Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 969 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MechWarrior Online is the first offiicially licensed free-to-play title in the MechWarrior franchise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 4, 2013
    83
    Slightly overpriced, but a more than worthy successor to one of PC gaming’s greatest franchises that nails the important part: combat.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    77
    Piranha has long promised that “community warfare” will address this lack of endgame, but that feature has been delayed so often that it’s hard to be sure if it’s ever coming out. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s so little reason to keep at MechWarrior Online. The matches themselves are fun–and as it is free-to-play, there’s no barrier to entry–but without any form of metagame it’s hard to stay engaged.
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    73
    Once you get the hang of it all, the strategic combat and its required pre-game build strategy and in-game adaptivity is fun, but don’t expect to master its tricky team-based combat and overwhelming upgrade system without a serious commitment.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    65
    MechWarrior Online does a pretty good job in balancing out the gameplay and gives you lots of BattleMechs, weapons and items to buy, but it's got only two game modes and it's definitely not that fun.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    When firing on all cylinders, MWO is an enjoyable sim-shooter, but for all the overheating energy weapons in the world, the current product still feels a little half-baked.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    60
    If the game had made better use of its assets and given us a reason to care about more than the fleeting pleasures of customization and combat, it might be worth enduring the currency grind. As it is, like its strongest mechs, it runs out of power far too fast.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    54
    At the core, MechWarrior Online delivers deep, fun tactical combat, serving it up with a fantastic visual experience. There are all sorts of nuances and tricks to discover that help set skilled players apart from newcomers. But all of that is squandered by an incomplete wrapping that’s more focused on selling items than covering the basics. This is reinforced by the high price of some item shop ‘Mechs.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's a F2P game you can play every night and enjoy with friends. It has classic Mech combat and at this moment I think the balance is the best it's ever been since Closed Beta. The game is addicting and it's incredibly fun to design different Mechs. Between this and League of Legends all my competitive Multiplayer needs have been ruthlessly satisfied for many, many months. All the stuff that isn't in the game yet isn't a buzzkill to me like it appears to be for many others, and only gives me something to look forward to. Judging the game as it is currently though I figure if I am looking forward to sitting down for a couple hours on it nearly every day then it deserves a rating of ten in my book. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    Well on its way to being the best MechWarrior game. Sure it has its rough spots at the moment, but they don't detract from the game.

    Definitely worth a try.
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    Gameplay wise, sound wise, overall mechanics wise, this game is a 9. Replayability is not great, with the devs having missed most of their deadlines and failed to release the big thing, community warfare. Because of this, I can't give more than 7 to MWO. It's a fun game to play a few hours per week. I'd say I still do 5-8 matches per day. But, without the main features in, it's hard to have reasons to play more.

    To the developer, PGI, I give them a 4/10, mostly because they disrespected their core community, the founders, the Battletech veterans and nostalgics, those who gave them money to create the best Mechwarrior title possible. Also, because I find them a bit lazy (never engaged crunch mode before launch) and also because they're extremely stubborn even though the community has often been proven right (weapon balance issues). There are still a few things to fix for the mechanics to be perfect (ECM is broken, NARC is broken, SRMs and LRMs are broken), but the game is still fun after all. If PGI can look at themselves in the mirror and correct their mistakes, MWO can become a great game. They need to stop trying to cater to the casual crowd and make a real Mechwarrior title (3rd person was unnecessary). Mechwarrior IS supposed to be fun, no need to try to create a chimera out of it. Build it, and they will come, as the saying goes.

    So:
    Graphics: 8 (good, could be better)
    Sounds: 9 (nothing to say here, music is missing)
    Replayability: 5 (needs Community Warfare)
    Presentation: 5 (UI 2.0 is badly needed)
    Fun factor: 9
    Gameplay mechanics: 6.5 (ECM, NARC, LRMs, etc being the reason it's not higher)
    Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2014
    5
    This is my upteenth iteration of this review, as I have a real love-hate relationship with MWO.
    The core gameplay is addictive and fun and I
    play the game a lot, but it's let down by an almost farsical lack of features and rediculous pricing. The games maps are not good by any standards and suffer from terrible terrain hit detection and there is a grand total of 2 (3 if you want to be pedantic) game modes that are incredibly simplistic.

    Also, the developers managed to achieve virtually none of their promises for the game yet continue to rake in the cash, and seemingly - do nothing with it.
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    The game in it's current state is passable. There are no objectives, nothing more than drop in shoot at things for a bit and repeat. Until more meat is added, you'll play for a while and then get bored.
    That isn't why it scores so low.

    The reason for the pathetic score is the developers. They outright promised the gaming community certain features, and then when the community called them out for lying after the exact opposite of what was promised was put into the game the devs said it was the communities fault for ever having believed them in the first place.

    I will not be lied to, and then be told I am in the wrong for being upset about it.

    My advice is play for free for two weeks, then walk away and never come back. You'll get everything good, without any of the pain those of us who put lots of real money into it received for our support. I say this as an elite founder, the highest tier of closed beta supporter.
    Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    2
    I used to be involved in the competitive scene in this game. I played in RHOD and watched the metagame stall and finally lost total interest after a competitive scene dominated by one type of mech was allowed to exist for 6+ months. PGI has continuously failed to deliver and created overwrought and expensive ideas where simple number balancing would have worked. I also participated in the first and only ever community involvement event, the Design a Trial Heavy contest. I chose literally the worst chassis of the worst mech and fit it out with a configuration I had never driven before and won.

    This game is garbage and most of the development and publishing companies are blind to the issues with the game. Rust in Pieces 'Mechwarrior Online.

    SQUAWK!
    Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    ok coming from a hardcore 15 year mechwarrior vet and haveing played mechwarrior2 31th GBL merc, mechwarrior 3 & pirates moon, mechwarrior 4 mw4 blackknight & MW4 merc and just too let you know i waz even first round closed beta

    now too start this off even in close beta and gameplay my expectations waz very high for this game the game play at the most part seemed in my mind at the time good and well balanced but the cataphract wasn't out so you didn't see any jump sniping yet and ppc still didnt work so the reason i probably love this game back then waz it waz all brawling back then i love brawling in mechwarrior

    now iv played all mechwarrior's and this one felt good but the sniping dominates the out of this game now

    too top that PGI is now full of themselves and disrespects the true fans of the mechwarrior game and name too make it one big farce too end all farces.

    they have slaped me a core mechwarrior fan and founders supporter in the face too the point i wont give them anymore money.

    they have a huge grind for you too get over and if you want too buy any MC (mechwarrior credits) you will find your paying out of your ass for such a mind numbing game.

    this game mocks and destorys the name MECHWARRIOR and makes me want too cry my self too sleep for how bad they this game up and if they didnt do everything wrong like every outher mechwarrior witch they said they try too never do like 3PV and flush OMG that 1st post for flush module almost made me punch my screen like ****?!>!>!?

    PGI can suck my dick Chris roberts deserves my money so far 600us dollars of it XD
    Expand

See all 721 User Reviews