Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    72
    Lasting just a couple hours and adding nothing to Metro's world or story, there's little value in Last Light's Faction Pack. Thankfully, at only $5, the ranger mission is worthwhile for players itching for just a bit more time behind the gas mask.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    65
    These three chapters are what this new DLC offers to Metro fans, and I have to say that if it weren't for the Kshatriya chapter, the value of spending money on the other two chapters would be questionable as they're very similar to situations and gameplay mechanics found in the main story. Kshatriya alone makes it all worthwhile however, featuring reasonably generous and unique additional content in a DLC pack which won't break the bank.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    61
    The Metro franchise succeeds when it synthesizes imperfect elements into a glorious whole; the Faction Pack fails because it breaks Last Light into its inglorious components.
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    The DLC offers three missions (one of which is simply awful) and falls short of the captivating, emotional story from Last Light. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.73]
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    60
    A very mixed bag, but one that's certainly worth a look if the Polis Ranger scenario intrigues you.
  6. Aug 16, 2013
    50
    Ill conceived and illogical if following orders, Heavy Squad is the weakest slice of this anthology.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    40
    Without a more effective delivery system than a single checkpoint overwriting all your other progress, the Faction Pack is a frustrating example of death by linearity.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    The Faction Pack contains 3 missions that are very well put together. I am not a fan of the Heavy Squad mission but it not awful (about a 6 in my book) but the other 2 are well done and fun to play. The entire thing will take you 3+ hours or so to play and its still very enjoyable. The Polis Station was my favorite with the surface, etc. and I enjoyed the Sniper team one as well.

    Its a good addition to a great game, albeit shortish.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    The meat behind this DLC, the Kshatriya mission, is phenomenal. The most criticized element of Metro has always been it's linear gameplay. This Kshatriya Mission addresses exactly that and gives us Metro fans an opportunity to explore and endure the dangers of the metro universe at our own freewill. It takes the Linear experience that Metro offers and gives you an amazing, yet condensed, sandbox version. For 5 bucks, this experience is amazing, and is a must buy for anyone who owns Metro LL and always wondered what it would like to be able to explore the tunnels without a mandatory guide.
    This DLC also throws in 2 other missions that were not in depth enough, or large enough, to release alone. I feel like they are just bonus content with them being a mere linear stealth mission and the other a heavy artillery horde defense mission. I feel that these two missions have brought the DLC a lot of negative attention and that if they would not have been included as extra content, in what is really a 5 dollar Metro sandbox experience, that the DLC would have received more positive reviews.

    10/10 from me. Kshatriya makes the heart of this DLC and is more than worthy of 5 bucks. I am not going to rate the DLC down just because it gave us two extra bonus missions of less than superior quality.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    If people have read the books and looks beneath the surface of these games then you will absolutely love it. And for the people complaining about the Reich mission remember that the Nazi's are all about show their power meaning brawl before brains and this was just the opening act.

    And the reason the DLC is shorter than normal DLC is for three reasons. 1. It cost 5 dollars which is about half of a normal DLC. 2. These were actually made after the main game meaning they weren't stripped from the original game and then made DLC. 3. 4A games is a rather poor company compared to other gaming giants, Ubisoft, Bethesda, Naughty Dog etc. and for them to make this DLC is damn well impressive.
    Full Review »