User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4248 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    5
    Minecraft is a game about moving blocks around. At its most basic, it's digital legos, but it also has monsters and a bit of a survival horror aspect to it. It's a fun and enjoyable way to blow some many hours, and it's a good deal for the price. But the fun wanes very rapidly, and the game has extremely little by way of content compared to other games that encompass the building genre,Minecraft is a game about moving blocks around. At its most basic, it's digital legos, but it also has monsters and a bit of a survival horror aspect to it. It's a fun and enjoyable way to blow some many hours, and it's a good deal for the price. But the fun wanes very rapidly, and the game has extremely little by way of content compared to other games that encompass the building genre, such as Dwarf Fortress and Terraria. This is the game that exploded in hype, mostly due to graphics and payment model, but it's not really the best of its kind. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    I'm really disgusted by the obvious bias among the critics. Minecraft is certainly a revolutionary game having rocketed the procedurally-generated voxel based world to a place in history. However, it hasn't progressed past its first steps. The game, if you can even call it that, hasn't really developed into anything lasting even though its been in development for almost 2 years withI'm really disgusted by the obvious bias among the critics. Minecraft is certainly a revolutionary game having rocketed the procedurally-generated voxel based world to a place in history. However, it hasn't progressed past its first steps. The game, if you can even call it that, hasn't really developed into anything lasting even though its been in development for almost 2 years with more feedback prior to official release than probably any other game.

    It doesn't take very long with the game to encounter any one of its numerous faults: buggy features (even with a revisit, the mine carts have numerous problems), incomplete features (achievements are basically filler and the nether was a waste of development time), a complete lack of multiplayer server browsing, stupid AI, and to top it all off the game is essentially over within a few hours - you can obtain all of the items and see all of the sites and enemies in one sitting. This all assumes that your computer will even run the game as many systems encounter memory leaks that guarantee crashing with just a few minutes of play. It upsets me that the critics completely overlooked these many short comings as though the game is perfect. The worst part is that many of these problems have existed for months and there is still no indication that they'll be fixed anytime soon. Without providing the proper feedback, Minecraft may never actually get the serious attention it requires to earn the grade it has received. There is just so much potential in a voxel engine and Minecraft hasn't even begun to tap it. It's just a matter of time before someone else comes along with a better product because Minecraft simply doesn't deliver.
    Collapse
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    A very fun game at Beta when Notch was developing it. Went downhill fast after 1.0 (full release version). Put it this way, the game was worth it in BETA, not so much in it's current state. The Full Retail seems rushed and not complete.

    BETA - The Beta was fun, building large complex structures is great, especially in Multiplayer. Singleplayer gets old real fast, unless you're into
    A very fun game at Beta when Notch was developing it. Went downhill fast after 1.0 (full release version). Put it this way, the game was worth it in BETA, not so much in it's current state. The Full Retail seems rushed and not complete.

    BETA - The Beta was fun, building large complex structures is great, especially in Multiplayer. Singleplayer gets old real fast, unless you're into building stuff out of the world stuff like a 1 to 1 scale of Middle Earth and have no life.

    Full Retail - Like I mentioned, feels very rushed and incomplete. While the Beta was fun and full of anticipation, the Full Retail adds little while adding what seems to be 'a lot' on the surface. In other words, inconsistent.

    Here's hoping that Notch will continue supporting the game, because the Retail version isn't the minecraft I enjoyed in Beta.
    Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Disclaimer: Played every version since 1.2 alpha. As a game, it sucks. As a game, it sucks. The ending is poorly done an innovative compared to the other concepts in the game. After these newer updates, minecraft has become seemingly random. It started as a creativity game, but started getting odd RPG elements like leveling, dragon bosses, fortresses, and enchanting. All of which seemDisclaimer: Played every version since 1.2 alpha. As a game, it sucks. As a game, it sucks. The ending is poorly done an innovative compared to the other concepts in the game. After these newer updates, minecraft has become seemingly random. It started as a creativity game, but started getting odd RPG elements like leveling, dragon bosses, fortresses, and enchanting. All of which seem prehistoric compared to modern games. If you are looking for enjoyment, it is in the building. That is where this game soars. It's awesome to build castles and mines, but I wish it hadn't strayed so much. I blame Notch's laziness. Notch slowed his updates to a crawl once he got rich and started vacationing most of the time. Minecon's high ticket price makes me think that it was for-profit and it make it harder to respect the MineCraft game/company. So, overall, MineCraft ended up as a messy, unfinished game with strange elements, but being creative can lead to lots of fun. You just have to come up with the creativity yourself. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    Minecraft, while being slightly entertaining, is almost completely pointless. The only value it holds for me is that it is virtual legos. Being a Voxel game, the graphics dont bother me. what does is the lack of objectives. While I know the game designer didnt want to be objectives, I feel like a guiding hand would have been helpful even if its a manuel in your inventory. Not only did theMinecraft, while being slightly entertaining, is almost completely pointless. The only value it holds for me is that it is virtual legos. Being a Voxel game, the graphics dont bother me. what does is the lack of objectives. While I know the game designer didnt want to be objectives, I feel like a guiding hand would have been helpful even if its a manuel in your inventory. Not only did the game seem to randomly start, it didnt give any instuructions. it simply was 'Here is the game, play it." Even giving directions on how to make a crafting table would have been helpful. Not only does "Virtual Legos" come without a manuel, it also is way over priced. I do not believe that minecraft is worth more than $5. It is possible for you to get a few good hours out of the game, but i would suggested not wasting your time. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2011
    6
    Minecraft is an alright bit of harmless fun, but after you've built what you've wanted to build and explored a bit, I found it rather forgettable. The graphics are alright and there are very few enemies, zombies, skeletons, creepers, endermen, spider jockeys, spiders, cows, pigs, chickens, sheep and wolves compared to something like Terraria which has 45 and the cows, pigs, chickens andMinecraft is an alright bit of harmless fun, but after you've built what you've wanted to build and explored a bit, I found it rather forgettable. The graphics are alright and there are very few enemies, zombies, skeletons, creepers, endermen, spider jockeys, spiders, cows, pigs, chickens, sheep and wolves compared to something like Terraria which has 45 and the cows, pigs, chickens and sheep aren't really even classified as enemies. Many people are HUGE fans of minecraft, but I didn't find the charm that Minecraft addicts find in the game. Although, if you are a sandbox fan boy, minecraft can't be recommended enough because it is the ultimate sandbox game.(And it's cheap!) Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    I am a serious gamer, i play games that fulfil all game mechanics - characters, storyline, gameplay etc. And when i sat down and played this game, i thought why am i playing this. It has no storyline, no campaign, no real characters. So how can a game that defies all of these aspects even sell 1 copy. I eventually found myself enjoying making something out of mined pieces, but only forI am a serious gamer, i play games that fulfil all game mechanics - characters, storyline, gameplay etc. And when i sat down and played this game, i thought why am i playing this. It has no storyline, no campaign, no real characters. So how can a game that defies all of these aspects even sell 1 copy. I eventually found myself enjoying making something out of mined pieces, but only for about 17 minutes. For those with simply entertained minds i would reccommend this game, however for serious gamers, you may as well have a go at it, but i would not reccommend purchasing it. Expand
  8. Feb 1, 2011
    6
    Minecraft is an excellent game, no doubt about it. The gameplay is simple yet completely addictive, enough so that most people can play it for hours and not get bored. However that being said, it's novelty will wear off after a while. There's only so many things you can do with a bunch of blocks. This game is definitely well worth the price of admission, though, because you will mostMinecraft is an excellent game, no doubt about it. The gameplay is simple yet completely addictive, enough so that most people can play it for hours and not get bored. However that being said, it's novelty will wear off after a while. There's only so many things you can do with a bunch of blocks. This game is definitely well worth the price of admission, though, because you will most likely play it for longer than most blockbuster titles while paying less than half the price. Expand
  9. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    When I first started to play Minecraft, I had no clue what to do. After a while, I began to figure things out, building mud shacks. As I got better, I built bigger and cooler buildings. There was a point while I played this game where I was addicted, trying to build giant structures, spending hours at a time completely immersed. It was really cool.
    And then it got boring. After a while,
    When I first started to play Minecraft, I had no clue what to do. After a while, I began to figure things out, building mud shacks. As I got better, I built bigger and cooler buildings. There was a point while I played this game where I was addicted, trying to build giant structures, spending hours at a time completely immersed. It was really cool.
    And then it got boring. After a while, the game just loses its original charm and becomes a chore to play.

    My fun while playing Minecraft is like a parabolic curve. I started off bored, got really into it, then at the end got really bored. The first two weeks are still a blast, so I'd recommend giving it a shot.
    Expand
  10. Aug 11, 2013
    7
    Not bad. The game's key concept is doing whatever you want, be it constructing the Empire State Building, or making giant Megaman pixel art. However, it is held back by a few key problems: This game probably has the steepest learning curve I've EVER seen in a videogame. So many crafting things to remember, so many ores, so much everything! Also, the game is quite buggy, but I won't hold itNot bad. The game's key concept is doing whatever you want, be it constructing the Empire State Building, or making giant Megaman pixel art. However, it is held back by a few key problems: This game probably has the steepest learning curve I've EVER seen in a videogame. So many crafting things to remember, so many ores, so much everything! Also, the game is quite buggy, but I won't hold it against it for this kind of game. It has its problems, but the game should last you A LONG TIME, as long as you are ready to learn! Expand
  11. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    after seeing the review total of a 7.1 i was confused how it could be so low, but then i realised thats what it truly was. If i were to say minecraft was not and incredible game i would be lieing, but the key word there is WAS. Minecraft started out simple, elegant, and an amazing game. However, the turning point came with the add ons. Alchemy, Enchanting, the end, all it did was hurtafter seeing the review total of a 7.1 i was confused how it could be so low, but then i realised thats what it truly was. If i were to say minecraft was not and incredible game i would be lieing, but the key word there is WAS. Minecraft started out simple, elegant, and an amazing game. However, the turning point came with the add ons. Alchemy, Enchanting, the end, all it did was hurt minecraft. It was a game that lost its point and turned from a simple peaceful farming game into a tolkin RPG with farming element. Expand
  12. EGB
    Jul 27, 2013
    5
    Minecraft has steered away completely from what it originally was. That original idea is far gone now. The game is now in a confused state where it does not know whether to be an RPG or a Sandbox game. The game is filled up with little useless content.

    If only Minecraft focused on adding more content, mechanisms, bug fixing, multiplayer stability, tools, modding possibilities. Notch,
    Minecraft has steered away completely from what it originally was. That original idea is far gone now. The game is now in a confused state where it does not know whether to be an RPG or a Sandbox game. The game is filled up with little useless content.

    If only Minecraft focused on adding more content, mechanisms, bug fixing, multiplayer stability, tools, modding possibilities.

    Notch, you should have listened to yourself and made the game what you originally wanted it to be.
    Expand
  13. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    Minecraft is probably going to be the hardest thing to review because sometimes the community pushes me to call it a horrible game but sometimes it can be addicting so well i'll give it a 5 because the developers are making horrible decisions with a game that has much potential. But it's not entirely the devs fault Minecraft is a 6 to 12 year old magnet and since the devs listen to theMinecraft is probably going to be the hardest thing to review because sometimes the community pushes me to call it a horrible game but sometimes it can be addicting so well i'll give it a 5 because the developers are making horrible decisions with a game that has much potential. But it's not entirely the devs fault Minecraft is a 6 to 12 year old magnet and since the devs listen to the people who don't actually know what their talking about we have a game that's aging very quickly for the people like me who have played it for 3 years. Expand
  14. Jan 2, 2014
    5
    minecraft is fun at first but gets way to repetitive after your first few times playing though it. trust me every time you start a world you chop down a tree look for coal then make your first base. it fun for the first time but after a few times it really turns you off of the game
  15. May 14, 2014
    7
    Minecraft is a sandbox - survival game consisting of you making your own story, branching your own path and making your own choices. This game is fun mostly whilst playing with your friends and online. Without those features, the offline is boring and lonely, which is sad as I have seen people who make videos of Minecraft offline with or without modifications have so much fun which makesMinecraft is a sandbox - survival game consisting of you making your own story, branching your own path and making your own choices. This game is fun mostly whilst playing with your friends and online. Without those features, the offline is boring and lonely, which is sad as I have seen people who make videos of Minecraft offline with or without modifications have so much fun which makes no sense to me. Now for the gameplay features, it is simplistic which I like. You punch blocks to make blocks, to make tools to get better blocks. The bosses are boring however and require nothing else but SHOOT THE THING and the AI is ok. The enemies are intelligent enough and the friendly creatures are responsive to you killing them. The graphics aren't next generation but are stylised with the game and getting a graphics modification ruins the feel so don't. However it runs like crap as it uses Java script as the coding language and it really isn't ideal with making three dimensional games with such expansiveness. As of bugs, the only ones I see are shading errors and generation problems but overall a good built game, and I am not surprised as of how many people actually play this game and bug report.

    Overall this game is good and I see appeal to those who want to play games that are expansive and simple and I find it OK. 7/10
    Expand
  16. May 21, 2014
    7
    ok, I am a die-hard Minecraft fan, I am part of the community and I even do a lot of vids on minecraft. But, I can't say minecraft is flawless, and I'm going to give my honest review.

    Minecraft is a great game, and it is a truly open world sandbox, where your minecraft world ends with you. This Game is definitely a mark in video game history, and I hope this game leads to new ideas for
    ok, I am a die-hard Minecraft fan, I am part of the community and I even do a lot of vids on minecraft. But, I can't say minecraft is flawless, and I'm going to give my honest review.

    Minecraft is a great game, and it is a truly open world sandbox, where your minecraft world ends with you. This Game is definitely a mark in video game history, and I hope this game leads to new ideas for future sandbox games. First, I'll start with survival. My first time, like most new players, was rough. Minecraft kind of puts you in the wild and says "you're on your own, have fun". But that's not that bad, it adds a bit of the charm to the game, and that there is lots to learn to do, and aim for. It also introduces you to the minecraft community, as you rely on it to learn more about the game, and how to play it. I'll talk more about the MC community later, as it plays a big role in the game. As you learn more and more, you explore your world, survive ravage nights, and build whatever you can imagine. Minecraft life will have many things to do, make, or explore. this review was made in ver 1.7.9, and there is a point where you have done it all, and once you've explored the game inside and out, the game starts to lose steam, the game-play isn't that interesting past that for the most part. Then there is creative mode, where you are invincible, and can build (or destroy) with few limits.

    now, back to the community. The minecraft community is the absolute best, and really works hand and hand with the game to make it bigger and better, in a way I have never seen in any other game. if you have a decent amount of tech smarts, or look up tutorials, there you will really get the full effect of the minecraft community's mark on the game, and get more out of the game when you've explored it all. First off, the I am so impressed by what, amateur developers that loved the game, created in the minecraft community. There is like a mod for Freaking everything; shooting kamehameha's, guns, weapons from RWBY, SAO, KH, etc, Pokemon, magic, npcs, superpowers, bosses battles, alternate dimensions, you name is, it's most likely a mod for it, and will being the game to life. In addition, there are also resource packs to change the look and feel of the game. and Many maps custom maps; from an epic adventure map (most likely made by Hypixel), a survival world with the creators flare, recreations of other things or places, or just an awesome looking thing someone built. Don't even get me started on multiplayer server, minigames and stuff. Even outside of gameplay, youtubers have made minecraft so popular, and really something that people enjoy.

    Now here comes the sad part of this review. The flaws of minecraft. The wonderful things the minecraft community brings to the game will keep you entertains for a long time, but it also starts to die. Minecraft's huge gaping hole that keeps it 2 points away from a 9/10 is the gameplay. Im sorry, but you the battle mechanics are pretty... eh, and just barely passes as enjoyable. Way you move, the way you fight, and just the way your character performs, it's just... ok.... it passes, and it wouldn't take away from the minecraft experience, but once it's you've explored everything, and you've exhausted your creativity, tried many mods, the game dies there. Gameplay is an important part of if you would come back to the game, and a game like this can't be played for a plot. but another point was deducted for the way the game is being improved. as more and more updates have come out, less and less is actual added. The updates just aren't giving me anything to return to the game to do something new.These flaws will not affect new players, but more players that have played minecraft for a while. If this ever changes in future versions, I would gladly give this game a 8/10, maybe even a 9/10. It hurts me that I had to give this game 7/10, but, I just can't go any higher.

    overall, you will love Minecraft, and if you're a gamer, get this game. Let your imagination and exploration run free. And a tip, take shelter before the sun sets in the game, because the night is evil.
    Expand
  17. Dec 27, 2015
    6
    Minecraft may be fun at the start... but like every game in the world... after a while, it gets boring... like way too fast. It deserves a better rating from me but a 6 would do it. All you do is just basically build and fight to survive. Doesn't that sound fun? It does from the start.
  18. May 5, 2017
    6
    This is the only version worth playing. You can get maps, mods, and play on servers. Console edition doesn't have that (except mini game mode) It gets boring fast. I recommend this to kids and people who really loves sandbox games.
  19. Jun 23, 2017
    7
    Minecraft is a game that the majority of modern gamers have likely experienced at least a little of. It was and still is one of the most popular PC games of this decade. Creative mode is where you are invincible, and are free to create anything you desire, along with your unlimited resources. However survival mode is the mode that most players will either love or hate. To be fair,Minecraft is a game that the majority of modern gamers have likely experienced at least a little of. It was and still is one of the most popular PC games of this decade. Creative mode is where you are invincible, and are free to create anything you desire, along with your unlimited resources. However survival mode is the mode that most players will either love or hate. To be fair, Minecraft's unique game design does have a certain charm to it. It's simplistic designs and controls allow for gamers of all levels to be able to approach it easily. Despite, this, Minecraft does feel bare at times, and for an open-world survival game, many of the game elements such as combat and enemies do get tiring fast. Minecraft is an entertaining game, easy to jump into at any time, but the experience that it offers isn't quite as revolutionary that many make it out to be. Expand
  20. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    I must write this review to remind all of you of one fact that was brought up in the famous review by BestGamersOfUSA.....the game was not completed on release. It is a fine game as itself, definitely fun with friends, but there were many features promised that were not delivered (NPCs actually doing something, leveling system finished and actually doing something, etc). The main point ofI must write this review to remind all of you of one fact that was brought up in the famous review by BestGamersOfUSA.....the game was not completed on release. It is a fine game as itself, definitely fun with friends, but there were many features promised that were not delivered (NPCs actually doing something, leveling system finished and actually doing something, etc). The main point of this game is to build stuff (being anything honestly), which is fine as itself, but there is a survival aspect that we cannot forget. As much as I would love to just keep writing on and on about the actual flaws, I just implore you guys to watch the review I was talking about earlier, it brings up every point I was going to bring up anyways. It's fun enough, but I'm being nice considering that if this game was not in beta the whole time and was released with no one having any idea what to expect, they would have found a really **** game. The long beta and popularity base saved this game, not the game itself. And even then, the beta didn't help fix that it was an incomplete game that was released anyways. Expand
  21. Mar 17, 2014
    6
    Minecraft is a very unique game, but does it deserve this much acclaim?

    Pros:
    It gives you total freedom
    Nice LEGO style graphics

    Cons:
    Dull combat
    Boring gameplay
    It's more of a toy rather than a game

    Minecraft does have its moments, but it's not quite the game I wanted
  22. DME
    Jul 23, 2012
    7
    Sandbox-junkies will find a lot to do, but players looking for a game with goals and objectives should steer clear.
  23. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    The game itself is good, but the game developer is definitely not.

    Notch definitely don't deserved to have that much money for the efforts he gave this game.

    Most of the new features are already done by modders, so Notch basically don't have to do anything but copy the mods and put them into the game.

    The game could be MUCH better if someone else develops the game.
  24. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    Minecraft is a very good game. A nice, if not new concept which allows players to achieve great things. The game works well with friends, and alone, but you must realize that in order to be entertained, you need to have a goal. If you aren't working on something this game gets boring fast. So think of something, and build it!
  25. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    Minecraft is a game which is a little bit like Marmite. You either love it, or you hate it. Unlike Marmite however, it lasts you far longer than just trying it once and then never coming back to it. The basic premise behind Minecraft is that you do whatever you want to do, within the limits of the game, of which there are basically none. This makes it one of the most addicting singleMinecraft is a game which is a little bit like Marmite. You either love it, or you hate it. Unlike Marmite however, it lasts you far longer than just trying it once and then never coming back to it. The basic premise behind Minecraft is that you do whatever you want to do, within the limits of the game, of which there are basically none. This makes it one of the most addicting single player games i have ever played.
    You can attempt to survive in the hostile world, craft all manner of items and even just build a massive pink woolly castle just because you feel like it.
    Minecraft has two modes; Creative and Survival. Creative is the mode where you are given unlimited amounts of every block which you may do with what you please, Survival challenges you to gather the resources yourself in an attempt to survive the monsters that come out at night in the Minecraft world. To survive in this world, you may craft anything from swords to minecarts, jukeboxes to bread and this is where the main issue with Minecraft comes in.
    it is hard to become fully immersed in a game where you have to consistently tab out to check the internet for recipes on crafting, which with no guide available in game, is often. A further issue is with the recent implication of potions and enchantments. These seem very tacky and seem to work inconsistently and are relatively pointless. The way that Minecraft worked until full release was that it would receive regular free updates adding new features, often as suggested by players. I fear that now following the release of the full game, these updates will become "expansion packs" which can only be obtained through payment. Many of these updates in the past have not been worth paying for, and so if this situation develops, it will most likely detract away from the game. A further issue is the ending of the game, which seems very unplanned and the difficulty level of the game sparks highly at this point.
    However, ignoring these factors to the game, there are many good things about this game. One is the style of graphics in the game, which means that most computers will not struggle to apply textures and allows for much customization of the game. This is seen through the huge amount of mods and texture packs that are available for the game. However another issue with this is at there is no in game method of implementing mods, and players must have some technical knowledge to get them to work.
    It must of course be mentioned that there is a multiplayer option to this game through the ability to join friends servers ( a program for which can be downloaded from Minecraft's website) and craft, mine and build with friends. However, the only way to join a server is to directly enter the ip address and even though the game saves that server from thereon, it is still annoying that you cannot see a list of available servers for you to join. Some aspects of the single player game do not work in multiplayer which is extremely annoying for those who want to explore Minecraft's full potential with friends.
    To conclude Minecraft is a great game with quaint graphics and addicting gameplay however the many faults it still has makes me think that is possibly should have remained in beta for a while longer to work out the kinks and adjust some of the features within the game. Taking all my points made into account I award this game 7 out of 10 with hopes that perhaps in a view months this review will no longer be relevant due to updates since.
    Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    The game concept itself is very good. but if you have finished the game once. It won't be many fun anymore. At least if your playing without mods. If you use mods it can be a very fun game. Multiplayer is much fun. You can play with friends on multiplayer. So I would only recommend it to people that know how to install mods, and play multiplayer else it isn't a very good game for you
  27. Feb 24, 2012
    7
    If you have many idea's and if you are creative, this game is a good game for you^^
    I think, the multiplayer is better than the singleplayer. It's funny to build big things with your friends.
    But there is one thing i hate: Java!
    The FPS are jumping between 30 and 500. Graphics are very bad in the year 2011/2012. But if you install a Texture Pack and Shaders, it doesn't look so bad.
  28. May 28, 2013
    5
    Minecraft was an Action/RPG/Sandbox game but they changed it to Sandbox/Survival game,i dont know if i recommende it, this game is an OPEN WORLD that load chuncks and i hate it beacuse it lags.
    If you an old,bad computer you wont run it so good with mods like Mo creatures.
    The game is avarage for SP but i really recommend SMP(Survival Multi Player) i like Vanilia servers but Bukkit
    Minecraft was an Action/RPG/Sandbox game but they changed it to Sandbox/Survival game,i dont know if i recommende it, this game is an OPEN WORLD that load chuncks and i hate it beacuse it lags.
    If you an old,bad computer you wont run it so good with mods like Mo creatures.
    The game is avarage for SP but i really recommend SMP(Survival Multi Player) i like Vanilia servers but Bukkit servers are the modded ones that have "Plugins" Plugins are like a mod my favorite plugins are the ones that allows you to protect your stuff i.e chest,personal door etc.
    This game has many items,2 bosses,many blocks and the 2 bosses are:Wither and Ender Dragon.
    Wither is a boss that gives you "Wither" effect that is like Poison but you cant see your hearts
    *WARNING THOSE PARAGRAPHS CONTAINS SPOILERS*Ender Dragon is the final boss that you must defeat when you defeat him you get 120+ levels for enchaments and 1 Ender dragon egg,to get the egg you must have a Piston and a lever.
    When the Wither patch was in minecraft the sky was darker when you didnt defeat
    Gameplay is not too great but it was their first game created
    Enchantments are terrible,i recommend to save your xp if you dont have too many bookselves beacuse level 30 is the good enchantment but still you get bad enchants so if you click 1-29 levels you get bad enchants.
    I recommend to play the Demo version
    Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    5
    Summary: A quirky, unique indie game rocketed to popularity by Penny Arcade, run by a greedy bearded Swede with an over-inflated ego.

    I've played minecraft since maybe a month after they first released SMP (multiplayer) mode. I wish I could say it's come a long way since then, but in reality, it hasn't. Markus Persson (Notch) who originally coded the game obviously has very little
    Summary: A quirky, unique indie game rocketed to popularity by Penny Arcade, run by a greedy bearded Swede with an over-inflated ego.

    I've played minecraft since maybe a month after they first released SMP (multiplayer) mode. I wish I could say it's come a long way since then, but in reality, it hasn't. Markus Persson (Notch) who originally coded the game obviously has very little experience with actual game design and optimization in Java, and as a result, Minecraft will tax your computers resources more than its blocky voxelized graphics would lead you to believe.

    Like other games to come before it, the mod community absolutely makes this game, and Notch is in complete denial about this fact. The game is still missing fundamental features and sorely needed code optimization, but instead Mojang insists on adding cake and dragons.

    This game is in no way complete, finished, or polished and as such it is rather sad to see the metacritic score eclipsing the mirror-finish polished Skyrim. Don't let its "1.0" version denotation fool you into thinking this game is any less beta than before, it is still sorely lacking on features.
    Expand
  30. Dcy
    Apr 9, 2012
    5
    This game is very entertaining at first, but next it begins to be boring and minecraft was better a long time ago, everytime they do a patch, minecraft is less minecraft
  31. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    I'm really disgusted by the obvious bias among the critics. Minecraft is certainly a revolutionary game having rocketed the procedurally-generated voxel based world to a place in history. However, it hasn't progressed past its first steps. The game, if you can even call it that, hasn't really developed into anything lasting even though its been in development for almost 2 years withI'm really disgusted by the obvious bias among the critics. Minecraft is certainly a revolutionary game having rocketed the procedurally-generated voxel based world to a place in history. However, it hasn't progressed past its first steps. The game, if you can even call it that, hasn't really developed into anything lasting even though its been in development for almost 2 years with more feedback prior to official release than probably any other game.

    It doesn't take very long with the game to encounter any one of its numerous faults: buggy features (even with a revisit, the mine carts have numerous problems), incomplete features (achievements are basically filler and the nether was a waste of development time), a complete lack of multiplayer server browsing, stupid AI, and to top it all off the game is essentially over within a few hours - you can obtain all of the items and see all of the sites and enemies in one sitting. This all assumes that your computer will even run the game as many systems encounter memory leaks that guarantee crashing with just a few minutes of play. It upsets me that the critics completely overlooked these many short comings as though the game is perfect. The worst part is that many of these problems have existed for months and there is still no indication that they'll be fixed anytime soon. Without providing the proper feedback, Minecraft may never actually get the serious attention it requires to earn the grade it has received. There is just so much potential in a voxel engine and Minecraft hasn't even begun to tap it. It's just a matter of time before someone else comes along with a better product because Minecraft simply doesn't deliver.
    Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]