Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 489 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Solid Rising makes its way to the PC and features Raiden as a playable character.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Enhanced graphics and controls, customizable Zangeki settings, packed with full DLC support, Rising's PC version is the true definition of lightning bolt action.
  2. Jan 13, 2014
    90
    Exactly as entertaining as you’d expect from a collaboration between two of Japan’s most talented developers, and a relatively good – if extremely belated – PC port.
  3. Jan 15, 2014
    85
    Revengeance isn’t a perfect game but it sure is a fun one, and it made the jump to PC with ease.
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    Despite the flaws and interruptions of the story and presentation, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a superior title.
  5. 80
    Raiden reaps what the action filled gameplay sows and if it wasn't for the clunky camera and lackluster plot, there would be nothing to complain about. [Issue #239]
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    With hands of good craftsmen a great basis turns into gold, literally. Well, at least if you render homage to frantic fighting games, or to Kojima's obscure opuses. You see, you'll get the best of both.
  7. Jan 30, 2014
    72
    This story-driven combo-slasher is with approximately 5 hours very short, including cut-scenes, which take up more than 2 hours and tend to interrupt gameplay constantly. Combo mechanics are satisfying, the story is not worth mentioning. Lots of senseless violence, the game takes itself way too serious. Merely a port from consoles, mouse controls are awful and the graphics do not meet modern standards.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 94
  2. Negative: 19 out of 94
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, andThis game was awesome especially for the price. I wont go too far into it but i really enjoyed it. Fun game play, great graphics, and something different than all the other games I've been playing lately. 23 bucks for this gem? I'm all over it. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    This game is impossible to beat,the final boss is so cheap and requires inhuman reflexes.the parry system sucks and the controls areThis game is impossible to beat,the final boss is so cheap and requires inhuman reflexes.the parry system sucks and the controls are unresponsive.Without doubt one of the worst games ever created. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    wow this game is amazing..the best hack n slash game of 2014 till now...super fast pace action,amazing boss fights and our fav raiden..i neverwow this game is amazing..the best hack n slash game of 2014 till now...super fast pace action,amazing boss fights and our fav raiden..i never hoped that platinum games can churn out such a good pc port of this game..it runs smooth on my pc keeping everything on ultra..great job PG Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    If you enjoy hack and slash type games and would like a game based around Raiden then Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a game you should get.If you enjoy hack and slash type games and would like a game based around Raiden then Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a game you should get. Graphically it's impressive on PC and personally I use a wired Xbox 360 controller so I haven't had any issues with controlling Raiden at all. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    An over-the-top hack and slash game that makes a name for itself in the ever loving Metal Gear franchise. What Metal Gear Rising does isAn over-the-top hack and slash game that makes a name for itself in the ever loving Metal Gear franchise. What Metal Gear Rising does is simple, "clean" fun. The combat never gets dull and there are notable challenges in the game. Outside of the campaign, the various difficulty modes, and the VR missions, I wish there was a bit more.

    As far as a PC port goes, especially for an action game PC port, MGR is really well-made. Visuals are good, it's smooth, the controls are slick, and doesn't demand much of anything. I recommend this game for anyone who wants to start off in the hack n' slash, beat 'em up, action genre. But if you want to get into the Metal Gear series, I recommend starting off with the original Metal Gear Solid series.
    Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    This game has poor gameplay and graphics to today's standards, your 12-year-old son might enjoy it though.

    The game has 60 FPS limit and
    This game has poor gameplay and graphics to today's standards, your 12-year-old son might enjoy it though.

    The game has 60 FPS limit and maximum resolution of 1920 x 1080 as well.
    Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Not only does this game go up to just 1080p as I've heard, it's not real 1080p, it's up-scaled 720p, so if you're expecting that you could maxNot only does this game go up to just 1080p as I've heard, it's not real 1080p, it's up-scaled 720p, so if you're expecting that you could max out the game just like any PC game, you will not. 1080p looks choppy because it is stretched 720p to fit a 1920x1080 resolution, and you will have two big black bars at the bottom and on to the right of your screen, the image does not cover the whole monitor, because it is console 1080p meant for TVs not the full 1920x1080 pixels for a computer monitor!!!! Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.