User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3506 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2012
    1
    It's been so long and so little has been accomplished, I still have a Sneak key that doesn't sneak. If my dog is sitting and a close the game it is forever stuck sitting. I have a room that is about 5 x 5 with 10 torches in it and zombies still attack me when i goto sleep in the bed, If you want a game that absolutely nothing can go right, this is it. (it's only rated a 1 cause I can stillIt's been so long and so little has been accomplished, I still have a Sneak key that doesn't sneak. If my dog is sitting and a close the game it is forever stuck sitting. I have a room that is about 5 x 5 with 10 torches in it and zombies still attack me when i goto sleep in the bed, If you want a game that absolutely nothing can go right, this is it. (it's only rated a 1 cause I can still classify it as a game.) Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    1
    This game is creative and fun, but it's in Java and it's very poorly optimized. And I don't really think this game is worth 27$, that's really expensive for a game made in JAVA imo. Terraria is just most fun, have no performance issues, it's 10$ full price and it's on Steam.
  3. Aug 20, 2012
    1
    The developers sat around a table one day and made a bet.
    One guy said to another «Hey! I'll bet you $100 that I can come up with a really STUPID IDEA, CHEAP RETRO GRAPHICS, REPETITIVE GAME-PLAY, LACK OF CONTENT, LIMITED ACTION video game title that will entice millions of idiots to play it as if it were the next best thing to sex with 4 women at a time! I bet you that people who
    The developers sat around a table one day and made a bet.
    One guy said to another «Hey! I'll bet you $100 that I can come up with a really STUPID IDEA, CHEAP RETRO GRAPHICS, REPETITIVE GAME-PLAY, LACK OF CONTENT, LIMITED ACTION video game title that will entice millions of idiots to play it as if it were the next best thing to sex with 4 women at a time! I bet you that people who can't tell the difference between a good RPG and a dog turd will LOVE my game and hype it up to no limits, getting other weak-minded individuals to play it endlessly! I bet we could overprice it, under-develop it, sub-maintain it and no one would give a crap! I bet you that the graphics could be SO BAD that it will make ASCII based games on the TRS-80 in 1981 seem like next-generation DirectX 11 games! I'm willing to bet you that NO ONE will figure out that we're basically laughing our asses off at them to liking it! I bet you we'd be able to MINE their pockets and CRAFT a real piece of dung title!»
    Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    1
    5sec played, and deleted! BAD game with bad graphic! Also Bad AI( "While this game is fun at first, it quickly loses it's steam" good word bro! Good idea...but... bad(
  5. Apr 4, 2014
    1
    My computer hyperventilates more often playing Minecraft than it does Mirror's Edge. My brain can't stand to have the same activity repeated every time I start up the game. I can't stand the community,"YOLO SWAG! YOU HACKER! STOP HACKING! STRAFING IS A GREAT STRATEGY! I HAVE NO LIFE! BUTTER IS GOLD! I'M SUICIDAL!" Worst of all, my friends ONLY have Mindcrap, so they beg me to play.My computer hyperventilates more often playing Minecraft than it does Mirror's Edge. My brain can't stand to have the same activity repeated every time I start up the game. I can't stand the community,"YOLO SWAG! YOU HACKER! STOP HACKING! STRAFING IS A GREAT STRATEGY! I HAVE NO LIFE! BUTTER IS GOLD! I'M SUICIDAL!" Worst of all, my friends ONLY have Mindcrap, so they beg me to play. Survival games. "PVP." The only two activities they enjoy on this game. Most people only like Minecraft because it's the only game they have. I got my friend Garry's Mod, AND HE NEVER PLAYS IT! WHEN HE DOES, HE DOES FOR FIVE MINUTES, THEN GOES AND PLAYS "SURVIVAL GAMES"! I could rant and rave all day about this game, but I'm tired and going insane from my Minecraft player friend. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2014
    1
    This game's only achievement is that it attempts to unite gaming with videogame making. You actually build something of your own game without having to cope with the actual making of the game. Gamers join its evolution process and this is the reason so many mods exist. It is an interesting approach, but it cannot be regarded as a game itself. Besides that, "Minecraft" is distinctive forThis game's only achievement is that it attempts to unite gaming with videogame making. You actually build something of your own game without having to cope with the actual making of the game. Gamers join its evolution process and this is the reason so many mods exist. It is an interesting approach, but it cannot be regarded as a game itself. Besides that, "Minecraft" is distinctive for its terrible graphics and boring gameplay. A lot of critics and gamers seem biased and do not even think that we are in 2014 and not at the beginning of the videogame industry. This overrated "innovation" is so repulsive that I'd rather install some software and make a game of my own. And they didn't even attempt a serious improvement since 2009!

    For me it's up to your taste, your aesthetics and what you actually seek to get from it.
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    1
    **** **** GAME! overpriced for bad graphics and quality. MY CONNECTION KEEPS GETTING LOST FROM THE SERVERS WHEN IM IN THE MIDDLE OF A GAME AND I SPENT ALL DAY JUST TRYING TO CHANGE MY **** SKIN. I GAVE UP TOO CAUSE IT DIDNT WORK AND NOW IM STUCK WITH A STUPID STEVE SKIN. I TRIED TO LOG IN ON THE WEBSITE BUT IT KEPT SAYING USERNAME OR PASSWORD WRONG. WHEN I RESET THIS PASSWORD IT KEPT**** **** GAME! overpriced for bad graphics and quality. MY CONNECTION KEEPS GETTING LOST FROM THE SERVERS WHEN IM IN THE MIDDLE OF A GAME AND I SPENT ALL DAY JUST TRYING TO CHANGE MY **** SKIN. I GAVE UP TOO CAUSE IT DIDNT WORK AND NOW IM STUCK WITH A STUPID STEVE SKIN. I TRIED TO LOG IN ON THE WEBSITE BUT IT KEPT SAYING USERNAME OR PASSWORD WRONG. WHEN I RESET THIS PASSWORD IT KEPT SAYING THE SAME THING. FOR **** SAKE, PS3 IS WAY BETTER, PC IS A LOAD OF UNEEDED STRESS!!!! MOJANG SORT IT OUT!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2014
    1
    Нудная, неинтересная игра которая по непонятным мне причинам очень популярная среди школоты и (что очень странно) среди казалось бы адекватных взрослых людей.
  9. Feb 24, 2015
    1
    Well, Minecraft was great game until little kids found it and ruined it... So It's I would not say it is worth the 20€... And I know this is suppossed to be 16bit, but looks terrible... And "da physics... It's not too detailed and the gameplay sucks...
    + Point of the game
    - Graphics
    - Physics
    - I thought that chicken is duck
  10. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    This game is absolute rubbish. The combat is mindlessly simple spamming of mouse 1 and the enemies pathing and AI is a joke. The building and mining is incredibly boring. The "exploration" is an absolute waste of time. The entire game is the same thing with slightly different textures. What a waste of money.
  11. May 29, 2011
    0
    Minecraft is just a little novelty game, if you can get past the sickeningly horrid graphics, which I couldn't. I have NEVER hated a game for it's graphics before, but this... this is just wrong. I mean for starters you can't give this game a perfect score when it has 70's graphics yet it came out last year.
  12. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    Honestly, i have only one quite small question. Where is the magic in it ? Because i don't see any reason to waste my money and pay for Tetris-like looking game...
  13. Sep 17, 2011
    0
    This game is just terrible, its boring and it has the graphics of a calculator. I played games in the 80's that had better graphics than this. This is only a game for people who are sheep. Stay away from this Horrible, terrible game
  14. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Virtual Lego's with bad graphics. That's all it is and it sells for over $25. It does nothing new, creative or original. I don't understand fads, never have and probably never will. What I do understand is people waste millions on them and later wonder what they were thinking. This is Minecraft.
  15. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    Bad.. Pointless.. Waste of time.. Terrible Graphics.. Terrible Performance.. infact, not 1 redeeming feature. A game for douches who enjoy playing "hip" "indy" games just for the sake of it to fit in with their douchey gamer friends. How can they even charge people to play this rubbish? It is complete and utter turd.
  16. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    When I started playing this game it was fun for a little but then I noticed so many flaws i mean whats the point of having a sword when there is absoulutly no point of killing an enemy i mean that there is no strategy when killing them u just hit them and hope you dont die. This game will also get boring as F u c k when you realize your just getting stone and building **** that will getWhen I started playing this game it was fun for a little but then I noticed so many flaws i mean whats the point of having a sword when there is absoulutly no point of killing an enemy i mean that there is no strategy when killing them u just hit them and hope you dont die. This game will also get boring as F u c k when you realize your just getting stone and building **** that will get exploded. I cant belive that this game cost money i mean if you watch gameplay you would think that its free from its ****ty graphics but no they want you to pay 10 bucks for it. If your going to buy this game just save the 10 bucks for a real game or buy Terria or however you spell it. Expand
  17. May 16, 2012
    0
    Ok, actually this game is bad. I starts funny, ok. But then.... later on it's just very, very boring. Ok, it's cheap. But this is the only good point at that game. Don't buy.
  18. Feb 11, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minecraft was really fun at first and it wasnt fun at all you know minecraft sucks so badly i dont know why ok you suck at minecraft i suck at it MINECRAFT IS A VERY BAD GAME **** MOJANG Expand
  19. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    A game for people that have given up on life. There's no other way to say it but if you like this game, you can't possibly be a true gamer, or you must be bored out of your mind beyond the point of redemption. Just like Runescape really. No skill, no challenge. Just repetitive grinding. Only those who have achieved nothing can like this. If you get addicted it's understandable- it's anA game for people that have given up on life. There's no other way to say it but if you like this game, you can't possibly be a true gamer, or you must be bored out of your mind beyond the point of redemption. Just like Runescape really. No skill, no challenge. Just repetitive grinding. Only those who have achieved nothing can like this. If you get addicted it's understandable- it's an MMORPG after all. But that doesn't make it good. My problem isn't graphics- they're fine and the game works better this way. And sure, it's different from MMORPGs in that you BUILD the world rather than navigate through it. But this game has way too many fanboys who are going to say this review is unhelpful because I gave it a zero. Big deal. It's my opinion and I'm entitled to it. The point is that we're approaching 2012 and still people are satisfied from such a primitive, repetitive and frankly un-original concept? I just don't see why you'd want to play this when there's so many better games out there which are FREE. You actually have to pay for this rubbish. This game is just Doodle God mixed with Runescape imo. There's no justification of why it's good other than you can place blocks on top of each other. Why not play lego? It's so much better. Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Ignore the critics. Buy this game today and you'll be nothing but bitterly disappointed. There are no tutorials meaning you'll spend most of your play time on the wiki and actually and no real purpose to this game. Yes it is an excellent time sink at first and some people will never grow tired of building ever more vast structures, but the average gamer should look for something else.Ignore the critics. Buy this game today and you'll be nothing but bitterly disappointed. There are no tutorials meaning you'll spend most of your play time on the wiki and actually and no real purpose to this game. Yes it is an excellent time sink at first and some people will never grow tired of building ever more vast structures, but the average gamer should look for something else. There are far better actually complete games (that have only been around for as long as the Beta's) you can spend your money on. Look at games around or under the £17 mark, check it's metacritic score is more then 50 and buy it. I can pretty much guarantee it will be a far better *game* then this. Expand
  21. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    We are really close to the end of the world for this kind of game being appointed as the best PC game of the Year. If it was appointed for best game for your Windows 95 I would try to accept, because it's not a game, it's a tool. I don't see any elements that appoint this as a game, it's more like a 3d map editor with disguised monsters and horrible AI. The graphics isn't the problem, theWe are really close to the end of the world for this kind of game being appointed as the best PC game of the Year. If it was appointed for best game for your Windows 95 I would try to accept, because it's not a game, it's a tool. I don't see any elements that appoint this as a game, it's more like a 3d map editor with disguised monsters and horrible AI. The graphics isn't the problem, the "game" is the problem and such high metascore for a map editor... Well it's a joke. Expand
  22. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    My eyes still burn. What were they thinking????
    Extremely dull, pointless, ugly, worst time i had on a "videogame" in al my life. I could feel it suck the life out of me as i struggle to perceive what was in front of my eyes. Please save your lives and don´t pay the devil for this game because the minute you start playing you start a journey to HELL. For a minute there i
    My eyes still burn. What were they thinking????
    Extremely dull, pointless, ugly, worst time i had on a "videogame" in al my life. I could feel it suck the life out of me as i struggle to perceive what was in front of my eyes. Please save your lives and don´t pay the devil for this game because the minute you start playing you start a journey to HELL. For a minute there i tought i was on crack because i could only see BLOCKS with different colours but alas it was real. Don´t play this, don´t go near this crap if you value your sanity this is hardly a game but more like an aplication to something. Calculator graphics, extremely painful sound that make your ears bleed and scream to you "why are you doing this to us". In one word, ZERO.
    Expand
  23. Nov 29, 2011
    0
    The first time I played it I had to check the calendar. The graphics are so bad I thought I had time traveled back to 1995. I think they borrowed the same engine from Wolfenstein 3D.
  24. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    While this game is fun at first, it quickly loses it's steam. The developers don't take the game seriously, they would rather sit around in the office all day, playing games, promising features they never deliver on. It would be great to see a serious developer who isn't full of themselves take this game on and make it into something really great. It has SO MUCH potential. The onlyWhile this game is fun at first, it quickly loses it's steam. The developers don't take the game seriously, they would rather sit around in the office all day, playing games, promising features they never deliver on. It would be great to see a serious developer who isn't full of themselves take this game on and make it into something really great. It has SO MUCH potential. The only great thing about this game is the community, they have MADE the game with all the mods and support. The developer has simply profited off everyone else's hard work. Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    Boring game made great by moders!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  26. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    - Full of bugs
    - Performs terribly
    - Bad graphics - Repetitve gameplay - Maps have near infinite horizontal space but very limited vertical space - Half-assed RPG elements. - Monsters have the worst AI in the history of game programming - Multiplayer often doesn't work - Poor developer support - Despite simple aesthetic, requires immensely powerful hardware to run at acceptable settings. +
    - Full of bugs
    - Performs terribly
    - Bad graphics
    - Repetitve gameplay
    - Maps have near infinite horizontal space but very limited vertical space
    - Half-assed RPG elements.
    - Monsters have the worst AI in the history of game programming
    - Multiplayer often doesn't work
    - Poor developer support
    - Despite simple aesthetic, requires immensely powerful hardware to run at acceptable settings.
    + Cheaper than most other games
    + Good replay value
    + Large modding community

    This system won't let me go into the negatives so a zero was the best I could give this. This game is an excellent example of wasted potential. It became popular as a building/Lego game with small combat elements to keep you on your toes. Now it's a game about swinging pixelated swords at things until they fall over. The world is so cluttered with 'dungeons' now that it's impossible to dig for five minutes without breaking into another spider pit. The height limit hasn't been raised since pre-alpha, so you won't be building anything taller than the London Tower or digging anything deeper than your swimming pool. The multiplayer is buggy, incomplete, and lacks the tools for proper moderation. This game is so incomplete that there is literally no one that plays this game vanilla.
    Expand
  27. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    its not even a game that should be getting great reviews i played like an hour of this piece of **** game and it sucked. who would find this fun? maybe some one with a good imagination and has no friends. and if i wanted to build stuff like that i would just get my box of legos out so screw this game!
  28. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    While a fantastic concept, the implementation of minecraft in general has been slipshod at best. Mojang seems to be better equipped at promising fixes than implementing them. Arbitrary "release dates" and haphazard feature implementation plague this "release" version. Minecraft seems to suffer from an identity crisis these days. "Am I a sandbox game?" or "Am I an adventure narrative?",While a fantastic concept, the implementation of minecraft in general has been slipshod at best. Mojang seems to be better equipped at promising fixes than implementing them. Arbitrary "release dates" and haphazard feature implementation plague this "release" version. Minecraft seems to suffer from an identity crisis these days. "Am I a sandbox game?" or "Am I an adventure narrative?", this is the major question here. While minecraft did well as a no goal, build what you want with survival aspects sandbox title, the addition of a tacked on endgame event complete with halfhearted ending text "reveal" left me wanting. While many "features" have been added since the 1.7 beta release, one must ask "how well have said additions meshed or added to the gameplay?". In my experience, the answer is not that well. What was once a fun open ended building block set has devolved into a confused rpg title with no defined narrative or point, and that's without addressing the glaring instability, bugs and varying performance issues apparent from version to version. All I can say is that minecraft started with much promise, and has proceded to fail to live up to any of the potential it promised throughout development. Expand
  29. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    Terrible, unfinished game. Not even old school games look this bad and the lack of an actual AI past, "I KILL U" and "I NO KILL U" is inexcusable.
  30. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    notch is a complete hack. He gets way too much esteem for his "accomplishments." First off, Minecraft is almost an exact copy of Infiniminer, a game created by Zach Barth. Do a search on Google if you are not familiar with that game. So he is no genius game designer. Secondly, Minecraft runs like crap. Given the way the game looks, it should easily run at 60fps in a browser.notch is a complete hack. He gets way too much esteem for his "accomplishments." First off, Minecraft is almost an exact copy of Infiniminer, a game created by Zach Barth. Do a search on Google if you are not familiar with that game. So he is no genius game designer. Secondly, Minecraft runs like crap. Given the way the game looks, it should easily run at 60fps in a browser. Instead, even on high performance machines, it still does not run smoothly as a standalone application. So he is no genius programmer.

    Lastly, he's hired a crew of programmers and started a "game company", yet take a look Minecraft today versus 2 years ago. It's virtually the same game, with a few new crafting items thrown in.

    I still don't understand why people regard this game so highly. It feels like a classic "the emperor has no clothes."
    Expand
  31. Nov 29, 2011
    0
    This is the worst so called 'finished' game I've played for a long time. After reading so many 10/10 reviews I thought this is a must buy, but you should not waste your money on this horrible game. The graphics are terrible, they are the worst kind of lazy programmer 'art'. At first I was quite overwhelmed by the gameplay possibilities, but after exploring caves for ores and built a houseThis is the worst so called 'finished' game I've played for a long time. After reading so many 10/10 reviews I thought this is a must buy, but you should not waste your money on this horrible game. The graphics are terrible, they are the worst kind of lazy programmer 'art'. At first I was quite overwhelmed by the gameplay possibilities, but after exploring caves for ores and built a house I become incredibly bored of the tedious and repetitive nature of the so called gameplay. You should also be warned that there is absolutely no in-game help whatsoever. I had to regularly flick back and to between a help wiki which is completely unacceptable in a finished game. Combat is utterly boring requiring no tactics and it's so easy to use a few simple tricks to never have to worry about them again so there is no challenge. The game is also riddled with bugs that seemingly take years for the creator to fix and the ending is pathetic. Do not be fooled by the sycophantic "professional critics", this is a terrible game! Expand
  32. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    this is a game? XD, bad graphics, this game its boring and bad. this is the game of the year?
  33. Aug 14, 2012
    0
    this game is near the top of my most hated games uv all time! its so stupid and its graphics suck so bad that my eyes threw up. its horrendous and it has terrible gameplay, and its stealing my favorite PC game's thunder, Spore! Spore FTW
  34. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    All my friends are always playing Minecraft. They told me to check it out, so I did. I first decided to check out a video of it first to see if it was any good. It looked so awesome, but was I fooled. Within five seconds of loading a new world, I couldn't help noticing the p*ss-poor graphics and came to the conclusion that the whole game was bad. Do not buy this game, it's a waste.
  35. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Besides the game looking 20 years old, it is merely Lego on your computer screen. Only 6 year olds should be playing it as everyone else should have grown out of the need to put block on other blocks to make a castle or boat which does nothing, but alas, many have not.
  36. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    I was always hearing my friends say "oh minecraft is so awesome i love it" so I figured it couldn't be THAT bad if everyone said that BOY was I wrong, I started out trying survival mode I got bored of that in 5 minutes and the crafting system was so different that i had to look up how to craft things because there was no tutorial or anything to tell you ANYTHING about the game.then iI was always hearing my friends say "oh minecraft is so awesome i love it" so I figured it couldn't be THAT bad if everyone said that BOY was I wrong, I started out trying survival mode I got bored of that in 5 minutes and the crafting system was so different that i had to look up how to craft things because there was no tutorial or anything to tell you ANYTHING about the game.then i decided i would try creative mode and make some stuff and it is not a bad game if you want to do that but i went back to terraria in 40 min because that actually has good combat also i couldn't play with my friend because it was so hard to figure out his REAL IP address and join it all in all i wish i could get my 20$ back Expand
  37. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    93 metascore?Seriously93?This does deserve 50-60.No,i don;t care about the graphics,they are supposed to be bad anyway.I care about the gameplay,which is bad.REALLY bad.It gets boring very easily,after 2-3 hours it just becomes generic.Why play this when i have Skyrim to play with?
  38. Feb 7, 2012
    0
    Everyone keeps saying this game is good because you can do whatever you want! Let me clarify that for you. Suppose you like reading and someone said that they have a incredible book for you to read. So you buy it and it turns out to be a sheet of paper. You say wtf you ripped me off, and they say no it's a great book you can write whatever you want on that paper! Well that's exactly whatEveryone keeps saying this game is good because you can do whatever you want! Let me clarify that for you. Suppose you like reading and someone said that they have a incredible book for you to read. So you buy it and it turns out to be a sheet of paper. You say wtf you ripped me off, and they say no it's a great book you can write whatever you want on that paper! Well that's exactly what this game is. Nothing! Notch has ripped of so many people it's not even funny. lmao, you can do what ever you want....please there is absolutely nothing at all to do! Worst game in the history of gaming! Expand
  39. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    this game SUCKS! I think that when you play it for 10 minutes, you run out of "fun" stuff to do. This game stinks. the dude who created it should have rethought this. Maybe add some other stuff to the game . ten it might be a little better. I do think that the pixilation effects are beast. Thus game it OK.
  40. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    Not even a real game... Buy a real MMO or RPG! It has the worst graphics ever seen, hell, Jet Set Willy & Monty Mole put this to shame! The fact that so many foolish people hype it up is in itself scary, if you like Lego and are about 7yo you'll probably love it!
  41. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    This game is very bad! There is no gameplay! No plot! No graphic! This is not a game!
  42. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    This game is the most boring piece of **** ever it gets boring after 10 or5 minutes all you do is build **** the graphics are to retro enemies randomly spawn this game is utter **** its just a fail and a abortion of a game
  43. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    This is a very bad game, I have never played a game as bad as this one in my whole entire life, in addition this game looks like it was made in a day by a 2 year old. DON'T BUY THIS GAME YOU WILL REGRET IT !!!
  44. May 2, 2012
    0
    Minecraft, when in BETA, was an incredible fun start to bringing old graphics back into the world. It was actually fairly stable too. But now since it's become more popular, Java has turned bad on it and now all the modifications and the community have ruined how it works. It's just not Minecraft anymore. Sorry guys.
  45. Apr 26, 2012
    0
    Ok, I admit, I am a little bit bias against this game. Simply put, the plot failed to engage me. I felt very little relation to the characters, as the development of the story was very poor. The only thing this game has going for it is its ultimate realism. The graphics are ultra real, but this is another downside to the game, It requires a ridiculous system to run it at full settings.
  46. May 14, 2012
    0
    I gaveMinecraft a zero not a ten :). So what I said before but this is actually what I scored it zero so hopefully I get a correct gamescore this time.
  47. Jun 15, 2012
    0
    A lot of the reviewers here are complaining about the flaws of Minecraft. We should all know that Minecraft will never really be finished. It is constantly being updated; whether Mojang is revamping the mob AI or adding a new block, they're doing something that can potentially change the game each update. A lot of the updates created last year are so irrelevant, considering it is a lotA lot of the reviewers here are complaining about the flaws of Minecraft. We should all know that Minecraft will never really be finished. It is constantly being updated; whether Mojang is revamping the mob AI or adding a new block, they're doing something that can potentially change the game each update. A lot of the updates created last year are so irrelevant, considering it is a lot different than what it was then. You can now change texture packs with ease, for those who have too much swagger for the default. You can try a survival mode and get the blocks yourself, or try a creative world and have them from the start. It is too repetitive for some people, but many of them lack the creative spark it takes to enjoy it. Many architects and non-gamers play this religiously, because it gives them the chance to express their creativity in a way no other game really could. The singeplayer mode by itself does get boring after a while for most players, which is why the multiplayer mode brings some players back. You can play on a server with your friends, and play from the beginning with your friends. You could spawn 1000 mooshrooms in a hole and blow them up, or race to the top of a ladder by killing everyone else on it (invented by the Mindcrack dudes). The possibilities are endless, and will be as each update comes. Your opinion may have changed since alpha. It has for a lot of people. Many different mods allow you to play it the old way, or some which make it even harder. Instead of complaining that it's overrated, you can play an unknown indie game to make yourself feel better. Minecraft will hopefully have updated several times before you come back. Expand
  48. Jun 22, 2012
    0
    Way too overpriced. Simply put. The interface is boring, and the players are simply way too biased. Rate it for what it is. Not for what you think it is.
  49. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    Minecraft was a really cool idea when it first came around. The whole concept had literally endless potential. At the $10 price for the alpha it was great and even at $20 I think is fair enough despite it's shortcomings. It is now $30 which is too much for an incomplete product. I stopped paying it during the Beta and went back for 1.2.5 only to find that almost nothing changed. The gameMinecraft was a really cool idea when it first came around. The whole concept had literally endless potential. At the $10 price for the alpha it was great and even at $20 I think is fair enough despite it's shortcomings. It is now $30 which is too much for an incomplete product. I stopped paying it during the Beta and went back for 1.2.5 only to find that almost nothing changed. The game still had the same inherent limits and problems due to poor core coding on Notches part. The game still lacked proper modding support (which was promised), lacked optimized graphics for low end systems. Still ran poorly on Java (Java is fine but you have to optimize). The part that blows me away is that Mojang made so much money from this small game that you would think they could hire 1 guy to add content and even create proper DLC. The survival mode is still stale and only fun for a several hours until you realize that there is nothing to do once you built your home, mineshaft, and farm. What amazes me is the amount of nothing coming out of Mojang, several modders take time out of their day to provide all the basics that the game is missing via mods and what does Mojang do? Release a patch to break over half of them. The funniest part is how long it takes them to put something out after Notch says he "likes the idea". I remember reading a tweet about the fence doors which took months to get released meanwhile a modder had already made one in about an hour. I don't blame the whole company for dropping the ball on Minecraft, I think what it is is the code they worked with was so bad (Notch) that it was extremely difficult, time consuming, and probably had to be hacked in anyway to get anything added. Notch probably decided to spend more time/money on a new project (Scrolls, which will flop) instead of spending 10x the time to implement something in Minecraft for free. Overall, fun game that had a lot of potential but fell in the lap of someone who lacks creativity and vision. Sure he made a lot of money but if he was more careful and invested a little bit more into Minecraft it would have been a timeless platform for selling DLC packs and official "Mods" for years - think space, crazy dimensions, Heaven, etc). Expand
  50. Jul 1, 2012
    0
    Well, this is one of the best games i have ever played! Its nothing like other games where you have to pay for membership every month just to play... No this game is a 1 time payment, and you are free to do whatever you want to the game. You can modify it and get cool NEW things that the game didn't have originally. You can change the textures of the items in the game! Its very openWell, this is one of the best games i have ever played! Its nothing like other games where you have to pay for membership every month just to play... No this game is a 1 time payment, and you are free to do whatever you want to the game. You can modify it and get cool NEW things that the game didn't have originally. You can change the textures of the items in the game! Its very open source. Unlike other games where you cant do anything but play it *cough SONY cough*. Its an endless sandbox in which you have 2 modes. Creative, and survival. Creative, allows you to build anything you could imagine! You can make things from houses to castles, computers to gadgets, (yes you can make computers). Survival, is a mode in which you start out with nothing, and have to collect resources to survive. It can be a little scary so beware of that, but you can set your difficulty on 4 different modes, peaceful is one that doesn't have monsters or scary music, and you die from less explicit things like hunger, and falling. There is no blood in this game either, and you don't necessarily have to kill EVERYTHING you see... They add new things to the game all the time too! Which i think is really cool.
    There is one, bad thing about this game though. It is extremely addictive. I can hardly ever stay away from this game. Thats how fun it is! But its bad that i spend a lot of my time on it.
    Expand
  51. Jul 28, 2012
    0
    its is very boring and uninterseting. I like the idea of being able to do whatever you want and it is a very original idea that strays away from traditional ideas for what a game can be.
  52. Aug 18, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A terribly boring game. It's like playing legos online. Not with the 20 bucks. The swede who made this piece of **** racked in at least 20 million dollars off of this terrible block game. Expand
  53. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    This is just a lego game simulator, this "game" is really boring even on multiplayer, and costs 20$, I know that the pixel graphics are "normal" but they are incredibly bad.
  54. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    I baught this game about 2 years ago. I loved every secound of it, i could never wait to get out of scool just to play it! i wanted to do everything, collect every block, kill every zombie, sheep, spider, craft everything, build a cool house and i did! but there was something that allways made me stop playing. something that made me loose intrest. I ussaly started a new game every time iI baught this game about 2 years ago. I loved every secound of it, i could never wait to get out of scool just to play it! i wanted to do everything, collect every block, kill every zombie, sheep, spider, craft everything, build a cool house and i did! but there was something that allways made me stop playing. something that made me loose intrest. I ussaly started a new game every time i played but i never knew why... now i know. this game is pointless. there is no point in anything you do. you can kill all the zombies collect all the blocks build as many houses as you want but it will now feel rewarding in any way. it seems that most people look at the ultamate goal of this game to collect damounds. and what do you do with them? MAKE A FREAKING DIAMOUND PIC? and what do you do after that? look for more diamounds. that's all there was to this game just collect stuff. there was little no notheng you could do with all the most rare things like gold, iron and diamounds besides buiding more tools to get more diamounds. but they've updated the game a lot but it fells like every update has made the game easier! the hunger gave you regenerating hp the sprinting made it possible to run from spiders the armor update made the armor last at least 10X more and the list goes on. even with all these updates there is still notheng to do in this game. all you do is collect rare items. it's sad rly that this game is so popular. i'm gona talk about some of the updates: the enchantment table interduced an rpg element to the game where by you kill enemys and anamals and get ep to gain levels. you use the levels to upgrade you weapons and armor but this is so pointless it's sad. the only way to level up is to grind zombie after zombie, skellaton after skellaton ec. and what do you get fro this grind? better gear. what's the point? you are able to defend your self just fine without enchantments and there is not rly any monster you need to fight. keep in mind it's hard to explain why this game is so bad and i'm trying to explain it as best i can. there is also multyplayer but that's just as pointless. in multyplayer you are just doing the same pointless thinks with a friend. you can build a house and collect diamounds but that's pointless. it feels like minecraft doesn't know what kind of game it is. is it a survival game? is it a fighting game? is it an rpg? is it a building game? it is all and none of those things. it does not know what it is suposed to be and these "updates" are making the game worse if anything. i think that the thing i tought the most when playing the game is "what should i do now?" i never knew what to do because there is no goal! the game is pointless! there are bad games out there many worse than this one but they all have a point where you start, something you have to do, and a point where you end the game and win. i know there are mods for the game and i've moded the crap out of minecraft many times but even with them the game still feels emty. you can get a mod that adds more monsters to fight but there is no reward for fighting. you can get a mod that lets you create a mineing mechene but there is no point in mineing you can get a mod to give you airplanes to fly around and explore the worl. but there is no point in exploring! THIS GAME HAS NOOOO POINT! NO REWARD FOR DOING ANYTHING! they would have to do a lot to make this game fun for me witch i dubt they will do, now they're trying to relese this pointless game on more platforms to get more money. what do they do with it??? they have so much money! how can they not make this game better when they have soooo much money?!!? one last thing, there is also potion making but that only involves grinding the nether for some crap for hours only to get some potion witch you have no use for since the monsters are rly not that hard to kill. this game is pointless if you don't agree with me feel free to tell me why, i want to hear what you have to say. sorry for the typos. Expand
  55. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    i have played the game, OH YEA i have played this game. it was fun. FOR LIKE 10 MINUTES. i liked modding and the game overall was pretty decent. till now. almost nothing useful has been added, only some serious useless no body's interested of. and this is an overrated piece of garbage anyway, so i say you mojang and your STUPID, OVER RATED trash. period!
  56. Aug 17, 2013
    0
    Now my old review for Minecraft I gave the game a 5/10 now it get's a flipping 0/10 for being one of my most hated games. First of all what makes Minecraft suck are the developers. Notch the original creator of Minecraft made many promises about things he was going to add to Minecraft. He fulfilled 1/100 of those promises and than gave it to Jeb so he didn't have to take the blame for it.Now my old review for Minecraft I gave the game a 5/10 now it get's a flipping 0/10 for being one of my most hated games. First of all what makes Minecraft suck are the developers. Notch the original creator of Minecraft made many promises about things he was going to add to Minecraft. He fulfilled 1/100 of those promises and than gave it to Jeb so he didn't have to take the blame for it. Than we have the new owner of Minecraft Jeb. Jeb completely ruined the game by adding all this new stuff that made the game look and feel worse. Everything went downhill from 1.8 and Jeb has only made it fall at a rapid rate. The game was not complete when released. It had little content and looked horrid compared to what it use to look like. Now we get rare updates that add more adventure qualities to a CREATIVE game! Look at the new update for example it added horses and that's about it and how long did it take them like an entire 2 months. This game is a sorry excuse for a game and I wish to see it burn! Minecraft is now a PvP game with terrible combat! 0/10 Expand
  57. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    The worst game ever created. The graphics: must I explain? They are lazy and terrible beyond the appropriate words I am going to use in this review. The combat sucks. The building is decent at best. The enemy AI is horrible. The friendly AI is horrible. The developers spend more time using their ocean of money and playing April fools jokes than updating the game. What does this godThe worst game ever created. The graphics: must I explain? They are lazy and terrible beyond the appropriate words I am going to use in this review. The combat sucks. The building is decent at best. The enemy AI is horrible. The friendly AI is horrible. The developers spend more time using their ocean of money and playing April fools jokes than updating the game. What does this god forsaken game have? The answer is simple: Nothing. Play a much better copy, or better sandbox games like ROBLOX and Terraria. This hellhole mess should be destroyed on sight. Expand
  58. Jun 22, 2013
    0
    Boring game without any interesting updates. We have a promise from Mojang about new Mod API, new animals, adventure mode etc but we didn't get any new features apart from useless horses. It was revolution before, but now Mojang broken their nice game to something which is rubbish and boring.
  59. Jan 22, 2014
    0
    How this crap is getting such scores. It doesn't have plot, graphics are **** (I mean really ****), don't know about soundtrack (if there is any), but **** me, there is only gameplay. I am giving 0/10 just to bring the balance, it should have 60/100 score.
  60. Aug 29, 2013
    0
    Ugh, just terrible. Sure, good graphics doesn't mean a good game, but this game was bad in every aspect. What is this game? What exactly is the purpose of this game? It's not about creativity, it's not what the game developer aimed for. The game is terrible and deserves this nil. As another person suggested, this is merely Lego on your computer screen, and yes, the Minecraft communityUgh, just terrible. Sure, good graphics doesn't mean a good game, but this game was bad in every aspect. What is this game? What exactly is the purpose of this game? It's not about creativity, it's not what the game developer aimed for. The game is terrible and deserves this nil. As another person suggested, this is merely Lego on your computer screen, and yes, the Minecraft community consists of under aged immature kids. Expand
  61. Sep 29, 2013
    0
    This game is horrible, let me first start by saying the graphics are just HORRIBLE, and the game is way too overpriced. The only thing you can do in this game is place stupid blocks. Combat is also boring, there are no animatons and the sound effects are horrible. 0 out of 10
  62. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    Minecraft gets really boring after a few hours. Without any objective given, you quickly lose interest in playing. The developers don't even care about the game and the community has to make mods in order to give it some variety. Also, the combat is horrible, you can't talk to NPC's, enemy AI is garbage and building structures becomes tedious after a while.

    Minecraft is terribly
    Minecraft gets really boring after a few hours. Without any objective given, you quickly lose interest in playing. The developers don't even care about the game and the community has to make mods in order to give it some variety. Also, the combat is horrible, you can't talk to NPC's, enemy AI is garbage and building structures becomes tedious after a while.

    Minecraft is terribly overrated and Youtube is polluted with videos of little kids making Let's Plays of this game in hope to earn a quick buck from subscriptions. A shameless ripoff of Infiniminer and doesn't do anything original or interesting to be considered worth playing.
    Expand
  63. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    ****
    no storyline
    **** like graphics
    servers full of morons
    have no good sides
    realism is ****
    only good side is creative
    worthless piece crap
    game boring out a hell
    ..
  64. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    Useless. Just one word to describe it. Is a game that can entertain you for 3/4 hours before that you realize that your life can go on without build cubic virtual houses in mud and crap.
  65. Jun 11, 2014
    0
    Ehh i have to say this game was PERFECT until 1.8 patch. The added all RPG and **** stuff wich completly destroyed the feeling of minecraft. It was a great, simple and FUN game. Now? It's stupid, boring and completly not fun game..
  66. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    Wow, this game really restricts your creativity. I mean, all you can make are giant penises. I haven't jerked off in about two years because I'm so sick of seeing penises. I'm even afraid of my own penis now. I haven't changed pants in about ten years. Well, I guess I'm gonna go play some DickCraft. See ya big boy.
  67. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    It's EXTREMELY OVERRATED. It's REALLY freaking boring. The only time I have ever played is online and it gets boring after a couple of hours. It's really a crappy game.
  68. Jun 6, 2014
    0
    They are wasting my time, as a server owner, trying to get all my plugins ready for the UUID change, they have been planning this for over 2 years now, and it takes 2-3 months, and there is no update still, the community is also falling in the gutter.
  69. May 9, 2015
    0
    This game was good before 1.8 beta, with people making amazing pixel art and there were amazing vanilla servers.
    Now it's just a couple of 12 year old kids trying to be funny on the internet by playing on extremely modded servers that make completely no sense, griefing and hacking.
    If you dislike this review than you're a 12 year old kid yourself.
  70. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Why? Why would you play a game with so little effort? No replay value? No "Gameplay"? A game that rips off so many great games. don't buy this game! this is nothing more than a novelty item that became over hyped. if you want a game where you can unleash your creativity try the sims or simcity or an city building game for that matter. I know that all you fanboys out there are going toWhy? Why would you play a game with so little effort? No replay value? No "Gameplay"? A game that rips off so many great games. don't buy this game! this is nothing more than a novelty item that became over hyped. if you want a game where you can unleash your creativity try the sims or simcity or an city building game for that matter. I know that all you fanboys out there are going to shred this review to pieces but I don't care. get a life. Expand
  71. Dec 26, 2014
    0
    This game is so much better than terraria lol lol lol it copied them and notch is god and so is shrek and I think that every game with blocks is a copy of minecraft. LOLOLOLOLOL now don't disagree with me or I will hack you.

    From:Every minecraft fan ever (Not me)
  72. Oct 8, 2014
    0
    Not worth the purchase at all! The game is full of bugs and glitches! It wouldn't download on my PC either. The controls were easy. I don't recommend Minecraft to anybody!
  73. TSW
    Oct 27, 2014
    0
    I've finally fond a website where my school friends won't kill me because this game is the worst me I've ever played! Horrible game design with the lack of any tutorial, no graphics worth a damn and no character what so ever! I feel robbed of the £15 I spent on this turd!
  74. May 1, 2015
    0
    game **** and so for those stupid kids who want to be youtubers so to this crap worst game so stupid and dumb planet for child not recommend anyone playing this game that should not even existed
  75. Mar 1, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most overrated game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  76. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Minecraft is the dumbest game in the universe and is full of angry kids too. The price is expensive. 30 dollars for a stupid game. Mojang is trying to make money by selling a stupid game. Terraria is way better.
  77. Apr 26, 2015
    0
    Most of people likes the game, and its ok, but the game is not very good in my opinion, WHY??

    THE COMMUNITY: A lot of bad players and people that wants an original account of the game (they play it pirate) to play in servers "premium" and play with their "GODS" (more sarcasm, but in some chases true) GRAPHICS: graphics of 1993!! CONCLUTION: I PLAYED THIS GAME SINCE 2012, BUT THE
    Most of people likes the game, and its ok, but the game is not very good in my opinion, WHY??

    THE COMMUNITY: A lot of bad players and people that wants an original account of the game (they play it pirate) to play in servers "premium" and play with their "GODS" (more sarcasm, but in some chases true)

    GRAPHICS: graphics of 1993!!

    CONCLUTION: I PLAYED THIS GAME SINCE 2012, BUT THE GAME LOSED CUALITY AND ITS NOT THE SAME, SINGLEPLAYER IS VERY GOOD!!
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]