User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2588 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    Frustrating on some parts but with an awesome lore. It should please pro gamers as well as those who play for the story because everything you do (or don't do) affects on the final result. Casual gamers, stay away from this, it's a masterpiece but with some flaws like the lack of mission markers for sidequest (ehemZeldaSyndromeehem) or the dificulty spikes. Even there are some dificulty holes that demando no skill from the player whatsoever. Like a Picasso painting with some wine stains. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2014
    6
    I was excited to try play ME2 for my first time after playing ME1 which as I remember left me with good feeling and an interesting story I uncovered and was left wondering how it should unfold in later ME series. I don't remember the exact year when I tried ME2 first time nor do I remember my first impression of that game. But it should have been not long after its release on PC. I don't remember much from that time, but I know that I didn't finish the game that time. So I remember trying to play it for second time after some time, again failing to finish. Only that time I got bored of doing side quests, while building up my team, so I lost the main story line. And now in 2014 year summer I heard that ME 4 is coming up so I said to myself: "I Need to finish ME2, in order to try ME3 and I could try ME4 after it launches". So I started again journey to ME2 universe. I had the time I pushed myself harder and further to the story to other side quests, I even lower difficulty because fights took way too long in order to progress in story. And still I failed, lost interest, I understood that ME2 has an interesting story, interesting characters, locations but fights are boring and tedious, game play is very linear. I could say that its like interactive movie. You are annoyed by boring fights but are attracted by interactive cut scenes and big interesting story.

    From FPS game I wanted more player movement freedom
    From RPG game I wanted more character development, more inventory management, items.
    From TBS game I wanted more deeper strategy, resource management
    Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    Extremely good game like many said before. Brilliant storytelling, fluid gameplay, excellent graphics, music and sound. My only problems: lot of overpriced DLCs, after the first game's crew I felt a bit let down, because I found only a handful of sympathic "companion" characters (Grunt, Garrus, Mordin). The mining was horrible and I felt bored while doing most of the side mission (with notable exceptions). There were some balance issues between the classes as for example with a simple soldier I had a MUCH easier gameplay on insane than with my first playthrough (default) adept due to the mechanics for the powers. Still, one of the best game! Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite game ever the story was hands down the best it had a huge improvement from the first game like NO **** ATV (it annoyed the hell out of me) and I do like the clips instead of unlimited (it was so overpowered) the characters are just bad-ass and you also get to see the characters from the first game and fight with some of them again the gameplay is just fun (u finally get to slide over things). I have played over 200 hours on this game doing ever choice every class every ending. Overall amazing game I highly recommend getting this game. Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    ITS MORE THAN A GAME........this is my first MASS EFFECT game,i have'nt played the previous part..Usually i love playing 3rd person shooter games but not found of playing science-fiction games... But i really loved this game..good graphics as its a 2010 game,also gameplay,storyline are all excellent...the characters are also great including commander shepard and miranda is damm hot and sexyy ;)... now i playing mass effect 2 and will play mass effect 3 for sure...i became a big fan of MASS EFFECT :) Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    Maybe it's just me, maybe I'm more for Sword & Sorcery than Space Odyssey, but I found this game somewhat boring and repetitive. The story did nothing for me. Oh, Bioware made good efforts with characters and dialogue, but the whole thing felt uninspired. The graphics also felt flat, though I suppose that fits with the whole 'streamlined' space/science thing.

    It's playable but I find
    myself wanting to jump to the end without finishing the companion quests just to finish it off already.

    Buggy too. I find myself repeatedly resetting to the last save due to getting stuck in midair. I'll round a corner in a city and find myself halfway in the wall with no way to get out. I'll be walking up and down a stairs guardrail, trapped. I'll be floating above a rock just off the path, unable to walk off. You get the point. It happens often enough to be annoying, especially when you haven't saved in a bit.

    The mining for ore bit on endless planets gets really old. If I hear the sound of probe deployment one more time...ugh. The memory match game for circuitry bypass on doors and datapads is VERY old. I wish there was an ingame reward for bypassing the tedium.

    Bioware's character image sliders are very limited, both DAs had much more depth and detail. And the prospect of alien 'woohoo' is cringe-worthy over lol so I skipped that bit.

    No mods to speak of which is a terrible thing.

    Even so, I suppose
    Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    Sequels are always a scary thing. Mass Effect 2 came out and a lot of stuff that I found accessible enough from 1 was simplified. Sure, I didn't particularly enjoy driving around on a planet for 10 minutes, but would have preferred that over probing. Each game was better in its own way. I liked the wider range of well, everything you could do in 1, but enjoyed the story and characters more in 2. I like to think the thought of reapers made everyone get better training and stop being as clunky, but that's just me. Expand
  8. sft
    Jun 15, 2014
    8
    Very nearly the full kilo

    I enjoyed Mass Effect 1 but was only able to give it 3/5 due to some pretty annoying flaws. I’m glad to say that most of those flaws have been eradicated in ME2. Gone are the endless slow elevator rides. Gone are the tedious, bouncy buggy rides on dull, lifeless planets. And gone is the ridiculously complex HUD. What hasn’t changed are its strong points, which
    remain in the storyline and RPG elements. Once again there is a detailed and compelling story along with many side plots and missions, which are more diverse and creative than those in ME1. The voice acting is excellent throughout as are the character models and animations, which are fluid and naturalistic. Graphically it’s very good for a four-year-old game, although there’s little in the way of physics, which is a shame. The combat has also improved, although it remains rather clunky and lacklustre compared to other games. The Mass Effect franchise is clearly about providing a rich and developed universe in which to place the player and to give that player a full-bodied RPG experience peppered with combat and action along the way. And in this respect ME2 really delivers. If not for the so-so combat I would have given it 5/5. Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. A game where choices actually matter, and the galaxy is epic and brilliant. This game is only held back by its lack of true side/optional missions, boring scanning for minerals, and an ending that really doesnt matter what your choices were, all you have to do is follow a flow chart Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    By far my favorite game. Fantastic storyline, character development, and gameplay. You get to choose your class as well as everything you say in the game.... pretty amazing piece of art. Good job fellaz.
  11. May 20, 2014
    10
    Cons:
    EA published, less RPG feel compared to the first one.

    Pros:
    Great characters, great story, nice decision system, fun gameplay, immersive atmosphere, great sci-fi universe, politically charged & nice classes to choose from.
  12. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    This is exactly what Mass Effect was destined to become. Story, pacing, visuals are top notch sci-fi material but gameplay wise it's just boring: kill this, kill that.
  13. Apr 16, 2014
    5
    First play through on the 360 later I got this for this PC on budget buy OMG no gamepad support again for the sequel, really!? The combat is much more fluid almost fun but taking away the buggy rides and keeping in the chatting up your crew to get laid is still so inane and tiresome.
  14. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    I love this game. I love it so much, you can sink in it's own world so easily, the world of ME2 feels so alive, everyone reacts to the things you do, it's a feeling of a world being alive I had in Fallout 3 the last time, and it's (besides Bully which is an amazing game too) the only game I had such a feeling in. (Wow, this sounds kinda stoned.) I can JUST recommend it. It may be that I like the game so much, just because I didn't expect much, to be honest, when I bought it I didn't even wanna install it. Then I watched like 2 Reviews of it and started playing it. But still, you should really get it.

    I REALLY don't know how anyone could give this game anything under 80.
    Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    Loooooved the story,emotion is this game fuel.You feel responsable for every word,act,charachter and universe.Great job.My top 10 of all times is here.
  16. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    True sequel to the first masterpiece,again great story,improved gameplay elements.(only backfire is the new weapon and skill system in my opinion,but its easy to overlook that).
    And what catched me is,that how the game feedbacks on your imported savegame,you backstory.
    PLAY THE FIRST GAME FIRST!!!!!
    MUST HAVE FOR EVERYONE.
    Looking foward for the third one which i will start next week.

    And so far,the best optimized game i've seen.It runs so well on my old P4 that im amazed.

    [spoiler] it is really satisfying to hear how are the rachni(just save them :D),to meet old friends,to get **** up by krogans.:D
    To look at the universe,and see what you made with your choices.(council or TV report from ME1.)
    Expand
  17. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    I really did enjoy playing this game, and i played it when all three were released ,so i played this knowing i would buy the third game. And whats weird is that because I've now played Mass effect 3, my opinion of the second one has decreased. Why is that....let me tell you

    Mass effect 2 is basically you going around the galaxy in a ship to recruit the best team in the galaxy to stop
    the bad guys. To do this you need to act like some kind of psychologist and sort out everyone's problems. Now i played lots of side quests so for me i spent 23 hours zipping around helping everyone out. when the time came to face the bad guys the game took me 1 hour to complete. I wasn't so bothered by this because i thought that the third one will pick up where i left off....but it never.

    So while i enjoyed playing the game looking back i feel like i wasted so much time on a game that bears little fruit.

    (see my Mass effect 3 review)

    Overall the game was good, and i really did enjoy it but, and i hate to day this, but the game is kinda pointless.
    Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2014
    3
    they wont add gamepad support because they dont care about consumers. This would have been a good game to i think but mouse and keyboard do not work with my 3d hdtv and couch
  19. Mar 6, 2014
    9
    This game was my first in the Mass Effect series. Unfortunately I discovered the series way after it was popular. So at first I didn't know what the hub bub was about. If your new to the series at first it just seems a little flat. It seemed it was more about graphics and such. And the series seemed to be a more modern and not Star Wars universe rip off of KOTOR.

    After you get playing
    you see what the series is about. It has a lot going for it. First it is a first person shooter for the average Joe. Then they throw in coordinated squad combat. They up the anti by giving you a character that can allow you to chose good or bad actions, as you choose without ruining the storyline. They wisely have you playing the title character but allow you to customize your story and looks. They also have you choose a class, but allow you to chose the way your character levels up. Which can greatly alter your game experience when you choose to replay the game.

    Then they allow you to upgrade weapons, your ship and even choose how your squad mates level up. You can even just let your squad mates help you in fights or command them who to attack. But to make the game better they add mini games. Which just adds an entire new level of enjoyment to the game.

    But the big draw is probably story. The game has a story line for you. You make choices that can affect the way your companions see you. And may subtly affect other aspects of the story. On top of that story you get other stories very much like the KOTOR series does.

    In the end the game seems to take the best of the KOTOR series and change it up enough so that you have similarly great aspects. But with enough changes to make the system seem fresh and exciting.

    Because you can choose to go in so many directions the game has great replay value. Certainly a game worth owning. And probably should be in any RPG fan's collection.
    Expand
  20. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    I've always loved Mass Effect 1 when it was first out on 360, i just loved, the storytelling,combat everything and i just thought Mass Effect 2 (before it cam out) was just the same as Mass Effect 1, like it cant be improved, (BETTER), but Mass Effect 2 came out and i played it and it blew me away it was better, but still like mass effect 1 and always will, but mass effect 2 just blew me away it was mind blowing full of awesomeness, great game YOU HAVE TO BUY IT!!!!!! Expand
  21. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    a clear improvement over the original. improved graphics and gameplay, along with an even better story than the first. your character personality can be changed once again based on your actions. the ending is influenced by how loyal your squad members are to you which happens during loyalty missions, and in some cases, dialogue choices. the gameplay itself has been greatly improved and now has special actions that take place during some cutscenes, somewhat like qte's. left clicking is a renegade action, and right clicking is a paragon action. there's a larger variety of guns and powers now, although no gun mods which is a little disappointing. the voice acting has improved a bit, and the characters are more interesting now, which is also nice. the only problems are that there are still glitches, mainly getting stuck on pieces of scenery and having to wait to die or restarting the mission or last save. Expand
  22. Jan 30, 2014
    7
    Not sure why this game gets showered with praise. On top of the ho-hum gameplay, there is a confusing story packed with filler characters that have no meaning. I didn't give a crap about half of my "team." The start of the game is evolution of your character and the decisions you get to make that transform you. That aspect of the game is very well done. The missions themselves are all basically the same: Go here, kill a bunch of bad guys, interact with this thing at the end, leave, start over again. I'll give the game the benefit of the doubt, though, since I never played it when it was originally released. I wish it was more of a fully fleshed-out game than it is. Oh well, slightly disappointed. Expand
  23. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    Most things that got potential in the first game were completly removed, but the game works better as a TPS than as a tactical RPG. I am a little dissapointed because the story is weaker and some opportunities were missed, by it has a better gameplay with combat that actually works.
  24. Jan 17, 2014
    5
    An excellent story and dialogue/cinematics to go with sub-par combat, way too basic of an inventory system and the removal of most RPG elements that the first game had. Overall the game is good for 1 playthrough due so you get the story. The Good: - Excellent story and dialogue (although sometimes pretty monotonous) - Best missions of the series - Best Citidel (main hub for stores and non-combat things) of the series

    The Bad:
    - Least interesting and most basic combat of the series; lacking in weapon choices and customisation, abilities don't seem to have much of an effect most of the time. Not to mention the crappy shotgun with 20 rounds total
    - Lack of almost all the RPG elements that made the first game fun and interesting including the inventory system. If anything this game has less customisation than the first.
    - Bad GUI; clicking through the numerous menus can be a chore and lacks basic keyboard navigation such as ESC to go back or ENTER to accept.
    Expand
  25. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    The graphics are great, the story is great, the game-play is great and the soundtrack it great. Over all this is a very fun game and it should not be missed out on. This game is GREAT!!!
  26. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Mass Effect trilogy has been One of most polished Storytelling Action Graphics and Gameplay combined in one. Apart from the Final Ending Controversy in Mass Effect 3 This is one of the most played and loved RPGs adventures to date. I would have to say if new to series than Please Play in Sequence. Mass Effect 2 is probably the best of series. A game which will make you finish that next bit of story everytime Expand
  27. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Mass Effect 2 has its problems, because it was developed mainly for consoles, which brought many disadvantages with it (linear levels, bad controls, horrible menus, removal of RPG elements) and PC players were left behind a bit.
    It's still Mass Effect at the core though and the story and characters are so fantastic that it easily makes up for that. As in the first game, the story is
    great. I think the secret of the Mass Effect series is mainly in the writing, because the dialogues just feel more believable than in other games and they nailed it again in ME2. Of course it helps that graphics, music and gameplay (with the above mentioned exceptions) are all outstanding. Expand
  28. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I'm going to come out an say that Mass Effect 2 is overrated. Part of me wants to rate the game lower, but I can't, because the fact is that the game play is fantastic. The combat and level design was VASTLY improved over the first mass effect and made the game much more fun from that perspective.

    Despite all the progress made in playability, ME2 takes a major step backward in terms of
    plot. The game starts off quickly, but could do without the Six Million Dollar Man storyline, which, apart from looking good on Shepard's resume, has almost no impact on the rest of the game OR the sequel. Instead, it's just a plot point used to justify enlisting you in a suspect organization the player cares nothing about, which sends you around the galaxy with a grocery list of dangerous criminals and trained killers that the player also cares nothing about (at first) that Shepard must tirelessly recruit in a series of missions which have little impact on the greater storyline at hand. All this is done while isolating the player from most of the characters that they cared about in the first Mass Effect.

    Even still, all this could be used as a plot point, but isn't; the player has no way to express how they feel about the sudden changes from Mass Effect 1 through Shepard, as he/she appears largely indifferent about how the job gets done, so long as it gets done. I was frustrated with the storyline, but no one else appeared to be. The only exception to this is in the Shadow Broker DLC, where Shepard has an opportunity to open up to Liara (btw, this is one of many reasons you should absolutely get this dlc, which is better than the rest of the game, especially if you are pursing a relationship with Liara).

    The whole game feels very punch-in, punch-out, until about halfway through when the loyalty quests begin, and the player has a chance to connect with their new squad members and play through some missions that are well thought out and engaging. So, in all fairness, the game does get better as it goes, but it's hard to get through the first 10-15 hours of it, which is a problem. The final mission is particularly wonderful and worth all the slogging. I think Joker says it best himself: Mass Effect 1 wasn't all sunshine and rainbows, but Mass Effect 2 is stuck in a weird place.
    Expand
  29. Dec 31, 2013
    5
    The whole experience in Mass Effect 2 feels like a high budget hollywoodian action film or as an Assassin's Creed game, specially wen compared with the first iteration, when Bioware obviously had more time to put things together and less expectation to deliver quality. This means that while some parts of it are truly brilliant and amazing, as the characters loyality mission- Tali comes to mind- in others moment the game appears to be written by complete different people, with complete different ideas of how things should be done, and gosh, how these parts are bland, generic and dumb, feeling more like you are playing the singleplayer campaign of a generic shooter than a scifi rpg.
    And what is said in others reviews isn't exageration or extremism, the game is a hell of an example of why people despise DLCs, with whole parts of the main plot, relevant to the game and the lore- Lair of Shadow Broker for example- being made into DLC. If you don't buy DLCs, several rooms of your ship will be locked for you with no explanation; it's like they, Bioware/EA, want you, they require you to buy those expensive and sometimes silly DLCs in top of an already expensive game to full.
    Another aspect also mentioned in previous reviews is the diminishing rpg experience, it's like they heard some people complaining about the poor inventory management in ME1 and thought "why not cut this altogether? why not throw the inventory away?". This minimalism was behind every aspect of the development: they removed separated cooldowns for powers, they removed heating for weapons and added ammo, they removed free roaming/open spaces, the removed non-combat utility of tech, they removed planet exploration and they pretty much removed non-council races from any relevant plot in the universe.
    This means that (1) every space is a corridor and sometimes you can't even go back, every city you are exploring is disappointing and boring, and an awful lost potential, for example, imagine what could have been to walk and explore the Migrant Fleet, to see how the Quarians lived in this crowded and ever nomadic space... When you go to the Citadel you'll understand what I am saying; (2) playing as an enginner or adept is horrible, even your companions seem tailored for a soldier or vanguard class; (3) they could make the impossible, they made space exploration even more boring and repetitive, now you are left sending probes into planets like a robot, even worse now that discovering gasses and minerals is a necessity; and finally (4) they lost many chances of exploring non-coucil races, for example Ilium would fit perfectly as a volus world, but all you see in the game is an even narrower landscape that you saw in ME1.
    The story is told in a rail-road, forced fashion: you are supposed to believe unplausible things, to accept unidimensional characters such as Jacob (clearly created to cater to what EA believe is a black young audience) and Miranda (clearly a fanservice wankery), and to consider as villains beings who are never openly understood or expressed. Only mid-game things get interesting and by that point you already saw all Blade Runner, Star Wars, Asimov and general scifi inspiration that Bioware immersed itself to create the game. The ending doesn't answer any of ME1 open questions and doesn't even progress the plot, it's just action and action and action.
    All in all, like I said before, there are clearly amazing moments in ME2, such as the quarian zionist congress, I mean, the quarian audience and these parts were written by creative people. It's a game worth pirating.
    Expand
  30. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Second best game Bioware made, after with Baldurs Gate II in mine opinion. Original Mass Effect was one of the best RPGs ever made, but ME 2 is even better.
  31. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is definitely the best game in the series. Its story is overwhelming, the game-play fluid, and just the entire setup and everything, it's beautiful. The character development is extraordinary and seeing some old faces from Mass Effect 1 again was especially nice, though the new faces among the crew are also pretty fantastic. Each of them has their own story, the level of interaction possible is great (except for 'I'm in the middle of some calibrations', ugh). The different classes have improved, just like many other things. The game offers plenty of side missions, which all add flavour to the already fantastic main storyline. Also: Garrus. Need I say more? Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    Type of game that engrossed me from start to finish. The combination of writing and voice acting caused me to care greatly about the protagonist and my crew. Not quite as "save the worldy" as some RPGs, which was a nice change of pace. Choices felt like they built from the first game and mattered. The combat was also much more fluid and felt greatly improved from the first.

    Rating
    this one slightly lower than the original even with the improvements. The story seemed to shift slightly, and there wasn't as much influence of the background lore. The RPG elements may have been clunky in the original, but they were mostly streamlined/stripped from the second. Did not feel like the character progressed much in strength outside of weapons. Expand
  33. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a modern day RPG masterpiece. From the story to the music, everything is pretty much near perfect. This is a must play for any RPG fan. ME2's development started right after EA acquired Bioware, but had a mostly hands off approach to the game.

    ME1's main flaw was it's battle system. It was lackluster and needed improvement. Bioware decided to take the risk and
    incorporate a "real" FPS system in ME2. Well, that risk payed off bigtime in one of the best blockbuster RPG's of our time.

    Other traditional RPG elements such as inventory management are eliminated helping to streamline your experiences. And you know what? It works, it fits. It helps you focus on more important, and more enjoyable things in the game. Having a simple upgrade system works much better.

    ME2 takes the game to all new levels. A deeper, more interesting battle system. The character interactions are excellent. The development, the actions you take, the choices you make really do affect the outcome of this story.

    As in Classic Star Wars fashion, the second movie raises the stakes even higher, is darker and more serious than ever. The real possibility of your teammates dying in the final, suicide mission was a brilliant move by Bioware. The game climaxes at the best point the end where you see all your work, all of your choices unfold, leaving some to the next and final part of the trilogy. The raise in tension is felt throughout the game, and drives the player forward.

    The soundtrack is excellent and accurately reflects such high stakes.

    ME2 really surpassed the bar for RPG's. It had me glued to the game. When I am glued to a game playing it every day from start to finish, I know its a hit.

    Its just such a shame that it's sequel, ME3 was unfortunately a lackluster, rushed finish and a real letdown. Obviously, EA had involved themselves in the final game, which really screwed up ME3.

    Most gamers will recognize ME2 as the real climax of the series and the best out of the 3.

    10/10
    Expand
  34. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt the best series i've ever come to play! So much replay value! Its insane and I can't describe it enough. THIS IS A MUST BUY AND PLAY EXPERIENCE. Trust me on this!

    Pros:
    Just... wow (useless pros. I know :v)
    Story and characters are so well done!

    Cons:
    Combat can get a little linear
    No coop
  35. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I won't play a game that hasn't sufficiently grabbed my attention. The entire ME series downright stole my attention and warped that way I look at all other games. It's smart, genre-bending, exciting and addictive. I haven't found a game that satisfies as much as ME and I suspect I never will again.
    It means the world to me that the main character doesn't have to be the typical white
    male. Sheperd is me down to the way she looks and the decisions she makes. The ancillary characters are superb with personalities and singular intentions. I love that I get to chose who to befriend and how much.
    When I finished the ME series, I actually felt pangs of sadness, because I missed the friends I'd made along the way. I missed the fight and missions. So I played again and reshaped the story to go in a different direction. Replay value is through the roof! ME is literally the best game I have ever played.
    Expand
  36. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    A gem of a game, engaging story with fun, sometimes tricky combat situations and also a surprisingly re-playable game where actions, sometimes silly and insignificant have followed you through the story [more game if you kept a save game from the first game]. Love it, Thank you Bioware.

    Gab
    LoyalistN7
  37. Efa
    Oct 24, 2013
    10
    It might not be a straight up RPG, but the characters, the action, and the players ability to influence the games progression and ending make this my favorite game ever. A must play!
  38. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    The abundant choices and seeing them impact and unfold as you play the game makes the choices seem meaningful. The combat, however is standard, wonderful game overall.
  39. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all times. This is an RPG that takes place in an amazing wold with tons of lore and backstory for the one who's interested. The story and the characters are amazing and the soundtrack is mind blowing.
  40. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    it is a terrible PC port, typical average console game...
    dont buy it if you want to play an FPS on your computer. clunky, dumbed down controls, MASSIVE (hence the name i suppose) amounts of cutscenes, boring combat, weak role play, no physics engine, dull graphics, no options to gameplay, stupid achievements, dumbed down game play, the list of goes on and on

    no idea why this game had
    such good reviews that made me buy it, to my dismay Expand
  41. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    Interesante y adictivo. Mejora mucho la historia con respecto a su predecesor, y ofrece otra perspectiva del universo Mass Effect. Es cierto que pierde elementos de rol (algo de lo que muchos se han quejado), pero no le doy importancia porque nunca consideré a esta saga "de rol". El primer Mass Effect ya me pareció más un "shooter" que otra cosa y este es una evolución un tanto lógica del estilo creado con el primer título. Expand
  42. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I would have to say that Mass Effect 2 is the best game I've ever played, at least so far as story and character development. That's not to say the gameplay wasn't superb; it just doesn't quite give you the same adrenaline rush as blowing you enemies into little bits as you can in Borderlands 1 & 2, or sprinting through Call of Duty (4 or beyond) with a shotgun: getting an insane score streak and calling in a VTOL or something. The graphics were very good, especially considering that it is from early 2010; sure, it's not Crysis, but I really don't care. Also: the mineral collection pretty much sucked. I spent at probably 3-6 hours collecting minerals just to get all the upgrades I could: upping my first play through time to around 60 hours: of course, that is with beating virtually every side quest by the end of the game, (save a couple, and this is without DLCs). Another very annoying thing too me as an Infiltrator was the sniper slow-mo. I mean, seriously, around 5 seconds of slow motion (apparently at max level, which I did very early) to find your target I will admit, it does make the game much easier in hardcore/insanity, but it takes a lot of the challenge away. There was also far too much ammo around; I think they should have made it more like Crysis 2 in that regard, having some kind of tactical battlefield view, having to sprint with your tactical cloak to grab some more ammunition for your squad. There also should have been more weapons, and an inventory. While there were *enough* weapons to get the job done, I think it would have been much more enjoyable to once again have weapon/armor pickups, and weapon/armor mods instead of *powers* that do the same thing. Can't decide if I like or dislike not having grenades. The characters were again simply amazing: so much though and effort obviously went into them, and it was definitely a good choice on the devs part. There (can be) so much interaction between Shepard and the characters that by the end they really felt like more than just my crew, they were like family. What you say and do can have so much influence on what happens with and to them, (and vice versa, if you at all care about them), that you just really start feeling connected with them. Starting in the first game, but even more so in this game, did I really start too understand and sympathize with the plight of the Quarians (if you've played it, you can probably see some real world connections). You may also begin to reconsider the Geth as a whole, depending on what you do. Too sum it up: I give the Story 10/10, Characters 10/10, Voice Acting 9/10, Sound FX 9/10 Graphics 8/10, Overall Gameplay 8/10, Music 7/10 (Daft Punk works pretty well with it though), Space Exploration 6/10, Tactics 6/10. Last thing I have to say: Play it! Expand
  43. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Goods: - it is beautiful! (I played in 1920x1080) - the story is breathtaking! - the characters are very unique, they have their own personality! (I like Mordin, when he is jabbering, but in an intelligent way) - you cannot stop playing! - camera movement is very 'movie like', sometimes slowly turns around the character when in conversation, i like it. - I love the world on the planets where you can land (you can dance, you can help almost anyone to feel better, buying a fish to eat, help someone out with money etc.), so You can solve problems if You want.

    Bads only in game menu:
    - i think bioware should not be proud about the game menu solution:
    - using the missions list tree structure is frustrating, you can not use it with keyboard (cursor moving buttons work, but then enter, space, nothing responses), with mouse sucks, you have to click, select, click, select with mouse, then click on the okay button on the very bottom... Frustrating, slow.
    - you have to navigate to the buttons with mouse, keyboard is not allowed. Boring, frustrating, slow.
    - It is not always the same function when you hit escape on keyboard, or hit the back button on the screen (example: when you scanning the planets, you hit escape, you will be behind Shepard on the spaceship, not the galaxy view, to scan new planets. You have to click on the back button on screen with mouse!)
    - when you are scanning planets, you have to turn to scan the whole planet, while you have to hold down right mouse button. Boring, uncomfortable.
    - they should learn a bit from firaxis xcom enemy unknown, about using the right mouse button to go back one level up in menu, or screen page (or using the 3rd, 4th mouse buttons for circle the units or for scrolling pages)
    - why i can not use enter when i select a button, or just double click on it with mouse to go inside? I have to go down to the next button with mouse. Frustrating, slow.
    - why i can not use w,a,s,d buttons to navigate in menus, then hit enter, or e, or space or something common button?
    - I hate origin login, it slows down starting the game

    Comparison: Mass Effect 1 Mass Effect 2
    - now the mission areas very unique, not the same like in the first episode (the same ships inside, the same mines inside)
    - you can control your followers individually, not in a team (therefore the controls were redefined, i hated it for one hour only), your followers AI a bit better
    - Bioware is modified the planets scanning mechanism: mako is no more, you have to launch probes to get your resources as palladium etc., It is still boring, but better than the long traveling with mako.
    - You do not need to convert things to omnigel, to make those mini games for unlocking a computer or door.
    - You will see two types of mini games (select the right code lines, or connect the right circuits to each other), I like more mass effect 1 mini game (going with an arrow inside the circle)
    - The conversations are very fluent now, the heads movement are not lagging like the first episode
    - The in game menu is still a you can only use mouse, keyboard is only for hit escape

    Conclusion:
    This is a must have game!
    Expand
  44. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Shepard is Finally the awesome guy he should have been in ME1 but this game makes more than up for it. It keeps bringing awesome twists to your game by instating new characters as you go along. the road to victory is a hard one for shepard, but in the end its all worth it.
    i'm mrpopo666 and this is my favorite review on metacritic
  45. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I had just recently rented this game it is an awesome game but there is some draw backs though a shaky cam and a limited time running like the game that is COD.
  46. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    The fact that this game feels like just another generic TPS with a dialogue wheel bothers me if this could've combined the RPG elements of Mass Effect 1 and blended them in perfectly with the new gun mechanics it would've have been much happier, also the fact they give the finger to decisions the player made in ME 1 really bothers me still a fairly decent game.
  47. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    By far the best part of the series. Mass Effect 2 offers great RPG gameplay within a very well-designed world, tense atmosphere, interesting characters, and some choices and decisions that really matter (at least to some extent). Half of the game is exploring, talking to people, making decisions. I have to admit that I never really very much liked the other half: The actual gameplay is rather dull, but for a third person cover shooter, it does provide a decent gameplay experience. It's a bit disappointing that this is actually the part of the series with the RPG elements dumbed down the most (a lot more in ME1, a bit more in ME3), but still a very good game with excellent storyline. Expand
  48. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    The Good: Great story Memorable Characters Better character development (in particular of Tali and Garus) Superb voice acting Great visuals for an RPG game (but not at "The Witcher" level) Excellent soundtrack and sound effects Tons of Re-playability The Fair: The ending Generic Villain The Bad: Mini-games are still boring More linear than Mass effect 1 The Gameplay is Less RPG oriented Expand
  49. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    A perfect game. Plot, combat, characters. Everything was improved from ME1. Some players might find more action and less RPG gameplay disturbing but i like it. Definitelly the best game of ME saga up to date.
  50. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    For me, this is one of the greatest game of all time. I played through 6 times if not more!

    Ofc there are problems like minor bugs, but the ultimate blow to this game is the lack of equipment!!!

    Beside that, i extremely satisfied with this game.
  51. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Skeleton Summary: PROS/CONS PROS: - Amazing Story-Telling - Great Character Development - Average Fighting Mechanics - Great Soundtrack - Massive Customization - Good Graphics - Cinematic Experience - Great Atmosphere - Great Voice-Actors - Interesting Universe/Plot - Decision-Based Story CONS: - Boring Side-Missions - Lack Of Traditional RPG Elements (not necessarily a bad thing)
    - Gathering Resources Is Boring

    Addressing Lack of RPG Elements: While I do share similar thoughts regarding how this game compares to traditional RPG games, we do need to get past them. A game isn't created to fit into a certain genre; a game is created to entertain us. Judging the game based on how much enjoyment value it has, rather than how much of a copy/paste formula it has is what truly matters. We could have games that have all the traditional RPG elements we all love, but at the end of the day it could still be a horrible game.

    Mass Effect 2 is a step forward from the original Mass Effect title that launched the trilogy. While it does scrap some traditional RPG elements (weapons, loot, smaller skill tree, etc) it is STILL a "Role Playing Game" (look up the definition rather than saying it's not an RPG because you don't get "loot" after you kill a boss).

    If you loved the original Mass Effect story, you're going to love this one too. If you thought some of the original Mass Effect's dialogue was corny, Mass Effect 2 fixes it! The music intensifies action-packed moments that keep you on your toes. The way the story is portrayed is nothing short of amazing. Some parts feel as if you're watching a movie, others feel like the location around you comes to life (Afterlife anyone?). Your decisions do matter and through various choices of dialogue (which ARE voice acted), you ultimately shape the future of you and your team.

    The fighting mechanics are also fluid and easy to learn. You get to choose from various classes, but you also get a fire-team. With this team you can customize everyone's abilities/weapons. You tell your team where to go and who to kill. Though running in this game isn't that much better than walking (yes it's one of THOSE games).

    You go on a massive adventure with exotic alien allies to uncover the Galaxy's dark secret. Unless your heart is a tiny black-hole, this game will grasp your emotions. It's a third person shooter with the traditional duck-and-cover mechanics, but it isn't bad at all. You can create your OWN character from (almost) the ground-up. With face customization, hairstyles, uniforms, armor, etc. Through your choices you can be a good boy/girl, or your can be the galaxy's ultimate badass.

    If you haven't played the first game, don't worry, you can play this game and still get a thrill out of it. (Highly recommended to check out the first one since you can carry your decisions from the previous Mass Effect game onto the 2nd one)

    Though the main campaign is a pretty damn good, some of the side-missions are boring and repetitive (although a BIG improvement from the 1st one where you boarded a ship, killed everyone searching for a VIP/NPC with the constant spam of husks/thorian creatures).

    In order to upgrade armor/weapons in this game you need to spend resources, in order to find said resources you need to scan planets. This task is cool at first but it gets old fast.

    Get this game, it will make you love the Mass Effect Universe.
    Expand
  52. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Pure awesome distilled into game form. If you have hands, you should play this. The entire series, when played in succession, has the ability to change who you are as a person.
  53. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    i haven't played a game as perfect as mass effect 2 this game is awesome in every aspect all the defaults that were in the first mass effect are not only fixed in this game but improved in a great way i think i will never play a game that will make me attached to the characters in this game i felt like the characters were my friends and i had to care for them i also loved the romance part in this game it was great (romanced Tali by the way) and if u want to talk about a great mission let's talk about the last mission the best mission i have ever played in a game so far i highly recommend this game and i really can't wait to play the third part Expand
  54. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is simply amazing. It has few RPG elements which I realize disappointed a lot of long time Bioware fans but taken objectively it's a beautiful game in almost every way. The dialogue is brilliantly written and preformed by some of the best voice actors in the industry. It's humorous enough to keep you entertained while also serious emphasizing the grandness and scope of your goals. Every character in this game is compelling in their own way and you'll grow very attached to them. The combat mechanics are great, they combined a much more refined version of the industry standard third person cover based shooting but with unique powers that you and your teammates can use to liven up gameplay. Squad controls are much smoother than ME1 and can be used tactically during firefights. Finally the soundtrack is one of the best any video game has to offer it's grand and epic but also sublime at parts. If you haven't played this game yet you owe it to yourself to buy it right away. Expand
  55. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    FPS-(semi)RPG. Story. Story. Graphics. Story. Characters. Characters. Story. Characters. Graphics. Effects. Spaceships. etc. etc.

    Sweet graphics and effects. Epic story. Varied and memorable characters (and more of them too!) the terrific voice acting makes them truly come to life. Definitely one of my favorite games ever. ALWAYS CALIBRATING.

    Again, in my humble opinion, the Mass
    Effect series is first and foremost a story-driven game. Every moment, from the beginning of the series when you first walk aboard the SSV Normandy SR-1 to the scene before the piss-poor, highly disagreeable series ending in ME3, had me begging for more because I wanted to know what was going to happen. Or, often enough, what COULD and WOULD happen given which options I choose to follow to advance the story. I mean, with an opening scene like this that REALLY got your attention and hit you in the gut, it's hard not to like the storyline.

    I think combat gameplay is better in this one than the first game, and I definitely like the more streamlined and simpler inventory system and UI in general. While the extensive customization and looting from the first game was done away with, there continues to be a decent amount of both in this installment of Mass Effect. I particularly like decking out your cabin as well as upgrading your ship those were pretty cool additions and I wish there was more customization like that.

    Buy it. Play it. Enjoy.
    Expand
  56. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    Deserves better RPG mechanics and more various gameplay, Bioware is kinda lazy in terms of replacing or repairing parts of its games that didn't get a good response (i.e. vehicle sections). Solid lore and dialogues are not accompanied by interesting world. Except few locations it just feel too empty, all the shooting galleries look the same, not telling anything about the place you're in.
  57. Jun 3, 2013
    4
    As a person who's played Mass Effect 2 both on the PS3 and PC, I have all rights to say that with me being a dedicated fan to the franchise, this never stood up to be the proper sequel to Mass Effect 1 everyone wanted to be. Sure it's good compared to Mass Effect 3, but let's forget that disaster for a moment and get down to what Mass Effect 2 had, and what it shouldn't have had.

    First
    of all, the PC Port is pretty bad. I mean I am glad that aiming with the mouse works as it should, but binding Sprint/Interact/Cover all to the same button? What happened to the special treatment Mass Effect 1 got for PC? None of that is there, and the game really suffers greatly from having sprint and cover on the same button as you find yourself locking into cover while trying to retreat from the enemies, leaving you completely exposed to their gunfire while you go through the animations of getting out of cover again. Mass Effect 1 had you just pressing against cover without the need of button presses, and allowed you to crouch in cover too. What happened to all of that?

    Now the removal of overheat and grenades are for balance, I can understand that and honestly I wasn't bothered by it as much as I could've been, however, the in-world explanation is just so damn stupid I can't imagine how BioWare managed to laugh up the fact that it would be a good idea to choose that over the overheat system.

    A lot of missions are repetitive, which is something all three entries suffer greatly from. While Mass Effect 2 at least varies its' environments, half of the loyalty missions and sidequests consist of nothing but mindless shooting with 2 minute long cutscenes at the start and end trying to justify why it made sense to enter a gunfight, and sadly here Mass Effect 2 doesn't fare any better than any other third person shooter. If you were dumb enough to play as Soldier, you're gonna get the bore of your life as this game is all about biotics and tech, so there are some classes which are absolutely boring to play as compared to others. My personal favorite was Vanguard, which I think was amazing to play as and I had a good time playing through the game.

    Dialogue wise, it was outstanding, the story is well told and executed surprisingly well looking at the state of gaming back then. The interrupts were a great addition and you can't criticize Mass Effect 2 for its lack of dialogue. This game executes its characters really well and does an excellent job immersing you in the story and making your personal morale affect what choices you make in the game. Top notch!

    Last but not least, the save game system, which was meh at best. You'd get some letters from people or extra dialogue, however you don't miss a lot not having a Mass Effect 1 save game ready.

    Overall though, this game is really flawed in comparison to Mass Effect 1. A 4 is the brutally honest rating I'd give this game, because as far as it fares against its predecessor, it's cons largely obscure its pros, merely for the fact that Mass Effect 1 offered almost all of that too.
    Expand
  58. May 30, 2013
    5
    Mass Effect went from being a wonderful, epic RPG that was very unique, to a poor cover based shooter. I don't hate cover based shooters, but Mass Effect 2 did a terrible job with it. The enemies are predictable and do the same damning thing every time that it just becomes boring! I can't recommend this game, but it doesn't mean it was bad. Just very disappointing if you played the original.
  59. May 23, 2013
    6
    The RPG elements have been removed almost entirely of this game and makes this game only a third person shooter. The story in the game is full of as many plot holes as a cardboard box after you took a tommy gun to it, and the characters, although good, have no purpose of being there for the most part. if you want a nice TPS this game is for you, otherwise just find something else you will thank yourself latter. There is no connection to the main plot and the events that transpire are pointless. How this game is considered one of the best ever is beyond me but for a TPS it is passable. Overall a 6/10 a above average game that can only be recommended to some shooter lovers of games like Gears of War. Expand
  60. May 20, 2013
    10
    this is this one of the greatest games of all time, i am glad to give this game a 10 mainly because of its great story. combat is also engaging. easily earned 10
  61. May 18, 2013
    5
    In short to keep with game play ability length. Mass Effect 2 is a Action third person shooter first and foremost.
    ANYONE thinking ME2 would continue on the deep and compelling Universe and story lines set up in Mass effect will be greatly disappointed. Even the save game transfers from ME are mostly meaningless as all the carry over choices (with exception of 1 but ill not ruin that
    here) are minimalized and finished off with NO future adventure or interaction (beyond a short conversation here and there).

    In short the Open World Storyline design of Mass Effect is removed and replaced with a singular Linear Third Person Shooter design.

    now none of that is terrible (well other then short length of game, thats unforgivable), if thats what you went in expecting. Sadly EA marketted this game as the spiritual and RPG expansion of the first to up box sales at release. Typical EA.

    Mass Effect 2 is a Sci Fi third person shooter. Its has semi interesting characters and you even get to decide who you romance (WOOT, from choosing if a alien speices lives or dies in ME1 to who you get a black screen with in ME2).

    In the end, If you like the Mass Effect Universe and like shooters, you will like this game
    Just dont go into it thinking your getting the next installment of the original Mass Effect RPG. That franchise stopped production after #1
    Expand
  62. May 16, 2013
    10
    To my mind the best game of my generation! Gun shooting improved, nice variety of missions(no boring quests at all), voice acting the same top class, more memorable characters that I've seen in the video game so far! And continuing with your save from predecessor another genius decision from Bioware! And of course 30+ hours of super engaging main plot & lot of appealing side missions makes it a full package! Expand
  63. May 11, 2013
    10
    What can i say about this game? It is still the best game I ever played. The combat mechanics are much improved from Mass Effect 1 and feels much more fluid.The story is is great, it keept me intrested the whole time. All characters are intresting each in their own way(especially Mordin & Legion). The game is full of decisions wich have consequences that ripple thru the story and also effects in Mass Effect 3. Only gripes i have with the game is that the planet scanning minigame becomes a bit tedious. It takes too long to scan the planets and get the ressources you need. Also the rpg elements have been reduced quite significantly and there is not enough of Liara T'Soni! So are you gonna be the Paragon Shepard who is nice to everyone or are you gonna be Renegade Shepard who punches people in the face? The choice is yours! I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite game on the citadel! Expand
  64. May 9, 2013
    5
    One word to describe this game would be: betrayal.
    In order to round up a greater audience for the game, they made the game as similar to any other game out there, mainly Halo.
    RPG elements-removed, no-ammo-removed, planet exploration removed.
    Mass Effect 1 wasn't a pure open world game, but hey, compared to Mass Effect 2 you could call it just as open as GTAs. I mean Mass Effect 2 is
    so linear, so that a monkey with a controller could complete this game on easy (you'd have to teach him to shoot and collect ammo if you'd want him to beat harder difficulties).
    Don't get me wrong, the story is great and all, but the gameplay is awful at this point. The second time I played it I used mods to make it feel more like the first game.
    Another annoyingly stupid thing is the DLCs. There are too many of them. Ok, maybe that's not the biggest problem point. They are to expensive for what they are. You wont get more than 2 hours of gameplay with each of them, but they sure cost like if they were at least 10 hours of gameplay. And the fact that the characters got released one by one after release, you had to replay the game over and over again, if you wanted to have the full experience with each of them. It's just frustrating, if you want to know every little bit of the story, which is the best part of the game.
    Essentially, this game was a big disappointment for me, and didn't feel like a Mass Effect game, at least gameplay wise. The removal of all the best stuff from Mass Effect 1, was the worst part for me, that really hurt the franchise in my eyes.
    Expand
  65. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    I had friends recommending me this series for quite a long time and I never saw what the big deal was about. One day I bought it cause it was on sale and the next thing I know I was sucked in to this universe, in love and like an addict that just wanted more doses of it. I have never played such an engaging and game so rich in depth. The gameplay is not the best, but it's the universe and characters that really reel you in. A well deserved 10/10. A MUST OWN Expand
  66. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Good game, with a few flaws. Graphics and sound are quite good, and while you may have less sidequests than ME1 if you're not interested in the DLCs at least this time you won't be exploring the same three maps with a few crates in a different position. The plot offers you a limited choice, to be fair most of the time you will just have different ways to get to the same result, but the characters, voice acting and the one plot you have are actually very enjoyable. If this approach is something you don't like then consider buying something else, like The Witcher 2, before ME2. The inventory system is quite different from ME, you will only have a few versions of each weapon and some upgrades, this again is a matter of taste. ME had a clunky, console friendly inventory which I don't mind at all forgetting, the old grid based diablo and nwn system would have been a better choice than what you had in ME so I can't see any reason to complain, while some people seem to miss it. Combat manages to be fun for the whole game. Based on your class you will have different ways to hack trough you enemy's defenses and go for the kill, by sheer firepower or trough one of the many abilities, freezing and shattering them with an headshot or just push them up above or down into a pit with your biotic powers. The final boss is probably the easiest battle in the whole game toh. You can find something better in the "Lair of the shadow broker" dlc.

    Some very annoying flaws: you're going to find your character slide up on a few obstacles without any way to get back down. This only happens on a few obstacles, but it is quite frustrating having to reload your game for a bug like this. Another common problem is the game crashing at some points when you try to change the weapons equipped on your characters. If you bough some weapon dlc this adds some extra irony.

    All in all, for me it felt like playing a not too recent final fantasy game, with less grinding, good graphics and a fighting system that isn't annoying. It may not be your cup of coffee, but if it is then you're going to love this game.
    Expand
  67. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    I've just finished it for the second time, after restarting my character, making a new different shepard. the second time was even better than the first one, it took me long hours, I think between 20-30 to finish it, with lots of side quests.
    This game is amazing for how it makes you get sucked into the characters, the plot, the reactions, the environment, you actually feel they are
    alive, they exist somewhere else, that's the amazing sense you get along the game, and after you finish it.

    I always recommend starting with the first Mass effect, which is a bit uncomfortable by game-play meanings, but is also amazing, by plot and characters.
    Even though some elements were removed like, inventory etc... it won't affect the game in general, hell I didn't even notice that it didn't have those options, until the end. and I didn't care.

    This game gives you the spice and makes you want another one, like this isn't finished yet, and bioware already provided ME3. what else can you ask for?
    Expand
  68. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    The game contains more than 10 playable characters and all of them have fully fleshed-out background stories that make you genuinely care about all of them. The dialogue is always well written and the fact that you decide the outcome of the conversations yourself make you feel really engaged. Also, the facial expressions of the characters are amazing and make them look like they are expressing real feelings, more than in any other game I have played.
    You often learn more about the back stories of the playable characters by helping them out in side missions. These missions also make the game becoming more non-linear so that you, most of the time, can decide yourself what to do the next.

    The environments and the music manage to capture the essence of a dark science fiction world and make you feel really absorbed in the game.
    Developing your characters and receiving new powers is satisfying. The powers are fun to use and makes for a dynamic combat. However, despite having a disposal of different kind of powers the combat gets slightly repetitive in the long run.
    Aside from the somewhat repetitive combat there isn't anything to complain about and overall Mass effect 2 is an amazing game.
    Expand
  69. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the best games ever made, it's amazing soundtrack, its gripping story, amazing made characters including your love interest. It is a awesome game made upon hard decision making and assembling your team for the ultimate-suicide mission. The game has a satisfying ending to it, making you want to reply it over again and wanting you to play the next game in the Trilogy. Though this game does have bugs and glitches, but those are minor and acceptable, nothing to ruin the experience. If you are a Mass Effect fan or not, this is a must own. Expand
  70. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Definetly the best game in the series in my opinion. The gameplay is pretty much the same as the other games, but the missions are much more interesting and i really liked the system of having to earn your squads trust. The story is probably also the best in the series and it comes up with some difficult choices every now and then.
  71. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    If you haven't played the original Mass Effect, what are waiting for? Go play it...it's great. And if you disliked the original, you won't like this sequel any better...it's not that different. And finally, if you played and liked the original, there are numerous changes that you may find pleasing or annoying, but overall it's the same look and feel, the same world, many of the same characters, and an exciting progression toward whatever conclusion awaits in Mass Effect 3. It does suffer a bit from middle-child syndrome, as part two of any three-part series does, giving you neither the thrill of witnessing the beginning nor the satisfaction of a final conclusion. Still, ME2 has at least 80% of what you liked in ME1, so spend a few bucks for 40+ hours of solid entertainment. Expand
  72. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    9
    The successor of ME1 improved graphics but removed RPG components from the previous version. Also no world exploration and areas feel more dungeon like than open worlds. Still, its strong point -the story- is still strong -if stronger- and that is the important part.
  73. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Overall I have to rate this game an 8 out of 10 this game excels in story. I love the way you control you're actions that is one of the things that separates this game from most RPG's, however this games is lacking the control of the abilities your character should have. You should be able to pick better skills from the skill tree, but their is no reason to hate this game it has almost all of the key elements a game should have. Expand
  74. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Saga continues with the second opus. Just a new hit from Bioware. Graphisms are totally correct, the gameplay is faster than the first opus.

    The story is more around the caracters this time. I didn't like the planet's system but that's really not a big deal. Buy without hesitation if you like SF products of course
  75. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is amazing game from the start. The beginning tells us that this game is going to be epic and massive. The graphics are gorgeous even though the facial expressions can be bit clumsy sometimes. None of this really matters because the part where the game really shines is exploration. You can explore every planet and learn about its history and its properties. The cities are gorgeous. You can see that the developers put a lot of effort in the cities and they look really beautiful. Sadly the game faces a small problem. The combat can be very clumsy sometimes. It is not very dynamic, instead it reminds me of trenches combat in World War I. Enemies almost never rush you and as long as you stay in cover you won't die. Your movement is limited also which can make you frustrated sometimes. Overall this game is brilliant in what it tries to do. If you are fan of sci-fi games and like exploring this game is for you. Look no further. Expand
  76. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    A better-than-average sequel. Many of the gameplay elements have evolved from the first game--for better and for worse. Many of the RPG elements were stripped out, leaving the overall RPG-ness feel less fulfilling than the original Mass Effect. The gameplay and action sequences, however, were much more enjoyable. Surprisingly, the addition of the thermal clips greatly affected this. The continuity of the storyline and decisions from the last game was quite refreshing, and at the end of the game it really left me craving for the next installment. Expand
  77. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    Chest-high walls everywhere! Mass Effect 2 trades in most of the RPG (inventory, loot) elements from the first game, changes its tone (darker, more serious) and expands on the combat elements. Thankfully the dialogue wheel and conversations are just as expansive as before, although hub worlds and areas have been minimized, marginalized (the Citadel is tiny now). No vehicle sections (amended somewhat with DLC), though the "N7" missions are back and aren't repetitive this time around. Stellar voice acting, music and cinematography as to be expected, writing is very dodgy in places but as far as experiences go, this one is hard to beat - the endgame ("suicide run") is second to none. Expand
  78. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I recently bought the Mass Effect trilogy, played through the first game, loved it, and came into the second one with very high hopes. While it lived up to many of my standards, I see why some do complain it doesn't live up to the original. Mass Effect 1 was more focused on RPG elements and choice based plot, with less focus on shooting sequences. Mass Effect 2 changes that. Since ME2 was a very anticipated release, I think Bioware tried to make it a more crowd pleasing game. ME2 thrives in it's combat elements, graphics, and plot, but lags in being an RPG. Leveling up was toned down, along with various other elements. Other than that though, I feel Mass Effect 2 is a great game, with good gameplay as well as a plot and characters that makes you care for others on your pixelated screen of choice. Expand
  79. Jan 10, 2013
    3
    Mass Effect 2 has the worst continuation of story in any sci-fi. It destroyed the lore of Mass Effect 1, made main antagonists into brain dead morons, and it actually serves no point, because we didn't learn anything really important in it, for example, how to stop the reapers or how to unite a galaxy against this threat and so on and fourth. The beginning just happened and later on no further themes of this "revival" weren't addressed nor the whole process explained. Shepard died and got resurrected, just to serve the plot, it adds no meaning nor change to main characters character, Shepard seems to be just a static brick. Overall, the storyline was not good, at all.
    Other problems contains game mechanics and oversimplification of RPG elements and lore breaking transition from unique concept of weapon mechanics to general ammo clips. Exploration is also dumped down to boring planet search minigame. Customization was improved on some parts, but overall it was also majorly oversimplified and generalized. They really tried to push this game to general audience, which they shouldn't have been doing in the first place.
    ME2 marks the beginning of the complete wreckage for the whole franchise, ME3 being the second mark on that path. This game shows how lack of attention to the detail and story can destroy the potential of interesting and engaging lore.
    Expand
  80. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Very good game from BioWare. Excellent graphics, fantastic fight mode. I have no words to describe this game. One of the most amazing games from EA - this words could be fine.
  81. Dec 24, 2012
    4
    What I expected: More from what I got in the first game. What I got: A dumbed down, consolized game with bad game mechanics and a terrible UI. Good things first. The presentation (graphics, animations, voice over) works great, pretty much like in the first game, and the story is nice. Unfortunately, that's where the good things end. The decision that guns now require ammo is something I can accept and would even prefer. But why does my boss spend billions on a star ship with an advanced armory, yet doesn't have enough cash to buy me some ammo? That way, I have to rely on the ammo I find from dead enemies, which don't always drop the ammo I need. Great, but that's one of the minor flaws of this game: Before I started playing, I had to fix several bugs with the mouse speed and colorization of the game. Many players are complaining about this on forums, but Bioware never bothered to patch these things themselves. Then, I can hardly enjoy anything in this game, because the user interface is so *** **** bad. You can't double click in menus, always need to "click item", then "click ok button". It's not even possible to confirm with ENTER, you have to click the button. Every time. Same goes for the star map. On top of that, there are no shortcut keys to get to the important menus, you have to hit ESC and then click the menu you want to bring up. You can navigate there with the arrow keys, but for some reason unknown to anyone in this galaxy, the controls are reversed. Left goes right, down goes up. Doing simple things takes forever, because the interface is just such a damn mess. Also, every time you pick something up, a message about the item will pop up and fill about half of your screen. They got most of this right in the first game, then changed it to this to "improve" the game for gaming consoles and didn't bother to change it for the PC version - but not only is it bad for PC players, it's also an insult to console gamers. They must really think you're stupid when they dumb down a game like that. Then again, maybe many console gamers are. Expand
  82. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    I feel like they really ironed out a lot of the problems I had with ME1 in this game. It felt a little more balanced from the start especially since your weapons now require ammunition, even if they do shower ammo upon you at least for the lower difficulties. There seemed to be a lot more choice in this game having the option to not even pick up all available team members and being asked to make decisions which could cost the lives of certain members. Unlike in ME1 you could make it through with your entire team or you could lose a lot of lives so it felt like there was actual pressure to make the right decisions. Ultimately though the way forward in terms of squad preservation was glaringly obvious and only required the patience for a bunch of sidequests so when a team mate dies it doesn't feel like you made a mistake, it feels like you just couldn't be bothered saving them. Lots of improvements on the first game and another great experience. Expand
  83. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    Stripped of RPG elements, this is a disappointing sequel given the premise that was built in the original. It seems the popular thing to do nowadays is turn every franchise into Gears of War or Call of Duty because that's what Bioware did with this game; Mass Effect 2 is effectively Gears of War with a chat wheel. On it's own it would've been an excellent spin-off but calling this an RPG shows what a sad state of affairs the game industry is in. If you played the first you can import your character and your actions from the previous game do have some weight but this also presents the problem of killing the replay value. This is a good squad-based third person shooter but it's no RPG. Expand
  84. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    i dont belive that the best game in the frenchise i got in free i buy dragon age 2 so because of that i get the game in free i am a huge fan of the mass effect frenchise my first game of the frenchise was mass effect 2 that i got on free from that point on i became a huge fan the great story the gameplay side quest and the women mass effect 2 is the best in the frenchise for now until mass effect 4 will come out and then i will test again what is the best in the frenchise Expand
  85. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I loved the first game. This second game is the first with everything improved.In my first gameplay I played 7h without stopping. Nice characters,story,everything! It's perfect!
  86. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    this game is awesome... just the launch trailer gives me chills and the game itself makes me cry... seriously... im really looking forward to see Mass Effect 3 someday...
  87. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    If you like RPGs this game is a must. Very nice story line combined with charismatic characters and a decent combat system mixing the engaging FPS style with the tactical RPG elements. The scenarios are small and linear but the game itself is so epic that I can't see myself giving it anything but a 9.

    WARNING: Half or more of the game are dialogues and cut scenes, you can skip
    everything if you want of course but the very essence of the game you won't experience if you do. ME2 isn't Counter Strike, RPG comes first, FPS second. Keep it in mind. Expand
  88. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is probably my favorite game of all time (fighting for the top spot with Deus Ex). The world's are fascinating, wandering around them is like exploring a real life community. ME1 was also a phenomenal game (also in my top three or four games of all time), but this one improves upon it's graphics and continues the same amazing quality of writing and character development. It's really a must play. The only problem is I really want to play a game I enjoyed as much as this one again, but just can't find one (ME3 just didn't cut it). Expand
  89. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    In my opinion this is the best installment of the series. We are introduced to some of the best character in the series ■Grunt ■Jack ■Jacob Taylor ■Kasumi Goto
    ■Legion ■Miranda Lawson ■Mordin Solus ■Samara or Morinth ■Tali'Zorah vas Neema / Normandy
    ■Thane Krios ■Zaeed Massani
    And the old friends also returned. I loved
    the dark and grim atmosphere of the game. The collectors were very interesting villains. The pace of the game and the story were perfect. The graphics were improved. For the first time the player could explore the galaxy, which was a great addition. Weapon and armor customization was introduced. Player decisions really changed the outcome of the ending. I can only recommend the game. Don't forget to import your save files from ME1! Expand
  90. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I have not played Mass Effect 1- but I still found this game to be amazing. The characters, the story, the gameplay - it is pure fun. The cover-based squad combat works great. The downsides to this game are that you have very limited options when it comes to choosing weapons- there is often one clear weapon to choose over another when picking a shotgun, pistol, SMG, etc. Also, the game seems to get into the end-game very quickly- just when you think you're just coming together as a team, you hit the last level. Finally, it seems that choosing different squadmates has a very small impact on gameplay- it makes little difference who I choose to bring with me. They all do about the same amount of damage- the only thing that changes are your abilities, which means that teammates with the more useful abilities should ALWAYS be chosen over those that don't have useful abilities. Other than this, everything about the game (except for the mining mini-game. Don't get me started on that) is phenomenal- there is a universe here that is meant to be explored, and boy is it fun. Expand
  91. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    If you love the sci-fi genre you will be satisfied. Immersive, good dialogues, good character developement; good cinematics. The whole experience has been truly enthralling. Worth every dime.
  92. Oct 4, 2012
    6
    Mass Effect 2 is stunning space opera and a stunningly mediocre game. It boasts some of the best NPCs and voice acting ever seen in gaming. Then it sticks the 'actors' in the most constricted spaces imaginable, playing about the most asinine 'campaign' ever made. You have beautifully conceived characters like Jack, trapped on a tiny space ship where nothing happens, playing a minigame to 'travel the galaxy' which means running around to encounters on tiny little maps that are supposed to represent 'planets. The parts of the game that are good are really great, but the total experience is good cinema in a BAD game. If they keep the cionema and get around to building proper cities and planets one day this franchise might become AWESOME. Cross your fingers and PRAY. Expand
  93. rpm
    Sep 24, 2012
    8
    Having played all three games in this series multiple times with a variety of characters, my conclusion is that ME1 is still my favorite followed by ME3 and then ME2 close behind.

    When ME2 came out I imported my ME1 saves, and then when ME3 came out, I imported my saves from ME2 and carried on with the story. After playing ME3 with several of my characters, I then went back and started
    new characters in ME1 and played all three games back to back to back, and it was enjoyable to play it as one huge story arc.

    This brings be to both the praise worthy elements and criticisms of this review of ME2.

    1. Brilliant opening cinematic and basis for creating/recreating your character.
    The opening sequence provides both a dramatic narrative and a clever method of providing the player with the option of sticking with the same character played in ME1 or choosing another type.

    2. Graphics +/-
    When you play this series one after another, you really notice how the graphics evolve over the years these games were produced. While there is a stark improvement to the environments from ME1 to ME2 and character models are superior, I do feel that there was more artistic skill involved in rendering the characters in ME1. As an analogy, some artists can do more with 6 colors than less talented artists can do with 24. It seemed to me that the artists involved with ME2 had superior software and got a little lazy. There are exceptions...Jack, for one...but the rendering in ME2 seems a little plastic compared to ME1.

    3. Story
    This is basically a squad building game. Find the unique new characters and add them to your team. Both you and the enemy are trying to add to their teams. Nothing really happens storywise that progresses you from the end of ME1 to the beginning of ME3 other than each side trying to add to their strength through numbers. It isn't a bad story, just not as good as ME1.

    4. Gameplay
    To me, ME2 seems much more like a 3rd Person Shooter than ME1, which had more RPG elements. How much you enjoy ME2 is very much dependent on what style of play you want. If you are an RPG'er like me, then you will probably be disappointed with the changes made to ME2. Most RPG'ers like to micro-manage their squad. ME2 streamlines many of the elements in ME1, removing many of the choices which were, to me, a fun aspect of ME1. But if you want to just blow away enemies and not worry about details, this will be a lot of fun for you.

    Conclusion:
    Mass Effect 2 is a great game. The story is just enough, the new companions are well done, and the visual style is effective. I just happen to enjoy ME1 more (except for a few really silly dialogue sequences such as Matriarch Benezia's main scene). Try playing all three games in a row to get a good idea of how they compare!
    Expand
  94. Sep 13, 2012
    5
    The game is good and a must play for ME fans, but the move from non-ammo count firearms to ammo seems almost nonsensical as it completely changes how one sees the unique futuristic weapons. Scrounging for ammo is one of the least enjoyable aspects of shooters. Game was kinda ruined by the constant purposeful delaying of the final mission and the environment (galaxy) seemed so much more claustrophobic for some reason. Due to the above issues the game feels more of a grind than the first. Expand
  95. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    One of my all-time favorite PC Games ever. This is truly an epic video game with a wonderful story and beautiful graphics. There really aren't many games I enjoy replaying like this one. I have played through the game 3 times and each play through was literally as fun as the last. It really makes me sad because this is the one game I kind of wish would go on forever.
  96. Sep 2, 2012
    4
    Mass Effect 2 is a sequel that has been stripped of everything that made the first game enjoyable for me. Reduced to a simple, linear cover based third person shooter with token rpg elements and mini games. The story is the only thing that holds this game up, but it is still a tattered, sorry flag.
  97. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Let's start with the good points of the game. The combat has been vastly improved and is now way better. The characters are great, they're all unique and have a good backstory to them. The story is... ok for the most part, a bit stupid and nonsensical here and there but it's nothing big. Now for the bad: exploration is completely gone. Instead of improving it like they did with the combat they just removed it completely. The replacement for it, the mining game, is not any better. The galaxy seems smaller now but the multitude of hub worlds sort of fills in the gap left by it. They also removed the inventory system (which was very bad in ME1) and replaced it with an upgrade system. It's good but it still would've been better to have an inventory. Conclusion: Small problems here and there but the good parts outweigh them. 9/10 Expand
  98. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Hands down one of the greatest games I've ever played. The story is incredible, and the gameplay is near perfect, and the worlds themselves are beautiful. But the best thing about this about this game would have to be the characters. Each character in your squad gets a unique and thrilling two missions devoted to them that help flesh them out as characters along with a ton of dialogue that helps establish their backstory. Of all of the characters I had on my team, I didn't find a single one to be generic, or uninteresting. I recommend this game to anyone who is into or even has an appreciation for space related science fiction (i.e. star wars, star trek.) Expand
  99. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    A true Sci-Fi game. With amazing visuals, music, writng, voice acting, and gameplay, a diverse cast of characters, a dark and mysterious plot. You can feel actual pressure for your decisions. Option of importing a character from ME1 is amazing.
  100. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 should be the game that sets the bar for all other games, from its amazing combat system to its interesting paragon/renegade effects i couldn't bring myself to stop playing it. Perhaps one of the greatest features of this game is that every shepard is different, not just aesthetically but in the advancements, weapons and classes. I spent close to 36 hours playing this game with all the DLC and enjoyed every second of building up a squad and slowly playing through their loyalty missions in order to leave no one behind at the final mission. My only criticism is that it is it is less open world then it should be as after all you are given a galaxy to explore and yet can only walk around on a small number of them and 3/4 have no purpose other than mineral gathering. But overall the style of this game has one me over 9/10. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Mass Effect 2 resumes with pride the path opened by the first game. This sequel is a lesson of how things should be made.
  2. Mass Effect 2 delivers a story that's deeper than what many novelists are capable of, and its action is better than what most Hollywood directors are creating nowadays. It's an addictive, engrossing experience that many gamers will replay over and over while they hold their breath waiting for the third game.
  3. A brilliant mix of shooter and role-playing, filled with great characters, excellent design, lots of action and clever dialogue. It's a shame though that Bioware did not improve the inventory and skill system of the first game, but actually reduced it even more. I really wished there were more customization options, more ways to develop and gear up my characters. But all these are merely small points of criticism, since there is so much to feel and experience in this game. Mass Effect 2 is a thrilling, emotional ride and ultimately every bit as good as its predecessor.