• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2009
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Possibly the best game about WWII, unless you want your games simplistic and easy, in which case you should settle for WII games. Like Soldiers, Men of War will be the best game no-one will buy. I hope I am wrong. [Apr 2009]
  2. It's not a perfect game by any accounts, but it's by far one of the better titles in my collection, and one I'm proud to recommend to fans of either action or strategy games.
  3. This might be the most gripping tactics title I've played in getting on for a decade.
  4. Fascinating and gripping expedition to the fields of World War Two will take your breath away because of its complexity and unsparing realism. Attention to detail will warm every heart of a true strategy fan. [Mar 2009]
  5. So if you want to enjoy the looks of a Tiger tank and watch it perform exactly like the Discovery boys told us it did, then you don’t miss out on Men of War. For anything.
  6. A virtuoso display of strategy game creation, and a splendid experience for gamers with a modicum of patience. [Apr 2009, p.72]
  7. Obviously dedicated to Strategy Fans (casual gamers should avoid Men of War). Good graphics, a deep gameplay and an impressive lasting appeal makes this title one of the best RTS of this year.
  8. It's a hard game, but that challenge and scope will be what keeps you coming back after your arse is handed to you. Again.
  9. We might be tired of the whole WW2 fanfare, but Men of War is a great blend of action and realtime strategy for PC.
  10. 80
    It's like watching all your favorite war movies play out in front of your eyes. Is it tedious and hard as hell? You bet it is, but it offers a view of combat that's every bit as thrilling as the more accessible strategy games that dominate the sales charts.
  11. Detailed and destructible environments.
  12. An engaging, solid RTS with mission design near perfection! But be warned: Men of War is only for experts of the genre. Anyone else will be frustrated by the hardcore approach of the game.
  13. Men of War impresses once being played. The variety of options make Men of War a title worth noting, and its graphical quality and photography work is very praiseworthy.
  14. Men of War is a strategy game for the fans of the genre and the Second World War in its whole. Several problems in the gameplay on the other hand can ruin the game experience and will oblige the more casual gamers to uninstall the game. But who will try to go on with the game will find a wonderful and tough game able to satisfy him.
  15. As a strategy game, very few titles reach the epic scale and excitement of Men of War's biggest battles. [Apr 2009, p.68]
  16. The successor to Faces of War (2006) has some useful innovations on offer, but is mainly about one thing: hard-core battles of WW2. It's exceptionally difficult, but not unfair. Veterans will enjoy using the innumerable amount of tactical options at hand. There's a multi-player mode for LAN and Internet for up to 16 players and a co-op mode for up to 3 players, too.
  17. This demanding World War II real-time strategy game delivers an epic campaign and a new take on tactical combat.
  18. Even hardcore RTS fans will be torn about this one, adopting a “take it or leave it” approach. Those that take it will be fighting an uphill battle, one that will reward the persistent tactical player above all others.
  19. Because of the high difficulty and the dated graphics Men of War can only be recommended to hardcore strategy gamers. Those however will enjoy the game immensely.
  20. Lack of original ideas is not damning, it just means that the work is derivative. This real time strategy has not a shred of a concept of its own, and yet it turns out quite decent. Sometimes all you need is a sensible mix of tried and tested ingredients. It's worth a try, if you want to once again command the II World War troops in Russia, Europe and North Africa. [Mar 2009]
  21. Tactical and highly entertaining but seriously lacking polish.
  22. Men of War is not going to appeal to the casual gamer. Only hardcores will be willing to attempt to crack this nut – it almost cracked this nut.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    4
    Somehow, 1C Company has managed to make a strategy wargame more painful than the act of war itself.
    Seriously, as interesting as this game
    looks with it's multitude of different units, vehicles and weapons, it is an exersize in frustration and mediocrity.
    Single player sways between pitched battles where you're expected to position an entire army in the 15 seconds it takes for the enemy forces to reach you, to laughable stealth missions in which stealth is literally not an option (don't forget insta-failing missions for conditions that you're never actually made aware of).
    I honestly don't know what the developers were thinking when they made this game, other than "let's try to take a tried and tested formula and make it as unfun as we can". Maybe it was a team building exersize or something.
    Worst part is that I'm being generous, there's like 20% of a reasonable game hidden in here. It's just a shame that you have to wade through the 80% of effluent that is the rest of this embarrassment to get to it.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    5
    A very good game in every way that takes WW2 RTS to a really realism level that some people crave. But, what really lets this game down is the ammunition and supply system. I can understand tanks and other vehicles, but trying to pass out bullets to each individual soldier while there is a battle to fight really takes away from this game by this micro managing system. I simply found to easier to kill my troops and call in more then resupply them with ammunition that by default carry so few when they first appear on the field. Full Review »
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    5
    First off: I was looking for an experience more realistic than CoH and I have definitely found it with MoW. Problem is: I want to like MoW a lot more than I actually like it. It's so close to being a good game that it physically pains me that it almost gets there and yet just falls short. It's the small details that have let me down... 1) Micromanagement: Why are my soldiers so incompetent? With the scales of the battles in this game you would figure they'd allow for your units to handle certain functions, like moving to new cover after their current cover had been destroyed , by themselves, when your attention was elsewhere! Units refuse to pick up ammo on their own! Constantly forcing you to lose ground while trying to discover who's run out... and then micromanaging each unit into searching for it! I'm not against micromanaging units... but when is enough, ENOUGH!? Scrolling back across the map from reloading your soldier's ammo supply on the far side, only to discover all of your units dead because they refused to find new cover after an enemy tank had destroyed the wall they were standing behind, is beyond micromanagement... it's TEDIUM! This level of minutiae belongs in a Turn Based Strategy game, NOT an RTS. There just is not enough time to handle all of the details AND keep the battles immersive. Most of the loss of life in this game comes from this and it dampens the games flow. (Plus, if you're going to make me loot enemy bodies for equipment, why can't I don their uniforms during stealth missions?) 2) AI issues: The AI in this game is totally schizophrenic! Not only are your own soldiers helpless babies, but the enemy soldiers threat detection occillates between deaf/dumb/blind and omniscient overlord! In one particular stealth mission I had an enemy soldier run ACROSS the entire map, straight to the back of a cluster of thick bushes, to discover the body I'd just hidden, and sound the alarm... while not 20 minutes earlier, same mission, one of my soldiers accidentally let a grenade fly, killed 2 enemies, UNNOTICED by the 3 guards not 20 feet away!!! WHA!?! It makes no sense... Not to mention units that have ammo, no damage to them, glitching into uselessness! It's frustrating trying to hold off enemy tanks with artillery only to have the unit in question stop targeting... Damage? No... Proper number of soldiers manning equipment? Yep... Ammo? Check... Line of sight? Yes... Hmmm... WTF! It was JUST %$#*#$ WORKING! I can practically hear the hardcore strategy enthusiasts: "You just don't understand strategy games", "You're obviously not skilled enough", "Leave it to the big dawgs"... and all of that BS. Truth is: I AM a Strategy Enthusiast! The positives here just DO NOT make up for all of the faults. I can see what 1C was aiming for here... but, IMO they missed (I genuinely hope they'll be able to polish the experience off in future iterations... I look forward to it...). And, although, I have ample patience for strategy titles, I just do not have enough patience for poor execution... . Full Review »