions for deck slots leaves a rather sour taste. [Sept 2013, p.78]
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    79
    Magic 2014 is still well worth its modest ten dollar price tag, but players looking to jump into a duel for the first time would be better served by the better-rounded 2012 and 2013 versions of the series, even if their art doesn’t move.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    75
    Another incremental upgrade, Magic 2014 is still just the bastard child of Magic Online and the physical card game.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    75
    Stainless Games creates another solid adaptation of Magic: The Gathering, but plays it safe by delivering a product that does little to improve on last year's game. It's the FIFA of collectible card games.
  7. Half excellent adaptation of a classic game, half hamfisted promotional product, Magic 2014 is as notable as much for what it purposefully leaves on the table versus what it achieves.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 39
  2. Negative: 19 out of 39
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    I have played all of the Duels of the Planeswalkers games and put 100's of hours into them (I enjoy Magic but don't have the money to play theI have played all of the Duels of the Planeswalkers games and put 100's of hours into them (I enjoy Magic but don't have the money to play the real game!). That being said, I think this one is the best yet. It's nicely polished, the decks are interesting, the presentation has been improved, and the introduction of sealed play is a welcome addition to the series. Unlike others I don't have ridiculously high expectations, I don't expect there to be a full deck editor and I was aware of the limitations of sealed play before I bought the game. Seriously people, it's a $10 game! When you compare what you get here with what you'd get in physical Magic for $10 this game is an amazing deal. If you have enjoyed the other games in this series, or just want to give Magic a try in a casual way, you can't go wrong with this game. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    A lot of the people who play 'real' Magic with cards were disappointed with this game.

    Fair enough. The game lacks several key dimensions
    A lot of the people who play 'real' Magic with cards were disappointed with this game.

    Fair enough. The game lacks several key dimensions of the card game, especially building your own decks.

    Others complain about the DLC. Also fair. It is far easier to pay to win than actually grind the card unlocks. So yes, the DLC is bad.

    However this is still a good magic game, and it is an excellent product as an introduction to the game for beginners or the curious. If you are a veteran magic player you may wish to avoid it. But if you are an outsider who wants to see how this famous game functions this is a good place to start. And of course the way around the high price of DLC is PATIENCE. Wait for the inevitable Steam sale.

    9/10 as a great demo for magic.

    Orctowngrot.
    Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    GREAT PRICE-GREAT GAME.

    A amazing game for 9$ This game compares to other titles priced at 29-59$ All the dlc,s are optional and only
    GREAT PRICE-GREAT GAME.

    A amazing game for 9$ This game compares to other titles priced at 29-59$ All the dlc,s are optional and only unlock the items you get for playing? Do people really buy a game unlocked and not play it? Unlocking the decks, and cards is the best part. There is a new game mode, that is separate from the game itself, and you have a option to buy extra deck slots.. This game is 9$ and is a better value then most games at 59$ price point. But that goes to show you that trolls and morons and fanbois, Still wright negative reviews that have no TRUTH.

    PS. I never thought I would be into Magic, but im hooked. It also teaches you the ropes well for us beginners.
    Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    5
    I've bought all the DotP series and its DLCs. However this is the only time I've been disappointed. The interface is horrible. Card looksI've bought all the DotP series and its DLCs. However this is the only time I've been disappointed. The interface is horrible. Card looks better which is good. The decks play same old same old. I think they're holding back the creative ones for DLCs and left us with only the basic sets. Sealed deck play is a big disappointment. Maybe I'm just too bored of the whole DotP series. It feels average at best. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    3
    Very disappointing.

    1. The pre-made decks are terrible and they allow very little flexibility to change them. 2. The timer system is
    Very disappointing.

    1. The pre-made decks are terrible and they allow very little flexibility to change them.
    2. The timer system is awful, too. First time I've ever needed to use reflexes to play magic.
    3. The default settings prevent you from targeting your own creatures with certain spells. Why? Who knows!
    4. The in-game purchases are outrageous. They want real money just to use a full versions of their crap pre-made decks.
    5. On top of all of this, the computer cheats. It appears to be programmed to get near perfect hands. After around 50 games, I've never seen it get stuck with less than 5 land (or the wrong type of land, even against decks with 3+ colors), and it has a near-perfect mana curve every single time.
    Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    2
    This game is a joke. I bought it for sealed deck mode, and it's probably the worst thing I've ever seen in a game for years. After 1 hour andThis game is a joke. I bought it for sealed deck mode, and it's probably the worst thing I've ever seen in a game for years. After 1 hour and 2 sealed played, you're forced into microtransactions to unlock deck slots. You can't play sealed deck mode as long as you want unless you keep playing with the 2 same decks. If you want more, you have to pay for a game you just bought 2 hours ago. You won't face other sealed decks in the campaign, but mono colors constructed decks. The challenges are useless, done in 45 minutes. It's just about casting one or two good spells among 5, and it's over. The solo campaign is simply a repetitive succession of games. I like the fact that you can unlock cards and new decks, but deck customization is still crap. You probably can have some fun with friends in multiplayer, but the frustration could make you stop the game before. Collapse
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    Waste of time slow ass game with boring mechanic blank board, there are better games like Spectromancer for me has better music and strategyWaste of time slow ass game with boring mechanic blank board, there are better games like Spectromancer for me has better music and strategy combat. Also seem to be bad optimized for PC . Expand

See all 39 User Reviews