Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2787 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Everything about the game – plots, combat, progression, characters – comes together in a tidy, satisfying package.
  2. A stunning example of cross-game persistence, genre-blending and adaptive narrative. [Mar 2010, p.62]
  3. 100
    The gameplay is extremely effective in terms of its new cover system and leaner, more focused action. The lore and mythology is involving and the story pulls you into the universe. The voice acting, soundtrack and graphical fidelity are the icing on the cake.
  4. Modern, fascinating and truly innovative, Mass Effect 2 is a brand new take for the western rpg, Bioware reached a perfect mix between action and storytelling, graced by stunning visuals and a long and challenging gameplay.
  5. 92
    On most levels it’s hard to fault Mass Effect 2; this is a sequel that polishes many of the original’s faults, tightening the combat and turning the screw on Shepard in the fight to save humanity with an impressive flair.
  6. By making choice, dialogue and characters the key ingredients, Mass Effect 2 delivers an experience in which the player feels directly at the core - more so than any other game we can think of. It effortlessly expands the scope of the original, creating a universe which is deeply engrossing and a plot that you can't help feeling part of.
  7. Remove the ho-hum gunplay, and the rest is an interactive action movie that's decent enough for one walkthrough. Don’t go for seconds, though. And if you’re still craving for a space opera fix by the time you’re done with Mass Effect 2, better rent all five seasons of Babylon 5.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 488
  1. AkiI
    Apr 7, 2010
    10
    I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true I haven't played a game as satisfying as ME2 in years, on keeping all it's promises and surpassing all expectations. A true roleplaying game, with choices you've made following you to the end, instead of just the hollow leveling. Makers of Fina Fantasy should play this game to learn how to write good and believable characters and outcomes. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    I ended up playing through this one 3 times in full and part of me still feels the draw to have another go. Flat out amazing game one of theI ended up playing through this one 3 times in full and part of me still feels the draw to have another go. Flat out amazing game one of the best of 2010 for sure and I'd probably rank it in the top 10 games I've played of all time. And I've been gaming since you could fit multiple games on a 5 & 1/4 floppy. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I was waiting for a game to finish updating so to kill time I started up mass effect 2. I spent my ENTIRE weekend playing mass effect and itI was waiting for a game to finish updating so to kill time I started up mass effect 2. I spent my ENTIRE weekend playing mass effect and it really shows how in depth the gameplay is and why it has such a good metacritic rating. i was so happy when i finished the suicide mission casualty free on sunday at 5 o'clock Expand
  4. May 20, 2011
    9
    Great storyline, fun gameplay. Felt a bit like playing through a movie, was quite enjoyable. Not quite as long as I'd hoped for, but that'sGreat storyline, fun gameplay. Felt a bit like playing through a movie, was quite enjoyable. Not quite as long as I'd hoped for, but that's the only complaint I have. It's one of the few recent RPGs I didn't get bored of before I finished it, which is mainly due to the enjoyable storyline. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    I quite enjoyed this game. It improved on ME1s combat and it was a great story as well. The customization of the weapons saddened me. Too fewI quite enjoyed this game. It improved on ME1s combat and it was a great story as well. The customization of the weapons saddened me. Too few weapons, no way to improve via modifications. Also, I disliked the running. You couldn't run any other direction but straight, and you couldn't even run for too long. But none of this affected my score too much, if I could give a 9.5, I would. And despite these minor faults, the game was still an absolute blast to play. Expand
  6. MarkS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    I would have rated this game 8.5 if I had the opportunity. This is a fantastic game. The graphics are awesome the story is above average and I would have rated this game 8.5 if I had the opportunity. This is a fantastic game. The graphics are awesome the story is above average and you really feel truly involved in the story line. The shooting is really tight and feels really polished. This game is excellent and a great sequel to the first one. I do have a few complaints however, I have finished the game and the ending wasn't really satisfying. This game lacks a lot of long missions. There are a lot of short ones. Not enough grinding. Also the game is really easy on the normal setting. That is strange because Dragon Age is very difficult for me on normal. Don't get me wrong an excellent game, but not quite 'epic' enough for me to give it near perfect. Also I got stuck in the wall 4 or 5 times and had some audio loss. Those are small technical problems though. Expand
  7. JennyF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    0
    Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level Commander Shepard still has a monotone voice, which seems to be the worst voice actor for a game with such great performances. The level design is average, the gunplay has been done to death. It's slightly average. What's great is the cinematic part of it. It's better than the original, however it seems to be quite tedious and repetitive with the gameplay and the boring searching for money parts of the game. Choices can matter, some characters are interesting, story is cliche, but told in a good manner, besides the annoying main character. The AI is ok, the enemies are ok, the game just seems to not really have anything to call its own unfortunately. Expand

See all 488 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.