Men of War: Assault Squad PC

  • Publisher: 1C
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. 70
    In no way an easy game, and probably an overwhelming experience for most people, but also the closest thing we'll get to the battles of WWII without a time machine.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 22, 2011
    70
    Interesting, although limited development of good RTS towards multiplayer. This game is not a groundbreaker but if you like playing cooperative military action games it has a great potential to entertain you. [Issue#203]
  3. May 19, 2011
    70
    A well rounded multiplayer extension of the classic Men of War formula, hurt most by technical issues and a steep learning curve. Worth a look for fans of the series.
  4. May 10, 2011
    70
    Recommended for RTS fans and those who can accept that the first hours are kind of hard, who will be rewarded with a fun and addictive game.
  5. Apr 17, 2011
    70
    The total effect of the expansion pack is still positive (multiplayer is still fun; even the single-player has its uses) but there are a few worrying signs – the introduction of hero units and special abilities and the inward-looking nature of the entire game (SP as preparation for MP).
  6. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    There's no doubt that the gameplay of Men of War is brilliant, but seeing as Assault Squad is only a multiplayer expansion and features a steep learning curve, it's hard to justify the $35 asking price. Fortunately, those seeking a more campaign-based experience won't have to wait long - a Vietnam-themed title is due to be released shortly.
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Mar 17, 2011
    67
    For as much as I was excited to play Men of War: Assault Squad, I was bitten in the ass by entering with no foreknowledge of the game.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Men of war was already the best WWII RTS game in my mind, and now 1C made Assault Squad even better, with better graphic, the unique heroMen of war was already the best WWII RTS game in my mind, and now 1C made Assault Squad even better, with better graphic, the unique hero units and some new maps let me really enjoy the game play. Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Greatest RTS of all time! Fun combat, great direct control ability, numerous chances to pull of ingenious strategies... or fail miserably, yetGreatest RTS of all time! Fun combat, great direct control ability, numerous chances to pull of ingenious strategies... or fail miserably, yet still have fun doing so! The best series noone has ever heard of, which is quite sad really. A must have for strategy fans everywhere! Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    probably my favourite game ever. but only once you have gotten used to all the different units because not only is this punishing as hell itsprobably my favourite game ever. but only once you have gotten used to all the different units because not only is this punishing as hell its also incredibly detailed in every way. the only downside i can really find is its not very obvious online if a game is ranked or not and the campaign (skirmish mode basically) is very linear, its mostly however to train you for the online mode which is excellent and far superior to the prevois in the series where heavy tanks just ruled the map and now a skilled commander can beat a tiger tank with a single guy if he is smart but if the tiger is used well it can defeat armies. truly the most in depth tactical game ever! Full Review »