Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. May 24, 2012
    69
    MLB 2K12 is a classic case of "more of the same".
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    62
    To be clear MLB 2K12 is hardly a terrible game. It simply lives the worst fate imaginable for gamers: It's never fantastic, but it also perennially avoids being too terrible to merit blowing up and rebuilding from scratch. [June 2012, p.81]
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    30
    The upside is that all of these problems are presumably fixable via a patch -- this isn't the first PC game in history to ship with something busted. And I sincerely hope the team at 2K Sports can get around to addressing the issues I've encountered, because MLB 2K12 is is a lot of fun to play in single-player, and should be just as fun online. But right now it's in dire need of some Tommy John surgery if it has any hope of reviving its career.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    I'm beginning to think sports game publishers have a smash-and-grab mentality. 2K12 certainly does. Get your money, ship you this, and noI'm beginning to think sports game publishers have a smash-and-grab mentality. 2K12 certainly does. Get your money, ship you this, and no refunds. No recourse. Customization is a joke. The bugs are numerous, the controls are hideous, the tutorials are nonexistant, and all in all, it was just a waste of money. It was embarassing to find out what I'd given as a gift to a sports-happy friend turned out to be so abysmally poor, and I blame gaming journalism for that, as I checked it out on several game sites before buying. Some of those sites have since adjusted their reviews to better reflect reality-- not that it helped me. This would have been embarassing as a game 10 years ago. Today, it's just inexcusable. Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    Since I don't own a PS3 this is my only option for a baseball game. Although it's definitely not on par with MLB the Show, I do not think 2K12Since I don't own a PS3 this is my only option for a baseball game. Although it's definitely not on par with MLB the Show, I do not think 2K12 is a terrible game. Presentation (8): The franchise mode has tons of options as usual and season mode is also more flexible. Graphics (6): Although 2K12 has improved lighting and graphics from previous titles, some animations are lacking and not nearly as smooth as they should be. The crowd is pretty detailed but limited in textures. Sound (5): The game sounds decent in surround but the commentators seriously lack variety after a while. This is a issue I've had with every 2K12 title. Gameplay (6): Pitchers have a new throwing system and hitting has new variations with more realism. The mechanics do seriously lack though in comparison with The Show, fielding at times is unresponsive and pitching gets tedious after a while. The AI is slightly improved as well but still nowhere near where it should be. Endgame (7): Not a whole lot more content from previous titles, but 2K12 still offers trading, drafting, and adjusting rosters, so if you enjoy building your own team this game is worth a shot. It is sad to hear that this will be the final game and the series is retiring, someone needs to step up to the plate because I crave a good baseball game for the PC. Overall: (6) Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    6
    No release in Europe (Steam???), too bad!! Why 2K Sports don't release the game everywhere in the world with Steam? They can't be true Baseball fans.