Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3017 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Despite some graphical disappointments and the infamous console-driven imprint, the next chapter of this beautiful Bioware saga stands with right among the most enjoyable and immersive adventures ever created for the videogame industry.
  2. Mass Effect 2 is a triumph of an action game, blending satisfying shooter levels with dark themes and hours of heated debate.
  3. Mass Effect 2 is an epic in every sense, not forgetting anything. It can hold us until the last second, and still allows us to go further.
  4. Mass Effect 2 captures the elements that made the original a game to remember, showing once more the mastery of Bioware creating great stories and unforgettable characters. Not happy with that, the studio shows their will to surpass themselves with a very improved combat system which does a lot of right things to approach the gameplay of the best third person shooters available. Perhaps, in some aspects the team has been too overzealous to streamline certain aspects of the first game, loosing a bit of the original ingenuity, but it can't be discussed that the result is a more polished and focused title.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. Mass Effect 2 may have turned a bit more into a shooter than its predecessor, but the story and the dense atmosphere will appeal to SciFi- and roleplay fans alike.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 507
  1. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. *SOME MINOR SPOILERS*
    I really liked the story, but the combat sometimes gets a little repetitive and the RPG element is just too weak, maybe even weaker than the original Mass Effect.

    Also, thus far (before Mass Effect 3 may reveal some things), the story seemed a little pointless (not saying its not good; it's just mostly irrelevant to ME1). I mean in Mass Effect 1 you discovered about the Reaper threat, and you would have expected that the Reapers show up en masse in ME2, but instead the only thing you find in ME2 that helps with the story long term is what happened to the Protheans and all those before them.

    So really, it is like:
    ME1: Reapers are coming!
    ME2: What, Reapers?
    ME3: Reapers are here!

    Mass Effect 2 could be cut out and the story on the long term is still going to be fine and I doubt anyone would notice it if the new characters are cut out in ME3.
    Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game came out about the same time I met my current girlfriend. Godammn it! Eventually I decided to let her in on a little secret of mine.This game came out about the same time I met my current girlfriend. Godammn it! Eventually I decided to let her in on a little secret of mine. I told her that frequently after we say goodnight and I drop her off home, I go home to my room and take command of a spaceship, called the Normandy. Didn't make any mention of the little thing I was hoping to get going with one of the cute hands-on-deck (Ashley I think her name was ). And then I cruise around galaxies and star systems looking for minerals, exploration activities, fights, battles and quests. Thus I had to admit that even though she thought she was starting a relationship with a switched-on intelligent guy, I was actually one of those moronic imbeclies that play RPG games on their computer. Suffice to say it didn't go down to well ... Why you'd want to know that I don't know, but what I'm trying to say is that I had to explain what this game was to a person that has never played a game in their life before. Once she could see that there was "story", "character development", "adventure", "combat" and "politics", she was much more impressed. I actually used this as an excuse to get her round to my place one night, by saying something along the lines, "I'll let you choose which planet we go to :)". Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I have not played Mass Effect 1- but I still found this game to be amazing. The characters, the story, the gameplay - it is pure fun. TheI have not played Mass Effect 1- but I still found this game to be amazing. The characters, the story, the gameplay - it is pure fun. The cover-based squad combat works great. The downsides to this game are that you have very limited options when it comes to choosing weapons- there is often one clear weapon to choose over another when picking a shotgun, pistol, SMG, etc. Also, the game seems to get into the end-game very quickly- just when you think you're just coming together as a team, you hit the last level. Finally, it seems that choosing different squadmates has a very small impact on gameplay- it makes little difference who I choose to bring with me. They all do about the same amount of damage- the only thing that changes are your abilities, which means that teammates with the more useful abilities should ALWAYS be chosen over those that don't have useful abilities. Other than this, everything about the game (except for the mining mini-game. Don't get me started on that) is phenomenal- there is a universe here that is meant to be explored, and boy is it fun. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    This game is simply "Michal Bay" style production. You could call the game... limited. I do. But I still can appreciate that the way story isThis game is simply "Michal Bay" style production. You could call the game... limited. I do. But I still can appreciate that the way story is told is really amazing. And I mean REALLY. It is worth playing just for seeing it, feeling the loud sound while watching incredible camera doing. Even when I prefer game to be "a game", ME2 still has it's place. And I would recommend it for anyone who hesitated playing this because "it is bad game" comments but still can feel something special watching trailers like Skyrim's or DXHR's over and over :) You will love ME2 in the same way :) Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed Mass Effect 2, I really did. But when I'd finished it, I felt...unsatisfied. Perhaps it was because the tactical element to theI enjoyed Mass Effect 2, I really did. But when I'd finished it, I felt...unsatisfied. Perhaps it was because the tactical element to the game - issuing orders to squad-mates - was really a bit of a fig-leaf, because I could get on perfectly well without them for most of the game. Perhaps it was because there wasn't much opportunity to interact with my crew. Perhaps it was because the dialogue wheel is perhaps one of the most frustrating means of interacting in a conversation ever devised in an RPG, and what I thought I was saying was frequently not what I actually said. But mostly it's because the game runs on rails. There is no real opportunity to go off on a frolic of your own: BioWare has a story, and they're going to tell it, whether you like it or not. It feels like a smaller game than the original. On the positive side, the graphics are an improvement on the original - which wasn't bad --, the voice acting is good and the plot is engaging, when it's not being rammed down my throat. But there isn't actually very much to do and I did have the impression that I was just pressing buttons between cut-scenes for quite a lot of the game. Expand
  7. JennyF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level design is average, the gunplay has been done to death. It's slightly average. What's great is the cinematic part of it. It's better than the original, however it seems to be quite tedious and repetitive with the gameplay and the boring searching for money parts of the game. Choices can matter, some characters are interesting, story is cliche, but told in a good manner, besides the annoying main character. The AI is ok, the enemies are ok, the game just seems to not really have anything to call its own unfortunately. Expand

See all 507 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.