Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2948 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Despite some graphical disappointments and the infamous console-driven imprint, the next chapter of this beautiful Bioware saga stands with right among the most enjoyable and immersive adventures ever created for the videogame industry.
  2. Mass Effect 2 is a triumph of an action game, blending satisfying shooter levels with dark themes and hours of heated debate.
  3. Mass Effect 2 is an epic in every sense, not forgetting anything. It can hold us until the last second, and still allows us to go further.
  4. Mass Effect 2 captures the elements that made the original a game to remember, showing once more the mastery of Bioware creating great stories and unforgettable characters. Not happy with that, the studio shows their will to surpass themselves with a very improved combat system which does a lot of right things to approach the gameplay of the best third person shooters available. Perhaps, in some aspects the team has been too overzealous to streamline certain aspects of the first game, loosing a bit of the original ingenuity, but it can't be discussed that the result is a more polished and focused title.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. Mass Effect 2 may have turned a bit more into a shooter than its predecessor, but the story and the dense atmosphere will appeal to SciFi- and roleplay fans alike.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 501
  1. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes. Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Well I could Describe it in one sentence: One of the best kickassing brilliant si-fi addictive Bioware game ever released Bioware ReallyWell I could Describe it in one sentence: One of the best kickassing brilliant si-fi addictive Bioware game ever released Bioware Really really impressed me with part one couldn't wait for 2 had to play it,
    And here it was they did it again, again they made me have tears in my eyes, the story in the mass effect sage is so good it will make you cry ^^

    ROCK on Bioware (and ea)

    Sealreth,
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game came out about the same time I met my current girlfriend. Godammn it! Eventually I decided to let her in on a little secret of mine.This game came out about the same time I met my current girlfriend. Godammn it! Eventually I decided to let her in on a little secret of mine. I told her that frequently after we say goodnight and I drop her off home, I go home to my room and take command of a spaceship, called the Normandy. Didn't make any mention of the little thing I was hoping to get going with one of the cute hands-on-deck (Ashley I think her name was ). And then I cruise around galaxies and star systems looking for minerals, exploration activities, fights, battles and quests. Thus I had to admit that even though she thought she was starting a relationship with a switched-on intelligent guy, I was actually one of those moronic imbeclies that play RPG games on their computer. Suffice to say it didn't go down to well ... Why you'd want to know that I don't know, but what I'm trying to say is that I had to explain what this game was to a person that has never played a game in their life before. Once she could see that there was "story", "character development", "adventure", "combat" and "politics", she was much more impressed. I actually used this as an excuse to get her round to my place one night, by saying something along the lines, "I'll let you choose which planet we go to :)". Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Easily a 10 for the first 90% of the game. The only thing kept me from calling this "perfect" was how much it built up to the conclusion andEasily a 10 for the first 90% of the game. The only thing kept me from calling this "perfect" was how much it built up to the conclusion and then ending abruptly (which is to say how badly I wanted more from it). Great game! As for all the haters that are clearly outnumbered here, why not do yourself a favor and actually try to enjoy this game? Don't you know it takes more muscles to type hate than to do this - - - > ^_^ Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    This game is simply "Michal Bay" style production. You could call the game... limited. I do. But I still can appreciate that the way story isThis game is simply "Michal Bay" style production. You could call the game... limited. I do. But I still can appreciate that the way story is told is really amazing. And I mean REALLY. It is worth playing just for seeing it, feeling the loud sound while watching incredible camera doing. Even when I prefer game to be "a game", ME2 still has it's place. And I would recommend it for anyone who hesitated playing this because "it is bad game" comments but still can feel something special watching trailers like Skyrim's or DXHR's over and over :) You will love ME2 in the same way :) Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Not as great as the first game in my opinion. The fact that the whole game kinda moved in a different direction put me off. Still a decentNot as great as the first game in my opinion. The fact that the whole game kinda moved in a different direction put me off. Still a decent game that I would play again if I had the time. Expand
  7. JennyF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level design is average, the gunplay has been done to death. It's slightly average. What's great is the cinematic part of it. It's better than the original, however it seems to be quite tedious and repetitive with the gameplay and the boring searching for money parts of the game. Choices can matter, some characters are interesting, story is cliche, but told in a good manner, besides the annoying main character. The AI is ok, the enemies are ok, the game just seems to not really have anything to call its own unfortunately. Expand

See all 501 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.