• Publisher: 1C
  • Release Date: Sep 8, 2011
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 13 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    A very good game overall. I agree that this game will appeal more to a niche audience. Vietnam era games/sims are few and far between. MoW Vietnam is the best I've played to date. I love the jungle canopy where it is difficult to see and do anything you want. That's how it is in that environment. Quite a challenge. The smaller unit actions and tactics are what win the day here. No grand battles like Kursk or El Alemain. Vietnam was a war fought by politicians where the generals often had one or sometimes both hands tied behind their backs.
    Good amount of equipment to be used here. Nice to play as NVA to get a taste of their perspective of things too.
    The game is challenging. Overall I like it very much. Good job 1C!
    Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Wow. I thought that, with this being a Men of War game, it would be building on the solid gameplay of Assault Squad and improving on it. Big Mistake. It's really, really bad. Interface is retrofitted back to the same one as in the earlier games, and frankly who ever thought that dense canopy jungle makes for a good setting for an isometric RTS game needs to lay off the drugs. You can't see what you're doing, you can't do much when you can see, and the missions and multiplayer options are very week. Frankly, given how big a step down it is from Assault Squad, I feel a bit robbed. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    1
    Picked this game up the day before on steam. Played about 2 hours of it then just decided to put it down. I wouldn't go as far as saying it's a crappy game but it definitely not worth $35 AUD. Probably more around the $5 mark and even then personally I wouldn't buy it just because it brings nothing new. It just doesn't work its super hard to see your troops in the dense jungle so that makes it nearly impossible to play the game. In my opinion even if this game was free I wouldn't play it. The men of war series isn't bad by all means get men of war assault squad that game is awesome but this one just doesn't work its a bit of a fail. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    5 Punkte weill es ein Men of War Spiel ist, aber ich hätte mehr erwartet, leider bietet das Spiel, Inhaltlich nicht sehr viel, und der Multieplayer ist auch sehr mager.

    Da Spiel ich doch lieber AS.
  5. May 5, 2012
    5
    Men of War: Vietnam takes the player to Vietnam where familiar game mechanics meet new ideas. Unfortunately, the former is tried and true but the latter doesn't hold up. Although MoW:V focuses on small squads, stealth and snipers it fails to form a coherent whole; the Men of War engine is not suitable for stealth, the snipers are far too deadly and the game is full of hidden kill-switches in the form of events taking place on the map forcing you to play without the fog of war turned on because you might be missing out on something important or just to prevent the enemy heavy machine guns and snipers from spotting you before you spot them. And even if you can spot them on the map, that doesn't mean you'll be able to actually see them because of the humongous amount of trees on each map obscuring nearly everything that's happening. The vehicle system has been improved but in the 10 meager missions that come with the game (Plus about 5 bonus missions which are once again campaign-rejects) you will rarely run into vehicles and when you do, you will not be driving them but instead cursing at their superior accuracy and seemingly impenetrable armour. The designers also decided to take out a lot of what made the original game fun; instead of laying mine-fields, sweeping mine-fields, deploying, repairing and optimizing all sorts of equipment you'll instead be using the same guns and troops over and over while staring at a map filled to the absolute brim with trees and insurmountable terrain while listening to horrendous and uninspired actors spout their lines as if though they were forced to recite the lines at gunpoint. There are some good points to MoW:V. For one, it's incredily short compared to Men of War and Soldiers. Sniping works quite well and playing the Vietnamese adds a very interesting twist to what otherwise would be another American-centered game. Only recommended for hardcore Men of War fans. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    8
    To start off: Are you Interested and have some knowledge of the Vietnam war? or do you like Men of War?
    If so You will like this game, As I do, It brings a realist setting that games like Shellshock and Bad Company 2 do not, It has a wide array of weapons and units and is a lot less bias than most other games focusing on a real life military conflict in the terms you play as both American
    and Communist forces, I'd personally dismiss the users giving it 1 star reviews as people who are more used to things like Black Ops and were expecting an FPS , Easy game, It's a very gripping and losing a squad member can be very intense,

    To break it down:

    PRO'S:
    >beautiful graphics
    >Gripping game play
    >Realism to an extent >Music
    >Unbiased to one side

    CON'S
    >Not for everyone
    >Difficulty may put newer players off the series A fair 8 from me
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    I am not normally the one to gripe about things, heck I got the game on holiday sale so I payed only a portion of the face value. However within my first few minutes of play I was utterly turned off. Today, I decided I would give it another shot. I do feel the game "could" be good. But it is utterly crippled by a very poor control scheme. I mean, you can't control the camera with the keyboard at all? Say whaaaat? As others mentioned yeah it's hard to see your squads, but that is entirely caused by the horrid camera controls. The game has it's charm with the ability to control individual men, almost in a detached 3rd person sort of way. --Again however, the camera does not follow the movements of the soldier, although you can control his direct movements with the arrow keys. Selecting movement modes for your character are worthless unless in prone, as if you have him crouched and attempt to move he just stands up and runs, so there is no stealth movement besides prone. Grenades are not very intuitive and sometimes it takes several clicks through the interface to make anything happen at all, meanwhile your soldier got blasted. Overall -- This game got a 68, and it deserves a 68 or lower. Do not buy this at full value, wait for it in the bargain bin if you must buy it. I very solid, and better alternative would be Company of heroes. It's missing some of the up close and personal single unit controls like MoW:V, but it out shines it in every aspect including graphics. Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. Very good game.
  9. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    As the whole Men of War series, MoW: Vietnam is a perfect tactical RTS, maybe the best created ever. Comparing to Faces of War or first Men ot War we get improved graphics, some new sounds, and of course new environment, according to the time the Vietnam war took place. New weapons, a lot of jungle locations, new music - for MoW fans it's just exactly what they need. Personally I love this series, and I can not say anything against. I'm just waiting for some upgrade or DLC which can give us more modes to play in Multiplayer, such as Frontlines, Assault Zones etc. But anyway, my final opinion is: PERFECT! Collapse
  10. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a Vietnamese player, I would like to say this: This game brings out the feel of a Viet Nam's jungle and the cruelty of the war. It is a tough game, but when you have a perfect plan in mind and watch it being done by your units, that will be one of the best feelings that you can get in a tactic game, seriously, It's tiring but it is quite realistic considering how a war in real life situation back then was. For those who can't seem to complete the missions that requires you to find something, for example, like the fuel can for your boat on the first mission in Viet Nam's side :
    - Check the graveyard near the church, press "Tab" to highlight items on the ground.
    For those who can't see your units hiding under tall grass or trees, highlight them, there are 2 ways:
    - Highlight the units being hidden by obstacle, check the lower left section of your screen for the icon.
    - Group select them, then select each of your unit one by one, this will enables you to see an icon hovering over your unit's head, good to use on early missions, when you have a small number of units to command.
    Did i tell you the voices of Vietnamese 's units in this game is the best that I've heard so far in games about Viet Nam's war?
    Expand
  11. Sep 11, 2011
    0
    As the whole Men of War series, MoW: Vietnam is a perfect tactical RTS, maybe the best created ever. Comparing to Faces of War or first Men ot War we get improved graphics, some new sounds, and of course new environment, according to the time the Vietnam war took place. New weapons, a lot of jungle locations, new music - for MoW fans it's just exactly what they need. Personally I love this series, and I can not say anything against. I'm just waiting for some upgrade or DLC which can give us more modes to play in Multiplayer, such as Frontlines, Assault Zones etc. But anyway, my final opinion is: PERFECT! Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. 60
    Mostly hardcore gamers appreciate this real time strategy series because of its high difficulty. Interesting campaigns from the attractive Vietnam War era offer lots of tactical possibilities but you have to endure the A.I. glitches along with objectionable camera controls. [Oct 2011]
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    86
    I enjoyed Men of War: Vietnam a lot more than I initially thought I would. The game design favors action and strategy over resource management, and the level of difficulty, while daunting for most, was a refreshing change from the more casual military offerings out there these days.
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    84
    Like the United States Army, I came back from the jungles of Vietnam with a bloody nose. Cleraly Vietnam is for those Men at War pros who look for challenge. That's fine by me, but I did not like stealth missions which the engine does not handle so well. Also vegetation hides units, enemy and own, irritatingly well. [Oct 2011]