User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 547 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 547

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2011
    10
    Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with numerous easter eggs. Fun and extremely challenging ( but still possible) single player action packed game play, even better when played with up to 4 friends. A virtual "Hack n Slash" but with spells and "Magicks", the combination of 8 different "elements" which all can create different unique spells by certain combinations add to the fun. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    Once you get into the feel, or spirit, of the game, things start to make a lot of sense, and the fun begins. There are plenty of places to die within a second or two if you're not on the ball, and it forces you to keep trying to innovate a solution. With all the spell combinations, there always is one.

    But as the single-player goes on, there are some pretty annoying things: 1) long
    stretches where you don't get a save-game and have to replay a 10-minute sequence if you die; 2) ways to die that are not quite bugs, but just pure silliness; 3) you have to complete a level, or start from scratch. During one of the later chapters, it's just too easy to get thrown off the ledges and die, and you have to keep going and going, or start from the beginning - it becomes quite tiresome.

    Still, overall, a good bit of fun, and the multiplayer is as good as the single.
    Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    Magicka is an internet meme and pop culture simulator which conveniently features the most creative and captivating casting system ever known to man, much less gaming history. The otherwise simple game-play is enhanced tenfold by the aforementioned ingenuity, leading to some sort of paradoxical linear sandbox, littered with endless experimentation and Python-esque humour (plus plenty of references, too!)

    Magicka suffers but one fatal flaw, that being the game is utterly broken. A myriad of glitches, bugs, and technical issues plague this particular piece of software like a swarm of hungry locust descending upon some unsuspecting peasant village during harvest season. Never-the-less, with developers working rigorously to patch their faulty product, and a paltry $10 price tag, it's difficult not to recommend.
    Expand
  4. May 1, 2011
    9
    Awesome value for the price!! I've only played single player so far, but the experience has been one of the most humorous and most challenging games I've played lately. Pop culture references and jokes abound. The magick system is extremely innovative, with thousands of different spell combos at your disposal. I'm guessing 4 player co-op makes this game even more entertaining as you stab your buddies in the back and (hopefully) kill some monsters. Only thing holding it back is the difficulty of single player. This is NOT for the faint of heart! Expand
  5. Zri
    Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Magicka is just plain fantastic. From the derpaderp speech of the characters, to the level and enemy design, to the just brilliant spell system. As soon as you get outside the tutorial, you run into a woman with a big gold exclamation mark over her head in good old RPG fashion, asking you to kill rats in her basement or something like that. You know you're on a winner when she gets attacked by goblins and the quest marker falls off onto the ground and you get down to some good old blowin' stuff up instead.

    Best things about Magicka? No mana. Limited inventory (you can pick up a staff and carry a 'melee' item). No quests apart from killing the next thing in front of you. GREAT spell system, where you have 8 different elementals, each bound to a key, and you can combine them in any way you want to create spells, some of which just combine effects, some of which form unique Magicks.

    Worst thing about Magicka is that the engine doesn't always perform as well as it could. That's all there is. It's a very hard game in places, but people, there's absolute simplicity in the rest of the game so you can focus on STRATEGY. Everything is quite straightforward once you figure out what the enemy's weaknesses are, and that's half the fun. (The other half of the fun is blowing up goblins in new and exciting ways.)

    Summary: buy this game. Now.
    Expand
  6. Feb 10, 2011
    6
    Great idea, the magic mechanic is awesome, but overall an incredibly flawed game. You'll find yourself getting physically pinned with no hope of exit numerous times. Having a health bar that is indistinguishable from the health bar of an enemy is inexcusable. The lack of an inventory means you just pick up new things all the time, and removes any interest you would have in customizing the character.

    Dying takes 10 seconds every time, as you wait for the slow faded word "defeated" to fade up on the screen, which is unskippable. The best part? Being frozen makes this process take LONGER. You have to wait longer to respawn if you died while frozen, as the whole game slows down.

    Overall, mixing spells is an incredibly cool idea, but wait until Diablo III comes out, where you'll get that on top of an actually playable game.
    Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    This game lost it's 10 on the numerous bugs/crashes. But since the developers are really trying to fix this and the game becomes better with every update I will put this aside for now.

    The game sports a good multiplayer function which ensues in hilarious chaos when played with enough friends, it is simply impossible to stay alive. This may seem like a nuisance but it causes a lot of
    laughter when one of your friends accidentally blows you away and is forced to once again revive you.

    The controls start out to be quite clumsy, but every mildly experienced gamer will pick them up within 1 hour of play at most.

    Lastly, the many references to all our favorite geek movies, games, series gave me an extra impulse to keep playing.

    All in all a very enjoyable game that is definitely worth the 10$ they are asking for it.
    Expand
  8. Feb 17, 2011
    3
    This game has a great concept, and it's generally pretty well executed. However, the sheer number of bugs, glitches, and hair-pullingly annoying problems drive it to the point of near-total unplayability. IF the developers fix the many, many issues with the game, it will receive my hearty recommendation. For now, do not buy under any circumstances.
  9. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    It's a very good game so far.. though I hope I can play multiplayer when buying the 10 euro version. though perhaps the 4 player version is just for 4 players and u can play 3 player before that..


    Speaking of the humor and for a swede (or possibly a norweigan) it's funny as they use a fake swedish language mixed with english like the swedish chef sounds but with reals swedes actually
    making it so you can make out that the mumbo jumbo actually means something else in Swedish.. it's great I love it.. Expand
  10. Feb 7, 2011
    9
    I can't give it a 10, because the bugs are certainly not negligible. However, developers seem to be conscientious about fixing their mistakes, so if bugs are an issue, just wait a few weeks. Once you get over that hump, I think we have a sleeping classic. Single player is wonderful, and is perhaps the only combat game where I feel not just clever, but creative. Exploration of spells is a joy, and every new discovery feels like a game changer, yet it still manages remarkable balance. Multiplayer is a wonderfully chaotic affair chalk full of mistaken explosions, accidental earth-shattering combos, and general mischief and mayhem surround a deceptively deep game. In all the insanity, dying a gruesome death can actually be MORE entertaining then the killing. Getting used to the controls takes a little effort, but once you are, you get a real sense of concocting spells, as opposed to merely pressing a button. Tie this together with a thin story with just enough to keep the action moving, and some light humor elements, and you have one of the best 10 bucks you have ever spent. The only other complaint I could possibly have is that it needs to be longer, but I have yet to jump into the challenge mode. Long and the short of it? Buy this game now so you can say you did before it became a classic, must-have title. Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2011
    4
    This game seems like it could be a lot of fun, but it's destroyed by terrible technical execution. If you're buying this it's basically a gamble if it will run properly on your system. You might try the demo, but often demos are not technically exactly like the game, so I don't know if the demo running ok would guarantee the game running alright. Personally I just upgraded my system, have an i5 2500K with 8 GB ram freshly installed windows 7 with all newest drivers and with a 5770 videocard. Framerates at native 1920x1200 started out at 40, then tried to lower the res to 1680x1050, framerate went down to 30?! (all in the same starting classroom where nothing happens)... restarted the game, still at 30, go back to 1920x1200, now the framerate hops up and down between 40 and 12 (the game forces vsync on which is why the framerates are so exact). Before I upgraded my system I tried this game and had similar problems but I did get it to be somewhat stable at 30-40 fps, which should be playable although I would still resent the game for giving me suboptimal framerates on a fast system while it's really not doing anything taxing graphics wise, not even close, but despite framerates staying ok the game would stutter randomly. Now, maybe for some people they can look past this, or maybe other people just don't have these problems, but for me it just kills any enjoyment which is a shame because the start of the game at least promises a challenging and very funny experience (although that speech from Vlad gets REALLY boring after hearing it 20 times, that's right, you can't save within a level and if you try to change graphics settings while in game it just goes to hell so you have to restart every time and listen to the intro EVERY TIME you want to check if your changes fixed anything... ARGH!!). I'm just going to let this game lay in my steam list for half a year or so and then come back and see if they fixed it yet. Since the game has been out for like half a year already though, I'm not holding my breath. Oh, and no, switching to windowed does nothing for me, it stays crap despite having pretty damn awesome hardware. Expand
  12. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    The best $10 and 10 hours I've spent this year. Awesome gameplay that focuses on combining magic elements in various ways. Humorous plot and characters. CO-OP(omg). This game rules in so many ways.
  13. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Awesome game on 4 player coop, though I imagine it would be relatively boring and extremely difficult if you're going solo. It's still riddled with bugs and they really need to implement the possibility to join the game anywhere, not just at the start of a new level. Has great re-play value. It's supposed to be humorous (especially if you're a Swede - there's a lot of voice acting in some make-believe-Swedish-type-language, which is really funny) - but - I didn't even notice most of the story, but this is not a negative. Super-fun in coop! Expand
  14. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    I'm not going to explain why I gave this game a 10. Go watch the trailer. Then go download the demo on steam. If you're super excited to buy the game at this point, you're not alone.

    Best $10 ever.
  15. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    After a dozen patches, this game feels like a full-fledged product. The innovative magic-mechanic may not give you "thousands of combinations" bit it gives quite a few to play around with. The gameplay wouldn't be as rewarding if it weren't for the humor attached to a lot of scenes/spells. Also, 13 levels (story chapters) might seem like a low number, but they are quite satisfying. Keep in mind that its a 10$ (or less) game. You wont regret buying it. It has more content than you pay for. Expand
  16. Feb 17, 2011
    2
    With its bad control to its bad graphics, this game should have been canceled, it also tries to be funny, only a simple mind would find this dry game funny, its casting system that people brag about will make you want to break your keyboard, in the end this game is bad, if you got a old computer from the 90s, then grab this junk, but at the $10 asking price i would pass, there are great Indie game out there, and this is not it Expand
  17. Apr 20, 2011
    2
    A very clever concept completely destroyed by releasing in what resembled a beta form of the game. Developers shouldn't be allowed to get away with garbage like this. The game was completely unplayable for a week after the release for myself and four of my friends who got it with me. The game crashed regularly and to this day still appears to run choppy despite a steady 60fps running on my 3.7Ghz Phenom II x4 and 6970 (this issue is known by the developers and still isn't fixed months after its release). I truly regret getting this game. Developers, please play test your games. Don't use your consumers as beta testers, you'll end up losing income in the long run. I won't get another game from Paradox. Expand
  18. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    This is one of those games that are bugged to hell but still highly enjoyable. The developers seem to be working around the clock patching and fixing this so I won't give it too hard of a time over that. great game, def worth $10.
  19. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    The game has a new concept and it also have good gameplay, the only problem is that the system requirements are too steep, even for a top-down kind of graphics game. So, before you buy it, be sure to play the demo first and see if it plays alright. The humour is alright, nothing too lame or anything and it sometimes does make you drop a chuckle or two, but it's far from having great humour. So, I'd like to say that this game is worth the $10 price tag. Expand
  20. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    THIS REVIEWS TAKES INTO CONSIDERATION POST-RELEASE CHANGES TO THE GAME. I think an important thing to keep in mind is that many of the reviews here, both critic and user, were written when the game was released with glaring launch bugs and issues. And while that's hardly something they can be blamed for judging the game by, these issues have long since been ironed out at this point in time. What does this leave us with? It leaves us with an indie game whose main gameplay feature of combining various spell elements is highly innovative and whose multiplayer is absolutely hilarious. However, let it be noted that it is very much a multiplayer-centric title; while singleplayer is available, you quickly learn that death comes easily in this game, and you soon find yourself spamming the same 2-3 spell combinations throughout the vast majority of the game in order to simply survive. In a recent patch they have attempted to alleviate this problem somewhat with the introduction of the Fairy, which will revive you once, should you fall, and is recharged at every checkpoint, however the core of the issue still remains; the game is balanced for multiplayer. The campaign itself is somewhat short and linear, but compensates for it with plenty of humour and numerous easter eggs to be discovered. If you have 1-3 friends with an interest in a game like this, it's a blast and easily worth the full price. If you're going for the singleplayer experience, you might want to wait for a sale before purchasing it. Collapse
  21. Mar 19, 2011
    7
    Magica achieves something rather different in the gaming world. It's the only game I have ever come across that can be described as a 'glorious failure'. It's awesomely fun and amazingly broken. It seems so silly to be critical of a game that gives you so much for ten measly dollars. I had more fun with this game in a few minutes than I did with something like Dragon Age in 20 hours and at four times the price. The great news about this game is that it's innovate, creative, and there is nothing else out there like it on the PC. The sad news about this game is that it doesn't actually have an identity. It's best described as what happened when someone mixed an RPG fantasy setting with platform mechanics. Yes, the game remains horribly broken from a technical point of view. But the real problem with the game is that it doesn't mix the single player mode and the multi-player mode well, at all. It simply lacks any type of game play balance. It's either super duper easy or preposterously hard. Balance is always a challenge in any type of RPG MMO. And I cannot help but think that one of the reasons this game is so broken is because the developers bit off more than they could chew. If they had just focused on making a single player game this game might have been hailed as revolutionary. The same way if they had made what was essentially a multi-player game only. But as it stands it's just a mess. The thing is though that it remains a hilarious, fun, and enticing mess. I struggle on how to rate this game because a 3 (execution), a 6 (design), and a 10 (value) all seem reasonable depending on how one looks at it. Expand
  22. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Crazy fun-filled spectaular game has me mesmerised from start to finish. I dont think I've ever panicked so much whilst playing a game, nor had as much fun. And the opportunities for friendly fire in co-op are pretty much unbeatable I reckon. Love it. And it's cheap as chips! Great value for money.
  23. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Cool game! When you are player in this game, you feeling "funny" and some "rage"
    Must buy!
  24. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    The game had a VERY rocky start. I bought the game when it was first released and it had a lot of glitches and bugs (crashes, black screens, etc). But after a year, they've REALLY fleshed out the game and fixed the bugs. I love the references to media culture. It makes the game a laugh a minute. The game isn't about button mashing, so people who couldn't get into the game because of that need to learn to actually play a game. The game gives you a lot of different combinations of spells that drastically affect how the spell works and what it does. Mixing in the fact that you can have 4 people playing together AND their spells can combine to make different outcomes with higher levels of destruction make the game very replayable. That brings me to the reason why people probably won't like the game as much when playing co-op, it requires TEAM WORK. Friendly fire is on (which is good, because otherwise the game would allow you spam spells and not worry about hurting your team mate...meaning you could walk through the game). But thanks to the addition to different robes, you can form strategies between your team mates that make you need to think about what you're doing (which means no button mashing noobs). The game is solid and the plot is silly but fun. Play this game and keep your eyes peeled for easter eggs and references to everything from star trek to monty python. Expand
  25. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    The only game with magic that I liked SO much.
    Phenomenal mechanics and more than a thousand combinations of spells.
    But game fully reveals its potential only in co-op. In the company of three friends enemies' genocide becomes maximum chaotic.
    And don't look on bugs, they are not so critical, many of them may be avoided. Developers works hard and release updates every week.
  26. Jun 9, 2011
    6
    Absolute hunk of crap. They released this game when it was ridden with bugs, no PVP of any sort, getting into a match is absolutely impossible, they are constantly putting new DLC on the market, yet I've failed to see them fixing bugs that NEED to be fixed.

    Good concept, bad execution. Perfect example of what not to do with a game.
  27. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    A nice try, but doesn't quite do it. I'd complain more if it were $60, but for $10 it isn't terrible. However, that's not to say that it is good either. The controls are terrible, and the number of bugs makes me want to vomit. This game could have been great, and I hope people who make games can learn from this one, but alas, with all my hope and openness, it just didn't work out.
  28. Jun 28, 2011
    6
    After the first hour of the game, you'll be thinking that this game resembles Diablo, but not quite. The graphics are definitely not the best, or the better ones, for this era, but the game play is unique and innovative. You'll need to use your left hand (only the left) to come up with spell combination, and your right to cast, move around or to poke the monsters with whatever weapon you are holding on to. It feels like the time when you've first learnt how to type, trying to go as fast and as furious as you can with your fingers. Simply put, you'll think that it's cool. However, after 5 hours of gameplay, you'll think otherwise. Ever heard of the nintendo thumbs? This is much worse than that. 5 hours of left-hand-spell-spamming, your hand will ache so muc h that you won't be able to play your piano or guitar for one whole week. Worse still, it's the same thing from the start to the end. All you really need is a few spells and you can clear all 12 chapters within 3 to 4 hours solo. It's repetitive, and worse still, its buggy. For 10 bucks, it seems fine, but definitely not a contender for something that's worth more than a day of your time. Expand
  29. May 14, 2012
    8
    If you're like me and you bought magicka on launch, I don't blame you for hating magicka. The launch was probably one of the worst for recent games, with it being unplayable for about a week or two. If you bought the game after this or had patience in it like me then you will find the game a very rewarding and unique experience. The skill cap is high while the game is easy to pick up. Magicka is a great game to paly with friends as well, weather you are pvping, doing the campaign or doing the survival modes. The amount of crappy DLC that was released for it at a high price was pretty damn disappointing unless you bought it all on sale (good chance you would have seen it was on sale a lot). Overall Magicka is a great game definately worth buying at this time, it was just a shame that some of its reputation was ruined due to the buggy launch and overpriced dlc with little free content. Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Best "gauntlet" type game ever made. Magicka is fun,addictive,innovative and cheap. It cost mere 10 Euros or Dollars. Buy this game! Thats an order!
  31. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    THIS REVIEWS TAKES INTO CONSIDERATION POST-RELEASE CHANGES TO THE GAME. I think an important thing to keep in mind is that many of the reviews here, both critic and user, were written when the game was released with glaring launch bugs and issues. And while that's hardly something they can be blamed for judging the game by, these issues have long since been ironed out at this point in time. What does this leave us with? It leaves us with an indie game whose main gameplay feature of combining various spell elements is highly innovative and whose multiplayer is absolutely hilarious. However, let it be noted that it is very much a multiplayer-centric title; while singleplayer is available, you quickly learn that death comes easily in this game, and you soon find yourself spamming the same 2-3 spell combinations throughout the vast majority of the game in order to simply survive. In a recent patch they have attempted to alleviate this problem somewhat with the introduction of the Fairy, which will revive you once, should you fall, and is recharged at every checkpoint, however the core of the issue still remains; the game is balanced for multiplayer. The campaign itself is somewhat short and linear, but compensates for it with plenty of humour and numerous easter eggs to be discovered. If you have 1-3 friends with an interest in a game like this, it's a blast and easily worth the full price. If you're going for the singleplayer experience, you might want to wait for a sale before purchasing it. Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. May 6, 2011
    90
    The rich, luscious colors somehow make the world a lot more believable than games like Crysis 2 could ever be.
  2. May 6, 2011
    80
    Magicka is a game that works especially well in cooperation. Single player experience is a good one but this game shows its true potential only when you play with friends, allowing for some great fun. A patched-up Magicka is most certainly worth getting to know. Even more, because it is a solid candidate for 2011's best game in its category.
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    A game that glorifies the use of fireballs and land mines. #WIN.