User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 510

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2011
    10
    Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with numerous easter eggs. Fun and extremely challenging ( but still possible) single player action packed game play, even better when played with up to 4 friends. A virtual "Hack n Slash" but with spells and "Magicks", the combination of 8 different "elements" which all can create different unique spells by certain combinations add to the fun. Expand
  2. May 1, 2011
    9
    Awesome value for the price!! I've only played single player so far, but the experience has been one of the most humorous and most challenging games I've played lately. Pop culture references and jokes abound. The magick system is extremely innovative, with thousands of different spell combos at your disposal. I'm guessing 4 player co-op makes this game even more entertaining as you stab your buddies in the back and (hopefully) kill some monsters. Only thing holding it back is the difficulty of single player. This is NOT for the faint of heart! Expand
  3. Zri
    Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Magicka is just plain fantastic. From the derpaderp speech of the characters, to the level and enemy design, to the just brilliant spell system. As soon as you get outside the tutorial, you run into a woman with a big gold exclamation mark over her head in good old RPG fashion, asking you to kill rats in her basement or something like that. You know you're on a winner when she gets attacked by goblins and the quest marker falls off onto the ground and you get down to some good old blowin' stuff up instead.

    Best things about Magicka? No mana. Limited inventory (you can pick up a staff and carry a 'melee' item). No quests apart from killing the next thing in front of you. GREAT spell system, where you have 8 different elementals, each bound to a key, and you can combine them in any way you want to create spells, some of which just combine effects, some of which form unique Magicks.

    Worst thing about Magicka is that the engine doesn't always perform as well as it could. That's all there is. It's a very hard game in places, but people, there's absolute simplicity in the rest of the game so you can focus on STRATEGY. Everything is quite straightforward once you figure out what the enemy's weaknesses are, and that's half the fun. (The other half of the fun is blowing up goblins in new and exciting ways.)

    Summary: buy this game. Now.
    Collapse
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    This game lost it's 10 on the numerous bugs/crashes. But since the developers are really trying to fix this and the game becomes better with every update I will put this aside for now.

    The game sports a good multiplayer function which ensues in hilarious chaos when played with enough friends, it is simply impossible to stay alive. This may seem like a nuisance but it causes a lot of
    laughter when one of your friends accidentally blows you away and is forced to once again revive you.

    The controls start out to be quite clumsy, but every mildly experienced gamer will pick them up within 1 hour of play at most.

    Lastly, the many references to all our favorite geek movies, games, series gave me an extra impulse to keep playing.

    All in all a very enjoyable game that is definitely worth the 10$ they are asking for it.
    Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    It's a very good game so far.. though I hope I can play multiplayer when buying the 10 euro version. though perhaps the 4 player version is just for 4 players and u can play 3 player before that..


    Speaking of the humor and for a swede (or possibly a norweigan) it's funny as they use a fake swedish language mixed with english like the swedish chef sounds but with reals swedes actually
    making it so you can make out that the mumbo jumbo actually means something else in Swedish.. it's great I love it.. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2011
    9
    I can't give it a 10, because the bugs are certainly not negligible. However, developers seem to be conscientious about fixing their mistakes, so if bugs are an issue, just wait a few weeks. Once you get over that hump, I think we have a sleeping classic. Single player is wonderful, and is perhaps the only combat game where I feel not just clever, but creative. Exploration of spells is a joy, and every new discovery feels like a game changer, yet it still manages remarkable balance. Multiplayer is a wonderfully chaotic affair chalk full of mistaken explosions, accidental earth-shattering combos, and general mischief and mayhem surround a deceptively deep game. In all the insanity, dying a gruesome death can actually be MORE entertaining then the killing. Getting used to the controls takes a little effort, but once you are, you get a real sense of concocting spells, as opposed to merely pressing a button. Tie this together with a thin story with just enough to keep the action moving, and some light humor elements, and you have one of the best 10 bucks you have ever spent. The only other complaint I could possibly have is that it needs to be longer, but I have yet to jump into the challenge mode. Long and the short of it? Buy this game now so you can say you did before it became a classic, must-have title. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    The best $10 and 10 hours I've spent this year. Awesome gameplay that focuses on combining magic elements in various ways. Humorous plot and characters. CO-OP(omg). This game rules in so many ways.
  8. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Awesome game on 4 player coop, though I imagine it would be relatively boring and extremely difficult if you're going solo. It's still riddled with bugs and they really need to implement the possibility to join the game anywhere, not just at the start of a new level. Has great re-play value. It's supposed to be humorous (especially if you're a Swede - there's a lot of voice acting in some make-believe-Swedish-type-language, which is really funny) - but - I didn't even notice most of the story, but this is not a negative. Super-fun in coop! Expand
  9. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    I'm not going to explain why I gave this game a 10. Go watch the trailer. Then go download the demo on steam. If you're super excited to buy the game at this point, you're not alone.

    Best $10 ever.
  10. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    After a dozen patches, this game feels like a full-fledged product. The innovative magic-mechanic may not give you "thousands of combinations" bit it gives quite a few to play around with. The gameplay wouldn't be as rewarding if it weren't for the humor attached to a lot of scenes/spells. Also, 13 levels (story chapters) might seem like a low number, but they are quite satisfying. Keep in mind that its a 10$ (or less) game. You wont regret buying it. It has more content than you pay for. Expand
  11. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Crazy fun-filled spectaular game has me mesmerised from start to finish. I dont think I've ever panicked so much whilst playing a game, nor had as much fun. And the opportunities for friendly fire in co-op are pretty much unbeatable I reckon. Love it. And it's cheap as chips! Great value for money.
  12. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Cool game! When you are player in this game, you feeling "funny" and some "rage"
    Must buy!
  13. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    The only game with magic that I liked SO much.
    Phenomenal mechanics and more than a thousand combinations of spells.
    But game fully reveals its potential only in co-op. In the company of three friends enemies' genocide becomes maximum chaotic.
    And don't look on bugs, they are not so critical, many of them may be avoided. Developers works hard and release updates every week.
  14. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Best "gauntlet" type game ever made. Magicka is fun,addictive,innovative and cheap. It cost mere 10 Euros or Dollars. Buy this game! Thats an order!
  15. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Played the game and loved it. There were a couple of bugs present but they were quickly patched and the developers seem to care a lot. I would recommend this game to anyone, after all the price is just $10. If you're not sure whether this game is for you or not just download the demo available for free and try it out.
  16. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    So i bought this game without any high expectations at all. But it has turned out to be one of the most fun games i have ever spent money on. It is WELL worth the $9.99 and i would have paid more if i knew it would be this good. Magicka combines the elements (no pun intended) of humor, action, and teamwork into a masterpiece. I have only had it for a week and i've already played about 30 hours of it. There are a few bugs yes, but the devs are doing a great job of keeping the game up to date and patching it. I absolutely love the music, the scenery, the gameplay, the humor, (which has a lot of... "reference" jokes) and action. This is one of my new favorite games, and i expect others will enjoy it as much as i am. Expand
  17. Feb 6, 2011
    10
    The best 10 euros i spent EVER.
    Even though it has its share of bugs,
    the game is tons of fun especially co-op.
    and is very replayable :)
    Download the demo and see for yourself.
  18. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    I really don't understand the critic score this game has. It has clever humor and really solid gameplay. It's a very enjoyable game with friends. Do yourself a favor and pick it up.
  19. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Incredible. If only AAA studios put as much work into considering game design. It's the most fresh thing I've played since minecraft.

    It takes a while to get used to the control system. And the multi-player experience is... different because of the minor issue that death really causes during the multi-player. But everyone should play it anyways. There is no one that has taken my
    advice on buying it who has regretted it in my personal life. Expand
  20. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, I love it! best indie game of the year, by a mile. I see alot of people complain about technical problems with the game, but i haven't had any issues, game play has been flawless on my end. This is Arrowhead Studios first game and they did a wonderful job, can't wait to see what they bring us next! Magicka is only 10$ and is a phenomenal value for the amount of game play that's packed into it. Almost forgot to mention that the game is very fun and enjoyable. Expand
  21. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    What some call the 'Wizard Suicide Simulator' Magicka is a gem of a game from Paradox Interactive. Hilariously good fun and best played with friends while under the influence. The magic combos will have you in fits as you play through the campaign. Unlimited play if provide through the matchmaking and multiplayer system, there's even a PvP system. Unfortunately what should have been a perfect 10 star outing has been marred by a lacklustre multi-player and matchmaking system that has been mostly fixed since the time of this review. I highly recommend anybody to check out the Steam Sales this Christmas if you've gotten this game yet. Expand
  22. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Very refreshing game, not very polished but has an awesome and innovative magic system that puts endless combination of elemental spells at your disposal. The dialogue and story is very humorous and contains a great deal of internet meme and pop culture references. The co-op mode is extremely buggy, but this did not extract from my experience. The final strong point of this game is the price, at a mere $10 you cannot go wrong. Expand
  23. May 10, 2011
    10
    I think this game is very under rated. I don't know anyone who does not play this game, also it costs £8 when a CoD map pack costs £11 so it is great for price.
  24. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Should you buy it?
    Definitely, yes. If you're looking for a good game and yet don't want to pay a lot of money, go for Magicka. Even if you're still unsure about the bugs people mention all the time, wait a a month and get it later on - it will improve even further.

    I haven't had that much fun with a game in months, and especially not THIS type of fun.
    Go, try the demo, buy the game,
    support great devoted developers and laugh yourself into oblivion!

    Full Review: http://darkchaplain-anotherstory.blogspot.com/2011/02/magicka-review.html
    Expand
  25. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Phenomenal mechanics and more than a thousand combinations of spells. The only game with magic that I liked SO much. But game fully reveals its potential only in co-op. In the company of three friends enemies' genocide becomes maximum chaotic. And don't look on bugs, they are not so critical, many of them may be avoided. Developers works hard and release updates every week.
  26. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome and way fun. It is a little buggy at times but if you have a great computer with a great processor and video card it prevents a lot of problems. Gameplay is a top down. The coolest thing about the game is mixing spell types to create powerful combinations to devastate enemies... or yourself and friends if you happen to hit friendlies. The game has a helpful tutorial in the beginning that leaves you learning more and more spells throughout the entire game. It is also incredibly funny with lots of references to Star Wars in the text of dialogue. I believe my first hard laugh came when playing the tutorial and my friend who had chosen a strange army character (not very wizardly at all) accidently tossed a grenade at my feet and killed me. I thought I was out forever until we learned a revive spell to bring me back. This game should be played co-op for the most fun as long as you cooperate with team members otherwise it could get frustrating. So, if you've got an awesome computer and ten bucks I'd recommend this game for some exciting and funny entertainment. Expand
  27. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    Mofoso 10 Remarkable example of a remarkable game. Unique and successful game play and controls that blow you away. Humorous story line with my. this game is mint
  28. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Magicka is hilariously frustrating, and i say that in the best way possible. I bought this game at a later date, and therefore i wasn't victim to so many bugs, aside from airships freezing in midair and several crashes. The dialogue and humor in this game give you a lot of motivation to continue with the story, and it is filled with countless references to other games, movies, and even some memes. I love how the wizard characters look, and the varying costumes give different ways of playing the game. Combining spells is hilarious, especially when you use your friends as test subjects. Many of the magicks in the game will result in either your death or your friends death, so be warned. This game is simple entertainment, whether it's creating a vortex to destroy hordes of enemies, or blowing up your friends with a lightning bolt, this unique game will keep you playing. BLEIGH! Expand
  29. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Very very cool game, very innovative system of creating your own spells. It felt a bit button-mashy at first, but that soon fades and the appeal of creating your own spells to reflect your play style comes through. Play defensively using the defensive spells, very aggressively with minimal defence, or heck, try to fight your way in hand-to-hand combat if you like (though that's not recommended as you're a wizard). It's amazing and a steal at $10. Just finished the single-player, now picked up the 2nd expansion. Expand
  30. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    Magicka is a worthwhile game for adults to play with their kids. Casting spells in this game is both inventive and entertaining, you will want to test all the combinations. The game is both nostalgic and fresh.
  31. Zri
    Apr 1, 2011
    0
    Magicka is just plain fantastic. From the derpaderp speech of the characters, to the level and enemy design, to the just brilliant spell system. As soon as you get outside the tutorial, you run into a woman with a big gold exclamation mark over her head in good old RPG fashion, asking you to kill rats in her basement or something like that. You know you're on a winner when she gets attacked by goblins and the quest marker falls off onto the ground and you get down to some good old blowin' stuff up instead.

    Best things about Magicka? No mana. Limited inventory (you can pick up a staff and carry a 'melee' item). No quests apart from killing the next thing in front of you. GREAT spell system, where you have 8 different elementals, each bound to a key, and you can combine them in any way you want to create spells, some of which just combine effects, some of which form unique Magicks.

    Worst thing about Magicka is that the engine doesn't always perform as well as it could. That's all there is. It's a very hard game in places, but people, there's absolute simplicity in the rest of the game so you can focus on STRATEGY. Everything is quite straightforward once you figure out what the enemy's weaknesses are, and that's half the fun. (The other half of the fun is blowing up goblins in new and exciting ways.)

    Summary: buy this game. Now.
    Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. May 6, 2011
    90
    The rich, luscious colors somehow make the world a lot more believable than games like Crysis 2 could ever be.
  2. May 6, 2011
    80
    Magicka is a game that works especially well in cooperation. Single player experience is a good one but this game shows its true potential only when you play with friends, allowing for some great fun. A patched-up Magicka is most certainly worth getting to know. Even more, because it is a solid candidate for 2011's best game in its category.
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    90
    A game that glorifies the use of fireballs and land mines. #WIN.