Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Microsoft Flight brings the thrill and wonder of flying to beginners and PC pilots alike through missions, daily challenges, and the ability to explore the skies above gorgeous representations of real world environments in accurately rendered aircraft. The initial experience is free to play and will continually evolve with new terrain, aircraft, and challenges that can be purchased as additional content. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    85
    If you've ever wanted to get into a non-combat flight simulator but thought it sounded too difficult or esoteric, Flight is one to try out. After all - the price is right, and flying planes is so much darn fun!
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    Microsoft Flight presents an interesting initial offer that, if enriched constantly through the promised DLCs, will capture the attention of fans of the genre and expand its audience.
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    75
    The flight model is Microsoft Flight's biggest advantage, as the game is very enjoyable regardless of whether you're a newbie using a mouse for a controller, or a simulation maniac. A promising start to what might evolve into something big. [May 2012, p.73]
  4. Mar 12, 2012
    70
    Flight has nothing to do with Flight Simulator and the sooner people realise that the better.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    65
    Microsoft Flight is a good game especially aimed for those newcomers to the genre who want to learn to fly. However, those veterans who are looking for a deep simulator may get dissapointed by the simplicity of the game. Its free-to-play approach is good news, although the content if very limited for those not willing to pay.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    A sizeable free slice of casual flying.
  7. 40
    Empty and almost useless game offers little reason to try it, even for a weekend player – despite the fact that the basic version is free. [Apr 2012]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 44
  2. Negative: 28 out of 44
  1. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    So I give this game a 8... Plus 2 Points because of all the people who misunderstand it ;) It's called "Flight" and not "MS Flight Simulator" for a reason. This is a causal flight arcade/simulation mash up. It is for all the non hardcore flight simpletons light me who want to fly around a bit without all the simulation stuff. But I understand why the simulator community is pissed, it has been too long since the last proper MS simulation. Oh and Flight is free 2 play so just dl and see for yourself =) Expand
  2. May 9, 2012
    8
    Another underrated game despite it being free. Why people just can take the fact its just an experiment for future flights simulators instead of just complaning? I like it very much and ive got all planes. Everthing is what you expect in a game like this: smooth gameplay, smooth graphics, smooth everything. If this is the type of simulator were going to expect in the future, then its a thumps up from me. I only give 8 because its just an experiment game and it needs more work but its well done. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2012
    5
    To improve this game they should add inside views to all the planes and add additional dlc content. Also they should add ai planes, moving ground vehicles, and some of the other features that were in previous releases from microsoft. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2012
    3
    I hope Microsoft weren't serious with this game. Wanna know why it's free? Because it sucks. It's only worth playing for the achievements. On Max graphics settings the scenery is almost non-existent. I expected at least SOME detail not flat terrain. Framerate is pretty choppy even on a good PC and the camera views are terrible. The ckckpits are acceptable detail but everything else looks terrible I have literally seen games from 1970s and 1980s do better scenery. The only 2 things which are credit worthy about this game are that it has achievements and the tutorials and generally gameplay is well done in the sense that it easily appeals to even non-gamers while still keeping the depth and simulation aspect of flying for the more serious fans. It's not a 'bad game' but there simply isn't enough content or anything which is interesting here. There's absolutely no fun or enjoyment to be had here, and no matter what kind of games you like I guarantee you will find more satisfaction elsewhere. However there aren't many free flying simulator games which appeal to the casual market of good quality. The execution is good, but the whole concept and idea of it is flawed. For this "casual simulator" to be seriously considered as a game it needs to look to Test Drive Unlimited for inspiration, but instead of driving put the focus on flying. Only then can it be a viable game to spend time on. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    2
    If MS Flight is an indicator for what is to come for the games industry, then the future is bleak indeed. Flight takes a different approach to the previous games in the series; namely removing "simulator" from the name and giving us a small area to fly in, plus having customers pay money for additional aircraft or scenery; it's just that you're effectively paying £70 for about 1/100 of FSX or 2004. In Microsoft's rush to try and make the series more "accessible", all they've done is make a game too boring for the casual gamers and too insubstantial for older fans of the series. The only good thing I have to say about this game is that the graphics are quite nice, as is the sound. If I sound a bit dry, it's because everything about this game just makes me feel depressed for the AAA games industry and I really don't have anything to say about it, just don't download it. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    1
    Microsoft has really missed the mark here; the game has had six add-on planes released which should be a good thing. The problem is they have released 4 WW2 vintage aircraft with no missions or objectives specific to them and if that alone was not bad enough, none of them have a **** After the release of the first one the message boards lit up with criticism and yet onward MS pushed with releasing more of the same and not replying to any of the customer feedback.

    After ther elease of the P-40 their reaction was to just remove the option for customers to leave comments any more and they have yet to formally respond to all the criticism. There is potential with the title but unfortunately it will probably die a slow death due to the lack of interaction with the customer base and clearly releasing content the community is just not interested in purchasing.

    The game has a cap of level 20 which can be achieved over a weekend of flying and there is no replayability built into any of the mission objectives. In the game you can transport freight, deliver a passenger to buy a $100 hamburger, fly up to 3 passengers to another airport or medivac a patient and nurse. Again, wrong execution of the right idea; the freight missions require you to fly over the MTOW limit of a Maule, the burger missions allow you to use any plane (including single seat warbirds - WTF?) and the passenger missions again limit you to only the Maule. This leaves a very repetitive (read as exciting as watching live coverage of a primary on CNN) game scenario with a slow plane that does not even have working autopilot (although the controls for it are on the instrument panel).

    The flight community has always supported the new products that came out through developing add-on planes the community wanted to see in the sim/game, a lot of it is freeware and the more advanced content as payware. Again, MS missed the mark here in understanding what the target audience wants and has not released any SDK tools.

    This is the absolute worst attempt at niche software development I have seen in the 25 + years I have been gaming, it plays like one of those off-brand console games that are in the bargain bin at the large retailers. Keep in mind this game was years in the making and was released as the evolution of the flight game. The only reason the game gets a 1 is I could not see a way to give it a 0 on here; save your money to buy the additional hardware you may need to run X-Plane 10.
    Collapse
  7. Apr 8, 2012
    0
    This game suffers from several glaring problems. First, the flight dynamics of the planes is completely unrealistic. For example, the P-51 Mustang from the DLC is much slower in game than a real P-51. It also lacks a **** Another is that the scenery of Hawaii is very inaccurate. I live in Hawaii so I know what I'm talking about. It looks like they simply took a satellite map and used it to build out the scenery. The funny thing is that the maps they used are more than 5 years old, so highways go places they don't go any more. Don't make the mistake of thinking this game is going to be anything like the Flight Simulator series. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews