Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2624 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Everything about the game – plots, combat, progression, characters – comes together in a tidy, satisfying package.
  2. A stunning example of cross-game persistence, genre-blending and adaptive narrative. [Mar 2010, p.62]
  3. 100
    The gameplay is extremely effective in terms of its new cover system and leaner, more focused action. The lore and mythology is involving and the story pulls you into the universe. The voice acting, soundtrack and graphical fidelity are the icing on the cake.
  4. Modern, fascinating and truly innovative, Mass Effect 2 is a brand new take for the western rpg, Bioware reached a perfect mix between action and storytelling, graced by stunning visuals and a long and challenging gameplay.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. By making choice, dialogue and characters the key ingredients, Mass Effect 2 delivers an experience in which the player feels directly at the core - more so than any other game we can think of. It effortlessly expands the scope of the original, creating a universe which is deeply engrossing and a plot that you can't help feeling part of.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 475
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    ME2 was a huge improvement over its predecessor. Not only did they remove many of the irritating tidbits that bogged players down in the level-up and equipment screens for hours, but they also improved gameplay drastically. The result is a well-made, fun game that easily makes the top of my list of games in 2010. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    This is my favorite game ever the story was hands down the best it had a huge improvement from the first game like NO **** ATV (it annoyed the hell out of me) and I do like the clips instead of unlimited (it was so overpowered) the characters are just bad-ass and you also get to see the characters from the first game and fight with some of them again the gameplay is just fun (u finally get to slide over things). I have played over 200 hours on this game doing ever choice every class every ending. Overall amazing game I highly recommend getting this game. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    I'll start by stating that I'm anything but a Sci-Fi fan, so I guess what I have to say might carry a bit more weight than if I was.

    I
    must say I dind't enjoy any game like I enjoyed Dragon Age:Origins for a long time, and yet, given the choice to play DA:O (which is more in line with the games is enjoy the most) or ME2, I'd have to think for a while and then probably choose Mass Effect 2.

    I loved it so much I even started looking for a tactical first person shooter (which not my kind of game, really), which eventually lead to the discovery of Battelfield 3.

    Overall, though not in my usual vein of games, probably the most satisfying game I ever played.
    Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    From Bioware comes the next installment in their sci fi shooter Mass Effect 2. Things begin right after Mass Effect 1's ending and the Normandy and it's crew are sent to investigate the Terminus System where ships have dissapeared. Once again you can play as Shepard who is violently killed when the Normandy is attacked then the organization Cerberus rebuilds you and you have to find out what is happening and stop it. Instead of being bossed around by the alliance you are bossed around by the Illusive Man voiced by Martin Sheen. The Game looks beautiful and the sound of plasma rushing past your head is great too. The combat is similar to Mass Effect 1 there is some new powers it is lighter on the RPG side but I did not mind that because the devs put extra detail into the battles. This time you have ammo instead of guns heating up which is great. You go to different planets in the game and gather up a crew to fight the enemy. There are little side missions to gain the crews loyalty too to increse the survivability on the final mission and if you suck bad on the final mission you can even get Shepard killed. I didn't make any sexy relationships this time over all that I did was have a girl over for dinner though but then she died. The game is great I have played through it 15 times since i got it ill give it a 9.5 this review will be on my blog also at http://www.maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/ Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    9
    A true Sci-Fi game. With amazing visuals, music, writng, voice acting, and gameplay, a diverse cast of characters, a dark and mysterious plot. You can feel actual pressure for your decisions. Option of importing a character from ME1 is amazing. Expand
  6. May 6, 2011
    8
    [FR] La suite magnifique d'un jeu exceptionnel. Mass Effect est un jeux qui mélange jeu de tir à la première personne et jeu de rôle où chaque décision prise influence intégralement l'avenir de votre personnage... Les actions et décisions que vous prennez dans Mass Effect 2 se répercuteront (parfois de manière dramatique) dans la suite tant attendue; Mass Effect 3. Le système d'amélioration d'armes est un pur plaisir et la manŠExpand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    it is a terrible PC port, typical average console game...
    dont buy it if you want to play an FPS on your computer. clunky, dumbed down
    controls, MASSIVE (hence the name i suppose) amounts of cutscenes, boring combat, weak role play, no physics engine, dull graphics, no options to gameplay, stupid achievements, dumbed down game play, the list of goes on and on

    no idea why this game had such good reviews that made me buy it, to my dismay
    Expand

See all 475 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.