User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 68
  2. Negative: 4 out of 68
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Uno de los juegos de estrategia más sencillos pero impredecibles que he visto. Aunque puede parecer flojo al principio, de hecho es una de las experiencias de agencia más interesantes sobre la segunda guerra mundial. Ver a Francia invadir todo Rusia, un espectáculo. Comprar sólo en super rebajas.
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Signed up just to create a review for this too oft overlooked title. If you love strategy games, it's hard to find anything more perfect than this one. Sure, there are imperfections, but there is so much good here that little things like trade really can be overlooked and the title really does bring a lot to the table.

    Like WW2? Like strategy games? BUY THIS GAME.
  3. EvanH
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    Distills the important strategic decisions of WW2 into an accessible and playable game that still manages to be incredibly deep and engaging. One of the best WW2 games around!
  4. ErikO
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    This is a great game, i like both the original scenarios and editing my own. the Multiplayer is a bit hard to get working that and the time long you have to put in to play is the only minus'.
  5. AlexL.
    Jun 15, 2009
    5
    It's a game I very much wanted to like because of the attractive graphics and the fact that, hey, maybe after 4 years, it's about time for someone to beat Hearts of Iron 2. No such luck. This game is inferior to Hearts of Iron 2 on all counts, and the fact that Muzzy Lanes shamelessly advertises it as a history teaching tool is just bad taste. If you don't believe me, try It's a game I very much wanted to like because of the attractive graphics and the fact that, hey, maybe after 4 years, it's about time for someone to beat Hearts of Iron 2. No such luck. This game is inferior to Hearts of Iron 2 on all counts, and the fact that Muzzy Lanes shamelessly advertises it as a history teaching tool is just bad taste. If you don't believe me, try the 1939 scenario and see how many times you see a war between Germany and Poland (rather than, say, Poland and Denmark). There is a different between plausible alternative history and utter nonsense. I won't discuss most other features, as they are by and large copied from HoI2 and "streamlined," somehow ending up with a game that's MORE opaque than Paradox's notoriously complicated magnum opus. But I would like to comment on the economy, which for some reasons gets rave reviews - it's cumbersome, unrealistic and simply detracts from what this game is about - being Risk on a 1936 map of the world. The designer who thought that having players manually direct a billion little production facilities on map is a good idea really should not have a job. Expand
  6. StuartS
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    Impressive turn based strategy game, forcing you to continually make choices - should that new cities production help research new units, build more low tech units now, build up stocks of goods/arms, or industrialise for greater production later. Too little research and your armies will be outclassed, too little industrial improvement and you will be swamped, too little army building and Impressive turn based strategy game, forcing you to continually make choices - should that new cities production help research new units, build more low tech units now, build up stocks of goods/arms, or industrialise for greater production later. Too little research and your armies will be outclassed, too little industrial improvement and you will be swamped, too little army building and you invite an opportunistic attack. The interface is a little quirky, but after 20-30 mins for the tutorial and your first couple of turns you should be fine for most things you need to find or do. The AI seems fairly good at fighting wars, but the diplomacy seems fairly random - sometimes you can get away with invading loads of countries before anyone steps in, next time start the same way and several major powers declare war after the first invasion starts. The economy is moderately simple with six goods and no price fluctuations based on supply/demand, but you still have quite a challenge to manage it even in this abstract form so it does the job it needs to. Units don't gain experience, and you have to dig through the in game help to find their exact statistics and abilities rather than being shown them in game. While there are definitely some areas that could be improved (for me) the ultimate test is that I have been playing it every evening since I first installed it. As soon as I won with Germany I wanted to try Russia, then America, etc. All of the 8 powers available have a very different situation facing them even when just playing the same scenario, so you have to significantly adjust your plans to match. Overall a well done game, with just a few limited flaws. Expand
  7. AmirK.
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    A very deep and rewarding strategy game which thankfully stilluses a turn based system to allow proper strategy (especially with the number of click and hope RTS around at present).
  8. ErikO.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Nice game, perfect for a strategy gamer! (But you will have to take time to learn it.) The editor is easy to yuse so you can make your own scenario. Overall: Nice game to buy!
  9. Mr.Giggles
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Great level of detail, every nation's army tokens are wearing historically accurate uniforms, plus game play is the realist of all strategy games I've played yet.
  10. RodgerK.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    The game is one of the best turn based games I have played. Its like Axis and Allies on Steroids! People who may complain about the economis and diplomatic side cleary do not understand the game or have not played it to any length. The game plays extremely well on the multi-player level especially when 2 players pick the weakest countrys and ally. Also this game offers 3 different The game is one of the best turn based games I have played. Its like Axis and Allies on Steroids! People who may complain about the economis and diplomatic side cleary do not understand the game or have not played it to any length. The game plays extremely well on the multi-player level especially when 2 players pick the weakest countrys and ally. Also this game offers 3 different variations of which the Idealogical option is the best. I have found that the AI works differently for each option. Finally a company has embraced the turn based genre of games. Muzzy lane and Strategy First will find that the gamers that are 35 + are are tired of nothing but RTS genre games flooding the market. RTS offers speed and reaction while sacrificing Stategic and Tactical planning. However Turn Based games alow for more thinking and greater stategic game play. Kudos to all at Strategy First for Turn Based Game Development! Expand
  11. ChiW.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    Love this game! The different goals and perspectives of each country make for exciting gameplay. Like to play as a minor country and grow strength through alliances - then take on the big boys.
  12. JamesF.
    Jun 19, 2007
    3
    Game is supposedly a WWII game and has absolutely nothing dedicated to WWII.
  13. ShaunA.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Now that the Editor for the game has come out it has endless gameplay, Cant wait to see what the guys at muzzy have in store with the next update.
  14. MaxH.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    A solid game that's VERY fun to play. A toolkit is promised for the first patch that should let the serious history dudes adapt the game to suit themselves. This game fits much more into the Axis & Allies board game mold, or the Civilization series mold, than it does to Hearts of Iron or one of hte "hex" games where WWII is replayed the same way every time. This game is the ultimate A solid game that's VERY fun to play. A toolkit is promised for the first patch that should let the serious history dudes adapt the game to suit themselves. This game fits much more into the Axis & Allies board game mold, or the Civilization series mold, than it does to Hearts of Iron or one of hte "hex" games where WWII is replayed the same way every time. This game is the ultimate "what if?" WWII game. One really impressive thing about this game is the quality of the code--most games from newbie developers are filled with crashes and other serious problems. Not so with Calm and the Storm. There are some problems with the game, but nothing that a few patches shouldn't mostly take care of. Although it probably really deserves a score in the 8's, I wanted to balance the ridiculously low scores a couple people posted, just to be fair. Bottom line: if you are a fan of turn-based strategy games--buy it. Max Expand
  15. JonathanSchlichtkrull
    May 3, 2007
    7
    I played the demo, and i really liked it, so i downloaded it from steam. I think the game is quite overpriced for what you get. Those who think that the economy is broken dont get the game, some say that the use of military is wierd since it doesent matter what units you use. But it does! If you just try to read what there is to read about the different units you will know that some areI played the demo, and i really liked it, so i downloaded it from steam. I think the game is quite overpriced for what you get. Those who think that the economy is broken dont get the game, some say that the use of military is wierd since it doesent matter what units you use. But it does! If you just try to read what there is to read about the different units you will know that some are better at different things than others. But the diplomacy is really messed up, often you find that some country's really need you, they dont wanna ally you (like france is being invaded by germany but they aperntly dont care). And it seems that if you got someone to dont like you its never gonna chance. This game is well thought trough but i think that it has lacked some tester who knew what they were doing. Expand
  16. GeorgeG.
    Apr 8, 2007
    8
    People in these comments who are saying that 'diplomacy doesn't work or economy doesn't work' clearly haven't played the game at all or very much. It quite definitely DOES work and it's very enjoyable when you're able to manipulate your enemies while garnering allies to your cause. This is by NO means meant to be some kind of realistic simulation but People in these comments who are saying that 'diplomacy doesn't work or economy doesn't work' clearly haven't played the game at all or very much. It quite definitely DOES work and it's very enjoyable when you're able to manipulate your enemies while garnering allies to your cause. This is by NO means meant to be some kind of realistic simulation but rather an exploration of the cause and effect behind National management and diplomacy at the higher-levels during WW2. If you fail to grasp that, you'll fail to enjoy or understand this game, period. Clearly some of the other posters in here lacked the ability or insight to 'get' that aspect of this fun game. Whiny grognards should return to their beloved hex-based wargames and let the rest of us enjoy what is, by most accounts, a very good, very fun game. Expand
  17. Doug
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Great game for people who love the history of World War II. For people who are unfamiliar with said history, dont worry. It still offers fun to those who enjoyed rome total war and medieval total war.
  18. JackC.
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    Okay now I read the reviews and a lot of bad thins were said toward the game. Now yeah it does very very boring if your not in a war. But the thing i did was to eximinate this boredum was start the game on "End of Diplomacy" scenerio and be the French and put the game play difficulty on Harder instead of the defult normal. Now beating the german power house on hard.... well thats a Okay now I read the reviews and a lot of bad thins were said toward the game. Now yeah it does very very boring if your not in a war. But the thing i did was to eximinate this boredum was start the game on "End of Diplomacy" scenerio and be the French and put the game play difficulty on Harder instead of the defult normal. Now beating the german power house on hard.... well thats a challenge, Or being Germany in the D-day scenerio. But as much as i like to say good things about it, there are a couple of problems but depending on what kind of gamer you are you might get a sweet deal Expand
  19. DerickC.
    Apr 5, 2007
    5
    This game appeals to people who enjoy long board games such as risk. The game looks very good and unique in the first 100 turns or so, then suddenly, the game breaks down into an exact copy of Risk, where building the biggest army is the best. Even with that, it would had still been a good game if not for the flawed gameplay and AI. For example, Diplomatic relations do not work..... This game appeals to people who enjoy long board games such as risk. The game looks very good and unique in the first 100 turns or so, then suddenly, the game breaks down into an exact copy of Risk, where building the biggest army is the best. Even with that, it would had still been a good game if not for the flawed gameplay and AI. For example, Diplomatic relations do not work..... Random AI including Japan attacking Italy..... America attacking Tibet...... Australian planes in china.... and so on... The next history game they make, they should take their time. Expand
  20. RickM.
    Mar 29, 2007
    8
    I played the demo liked what I saw and the downloaded the game off of steam. The cool thing about this game is that every time you play it is different. You can be the Germany one day and try one strategy and then take a totally different approach the next time. I am more interested in conquering the world and having fun doing it than I am with military tactics. I also like the fact that I played the demo liked what I saw and the downloaded the game off of steam. The cool thing about this game is that every time you play it is different. You can be the Germany one day and try one strategy and then take a totally different approach the next time. I am more interested in conquering the world and having fun doing it than I am with military tactics. I also like the fact that the game uses economic factors and production, not just military manueovers - It feels more real to have to juggle those factors on the road to victory. Expand
  21. AlexanderWalter
    Mar 28, 2007
    8
    Very enjoyable game. If you like Axis and Allies chances are you will love this. Not too complicated, not too simple. Just the right level for me and one of the best turn-based ww2 strategy games Ive played. On a downside you can only play as one of the 8 major powers of ww2 something the demo lead me to believe otherwise.
  22. PhilM.
    Mar 25, 2007
    0
    This game should be, more correctly, called "Making UP History" ... it is really WW2 Risk. The economic system ... doesn't work. The diplomatic system ... doesn't work. The military system ... is broken. It might as well be set in Slobbovia, for the level of reality it displays.
  23. Inar
    Mar 25, 2007
    3
    This game manages to appear like a good, well-thought out game at first. In the very early stages you really feel like you're making your country. It feels unique. However, once a large war breaks out (which WILL happen, they scripted the AI so Germany and Britain will always fight), the game quickly degenerates. When the scale of combat goes up, it becomes a mind-numbingly boring This game manages to appear like a good, well-thought out game at first. In the very early stages you really feel like you're making your country. It feels unique. However, once a large war breaks out (which WILL happen, they scripted the AI so Germany and Britain will always fight), the game quickly degenerates. When the scale of combat goes up, it becomes a mind-numbingly boring game of "build the bigger army." It doesn't seem to matter what units you use, what tactics you have, what tech level each unit is, every battle boils down to one point: Which side has more pointsin strength. However, it appears that the game sometimes randomly decides to change that up, as once I had a 200 point army against an 80 point army, and the 80 point army won without A SINGLE CASUALTY. The game doesn't give you any reason to work your way up in tech. It also doesn't seem to care if you run out of resources, you just get a minor production penalty. Although I'm sure people would be likely to do more than slow work down if they were STARVING TO DEATH. As for diplomacy, it's basically nonexistant. You start with certain countries liking or disliking you or being indifferent. However, you don't seem to have any way to change that. I tried giving aide, no luck. I tried giving them military access. No luck. Finally, I gave them a province under my control This actually brought the diplomacy level DOWN, as if they disliked me because I gave them land. Units sometimes seem to magically appear, as there is no significant alert towards unguarded areas being captured. This puts larger countries such as the USSR at a large disadvantage. If you are focused on fighting in one area, you may turn around only to realize that half your country has been seized by enemy forces. I would reccomend this game to people who either enjoy clicking the "turn" button repeatedly with no significant reward, or people that enjoy staring at maps for lengthy periods of time. Expand
  24. KenN.
    Mar 19, 2007
    3
    Very much like a risk game and lacks a lot of true strategy elements of the game. Not to mention over priced. Also, the game has a date limit, which is no fun at all for those of us who wants to conquer the world. Seems to me its more like whoever amasses the biggest army wins. If you are a big Total war fan and but hate micro managing, this game is not for you. Those who don't like Very much like a risk game and lacks a lot of true strategy elements of the game. Not to mention over priced. Also, the game has a date limit, which is no fun at all for those of us who wants to conquer the world. Seems to me its more like whoever amasses the biggest army wins. If you are a big Total war fan and but hate micro managing, this game is not for you. Those who don't like the fighting and prefer a micro-managing game, this is for you. I for one judged the game by its cover and title, definitely not a good war game. Expand
  25. MP
    Mar 17, 2007
    9
    Well Making History The Calm and The Storm is a very thought provocing game. It's style is somewhat like Civiliaztion games where you have turns. BUT! Unlike in Civi where your gonna like the END TURN like 100 times just so your guy can get where you want because you have nothing to do was avoided in Making History. I have only played the Demo, in the demo you only can pick the 7 Well Making History The Calm and The Storm is a very thought provocing game. It's style is somewhat like Civiliaztion games where you have turns. BUT! Unlike in Civi where your gonna like the END TURN like 100 times just so your guy can get where you want because you have nothing to do was avoided in Making History. I have only played the Demo, in the demo you only can pick the 7 main nations in WW2: UK, US, Italy, Japan, China, Russia(USSR), France. But every other country is there too, for example: Mexico, Hungry, Egypt, Argentinea and MANY MANY more. Now, when your chose to play single player you would have to pick a scenario, for example D-Day. In D-Day you will play starting from D-Day to the end of the war. Playing the game: playing the game requires lots of patience and thinking. The game also really emphasized on the diplomacy and how important it is. The game in the beginning would seem very slow and it is but as soon as you start your nation going in a steady pace it won't seem as slow. I didn't buy the whole game but only the demo, and i really rushed through it forcing war and trying to get the full package in the 20 turns i had. I believe that playing as the US is the easyest but most boring. Because personally i like to have some action. US like in the real time in WW2 came at the end, which I does here too. But playing as Germany is very hard. Not only the whole world is against you but you usually have shortages of oil and steel.(Some of the many resources in the game). Recommendations:I recommend this game to any true stragety game player. What i mean as "true" is a true strategy game player not only focuses on the "attack"(Being aggressive in the game is good BUT to very careful who you attack).This game wasn't built so you can just get a massive army and just assault any country you please. The dimoplacy side of the game is probably where you will win 80% of the battles. Now I won't reveal anymore of the million things you can do in this game but... I repeat myself, you need patience and thinking of course. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. This game could help give people a better understanding of just how fragile the eco system of war is, giving them a sense of realism that is not found in most other strategy games. Unfortunately it's that same level of realism that might make this game unplayable for other gamers.
  2. The gameplay and graphics plus the historical accuracy of the game make this game a good choice for the right kind of gamer.
  3. 60
    Trouble is, your computer opponents verge on comatose.