Mass Effect 2 PC

Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3607 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Despite some graphical disappointments and the infamous console-driven imprint, the next chapter of this beautiful Bioware saga stands with right among the most enjoyable and immersive adventures ever created for the videogame industry.
  2. Mass Effect 2 is a triumph of an action game, blending satisfying shooter levels with dark themes and hours of heated debate.
  3. Mass Effect 2 is an epic in every sense, not forgetting anything. It can hold us until the last second, and still allows us to go further.
  4. Mass Effect 2 captures the elements that made the original a game to remember, showing once more the mastery of Bioware creating great stories and unforgettable characters. Not happy with that, the studio shows their will to surpass themselves with a very improved combat system which does a lot of right things to approach the gameplay of the best third person shooters available. Perhaps, in some aspects the team has been too overzealous to streamline certain aspects of the first game, loosing a bit of the original ingenuity, but it can't be discussed that the result is a more polished and focused title.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. Mass Effect 2 may have turned a bit more into a shooter than its predecessor, but the story and the dense atmosphere will appeal to SciFi- and roleplay fans alike.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 542
  1. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes. Expand
  2. May 20, 2013
    10
    this is this one of the greatest games of all time, i am glad to give this game a 10 mainly because of its great story. combat is alsothis is this one of the greatest games of all time, i am glad to give this game a 10 mainly because of its great story. combat is also engaging. easily earned 10 Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and differentMass Effect 2 is definitely one of the best action-rpg games in history. Even though people criticize the lack of inventory and different option, i actually like the streamlined changes. It puts more focus on the story and gameplay instead of stats. The story is definitely one of the best and the voice acting is terrific. t's hard not to love the hateful Illusive Man or Legion or Grunt. Mass Effect 2 seems to have done many things right and i am glad that it is a commercial and critical success. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    FPS-(semi)RPG. Story. Story. Graphics. Story. Characters. Characters. Story. Characters. Graphics. Effects. Spaceships. etc. etc.

    Sweet
    FPS-(semi)RPG. Story. Story. Graphics. Story. Characters. Characters. Story. Characters. Graphics. Effects. Spaceships. etc. etc.

    Sweet graphics and effects. Epic story. Varied and memorable characters (and more of them too!) the terrific voice acting makes them truly come to life. Definitely one of my favorite games ever. ALWAYS CALIBRATING.

    Again, in my humble opinion, the Mass Effect series is first and foremost a story-driven game. Every moment, from the beginning of the series when you first walk aboard the SSV Normandy SR-1 to the scene before the piss-poor, highly disagreeable series ending in ME3, had me begging for more because I wanted to know what was going to happen. Or, often enough, what COULD and WOULD happen given which options I choose to follow to advance the story. I mean, with an opening scene like this that REALLY got your attention and hit you in the gut, it's hard not to like the storyline.

    I think combat gameplay is better in this one than the first game, and I definitely like the more streamlined and simpler inventory system and UI in general. While the extensive customization and looting from the first game was done away with, there continues to be a decent amount of both in this installment of Mass Effect. I particularly like decking out your cabin as well as upgrading your ship those were pretty cool additions and I wish there was more customization like that.

    Buy it. Play it. Enjoy.
    Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    A better-than-average sequel. Many of the gameplay elements have evolved from the first game--for better and for worse. Many of the RPGA better-than-average sequel. Many of the gameplay elements have evolved from the first game--for better and for worse. Many of the RPG elements were stripped out, leaving the overall RPG-ness feel less fulfilling than the original Mass Effect. The gameplay and action sequences, however, were much more enjoyable. Surprisingly, the addition of the thermal clips greatly affected this. The continuity of the storyline and decisions from the last game was quite refreshing, and at the end of the game it really left me craving for the next installment. Expand
  6. EssayanF.
    Feb 1, 2010
    8
    All i can say, is that i'm impressed. I feared a feeling of "dejà vu", but mass effect 2 is much more than a simple sequel. The All i can say, is that i'm impressed. I feared a feeling of "dejà vu", but mass effect 2 is much more than a simple sequel. The many good points i noticed : Just after the public release, this game looks far more polished than the first one was in its last version. There are a lot more fighting, but it is really exciting to go threw them. They're more dynamic than in ME1. You can't save the game anytime you want. You'll have to go threw an entire fight to be able to save. ( And when you're playing in insanity difficulty, it is really making a difference... ) Scanning sequences to get resources are a bit boring, but it's nothing compared to the exploration with the MAKO ... I can't say how gratefull i am about the idea of not driving this thing again... Bye bye, infamous inventory system, now you only carry the necessary and don't have to turn 500 old pieces of equipement into omnigel... ( i exagerate a bit ) You're no longer restrained to the current appearence of your armor, each part can be replaced with another (if you found some), and you can customize the colour. If you regret some choices you've done about the attribution of your ability points, you will be able to reset them and choose again. That's a lot of improvements... And there are more and more. It has been well thinked. Some people will say that the RPG aspect was minimized to let the action take a major place. It isn't true. What is true, is that there are certainly a lot more combat, but there are also many quests and subquests. Moreover, the dialogs remain rich and are implementing new features such as the "instant actions".(you'll need to play to see it) ME1 lacked the diversity that ME2 is offering and wasn't more an RPG than its sequel. It was just more boring and repetitive. So don't worry, the RPG side is still there, and proud to claim it. Importing a character from ME1 really got some interest. And i'm not talking about bonuses you get by doing so. Many details about what you've done in ME1 will be used in ME2, and will affect the story. I really appreciated that. Graphicaly, this game is a nice looking one and you won't need the last GPU to run it with decent settings. The audio is better than in ME1, and i'm talking about the weapons, the environmental sounds, the music... The voice acting is as good as in the first. The level design ? I read that someone said it was pathetic. Hell no... The areas are full of details, and the design is far more better than in ME1. You won't visit 10 times the same place in 10 different planets as you did in ME1. The bad aspects, because there is no perfect game : - You can't crouch anymore in ME2 while NPC are able to do it... Why ????... it doesn't make any sense to me... Every game with action sequence are allowing the character to crouch... How frustrating... - There are still some bugs that are quite annoying..like : My character got stucked many times in some area and in the middle of a fight... Some bugs with voices in the dialogs... - The hiding system during fighting sequence and the control of the character could be better... It looks like bioware won't get a headache when importing stuff from console. It's a great game, really. But it's tainted by some stuff like that.... A shame really... Let's hope they do something. Expand
  7. JennyF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level design is average, the gunplay has been done to death. It's slightly average. What's great is the cinematic part of it. It's better than the original, however it seems to be quite tedious and repetitive with the gameplay and the boring searching for money parts of the game. Choices can matter, some characters are interesting, story is cliche, but told in a good manner, besides the annoying main character. The AI is ok, the enemies are ok, the game just seems to not really have anything to call its own unfortunately. Expand

See all 542 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.