User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    To this day in 2012, I still use MSFS2004. In my opinion, the best and most stable release Microsoft has ever produced for flight simulation. Its diversity as far as accepting addon aircraft and scenery, including high resolution mesh is incredible. Flight dynamics and simulation quality are 100% depending on the hardware configuration you have set up. While this software can in theory beTo this day in 2012, I still use MSFS2004. In my opinion, the best and most stable release Microsoft has ever produced for flight simulation. Its diversity as far as accepting addon aircraft and scenery, including high resolution mesh is incredible. Flight dynamics and simulation quality are 100% depending on the hardware configuration you have set up. While this software can in theory be played as a game, it truly is a flight simulator in the sense that you do need to know a small amount of flying skills to be able to startup, take of, fly around and land. This software is used to assist in training professional pilots, so that should say enough about its technical potential. A kid looking to have fun flying an arcade-style video game will be seriously disapointed with this software, but experienced flight enthusiasts will love it! Collapse
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    By far the best flight simulation software I have experienced. In the time this was programmed, I had very little knowledge that this would be the "game" (using the term very loosely) that made me want to become a pilot. However, despite it's gleaming report from me, there are some downsides. Due to its age, many super-realistic add-ons for the MSFS series only work on FSX which is aBy far the best flight simulation software I have experienced. In the time this was programmed, I had very little knowledge that this would be the "game" (using the term very loosely) that made me want to become a pilot. However, despite it's gleaming report from me, there are some downsides. Due to its age, many super-realistic add-ons for the MSFS series only work on FSX which is a shame. But, even then, the add-ons that have been produced are of superb quality, significantly adding to the overall flight simulation experience. In spite of that, the lack of proper surround sound (without modifications) does slightly ruin it but the simulator gets a respectable and deserving 10. Expand
  3. SamF.
    Aug 1, 2006
    7
    This Sim from MS Does honor 100 years of flight well but there are some areas I was hoping for from the 2002 version. Crashes could have added explosion/fires to be more realistic . The Buildings stil use low res and interior of plane. What MS Did do wel is the vast information on every aircraft in the game with tutorials and lessons. A good effort from MS But wanted better graphics on This Sim from MS Does honor 100 years of flight well but there are some areas I was hoping for from the 2002 version. Crashes could have added explosion/fires to be more realistic . The Buildings stil use low res and interior of plane. What MS Did do wel is the vast information on every aircraft in the game with tutorials and lessons. A good effort from MS But wanted better graphics on buildings in this version. The terrain was vastly imroved overall and enjoyed flying those older planes. Expand
  4. JasonB.
    Mar 25, 2006
    8
    Th graphics are great but i think there should be some war palnes like f-16s and the crash realism is horible.
  5. JaceN.
    Dec 6, 2005
    3
    Yikes...what a terrible graphics engine. I reckon I could take this game back in time to 1997 and have every viewer go "eww". Dont beleive the minimum specs...you need at least 2Gz, 2048MB RAM and 4GB HD space. And even then theres a standard 7 day working week between input and action. And every helicopter feels like its got no tail rotor!
  6. CasimirS.
    Jun 30, 2005
    5
    Nice program but what happened to trim function. I am a pilot with 5000+ hours and what value is the best simulator if trim can't be maintained. This could ba a great tool for teaching but the trim function spoils the complete simulator. Is it me am I doing something wrong, would love to hear from you on this subject.
  7. KyleM.
    Mar 5, 2005
    9
    Fantastic but the realism for crashes is bad.
  8. Derek
    Oct 9, 2004
    7
    Great game, but it gets boring after a while and it needs more planes, like war planes. or even f-16's. anything like that.
  9. JoeB.
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    I think Michael C & Larry W fall from the same tree, 60$ for this game is too little but if you're cheap & lack I.Q this might be steep, & as for putting the cd in the cd rom each time is a strenuous job, you should get out & exercise, instead of being a "dumb American pig" this game is much better than FS2002. The graphics are fantastic & the realism is incredible. I am ready to go I think Michael C & Larry W fall from the same tree, 60$ for this game is too little but if you're cheap & lack I.Q this might be steep, & as for putting the cd in the cd rom each time is a strenuous job, you should get out & exercise, instead of being a "dumb American pig" this game is much better than FS2002. The graphics are fantastic & the realism is incredible. I am ready to go out & fly a plane on my own! Well not really. Peace! Expand
  10. CoryW.
    Jun 9, 2004
    9
    I love this game and every feature about it! Microsoft has done a great job with every aspect of the game!
  11. ChrisP.
    Apr 6, 2004
    8
    Realistic, but it gets boring after about 20 minutes of playing it.
  12. IsaacH.
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    It's the best air plane video game ever. when i grow up im going to be a pilot.
  13. AceMan
    Feb 2, 2004
    10
    This aamazing game to but i know that brand new it is about £50 but i took a trip to Dixons and bought it for an amazing £25 (it was the last one, but it was 1st hand!) This games is worth £50 anyway, the way that you can try to atempt the first flight with any engine "The Wright Brothers"!, or take a masive trip into a boeing 777-300 or a 747-400! In any plane or glider This aamazing game to but i know that brand new it is about £50 but i took a trip to Dixons and bought it for an amazing £25 (it was the last one, but it was 1st hand!) This games is worth £50 anyway, the way that you can try to atempt the first flight with any engine "The Wright Brothers"!, or take a masive trip into a boeing 777-300 or a 747-400! In any plane or glider you will have the most fun in your flying live time! Thank You Ace Man Expand
  14. RONH.
    Oct 14, 2003
    8
    Excellent weather graphics; choice of aircraft supports the 100 year theme, but where are the current modern ships: Cirrus, Columbia (Lancair), new personal jets, etc ? Also, what happened to the Corsair: great flight experience on land and at sea. 2k4 also has bug, I think, in rudder control sensitivity on takeoff, and the speedbrake on the Lear still, after all these years, causes nose Excellent weather graphics; choice of aircraft supports the 100 year theme, but where are the current modern ships: Cirrus, Columbia (Lancair), new personal jets, etc ? Also, what happened to the Corsair: great flight experience on land and at sea. 2k4 also has bug, I think, in rudder control sensitivity on takeoff, and the speedbrake on the Lear still, after all these years, causes nose to pitch up excessively. Expand
  15. ErikL.
    Sep 30, 2003
    8
    Compared to flights simulater 2002 there is more graphical details in 2004's version. In addition i like the addition of the piper having a 360 degree look around the cabin. But i rate this game as a 8 becuase i am disappointed that they didn't put more airplanes onto the program. I think if they had about 50 to 75 more varieties the game wouldn't get as old as fast. I love Compared to flights simulater 2002 there is more graphical details in 2004's version. In addition i like the addition of the piper having a 360 degree look around the cabin. But i rate this game as a 8 becuase i am disappointed that they didn't put more airplanes onto the program. I think if they had about 50 to 75 more varieties the game wouldn't get as old as fast. I love to fly, but as a greenhorne pilot i am moody as to what i am flying. But overall i would recommend this game to everyone, a easy and safe way to learn how to fly. Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    Ford Tri motor will not develop 2000 RPM Pass at Uspallata 2000 feet too high. Have leaned the mixtures thrown out pax and cargo reduced the fuel load and it still won't make. As an old Panagra Pilot I am frustrated.
  17. HarisG.
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    Awesome! The pilot can at last determine payload and its distribution... It's only a shame Microsoft do not include any Airbus or McDonnell aircraft, or the rest of the Boeing series, for that matter.
  18. MichaelC.
    Aug 28, 2003
    1
    Lacks effort in design and is almost identical to MSFS2002. Microsoft needs to impress me more for sixty dollars.
  19. MattR.
    Aug 12, 2003
    9
    So let me get this straight, "Larry W": you are so lazy that you prefer playing a 2 year old game over the new (and better) version because you need to put in the CD? Poor baby!
  20. JasonH.
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    This game is GREAT! I fly in the "real world" and I have been using ACOF to continue my training and maintain my flying skills (especially instrument flying with the new and improved ATC)!!
  21. LarryW.
    Aug 3, 2003
    5
    it bugs me that I must allways put disk 4 into the drive in order for the game to run. Version 2002 did not have this requirement. Although I have 2004 I will keep on using 2002.
  22. Jan 23, 2012
    0
    To this day in 2012, I still use MSFS2004. In my opinion, the best and most stable release Microsoft has ever produced for flight simulation. Its diversity as far as accepting addon aircraft and scenery, including high resolution mesh is incredible. Flight dynamics and simulation quality are 100% depending on the hardware configuration you have set up. While this software can in theory beTo this day in 2012, I still use MSFS2004. In my opinion, the best and most stable release Microsoft has ever produced for flight simulation. Its diversity as far as accepting addon aircraft and scenery, including high resolution mesh is incredible. Flight dynamics and simulation quality are 100% depending on the hardware configuration you have set up. While this software can in theory be played as a game, it truly is a flight simulator in the sense that you do need to know a small amount of flying skills to be able to startup, take of, fly around and land. This software is used to assist in training professional pilots, so that should say enough about its technical potential. A kid looking to have fun flying an arcade-style video game will be seriously disapointed with this software, but experienced flight enthusiasts will love it! Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. With enough features to fill a 747 flight manual, MSFS2004 provides a level of flying simulation on the PC that was unimaginable even a few years ago. [Oct 2003, p.116]
  2. 90
    The weather, graphics, and little details really do make this a giant leap over FS 2002. But I'm disappointed that Microsoft didn't include more modern aircraft.
  3. The challenge and entertainment comes from learning about flying, recreating historic flights, and plain old barnstorming. [Nov 2003, p.90]