Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne PC

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 812 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 812
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CodyBaker
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    No story has captivated me this much since the original max payne! With DELICIOUS views of new york city, memorable moments, and the heart-pounding climaxes at the end of each chapter are all epic. The coolness & badassness of max payne's character is just icing on the cake, damn this game is addictingly delicious! A well-crafted treat for gamers as they turn on their gamingNo story has captivated me this much since the original max payne! With DELICIOUS views of new york city, memorable moments, and the heart-pounding climaxes at the end of each chapter are all epic. The coolness & badassness of max payne's character is just icing on the cake, damn this game is addictingly delicious! A well-crafted treat for gamers as they turn on their gaming systems, turn off the lights, grab some snacks, and crank up the volume and get ready to be blown out of their fuckin minds with this film noir masterpiece! Too bad it didn't sell well, probably because rockstar & remedy spent alot of their money to hire professional hollywood actors to do the parts for the characters, or maybe it was because they didn't show it at e3 2002 or 2003 (or advertising for that matter). Defidently genre-defining, although it's short (5 to 6 hours for the expert gamer) and there are only 3 bosses (if you choose to spare the 2nd one earlier). Over all, it is a masterpiece of epic proportions. Expand
  2. MattiS.
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    What a great game! I love it. Great graphics. Sounds are awesome! And Bullet Time is VERY COOL!
  3. CraigH.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    I've just completed the game. Extremely engaging story. A vast improvment on Max Payne 1's graphic novel sequences. Lots of fun details: vomiting inmates, "Lords and Ladies" TV series etc., heart braking theme song by "Poets of the Fall": "Late Goodbye" that echoes the lost opportunities feeling of the game. I feel as though I slept through the 9-11 attacks and missed a tidal I've just completed the game. Extremely engaging story. A vast improvment on Max Payne 1's graphic novel sequences. Lots of fun details: vomiting inmates, "Lords and Ladies" TV series etc., heart braking theme song by "Poets of the Fall": "Late Goodbye" that echoes the lost opportunities feeling of the game. I feel as though I slept through the 9-11 attacks and missed a tidal wave of a game by not buying it until four years after it was first released. Better late than never, I guess. Oh, and the graphics are as satasfying as Bioshock's but with double the frame-rate. Now on to the unlocked game modes. Expand
  4. AnonymousOne
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    A fine sequel to the original Max Payne. Game mechanics are intuitive, story is compelling and the cinematic format is still unique and engaging. Once immersed it is hard to quit the game. Certainly makes a gamer anticipate the next installment...:)
  5. 420RymeELite
    Nov 4, 2003
    10
    I was a huge fan of the first Max Payne but the second took all of the great aspects of the first, and cut out all fat. Much better job with the dreams, graphics, and bullet time. Just the minute details that you see during game play is enough to blow u away. I hope this series continues on threw a few more episodes < and hey... toke and play the fun house...the spirally thing isI was a huge fan of the first Max Payne but the second took all of the great aspects of the first, and cut out all fat. Much better job with the dreams, graphics, and bullet time. Just the minute details that you see during game play is enough to blow u away. I hope this series continues on threw a few more episodes < and hey... toke and play the fun house...the spirally thing is incredible> Ryme Expand
  6. PayneRocks
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    Wonderful game! Let me make a few points here 1. If you say this game has no story, its not your fault you just need to get a little older. 2. Load times...er... not that bad...(cough...upgrade...cough) try Postal 2. 3. For those who say too many cut-scenes, go play Unreal tourney. 4. Oh and just in case you didn't know - Great games are always TOO SHORT! GIMME MORE MAX PAYNE!
  7. MarekM.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    This game is just awesome. I mean, I played it three times through as it was released and lately(March 2k7) I was bored of the new games and installed MP2 and played it again. It is even now an awesome. The graphics are still very nice to look at (especially the Bullet-Time!), the story is still top-notch. I just love it. I love Max Payne. A character you empathize with.
  8. JohnR
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    It is still one of the best and most solid Third Person Shooters out there. The storytelling and the scenario itself reached a highter (and in my eyes even more mature) level than in the first game, the graphics were as good as they were possible back then (even current titles have a hard time creating as good character graphics as Max Payne 2 had) and the action itself is as exciting and It is still one of the best and most solid Third Person Shooters out there. The storytelling and the scenario itself reached a highter (and in my eyes even more mature) level than in the first game, the graphics were as good as they were possible back then (even current titles have a hard time creating as good character graphics as Max Payne 2 had) and the action itself is as exciting and cool as it can be. And also there are some nice bonusses such as the alternate ending on the highest difficulty and the Dead Man Walking mode, featuring a local high score table. In my eyes simply one of the best games ever. And for all those who oppose: What better third person shooters are there? What games feature a more intelligent and thrilling story? Seriously: I don't know any. Expand
  9. AhmedR.
    Oct 19, 2003
    10
    Awesome graphics, amazing game play, if you like the first, you'll love the second!!!
  10. NickC.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    Excellent game, great story, great action. Short but sweet. Graphics and physics are top notch.
  11. JJ
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    I've been a PC gamer for close to 25 years now, and MP2 is one of my favorite gaming experiences ever. Considering entertainment had while playing, it might be the most enjoyable shooter I ever played, Half-Life and other titans included. (Half-Life might be a better game, and have a much larger scope, but I enjoyed MP2 much more.) The graphics were (and still are) great; clean, I've been a PC gamer for close to 25 years now, and MP2 is one of my favorite gaming experiences ever. Considering entertainment had while playing, it might be the most enjoyable shooter I ever played, Half-Life and other titans included. (Half-Life might be a better game, and have a much larger scope, but I enjoyed MP2 much more.) The graphics were (and still are) great; clean, crisp, and ridiculously efficient. The cornball film noir story is a treat. The sounds and music are superb. Mona Sax is an awesome anti-heroine; and for sheer butt-kicking sexy, I'd take her over Alyx Vance or Laura Croft any day of the week. Truth be told, some levels are narrow and poorly designed, and there is plenty of re-hashing of environments. But some maps (and the action embedded therein) are so creative and memorable that the game overcomes whatever negatives it could be charged with. Playing the same level twice, once from Mona's perspective, once from Max's is pure pleasure. The Funhouse level deserves to be in the computer game map hall of fame. I could go on an on. If for some reason you haven't played MP2 and you've got ten bucks to spend, search the 'value game' section or the bargain bin and pick up MP2. By the way, there will be no MP3-- Alan Wake will be the next Remedy game, built on essentially the same formula. I anxiously await it, and hope it doesn't succumb to big-budget complete seriousness. Expand
  12. JoshuaG
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    This game is a true joy to play. It is cinematic in every way. The ending is fitting to such a great sequel.
  13. MTElija
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    Nearly five years on and I still find myself giving this experience a go. Brilliant.
  14. zdogjr
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    i loved this game, it fixed all the little things i didnt like in the first, and adds a lot of new things, the voice acting is still awsome (the voice actor for max is one of the best ive ever heard) the story seems to have gotten better, the weapons still feel powerfull and usefull. in the end if you loved the first one, this is a must buy.
  15. DavidK.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    The game is great! There are some very funny and clever elements added. The story is scripted well and most importantly the game has the key element so many other miss, it is FUN TO PLAY!!!
  16. AlexM.
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Absolutely amazing...best gaming experience ive had so far in fps, hell any game for that matter-buy it for the pc asap!!
  17. TapioS.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Yes, all what we wait for... nice action... for finland.
  18. JimM.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Best Graphics, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects.....Wow wait till he is in a dream and the walls and everything are moving. Never saw that in another game. Totally Wild. Seriously...I never liked the first one as much but this one is so polished and looks so good u have to love it;) Short? Been -playing for days. Its so much fun I take my time. Sure it may bhort if u fly thru the game and Best Graphics, Best Sound, Best Visual Effects.....Wow wait till he is in a dream and the walls and everything are moving. Never saw that in another game. Totally Wild. Seriously...I never liked the first one as much but this one is so polished and looks so good u have to love it;) Short? Been -playing for days. Its so much fun I take my time. Sure it may bhort if u fly thru the game and play every waking hr. I have a life so I just play it for a hr or so a night. Enjoy this game it blows everything else away! Expand
  19. MichalW._fromPoland
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    This game is short. But it's very very entertaining. Graphics is just the best I've seen. Havok engine does the job - I just loved to watch how chairs and people flew after I threw a grenade. The story is very good. Music is great. Motion capture is perfect. It has the same fantastic atmosphere as its predecessor. It's just done perfectly. What can I add? There are so many This game is short. But it's very very entertaining. Graphics is just the best I've seen. Havok engine does the job - I just loved to watch how chairs and people flew after I threw a grenade. The story is very good. Music is great. Motion capture is perfect. It has the same fantastic atmosphere as its predecessor. It's just done perfectly. What can I add? There are so many crappy games and so many average games ( like Chrome, Bloodrayne, Conflict: Desert Storm 2 ) that MAX just has to shine. It's a great game. *Forgive my English - I still have much to learn.. [Ed: looked perfect to me...] Expand
  20. 655321Ofnoconcerntoyou
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    The plot is more confused and less impressive than Max Payne ones. Bullet holes weren't implemented as varied as in MP1, not because the devs couldnt use them, but because they were too lazy to set the surface properites of most objects and surfaces within the levels. Compared to Max Payne 1 i would give it a 7.5 but standalone it deserves a 9. Just like pc gamer i will rate it standalone.
  21. SimonR.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    I loved Max Payne 1 and I love a lot eaven Max Payne 2. I can't wait for a Max Payne 3. Get it it's wonderful!!!
  22. MatthieuR.
    Dec 7, 2003
    10
    What have we come to, that 12 hours of gaming heaven is considered short? Go back and play the classics, people! You can beat Mario in less than half that! Do the math, it comes to some 4 or 5$ per hour, cheaper than the latest Hollywood drivel (and you can sell a game back). It was a good story, great voice acting and beautiful artwork, awesome action. Can't wait for 3!
  23. 420RymeELite
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    Great game much better than original (if your computer is good enough).
  24. SeanP.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    In my 20 Years of gaming history, there were only 2 games that really got it, to capture me in their world - that's the whole Half Life Thing ... especially starting at the Episode stuff. On the other hand, it's the Max Payne story. Max Payne 1 was really good but since Max Payne really got "serious", by changing the optical charakter, it's really so much more impressive. In my 20 Years of gaming history, there were only 2 games that really got it, to capture me in their world - that's the whole Half Life Thing ... especially starting at the Episode stuff. On the other hand, it's the Max Payne story. Max Payne 1 was really good but since Max Payne really got "serious", by changing the optical charakter, it's really so much more impressive. He just looks like he feels - totally bad. The music, the comic-dequences, the story - everything is so perfect in it's way, that i always get a goose skin while thinking about quotes or the ending, while everything is still, you only see some lips and Max saying: "I've had a dream of my wife. She was dead. But that was all right." (it's shaking me again while writing this.) The alternate ending on "Dead on Arrival" Mode is ... ok ... but a too hollywood styling Happy End. But that's not the point. If I had to decide between nowadays titles like Crysis or a Max Payne 2, i will choose Max every single time, just too really "feel" this whole story with ups and downs. Max Payne 2 is the most perfect game up to today. And since Max Payne 3 was announced, i'm praying they won't let this series digging it's own grave. It would be a mess for me. Expand
  25. CiaranG.
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    Its a perfect game. The graphics are amazing, great storyline, excellent level design, wide variety of weapons. If only all games were as good as this.
  26. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably the game that has similar graphics to Valve's Half-Life 2. The graphics, gameplay and the story just got even better with this awesome TPS. But the amount of good add-on games (like the original Max Payne) are limited. Expand
  27. May 17, 2011
    10
    Max Payne 2 is the game that defines 'Game Noir' in my mind. The story is deep, dark and compelling. The character development is strong, and the gameplay is so much fun.
  28. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    This is a instant classic of its time, and has aged very well, and being a personal computer game at that this game has good polygon counts, non copy pasted environments, Good art and textures, there is not single texture in this game that looks out of place or looks blurry and ruins the immersion. This is game that clearly didn't worry too much about hardware budgets. Its an example ofThis is a instant classic of its time, and has aged very well, and being a personal computer game at that this game has good polygon counts, non copy pasted environments, Good art and textures, there is not single texture in this game that looks out of place or looks blurry and ruins the immersion. This is game that clearly didn't worry too much about hardware budgets. Its an example of what a real game should be.. A work of art and story that will age well. The Remedy guys did a top job on creating this. Expand
  29. May 22, 2012
    10
    One of the best TPSes of all time. Amazing game, you should definitely play it. The only bad thing about this is that it's extremely short (I can beat it in 3 hours), but the several hours you'll get from playing the story are breathtaking. The story is amazing. Also, it is very moddable, so you can download all kinds of mods from the Internet. Try Payne Effects 3.
  30. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    One of the best action games I've ever played. Stands the test of time and has aged well; I have replayed it many times over the years since it came out and still love it today. The noir story hits the right mark with characters you love to hate and get invested in. Combat is tight and cinematic with only a few forced "boss" fights breaking up the flow. Still worth picking up and playingOne of the best action games I've ever played. Stands the test of time and has aged well; I have replayed it many times over the years since it came out and still love it today. The noir story hits the right mark with characters you love to hate and get invested in. Combat is tight and cinematic with only a few forced "boss" fights breaking up the flow. Still worth picking up and playing today unlike the original. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. About as slick as they come, with a presentation and verve that supercedes cutting-edge. It's a short one, but good things do come in small packages after all.
  2. This series has been one of the most intense and best played games ever. I have never felt the same about a game since Half Life 1. This game sets the standard of what any shooter game should be – it's A+ quality, inside and outside.
  3. The gritty, film noir storytelling, intense bullet time action sequences and painstaking attention to detail in every area make Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne a must-have for every action fan.