Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 803 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Mark of the Ninja" is a side-scrolling stealth action game from Klei Entertainment that combines fluid 2D animation with intense stealth gameplay. Observe your enemies from afar, manipulate them with your tools, and execute your plan with precision. But be careful - you're as fragile as you are powerful. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 18, 2012
    100
    Nothing short of a stealth masterpiece, Mark of the Ninja highlights everything we love about the genre. [Nov 2012, p.77]
  2. 100
    There's nothing like Mark of the Ninja on Xbox Live Arcade, and now, Steam. Others may taunt fast action stealth, but this is the true evolution of that concept with speedy and thought-provoking mechanics. Keyboard and mouse controls can take a while to get used to, but once you've got it down, you feel like a master assassin. Mark of the Ninja is a triumphant victory that is a must-buy for any and all stealth fans.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    100
    Rather than pushing off being sneaky to sections or merely offering it as an option, Mark of the Ninja is a return to form for the stealth genre where bypassing an opponent is just as thrilling as killing them.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    The joy is in figuring out what kind of ninja you want to be. Mark of the Ninja gives you the tools to get the job done, and lets you run wild through levels with diverging paths, tons of secrets, and ways of slaughtering guards. As a result, that feeling of badassery I get upon pulling off a perfectly executed symphony of violence is a well-earned one.
  5. Nov 8, 2012
    90
    A stealth game that turns you into a predator rather than prey. Mark of the Ninja is an engaging sandbox of stealth.
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    88
    Corvo Attano and Agent 47 couldn't possibly have expected that a platformer from the creators of Shank would stab them in the backs and claim the title of this year's best stealth game.
  7. 80
    Splendid stealth platformer offers high levels of addictiveness. Surely aspiring to the title of "Independent title of the year". [Dec 2012]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 124
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a fan of fast-paced dodging and killing games (Mirror's Edge, for instance), I got into his game instantly. It does not matter how you like to play. If you like to be sneaky, fast, cruel, or unmerciful, then this 2D side-scroller is for you. You play as a ninja who accepts the First Mark, a tattoo with strange powers, to avenge your clan who was recently attacked by a security and arms enterprise. However, accepting the mark also means sacrificing yourself, as the ink in the tattoo has been said to drive people into stark madness and blind defiance. In my opinion, this was the best 1200 Microsoft Points (Xbox 360) I've spent, and I am more than willing to pay another 15-20$ just to play it on the computer. A great game with flawless animation and an overall amazing gaming experience. 10/10! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Wow This is an amazing game... One of the best games I've ever played in my life.... Never expected indie games to be so good and this one...is just fabulous. It shows what a Ninja is truly capable of. If you are even not a fan of platformers this one is a must-play... Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Game of the Year for me. It totally reminded me of my old times platying Metal Gear Solid, trying to stay away from the guards and killing them when they weren't looking. If you enjoy stealth games, you'll have a lot of fun with this. It doesn't become repetitive at all and the art is beautiful to look at. And what's even better, it's only 15$! Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    This game is really close to perfection.
    The design and atmosphere are really great. The gameplay is fantastic and deep.
    Much like in Orcs
    Must die, you start by just completing the levels, then you unlock all objectives and then you compete on the scoring ladder.
    So it's got a really good playtime (60+ hours for me). Definitely recommended.
    Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Mark of the ninja is a 2D stealth/action, slightly puzzle game that let's you decide your own course of action. You may choose to kill every enemy in the game or none of them, use traps and devices to move undetected, to kill swiftly or just to distract enemies. The art style is very similar to Shank 1 2 although not as colorful, but rather a bit grim and gloomy which suits the theme very well. Fantastic game if you're into sneaking, planning and/or killing your way through the game. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Fun side-scrolling stealth-action gameplay, with some puzzles. Nice art-style and story as well elevate this game above its competition in the price-range. Level-design is hit and miss though needed a little more variety. Generally-speaking it's worth checking out. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    This game is NOT a 2D Metal Gear Solid. MGS had a depth of story and style as well as tight controls and action that could be played as a NON-stealth game. This game does not have that. It forcefully holds gamers hands and makes them plod through set pieces without much thought for imagery or imagination. Multiple branching pathways or engrossing storyline will not be found here. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.