Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    80
    Leviathan is the equivalent to the Lair of the Shadow Broker DLC for ME2. It has no ambition to transform the game series, it just wants to be joyful Mass Effect 3 gameplay experience. Do not expect any revolution or story revelation, and you will be satisfied.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    79
    Three hours of important revelations (lore-wise) this is a powerful, robust DLC pack. [November 2012]
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    77
    My first impression after completing Leviathan was, "Too bad this did not make it into the core game!" In the perfect world, this DLC would have been available for free, just like Extended Cut.
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    75
    All in all, the Leviathan DLC is a really good product. We get 4 completely new locations, a handful of new systems to scan, that generate new War Assets, some gear and one new ability (dominate). The most important thing is of course the story - and I pretty much can't say anything bad about it. Leviathan is a tasty piece of code for the lovers of Mass Effect lore, but fans of shooting should be satisfied as well. If you want to keep saving the galaxy as Commander Shepard, it's a great opportunity to do so.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    75
    It doesn't reach the near perfect balance between character-driven story and tense gameplay that past pieces of DLC have, but it does tell a story that changes the Mass Effect universe forever.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    70
    There's nothing here that casual fans will feel they have to see, but for those still looking for deeper insight into this world, or simply looking for more Mass Effect, this is another few hours of solid entertainment.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    Leviathan's core problem though is that it's a DLC created to answer questions that nobody was asking, after an ending that itself answered too many, which you know from the start isn't actually going to mean much in the great sweep of things. If you can ignore that though, or simply don't care, it's fun addition to Mass Effect 3 and a great reason to be excited about whatever new adventure comes next.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 167
  2. Negative: 33 out of 167
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    4
     I had hoped for something that would coax me back into the Mass Effect universe; Leviathan did an outstanding job of disappointing me. I had hoped for something that would coax me back into the Mass Effect universe; Leviathan did an outstanding job of disappointing me.  The only thing that did change was a few "honorable mention" questions during that dreadful ending that already has plagued this game.  

    The animation of the key NPCs made them look like a 1970's Disney "wax faced" animatronic show.  The overall graphics wasn't too bad and the game play was pretty good, and couple of times the facial animation was actually acceptable (the look of the indoctrinated was quit effective in making the hairs on the back of my neck stand up)  Sadly though...

    That was about it.

    I am now about as disappointed as I can be with this disastrous game.  A story isn't anything without a good ending--that can either be the monument for a great work of art...or the weakest link in a chain. Leviathan didn't make the game any better, it just sprayed a bit of Rustoleum® on the link in question.

    Thanks, Bioware!

    Class dismissed.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    If you're still playing Mass Effect games for the story then you simply haven't learned your lesson. Mass Effect is all about the show now. ItIf you're still playing Mass Effect games for the story then you simply haven't learned your lesson. Mass Effect is all about the show now. It is nothing more than spectacle at this point. Keeping that in mind Leviathan is a short but enjoyable experience. Unfortunately it doesn't deliver enough gameplay value to justify its price tag. Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    If you can look past ME3's ending failure, the galactic readiness retardation, and the many other blatent shortcomings that amounted to a "I'mIf you can look past ME3's ending failure, the galactic readiness retardation, and the many other blatent shortcomings that amounted to a "I'm embarrassed for you" reaction to Bioware from heartbroken fans, than you will agree that the Leviathan DLC by itself is pretty damn good. once you tie it into the rest of the trilogy, it loses its appeal due to how it impacts the end of the trilogy, which is to say, it really doesn't. its basically a Lore DLC, nothing more. Boy do I wish it was more than that.

    In my opinion, the entire Levi DLC is masterfully done, and I was on the edge of my seat for some of it. there are some reveals throughout that tie up loose ends from ME 1 and 2, like who was controlling the rachni etc... as far as value goes, its worth the 10 bucks. it even may have some replayability, who knows.

    What this DLC does wrong, is that it only reinforces to the hardcore fans of Mass Effect that the ending of ME3 was a half-baked disaster. The leviathans should have been the answer to the reapers, along with all the races that you united, not the obscure and left-field catalyst & crucible bull****. It's heartbreaking when Bioware can make content that is beyond excellent, and yet at the same time defend the worst ending in gaming history. It's like Bioware has two heads... ;) As a DLC itself, if you can put aside that it is yet another middle finger to anyone that dislikes ME3's ending, Leviathan of Dis is the best ME DLC since Lair of the Shadowbroker. aside from the part where you realize its just an increase in Gaylactic Readiness, everything else is well done, well polished, and fun to play. There were even a few times where I forgot I was Playing ME3, and thought It was a ME2 DLC. that in itself is a sign that something was done right.

    Overall, I Can't justify giving this DLC less than a perfect score. After all, I am rating the DLC, not the full game here. Its just too bad that paid reviewers are now talking about the ending in the review of this DLC, and rating this DLC on the ending of ME3. if they were worth their salt, they would re-rate the actual game itself instead based on the ending, instead of trashing a great DLC.
    Full Review »