Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    80
    Leviathan is the equivalent to the Lair of the Shadow Broker DLC for ME2. It has no ambition to transform the game series, it just wants to be joyful Mass Effect 3 gameplay experience. Do not expect any revolution or story revelation, and you will be satisfied.
  2. 79
    Three hours of important revelations (lore-wise) this is a powerful, robust DLC pack. [November 2012]
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    77
    My first impression after completing Leviathan was, "Too bad this did not make it into the core game!" In the perfect world, this DLC would have been available for free, just like Extended Cut.
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    75
    All in all, the Leviathan DLC is a really good product. We get 4 completely new locations, a handful of new systems to scan, that generate new War Assets, some gear and one new ability (dominate). The most important thing is of course the story - and I pretty much can't say anything bad about it. Leviathan is a tasty piece of code for the lovers of Mass Effect lore, but fans of shooting should be satisfied as well. If you want to keep saving the galaxy as Commander Shepard, it's a great opportunity to do so.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    75
    It doesn't reach the near perfect balance between character-driven story and tense gameplay that past pieces of DLC have, but it does tell a story that changes the Mass Effect universe forever.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    70
    There's nothing here that casual fans will feel they have to see, but for those still looking for deeper insight into this world, or simply looking for more Mass Effect, this is another few hours of solid entertainment.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    Leviathan's core problem though is that it's a DLC created to answer questions that nobody was asking, after an ending that itself answered too many, which you know from the start isn't actually going to mean much in the great sweep of things. If you can ignore that though, or simply don't care, it's fun addition to Mass Effect 3 and a great reason to be excited about whatever new adventure comes next.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    1
    Worthless, just like the game. Its almost like a comedy when you try to keep track of all the inconsistencies in the "story". Also the retcon is hilarious. The Mass Effect 3 universe is much like the Days of our lives TV-show. It simply has no point. Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    4
     I had hoped for something that would coax me back into the Mass Effect universe; Leviathan did an outstanding job of disappointing me.  The only thing that did change was a few "honorable mention" questions during that dreadful ending that already has plagued this game.  

    The animation of the key NPCs made them look like a 1970's Disney "wax faced" animatronic show.  The overall graphics wasn't too bad and the game play was pretty good, and couple of times the facial animation was actually acceptable (the look of the indoctrinated was quit effective in making the hairs on the back of my neck stand up)  Sadly though...

    That was about it.

    I am now about as disappointed as I can be with this disastrous game.  A story isn't anything without a good ending--that can either be the monument for a great work of art...or the weakest link in a chain. Leviathan didn't make the game any better, it just sprayed a bit of Rustoleum® on the link in question.

    Thanks, Bioware!

    Class dismissed.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    If you're still playing Mass Effect games for the story then you simply haven't learned your lesson. Mass Effect is all about the show now. It is nothing more than spectacle at this point. Keeping that in mind Leviathan is a short but enjoyable experience. Unfortunately it doesn't deliver enough gameplay value to justify its price tag. Full Review »