Mirror's Edge (2008) PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1015 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 7, 2013
    6
    It has potential, but the frustration is just too much. You are going to die, a lot. And most of the times because of game's mechanics, where the protagonist just won't grab a ledge for some reason.
    I didn't play it all the way through but I think it's safe to say that the missions' guidelines are nonexistent.
    I just spent 30 minutes running in circle, being chased by armed guards,
    It has potential, but the frustration is just too much. You are going to die, a lot. And most of the times because of game's mechanics, where the protagonist just won't grab a ledge for some reason.
    I didn't play it all the way through but I think it's safe to say that the missions' guidelines are nonexistent.
    I just spent 30 minutes running in circle, being chased by armed guards, unable to figure out where am I supposed to go. I suppose I could keep trying, if I knew how to fight them. At least my copy of the game has a glitch: the tutorial mission stuck's at a certain point, keeps me trying over and over again the wall-jump thing and forces me to just start the story with no idea how to play properly.
    The soundtrack is one of the best I've heard and overall atmosphere is very very nice.
    I bet the game will kick ass on consoles, presumably without the tutorial-problem.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    I really enjoy games that take risks in an effort to provide the player with a new and different experience. Mirror's Edge did just that. The game offered a first person prospective adventure with a focus on agility and speed.

    Far too many "run and gun" FPS games lead us through a parking garage or a warehouse, all the while throwing waves of repetitive enemies at us. You kill them all
    I really enjoy games that take risks in an effort to provide the player with a new and different experience. Mirror's Edge did just that. The game offered a first person prospective adventure with a focus on agility and speed.

    Far too many "run and gun" FPS games lead us through a parking garage or a warehouse, all the while throwing waves of repetitive enemies at us. You kill them all (maybe with the aid of a well placed explosive barrel or two), and move on to the next area. Stealth games have also flooded the market, rewarding the player for silent take downs. Mirror's Edge takes both gaming staples, combines them, adds some acrobatics, and puts the emphasis on speed instead of killing.

    In Mirror's Edge you play the role of a Runner; an urban courier who delivers packages by sprinting across city blocks and jumping from roof top to roof top. The game mechanics allow you to scale walls (by timing your jumps), fall great distances (as long as you are precise with your roll when you land), and use obstacles to help increase your momentum. You can stop to fight enemies along the way, but you're not a one man army, and can be killed with only a few shots. The game rewards you for finding safer and faster routes through an area rather than trying to take the enemy out head on.

    The controls give the player a sense that there isn't anywhere in the environment that is unreachable. The first time you build up enough speed to chain a roll into wall run and jump to hurdle over a railing, all without stopping, you'll really understand the strength of this game. The fluidity of movement is unmatched by anything else in the FPS market. Add to that a gorgeous environment, extremely well done sound, and a great story and you've got a game that is impossible to forget. At about five hours for the campaign Mirror's Edge doesn't drone on long enough for the parkour elements to wear thin, but it seem a little short. Price accordingly.
    Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    'A' for originality. A very different game than the norm. Suprisingly enjoyable although quite short with little or no replayability. Good attempt at a novel concept. $5 bucket will give you good entertainment value.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    While learning the ropes may be frustrating, Mirror's Edge is a very satisfying experience when it's all said and done. It challenges your gamer mettle. The feeling of overcoming those challenges is very rewarding. The game even manages to go out on a heartwarming note despite its ho-hum cliched dystopian setting. The complaints of length are accurate but we all know that while the valueWhile learning the ropes may be frustrating, Mirror's Edge is a very satisfying experience when it's all said and done. It challenges your gamer mettle. The feeling of overcoming those challenges is very rewarding. The game even manages to go out on a heartwarming note despite its ho-hum cliched dystopian setting. The complaints of length are accurate but we all know that while the value of most games is measured in time and how many gameplay hours you squeeze out of them, few others transcend that and are instead measured by the quality of the experience. Mirror's Edge is one such game. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    This is a breath of fresh air from the common RPG or action game. The concept is so foreign to me, and yet so appealing that I just had to pick it up. It turned out to be a rather good decision as I couldn't put it down originally. It's incredibly fun at first, until you reach a point where it gets repetitive and boring. Some glitches or moments when Faith just doesn't feel like climbing.This is a breath of fresh air from the common RPG or action game. The concept is so foreign to me, and yet so appealing that I just had to pick it up. It turned out to be a rather good decision as I couldn't put it down originally. It's incredibly fun at first, until you reach a point where it gets repetitive and boring. Some glitches or moments when Faith just doesn't feel like climbing. I'm giving this game what it deserves in a 7/10 but I hope to see a sequel as it was a great experience nonetheless. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This game... This game was the only game that's ever fully sucked me in. Ever.
    No other game made me emotionally invested into a game, thought about it past "This is a game."
    ... I think that this kind of city is what the current administration in the US wants... But not what the People want.
    Like Faith said. "Good doesn't always mean right."
  7. EricV
    Dec 3, 2009
    7
    Not a bad game, but if I hadn't paid a mere $5 for it, I would be disappointed. Short, uninteresting story, far too linear. Some parts were really fun, like a lot of the rooftop parts. There's not much replay value besides trying to find quicker paths. Even if you do find a cleverly hidden route, you'll end up meeting back with the main path within 10 seconds.
  8. Ihmemies
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    One of the most stylished and flawlessly working games I've ever seen on PC. Pity so many people nitpick about irrelevant issues like you're shown where you must go (you can DISABLE the hints from game settings!) or how ugly/emo/uncool/whatever Faith is... They don't know what they are missing, and it's a pity we won't see more greatness like Mirror's Edge, One of the most stylished and flawlessly working games I've ever seen on PC. Pity so many people nitpick about irrelevant issues like you're shown where you must go (you can DISABLE the hints from game settings!) or how ugly/emo/uncool/whatever Faith is... They don't know what they are missing, and it's a pity we won't see more greatness like Mirror's Edge, since the sales have been a disaster because people really seem to want more Maddens and NHL upgrades instead of inventive new games like Mirror's Edge and Dead Space. Expand
  9. JoeD
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    A truly original game, Mirror's Edge isn't for everyone. It is not a run and gun, and in fact it is not a shooter at all. Rather, it's a first person platformer. I played it first on the XBox, and absolutely fell in love with the running, the puzzles, and the art style, but always felt the controls a bit sluggish. This PC version fixes that, and more, with better visuals, A truly original game, Mirror's Edge isn't for everyone. It is not a run and gun, and in fact it is not a shooter at all. Rather, it's a first person platformer. I played it first on the XBox, and absolutely fell in love with the running, the puzzles, and the art style, but always felt the controls a bit sluggish. This PC version fixes that, and more, with better visuals, accurate K&M controls, and the same elements that made the console version great. Despite what GameSpy said, this is not a shoddy port. Sure, the interface is unchanged from the console version, so that suffers a bit, and sure it's locked to the 16:9 aspect ratio, but it seems well optimized, and I haven't seen any of the tearing issues they talked about. Performance: 45-60fps V-sync normal, 30 when things get busy, 1920x1200, 2x AA, Highest graphics and textures, and PhysX enabled on Core2Due e8500, 4GB 800Mhz, SLI GeForce 9600GTs, Audigy 2, Windows 7 beta and Vista Some people, including me, have had problems with no sound on the cutscenes, especially in Windows 7. Install Creative Alchemy if you have a creative card, and add Mirror's Edge with sub folder "Binaries". Fixes that! Highly recommended! Expand
  10. ZacharyH
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    A fantastic addition to EA's already amazing stock of stellar games. Mirror's Edge moves quickly, and as the blurb says, there is a real flow to the game. The free running main character Faith zips through the urban landscape in truly spectacular fashion. I have only one complaint: the time for a first complete play-through was between three and four hours. When I saw the end A fantastic addition to EA's already amazing stock of stellar games. Mirror's Edge moves quickly, and as the blurb says, there is a real flow to the game. The free running main character Faith zips through the urban landscape in truly spectacular fashion. I have only one complaint: the time for a first complete play-through was between three and four hours. When I saw the end credits I thought to myself, "This is it?!" The game ended before I could even really snag the interface completely. But other than the length, I had zero issues. I felt so into the character, and every move felt like it should in real life, right down to the way Faith swung over railings. The first-person aspect of the game worried me when I saw it at first, but EA really did a good job on making the visuals feel like you were viewing them right through your own eyes. And unlike many other first-person games, you can look down and see yourself. The fantastic story really completes the experience, and lets you immerse yourself in the game. If only it hadn't ended so soon. Expand
  11. r08in
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    My First game of 2009 is Mirror's Edge. First i started playing the story mode. Its a very new kind of game play. After playing for some time i tried the time challenge mode. Man really telling it sucks you in. You can challenge your self and also other who are online. If you are best then your score is displayed in Leader Board. But one thing that there is no replays. Yes if Replays My First game of 2009 is Mirror's Edge. First i started playing the story mode. Its a very new kind of game play. After playing for some time i tried the time challenge mode. Man really telling it sucks you in. You can challenge your self and also other who are online. If you are best then your score is displayed in Leader Board. But one thing that there is no replays. Yes if Replays are there then the player can see how he completed the race, may be with different camera angles like third person view or bird's view. Rest of the thing the game is very good if players need to try some thing new. AMAZING. Expand
  12. Daniel
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    A wonderful interface and compelling gameplay! I have to say, this one suprised me! Quit reading the reviews and GET IT!
  13. MOLTOX
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    It is a FPS like no other. Well maybe more like a fast paced first person action game since hand to hand or gun combat is rare. You are encouraged to find your path away from trouble by running through roof tops and the sensation is very intense as of course you try to avoid falling. No other game in memory has ever provided this type of experience in gaming. Heights are believable and It is a FPS like no other. Well maybe more like a fast paced first person action game since hand to hand or gun combat is rare. You are encouraged to find your path away from trouble by running through roof tops and the sensation is very intense as of course you try to avoid falling. No other game in memory has ever provided this type of experience in gaming. Heights are believable and add a lot of suspense. Running through roof tops while being chased gives you a feeling like no other game to this day has. Graphics are great and te game runs very well. Looking forward to a sequel! Expand
  14. JimC.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Fast, fresh, intense, action packed, impressive, made with lotsa love. Its not perfect, but I give it a 10 nonetheless because it gave me a real fresh gameplay. The idea, the design, the protagonists blend into something that has got a identity of its own. I can't help myself I just love faith and I DO wanna see part 2 and 3. Thanks DICE!
  15. KevinZ
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    I wasn't expecting much from this game, but it surprised to me to be sure. A very fun, exciting, and original 6-hour experience. Though short, at $20 (or less on sale) this game is well worth it. The game has breathtaking visuals and the feeling of stringing together a bunch of parkour moves is exhilarating. I actually enjoyed the combat, since I understood that it wasn't meant I wasn't expecting much from this game, but it surprised to me to be sure. A very fun, exciting, and original 6-hour experience. Though short, at $20 (or less on sale) this game is well worth it. The game has breathtaking visuals and the feeling of stringing together a bunch of parkour moves is exhilarating. I actually enjoyed the combat, since I understood that it wasn't meant to be like a regular FPS, though I actually did find the guns fun to use, though their use was limited. Disarming an enemy could be a bit finicky, but wasn't a game-breaker. Hopefully in the sequel they will provide even more breathtaking environments, as well as a greater variety of parkour and melee combat moves. Expand
  16. turreo
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. It really makes you feel like living in it. Getting hit by the train just scares the shit out of you! Also the idea of the game is unique and very creative. And unlike GTA IV my computer could handle it perfectly with full graphics on, which absolutely amazed me, one of the greatest graphics on a game so far. It's also very addictive. Finally a superb game from EA. And Amazing game. It really makes you feel like living in it. Getting hit by the train just scares the shit out of you! Also the idea of the game is unique and very creative. And unlike GTA IV my computer could handle it perfectly with full graphics on, which absolutely amazed me, one of the greatest graphics on a game so far. It's also very addictive. Finally a superb game from EA. And the fact that you don't carry your gun all the time with you was also something new, and i loved it. But the areas are very limited and there's no blood, which made it feel like it was made for younger audience. Expand
  17. DaveN
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    I took the chance on a mere £12 on Steam and I have to say, this is one of THE best games I've played in at least a year. Exhilerating. I literally sweat (through my palms mostly!) when I play this game.. The graphics are breathtaking, the animations beautiful. The music is perfect. I haven't completed it yet, but I'm loving every minute. Well done developers.
  18. ChristopherS
    Feb 1, 2009
    9
    OMG, This game is the GREATEST! I really enjoy the visceral nature of running and jumping. Successfully making a jump at high speed then continuing without losing momentum is incredibly satisfying. The only things I don't really like are 1) some of the jumping puzzles are too hard and 2) console style, checkpoint-type saving. #2 is particularly annoying in light of number 1. I want OMG, This game is the GREATEST! I really enjoy the visceral nature of running and jumping. Successfully making a jump at high speed then continuing without losing momentum is incredibly satisfying. The only things I don't really like are 1) some of the jumping puzzles are too hard and 2) console style, checkpoint-type saving. #2 is particularly annoying in light of number 1. I want to be able to save anywhere, anytime. Stupid consoles . . . . . At any rate, this game is a lot of fun. The story isn't the greatest, but it's good enough that you'll feel like you have a reason to play the game -- not that wanting to play the game would require much -- the gameplay is mostly fantastic! Expand
  19. PatrickL.
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    Mirror's Edge, WOW. Amazed at the vivid colors with incredible Physx. The background music score kept up to the game along with the ambiant sounds of a busy city. Too bad it was not longer but maybe that is a good thing now that I am out of beer and cold pizza :P. One of my all time favorite games. Oh and FYI, I didn't even try to use the guns till 3/4 of the way through the Mirror's Edge, WOW. Amazed at the vivid colors with incredible Physx. The background music score kept up to the game along with the ambiant sounds of a busy city. Too bad it was not longer but maybe that is a good thing now that I am out of beer and cold pizza :P. One of my all time favorite games. Oh and FYI, I didn't even try to use the guns till 3/4 of the way through the game because the hand to hand combat was so perfect. And when I did, I think the audio echo of the guns in the city was stunning. After that it was all about getting the LMG. :) Reminded me of HEAT. Another fun game by the genius at DICE. Thanks again. Expand
  20. GabrielR
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    Although being fairly short, this game delivers some intense fast pacing action. The scenario is very vivid with bright contrasting colors, which gives a great touch! I love how this game looks. The controls are easy to learn and when you get the hang of it you will be fullfilled to make some fast combos. The story is also quite nice, and the comic style of the cutscenes is also a plus. Although being fairly short, this game delivers some intense fast pacing action. The scenario is very vivid with bright contrasting colors, which gives a great touch! I love how this game looks. The controls are easy to learn and when you get the hang of it you will be fullfilled to make some fast combos. The story is also quite nice, and the comic style of the cutscenes is also a plus. The main character has some charisma. I hope to see more of Mirror's Edge in the future. Expand
  21. SidK
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing gameplay. Its original, fun and extremely polished. After playing it, its evident that the levels are designed after a lot of thought and play testing. I love the visual style and the graphics fidelity. The first person perspective is done very well.
  22. ChrisN
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Very different from you normal games these days. I was impressed with the quality of the scenery. This is a good something different game.
  23. DavidB
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Loved every minute of it, if anyone were to ask me a year ago if you could make a great game with NO UI i would have said bullshit. After playing this thou i have to say the only game better then this is portal.
  24. JoshD
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    The gameplay and setting are truly revolutionary and I look forward to more games like it. I still felt however, that Mirror's Edge could have been so much more with a few tweaks. First, as others have said, the combat can be frustrating, as can the map layouts occasionally (when you can't find the exit to the next section). I'd really like to see a quicksave, as opposed to The gameplay and setting are truly revolutionary and I look forward to more games like it. I still felt however, that Mirror's Edge could have been so much more with a few tweaks. First, as others have said, the combat can be frustrating, as can the map layouts occasionally (when you can't find the exit to the next section). I'd really like to see a quicksave, as opposed to checkpoint saves, as doing the same path 25 times only to fall on the last obstacle before the next checkpoint really gets old. Finally, I feel like the story could have used better writers, and nearly all the voice actors could have been replaced (Faith was the only major character who didn't sound like she was reading off a cue card). Ultimately, though the foundations are there for game-of-the-year material, it just needs a little more work. Expand
  25. EmilianC.
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    This is a must have. Althought the game has a few problems, it is one of the best games I have played. I have the pc version of the game and with a preaty good computer so the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is near perfect and the FPS platform style realy got my atention. The controlls are easy to understand. The only reason a gave it a nine and not a ten is because it is too short, This is a must have. Althought the game has a few problems, it is one of the best games I have played. I have the pc version of the game and with a preaty good computer so the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is near perfect and the FPS platform style realy got my atention. The controlls are easy to understand. The only reason a gave it a nine and not a ten is because it is too short, and the story has room for inprovment. Even though it's short, the time trials will keep you playing for hours more. The bigest problem is that some players simply won't like the game style. I happen to love the way everything connects but some will find it to hard and will not have fun playing through the levels. If this game seems like something for you, get it. you won't regret it. But it seems like a game that will just get you frustrated, then rent it. Expand
  26. AxelDoyle
    Jan 17, 2009
    10
    I loved this game for its originality and new way to look at graphics. The game focuses more on the gameplay of fast running and less on all out shooting. On the Xbox 360 you are even rewarded for not killing everything you see. Overall i love this game and its artstyle. Just wish they would have made the cutscenes......good looking...
  27. Benjamin
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game!
    I must say that i was a bit sceptic at first while i tried it at Xbox360 cause the controls really sucks, but playing on a computer the games becomes what its supposed to be, a fantastic game which gives you a rush and a good story that wants you to keep playing.
  28. Gotter
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    An ultimate and epic game. Finally a triple A game you will want to play again and again. It's the first game I know where simple movement is the greatest joy of all features. Forget Assasins Creed with only limited ways to control your character. This time you can do whatever you want the way you like to play it. Sure the length of the game is not ideal but on the other hand it couldAn ultimate and epic game. Finally a triple A game you will want to play again and again. It's the first game I know where simple movement is the greatest joy of all features. Forget Assasins Creed with only limited ways to control your character. This time you can do whatever you want the way you like to play it. Sure the length of the game is not ideal but on the other hand it could easily fall to stereotype if it would have been any longer. It's a shame that such a wonderful game is beeing sold so lousily. I don't want to have any more copies of Call of Duty until the rest of my life. This is a kind of project that causes the evolution of gaming. DICE I salute you. Expand
  29. PhilT.
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    A great innovative title. The immersion was fantastic, the graphics are interesting and different and the style is great, and the gameplay was, for the most part, great. A big part of my initial frustration with this game, though, was that learning curve was pretty steep. It took me about three or four hours of play to really grasp the movement and combat. However, once I learned I began A great innovative title. The immersion was fantastic, the graphics are interesting and different and the style is great, and the gameplay was, for the most part, great. A big part of my initial frustration with this game, though, was that learning curve was pretty steep. It took me about three or four hours of play to really grasp the movement and combat. However, once I learned I began to have so much fun. It is incredibly satisfying to run through an entire level without pausing or to take down four SWAT officers easily and swiftly. I do have a few minor quibbles in addition to the learning curve: one, I agree that the flash-style cutscenes were a mistake. It breaks the immersion and I think the graphics engine could have handled cutscenes easily. Two, I had multiple problems with the game not registering my grabs onto ledges or pipes...I don't know what I am doing wrong, but when Faith is right next to a pipe and leans over towards it, jumps, literally clips through the pipe but STILL manages to miss it, and falls to her death I became extremely frustrated. All in all I say this game was a success. There are frustrations to be sure but I wish more developers put out interesting, immersive titles such as this one. I want to reiterate what others have said and state that this game is definitely not for everyone, but if you are willing to spend a bit of time learning then I think you will be very, very happy. I am very glad I bought it and I really hope they put out more. Expand
  30. HunterWolf
    Jan 22, 2009
    9
    A very thrilling and well made game ( and excellent port if you are playing on PC ), it takes the traditional FPS formula and throws it out of the window then replaces it with innovative ideas and smart presentation.

    The Good things: -------------------- -Frantic acrobatic maneuvers and free running ( it feels so good when you overcome a number of obstacles in a row and doing it from
    A very thrilling and well made game ( and excellent port if you are playing on PC ), it takes the traditional FPS formula and throws it out of the window then replaces it with innovative ideas and smart presentation.

    The Good things:
    --------------------
    -Frantic acrobatic maneuvers and free running ( it feels so good when you overcome a number of obstacles in a row and doing it from the first person perspective makes it even more exciting )

    -Game Mechanics ( Runner vision, slow-mo and Disarming moves all add to the game and integrate seamlessly into the experience enhancing it )
    -Graphics ( Top notch, it feels very unique specially with the smart use of bold basic colors, and being able to see your feet and body while running and jumping does make it feel more immersive, also the cut scenes while done in a different style are nice and stylish )
    The Bad:
    ------------
    -Weapons ( handling the guns is a little cranky but it is forgivable since you rarely have to use guns and of course Faith isn't trained on using them )
    -It's quite short .. damn it .. i want more XD

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    A must buy ^_^
    Expand
  31. AlexG
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    This is a really different FPS...very cool. The jumping gameplay is awesome, the graphics are amazing. I enjoyed it a lot.
  32. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Faith is a great character, a good relief from every male protagonist in just about every game. Beautiful game, and can play organically like flowing water or clunky like a brick wall. After you get used to it, running gets really rewarding when you take guesses as to where to go and make all the right moves. Minimal gun play makes it tense and more of a survival game. Mesmerizing.
  33. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    This is one solid game. Definitely, one of the most creative I have played in the last decade. The atmosphere and graphics are incredible, and the gameplay will be the only thing driving you to finish the game. The ONLY thing. The story in this game isn't anything special and is very forgettable, and that is the biggest fault in this game.
  34. May 24, 2013
    8
    OVERVIEW: first-person platforming
    STORY: (5/10)
    GRAPHICS: (8/10) The bold colors against mostly white buildings is a good look, and, as with cel-shading, it makes the graphics hold up fairly well years later. The use of red to highlight pathways also works really well. CONTROL: (6/10) No problems, but I use a joystick for pc games, not a keyboard. GAMEPLAY: (8/10) Mirror's
    OVERVIEW: first-person platforming
    STORY: (5/10)
    GRAPHICS: (8/10) The bold colors against mostly white buildings is a good look, and, as with cel-shading, it makes the graphics hold up fairly well years later. The use of red to highlight pathways also works really well.
    CONTROL: (6/10) No problems, but I use a joystick for pc games, not a keyboard.
    GAMEPLAY: (8/10) Mirror's edge is one of my favorite platforming games, and by far the best of the more realistic parkour simulators (The Assasin's Creed games don't even COUNT as "platformers" since they don't have a true jump button, you just hold down the action button and run and the game jumps for you). It would have been rated higher except the game isn't varied enough. It would have been nice to have levels where you are actually chasing other parkour characters, or are being chased by characters you have to outrun, but instead every level is just a get-from-A-to-B deal with the only variations being in the placement of obstacles like armed police-guards and platforms. It was fun enough for me to replay the whole thing twice more already, but I hope the sequel takes some cues from the wilder mario games and adds some new platforming challenges (rather than turning it into a shooter).
    GAME PLAYTHROUGH LENGTH: 6-8 hours.
    Expand
  35. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    A very cool runner gameplay and really nice design of the world. Only downpoint for me was the story, they could have made more. But i got anticipation for Mirror's Edge 2.
  36. sft
    May 22, 2013
    8
    A mirror cracked

    Never has a game given me such conflicted feelings. In many ways MIRROR’S EDGE is a great game, but in a few, significant others, it sucks big time. Firstly, it’s yet another buggy, console port, which is becoming par for the course, sadly, for us PC gamers. Despite this, however, the visuals are good apart from the character models, which are below normal PC game
    A mirror cracked

    Never has a game given me such conflicted feelings. In many ways MIRROR’S EDGE is a great game, but in a few, significant others, it sucks big time. Firstly, it’s yet another buggy, console port, which is becoming par for the course, sadly, for us PC gamers. Despite this, however, the visuals are good apart from the character models, which are below normal PC game standards. But the most important aspect of the game is the gameplay. When you’re free-running through the city it’s a true joy to play. The recreation of parkour techniques is remarkable and DICE have created a truly immersive experience. But then you’re forced to fight, and that’s where the game fails miserably. The combat in this game is the worst I’ve ever encountered. It’s so bad at times that there isn’t room in a short review to detail the failings, suffice it to say it’s maddening, especially when you’re forced to replay a particularly tricky section because you have insufficient control of Faith when in combat, or because she transforms from a nimble athlete into a trudging hippo as soon as she picks up a gun. And yet, even though I wanted to throw my PC out the window many times while playing ME, I’m so glad I stuck with it because, at it’s best MIRROR’S EDGE is an inspired example of what computer gaming can offer.
    Expand
  37. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    Simply Awesome. Its fun to see new creative games. The story is "meh" but the parkour is really fun. Can get slightly repetetive and boring at some points tho.
  38. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Mirror's Edge is one of the most unique games I have ever played. The music puts you in a trance and helps with your adrenaline rushes as you progress and while the feel of the controls take a little time to get used to, it's worth the buy. The only downside to this game is that the story is really short and you're left feeling like you just finished a game downloaded on a smart phone. SoMirror's Edge is one of the most unique games I have ever played. The music puts you in a trance and helps with your adrenaline rushes as you progress and while the feel of the controls take a little time to get used to, it's worth the buy. The only downside to this game is that the story is really short and you're left feeling like you just finished a game downloaded on a smart phone. So with that said, it's entertaining if you buy it for a smart phone application price. I look forward to seeing what Mirror's Edge 2 will bring. Expand
  39. Nov 1, 2015
    8
    Probably one of the most unique FPS games out there. EA totally delivered a new style for FPS. Mirror's Edge is full of exciting gameplay moments. Even though the story is generally bad and nonsensical, the gaming experience is what makes Mirror's Edge stand-out.
  40. Aug 19, 2013
    0
    It's a bit overrated with the jumping. I've counted more elevators, air-vents and getting shot than actual jumping and free running. The parkour elements are very well done, whole 30 seconds of them, because you spend next 2 minutes in 2 by 2 meters rooms and corridors following pre-defined path.
  41. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    I re-visited my review after playing it again. It's actually better and less frustrating at times once you're more experienced with the gameplay (especially during fights). The other flaws are the same though: too simple story, too short play time, too linear and the game still feels too much like some kind of demo, have too wait for the real thing when and if Mirror's Edge 2 comes out.I re-visited my review after playing it again. It's actually better and less frustrating at times once you're more experienced with the gameplay (especially during fights). The other flaws are the same though: too simple story, too short play time, too linear and the game still feels too much like some kind of demo, have too wait for the real thing when and if Mirror's Edge 2 comes out. Other than that, graphics and graphic designs are still pleasant. It's also very original, unique and well achieved gameplay (watch the gameplay video for proof). I would especially recommend this game if you've always wanted an FPS version of Tomb Raider or Assassin's Creed. Expand
  42. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    (not my final review:) As a racing game, Mirror's Edge is incredible. Any second you gain, any shortcut you find, any improvement over past runs you make feel very rewarding. And Mirror's Edge is, indeed, a racing game!!! It is a game that you're supposed to play over and over, through speed runs, time trials or even new playthroughs, to become the fastest runner you can be. You don't play(not my final review:) As a racing game, Mirror's Edge is incredible. Any second you gain, any shortcut you find, any improvement over past runs you make feel very rewarding. And Mirror's Edge is, indeed, a racing game!!! It is a game that you're supposed to play over and over, through speed runs, time trials or even new playthroughs, to become the fastest runner you can be. You don't play it for the story, you don't play it for exploration, you don't play it as a casual game, you play it to beat it in less time than in your previous playthrough. Keeping momentum for as long as possible is difficult, and you won't be able to do it on your first play through (which will involve a lot of trial and error), but once you know where to go you can focus on it and then you're on for one amazing and unforgettable experience. Give it a shot!!! People complain that shooting and fighting is clunky - I agree with that, but this is not a game where you should stop to fight or shoot, you are a runner and you should keep running. Expand
  43. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not a very long game, which is how i like it...

    Music: great (trancey techno, ambient, space, etc).. loved it Controls: excellent... takes a short while to get used to it.. also got a good tutorial level world design: excellent .. looks like a
    This is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not a very long game, which is how i like it...

    Music: great (trancey techno, ambient, space, etc).. loved it
    Controls: excellent... takes a short while to get used to it.. also got a good tutorial level
    world design: excellent .. looks like a pretty massive world..
    combat: excellent.. not too difficult, not too easy
    graphics: excellent.. however some sections had excessive colour saturation... story: pretty good, although I didn't follow the plot very well (probably me.. i confuse easily)

    definite must-buy...
    Expand
  44. Tan
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    Tom G pretty much summed up everything i wanted to say about this game. It was very much a puzzle game and probably should have been advertised as one. Also complimenting the beautifully rendered realism still with an artistic flair, was the plot of the game which I thought was pretty good. This is an amazing game that I would recommended to anyone with a fairly good computer, as I have Tom G pretty much summed up everything i wanted to say about this game. It was very much a puzzle game and probably should have been advertised as one. Also complimenting the beautifully rendered realism still with an artistic flair, was the plot of the game which I thought was pretty good. This is an amazing game that I would recommended to anyone with a fairly good computer, as I have heard some complaints that that game stops to load to often, although this has never happened to me. The concept of the game is also so unique as most mainstream games are all fps's. Lastly, This game was most certainly a steal for $5.00 on steam, and like others would have paid more if I knew how great it was. Soo...BUY IT! Expand
  45. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    I race up five flights of stairs and break open the door to the roof with a single kick. Once my eyes adjust to the brightness, I hurdle a few solar power generators, dodging machine gun fire from the helicopter hovering nearby.

    I need to lose altitude fast, so I leap off the side of the building, my arms and legs pumping furiously as I gaze down at the tiny cars a dozen stories below.
    I race up five flights of stairs and break open the door to the roof with a single kick. Once my eyes adjust to the brightness, I hurdle a few solar power generators, dodging machine gun fire from the helicopter hovering nearby.

    I need to lose altitude fast, so I leap off the side of the building, my arms and legs pumping furiously as I gaze down at the tiny cars a dozen stories below. When I land on the roof of a nearby building, I tuck and roll to absorb the impact. The helicopter targets me again as I notice that thereâ
    Expand
  46. May 9, 2012
    9
    Picked this up for a steal during a Steam sale a little while ago, and I'm really impressed - much better than I'd imagined. The controls are great, the gameplay is innovative, and the aesthetic is the most distinctive I've seen in a first person game in a very long time. As others have mentioned, it's also an incredibly tense game, and the thrilling sense of being pursued as you runPicked this up for a steal during a Steam sale a little while ago, and I'm really impressed - much better than I'd imagined. The controls are great, the gameplay is innovative, and the aesthetic is the most distinctive I've seen in a first person game in a very long time. As others have mentioned, it's also an incredibly tense game, and the thrilling sense of being pursued as you run across rooftops, vault obstacles and climb pipes is superb. I'd happily have paid full retail for this game and if the rumoured sequel ever comes, I'll be jumping on it the second it's released. Expand
  47. May 5, 2012
    9
    Although this game was made for the consoles, the PC version is superior in every way. Higher FoV, better framerates, higher resolution, more detailed textures with minimal pop-in, more vivid colours (which are an a big part of this game's artistic style), PhysX, better lighting and shadows and of course, anti-aliasing which, certainly the console versions were lacking but really needed toAlthough this game was made for the consoles, the PC version is superior in every way. Higher FoV, better framerates, higher resolution, more detailed textures with minimal pop-in, more vivid colours (which are an a big part of this game's artistic style), PhysX, better lighting and shadows and of course, anti-aliasing which, certainly the console versions were lacking but really needed to smooth out those rough edges. The controls are also far superior and more fluent. Having played it on console, I couldn't imagine how it could be better on PC but the default button layout is absolutely perfect, and the precision of the mouse and sensitivity adjustments give you much greater control- very useful for trying to get good times in time trials. Great job DICE! Expand
  48. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    There's now no reason why future FPS games should not include this level of freedom of movement and physical abilities. The execution of parkour style movement and abilities is not gimmicky, but very well simulated. This game has the polish without forsaking the game play.

    Tip: Right click picks up a gun on the ground...didn't figure that out until way later. I realized that the game
    There's now no reason why future FPS games should not include this level of freedom of movement and physical abilities. The execution of parkour style movement and abilities is not gimmicky, but very well simulated. This game has the polish without forsaking the game play.

    Tip: Right click picks up a gun on the ground...didn't figure that out until way later. I realized that the game intended for you to know this.
    Expand
  49. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    This was a joy to play and I had to force myself to stop playing. Great animation and movement. The parkour is very well choreographed as is the fighting although some leaps are beyond human possibility. The storyline is very original and intriguing to add the extra heat to the game. Characterisation is good as well. What makes Mirror's Edge stand out is how it is an enjoyable game and itThis was a joy to play and I had to force myself to stop playing. Great animation and movement. The parkour is very well choreographed as is the fighting although some leaps are beyond human possibility. The storyline is very original and intriguing to add the extra heat to the game. Characterisation is good as well. What makes Mirror's Edge stand out is how it is an enjoyable game and it doesn't involve gore and heavy violence. The game's graphics are beautiful if not a little bit too shiny and perfect. Overall this a must play and all audiences will like it. Expand
  50. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing graphics capabilities on the PC. I was amazed by how beautiful they managed to make the game look and feel. Being in a city landscape, you also don't really see many jagged edges on game objects, such as buildings with the proper hardware, in other words, the game engine runs very smoothly. In some instances I was caught at the edge of my seat trying to flee from the scene, or getAmazing graphics capabilities on the PC. I was amazed by how beautiful they managed to make the game look and feel. Being in a city landscape, you also don't really see many jagged edges on game objects, such as buildings with the proper hardware, in other words, the game engine runs very smoothly. In some instances I was caught at the edge of my seat trying to flee from the scene, or get out alive. The mechanics of the game are also very well balanced. The only down side to this game, is that the characters didn't have a huge amount of depth, nor did the main story's reasoning. The relationship between the main character and her sister was felt, but other characters didin't have the same kind of outward depth to them. The storyline was purposely setup so that the gamer jumps into the story what feels like half way into the main story line. I really hope we get an part two of this game to elaboate. Expand
  51. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    An amazing game.
    It was rather underrated in many places, but honestly, I belive this game is one of the most original and fun games I've yet to play.
    The story is very interesting, the world is beautiful and colourful, the soundtrack is wonderful and the gameplay is very fun and refreshing.
    Problem is it was too short for me :P
  52. Mar 4, 2012
    4
    It's a little difficult to get the hang of the controls, but as you're learning people are shooting at you and chasing you. No time to think or look around. Just run someplace that looks good - jump and plummet to your death or get shot. Next time run a different direction. After several deaths you may figure out where you need to go and how to get there. No fun.
  53. Sep 14, 2010
    9
    Fluent keyboard/mouse control scheme and innovative gameplay are just a few among the many things that make it great! To those who blame the control, either you're not a PC gamer or you always use gamepad to play PC games. The pace is flawlessly done except for its short length. Sure it's got a very decent sense of motion but in the 1st playthrough, due to being unfamiliar with the path,Fluent keyboard/mouse control scheme and innovative gameplay are just a few among the many things that make it great! To those who blame the control, either you're not a PC gamer or you always use gamepad to play PC games. The pace is flawlessly done except for its short length. Sure it's got a very decent sense of motion but in the 1st playthrough, due to being unfamiliar with the path, you can't fully enjoy the fast-paced running; so a second playthrough would be the best. Expand
  54. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    All PC Hardware related issues aside. the game itself is very immersive, but the pacing is a bit sloppy. one moment you are running around avoiding obstacles,then that same moment you have no clue where to go and come to a complete stop..and the game's "runner vision" doesnt always help out there.
    but if your really clever,thats not going to be an issue.
    there are also some other bugs
    All PC Hardware related issues aside. the game itself is very immersive, but the pacing is a bit sloppy. one moment you are running around avoiding obstacles,then that same moment you have no clue where to go and come to a complete stop..and the game's "runner vision" doesnt always help out there.
    but if your really clever,thats not going to be an issue.
    there are also some other bugs like being locked into scope vision when using a sniper rifle and faith not always grabbing on ledges.
    although minor issues,can be really annoying and pulls you right out of the immersion.
    but thats really all the issues is have with this game.
    The Good things the game does,it does really well.
    like the graphics,never before i've seen realism and artistic graphics clash together like this.
    Music is very fitting most of the time too. and the running and jumping mechanics work well most of the time. the story is also integral to the events that unfold while you play, and is generally wel executed.
    all in all, its a enjoyable experience
    Expand
  55. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    My favourate game. if u r looking 4 a game with a gr8 story then i can't recommend a better rpg, very good and definiately 11/10 its so good i luv the music and ithere is so much variety
  56. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    As many have stated, a refreshing take on the FPS genre. I played through this game fairly quickly, but it's intensity is matched by its polished finish and graphical style. The detail of some of the levels is truly impressive. The story could have been fleshed out more, without a doubt, but even then it does not detract from the fun to be had. Upon finishing Mirror's edge, I had anAs many have stated, a refreshing take on the FPS genre. I played through this game fairly quickly, but it's intensity is matched by its polished finish and graphical style. The detail of some of the levels is truly impressive. The story could have been fleshed out more, without a doubt, but even then it does not detract from the fun to be had. Upon finishing Mirror's edge, I had an incredible sense of accomplishment and a desire for more. Whenever I have this sensation, I know I just finished a truly memorable game. If you are looking for something different and enjoy FPS games, give this title serious consideration. Expand
  57. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Incredible game, only problem is the length and longevity of the game... The campaign is what 5-6hrs? Then you can rerun the maps for better times/scores. I wish it was longer, but, since its been like three years since it came out, now I'm more hoping for a sequel.
  58. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    A very original game, the concept is never done before. Controls are mapped very well for PC. the story mode is somewhat short. Combat is surprisingly well designed. the adrenaline kicks in during the levels that you are being chased. the 9 score is because of the one level that required climbing a tall building that is under construction because it lacked any motivation. also some of theA very original game, the concept is never done before. Controls are mapped very well for PC. the story mode is somewhat short. Combat is surprisingly well designed. the adrenaline kicks in during the levels that you are being chased. the 9 score is because of the one level that required climbing a tall building that is under construction because it lacked any motivation. also some of the jumps are hard to figure out so i ended up looking them up on youtube Expand
  59. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Best graphics engine and physics effects, it beats the Cryengine.
    For 10 â
  60. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    I may be easily entertained, but I absolutely loved this game. It has beautiful graphics, it's easy to control, and the music makes it an even more enjoyable experience. I am definitely glad I bought it. The only thing that sucks is that the game is somewhat short, but I still found myself playing it over and over again. :)
  61. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This game is awsome! some say its all the same and repedative which ya it is, but not many games change all the time throughout except those "RPG" types that have upgrades and whatnot which this isnt about. The story is ok but the gameplay is excellent for pc which some disagree (obviously not pc gamers who can adapt to certain controls) if you think the pc controls are difficult or oddlyThis game is awsome! some say its all the same and repedative which ya it is, but not many games change all the time throughout except those "RPG" types that have upgrades and whatnot which this isnt about. The story is ok but the gameplay is excellent for pc which some disagree (obviously not pc gamers who can adapt to certain controls) if you think the pc controls are difficult or oddly placed, no offence, but stick to your console system. The graphics are good, the music is good (not really music but more a theme of trying to get away). This game is just fun, especially for the price, its kinda like a first person prince of persia or assassins creed, but mainly focuses on the climbing and running aspect. The combat is minimal but there are times you have to take down a few soldiers which i found fun since its all about timing and trying to get them 1 on 1. Great game and i reccomend it to anyone who likes these kinda games, spend a minute and look at a youtube gameplay video to see if its for you. Expand
  62. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    Mirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative, exciting, aesthetically outstanding games I have ever played in my 10+ years as a PC gamer. It effortlessly tears you away from reality and throws you into its world. The exciting, feminine story-line and gorgeous colour palette is something which I have not experienced before in a game on any platform, and is a refreshing escape from theMirror's Edge is by far one of the most innovative, exciting, aesthetically outstanding games I have ever played in my 10+ years as a PC gamer. It effortlessly tears you away from reality and throws you into its world. The exciting, feminine story-line and gorgeous colour palette is something which I have not experienced before in a game on any platform, and is a refreshing escape from the "kill anything that moves" shooters of today.

    I would like to think that, if EA's tyranny and hostile presence in the gaming industry was for anything, it was for the development of Mirror's Edge. I would give this absolute masterpiece a 10 if it weren't for the shooting parts which seemed forced onto the developers by out-of-touch executives. The odd handgun is fine but there really is no need for a SAW in a game like this. At least the player is handicapped when using the larger weapons.

    Things which should be taken into account if DICE were to improve upon a sequel or prequel - Less emphasis on guns than there already is, and an open city to go wherever you wanted would turn this from a stunning masterpiece to a ground breaking masterpiece.

    Well done DICE, this is a game amongst games.
    Expand
  63. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This game brings tears of joy to my eyes. The visuals. The music. The story, though a bit short and narrow, is very good. I want more. S The controls are somewhat difficult to master, but once you play the game for a little while you'll be bouncing all over everything like a real Parkour expert. I didn't expect it to be easy to master .. Anyone who complains about difficulty is aThis game brings tears of joy to my eyes. The visuals. The music. The story, though a bit short and narrow, is very good. I want more. S The controls are somewhat difficult to master, but once you play the game for a little while you'll be bouncing all over everything like a real Parkour expert. I didn't expect it to be easy to master .. Anyone who complains about difficulty is a little to used to having everything handed to them for mashing buttons. The only controls I can complain about are the reverse direction wall hike ledge grabs and the vertical pipe to vertical pipe leaps. This is one of my favorite games and always will be. adly, the evil that is EA will never allow a sequel, as they don't want to release games that won't sell less than 5 million copies. Expand
  64. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    It's Time to put those guns and swords away.and start thinking fast on your toes and learning to beat feet. Mirror's Edge , an awesome first-person adventure with crisp beautiful graphics. but the story is waaaay to short but for me that's the only flaw I have seen in this game.
  65. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    One of the best games I've played in the last decade. The visuals are absolutely stunning and the gameplay is incredibly fun. The escaping scenes are well choreographed and combined with the bobbing as you run and the leaning as you turn corners, it makes you feel like you're actually in trouble. I found myself leaning in my chair while trying to go around corners.

    The game was so much
    One of the best games I've played in the last decade. The visuals are absolutely stunning and the gameplay is incredibly fun. The escaping scenes are well choreographed and combined with the bobbing as you run and the leaning as you turn corners, it makes you feel like you're actually in trouble. I found myself leaning in my chair while trying to go around corners.

    The game was so much fun that it actually made me pick up running again (something I haven't done in years). On the negative side, the campaign is a bit short, and they haven't released any level editors so using custom maps is not that easy. Also, the game isn't very tough (on the PC at least). Even hard mode without a reticle or runner vision is fairly easy to finish without firing a single shot (except for the one part where you're forced to in order to progress).
    Expand
  66. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Mirrors Edge probably seemed like a good idea at the time (the concept sounds good to me) but somewhere between thought and execution the game lost it's way - plummeting again, again to the hard streets below. Not to put too fine a point on it, this game is tedious - and very reminiscent of the old 8-bitters where the only way to progress was to learn from death after death.

    Watching
    Mirrors Edge probably seemed like a good idea at the time (the concept sounds good to me) but somewhere between thought and execution the game lost it's way - plummeting again, again to the hard streets below. Not to put too fine a point on it, this game is tedious - and very reminiscent of the old 8-bitters where the only way to progress was to learn from death after death.

    Watching your hands drift past what should have been an easy grab or battling to climb onto a low box when fences are easily hopped doesn't help. I'm sort of wondering if it was as an apology that the game sometimes moves you forward a check-point when you die. My cynical soul, though, assumes it's just a bug.
    Expand
  67. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly, this is probably my favorite FPS(If it can truly be called that. I prefer "Arcade Parkour") game. Beautiful graphics(For the most part), great parkour, and good controls. I might get some flack for that last praise, but on keyboard & mouse I adapted to the controls very quick and found them easy to use as time went on. The story is rather short, predictable, and notSurprisingly, this is probably my favorite FPS(If it can truly be called that. I prefer "Arcade Parkour") game. Beautiful graphics(For the most part), great parkour, and good controls. I might get some flack for that last praise, but on keyboard & mouse I adapted to the controls very quick and found them easy to use as time went on. The story is rather short, predictable, and not compelling. The numerous deaths caused by Faith deciding not to grab that pipe or ledge can be annoying, and the last level can be murder when you lack an easy way to get a weapon. Still, it's one of the best games I've played in a while, and I'm looking forward to a Mirror's Edge 2. Just imagine if they used BF 3's engine on ME 2... Expand
  68. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    This is the most innovative game I've played in quite some time. Unlike most most games in the First Person prespective, Mirror's Edge allows and encourages out of the box solutions to the challenges the game presents. My only complaint is that the main campaign is somewhat short (about 9 hours if you're a fast learner).

    That said I'm eagerly awaiting any news of a sequel, if EA doesn't
    This is the most innovative game I've played in quite some time. Unlike most most games in the First Person prespective, Mirror's Edge allows and encourages out of the box solutions to the challenges the game presents. My only complaint is that the main campaign is somewhat short (about 9 hours if you're a fast learner).

    That said I'm eagerly awaiting any news of a sequel, if EA doesn't saddle it with an Origin requirement I'd be a buyer on day one.
    Expand
  69. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    I truly enjoyed the game, one of the best I've played so far. A player needs to master controls but after that it goes smoothly. Thank you for this gem!
  70. AnonymousMC
    Jan 21, 2009
    3
    Pretty engine, great idea, awful execution. Detection for grabbing ladders or edges tends to fail inexplicably and the puzzles (ie trying to figure out where to go next) are mostly frustrating. Game is fun when you're flowing through levels, but the frequent combat scenes and puzzles are speed bumps, as well as the inevitable frequent deaths (either because Faith refused to grab thePretty engine, great idea, awful execution. Detection for grabbing ladders or edges tends to fail inexplicably and the puzzles (ie trying to figure out where to go next) are mostly frustrating. Game is fun when you're flowing through levels, but the frequent combat scenes and puzzles are speed bumps, as well as the inevitable frequent deaths (either because Faith refused to grab the ledge you jumped into or she just felt like not wall running at the time etc) Expand
  71. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    MIRROR'S EDGE:
    A great game. I liked the premise of parkour and running through buildings in first person. Though, when you start, you have to get used to with the controls as it takes a while, but once you do, you'll ready for parkouring. The graphics are amazing even when they colored the buildings a little too simple. The sound works and the musics are great too. The overall gameplay is
    MIRROR'S EDGE:
    A great game. I liked the premise of parkour and running through buildings in first person. Though, when you start, you have to get used to with the controls as it takes a while, but once you do, you'll ready for parkouring. The graphics are amazing even when they colored the buildings a little too simple. The sound works and the musics are great too. The overall gameplay is good, but you'll get confused later on. The chase sequences are great and it's very intense, though you'll experience some trial-and-error if you can't find the right object to jump over. The bad thing is that the story isn't interesting, especially when they use a 2D animation in some cut scenes. The combat only used sometimes. And it ends short, but sweet :)
    Expand
  72. Sep 17, 2011
    7
    Good game, typical EA **** Game has massive drm and requires internet connection to play, so once again publishers **** over a unique and well executed game.
  73. TomG
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    This game really exceeded my expectations. It was a crazy steal at $5. I would've paid $20 or more if I'd known it was so good. No console port problems. Outstanding graphics - very stylized, atmospheric, and with meticulous attention to detail. PhysX provides nice detail that helps breathe life into the city. The sound design was flawless. I encountered no glitches, except for This game really exceeded my expectations. It was a crazy steal at $5. I would've paid $20 or more if I'd known it was so good. No console port problems. Outstanding graphics - very stylized, atmospheric, and with meticulous attention to detail. PhysX provides nice detail that helps breathe life into the city. The sound design was flawless. I encountered no glitches, except for getting stuck in one place I wasn't supposed to jump through. The relatively short length was good for me, as I have a lot of games to get through these days. I was reminded of Portal at times. This is primarily a puzzle game, but the combat that's in there is pretty satisfying too. Some parts were a bit frustrating but once I learned to look sideways during a wallrun I was all set. The story wasn't anything epic but honestly it was better than stories from many other otherwise good games, and it was illustrated nicely and it fit with the rest of the game. I enjoyed this game a lot more than the Half-Life 2 episodes that took more time and money. Can't wait for Mirror's Edge 2 on the PC! Expand
  74. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game ,but i have window´s7 as PC system and i want play on my computer. I hope that the game is later updated for windows7. Sry for my English =( Expand
  75. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Oh God, am I actually writing a review for this game? I would never be able to do it justice, unfortunately. This is undoubtedly one of the coolest game of all time. Of. All. Time. One of the best qualities this game has it shares with Half-Life 2. That is, the fact that the entirety of the game is an adrenaline rush. From beginning to end (if you play on the hardest difficulty :D)Oh God, am I actually writing a review for this game? I would never be able to do it justice, unfortunately. This is undoubtedly one of the coolest game of all time. Of. All. Time. One of the best qualities this game has it shares with Half-Life 2. That is, the fact that the entirety of the game is an adrenaline rush. From beginning to end (if you play on the hardest difficulty :D) you are filled with either exhilaration or vertigo. I would never have conceived of doing a parkour platformer in first person, yet here we are. (Although everybody else was already here since, once again, I am years late in my review :) ) And EA Dice did an incredible job at it. The graphical style is clean, colorful, and easy to navigate visually. The control mechanics are fluid on PC (something that never seems to be true with a console port). And the story is good, while the voice acting is top notch. ( I also loved the cutscenes with their slight anime/graphic novel style). Every month or so I keep coming back to this game, remembering and reliving it with delight. Expand
  76. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    I picked this up for 5USD on a Steam special. This game is exhilarating. I actually feel exhausted after 2 hours of gameplay. I moved in my chair so much and tensed my muscles constantly. I have never felt so scared falling in a game before. The graphics are spectacular, the sound and music are spot on and the gameplay is so well choreographed. It is worth the full price and I am sorry II picked this up for 5USD on a Steam special. This game is exhilarating. I actually feel exhausted after 2 hours of gameplay. I moved in my chair so much and tensed my muscles constantly. I have never felt so scared falling in a game before. The graphics are spectacular, the sound and music are spot on and the gameplay is so well choreographed. It is worth the full price and I am sorry I never bought it earlier. I would love to see a v2 with fully textured environments. Go and get it! Expand
  77. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Mirror's Edge is that type of game you play a couple times, but still remember how good it was, the gameplay is absolutely unique, you will jump across building, climb walls, pipes, fight hand-to-hand with enemies, all that in a intense 1st person perspective, even as there are guns in the game, you won't use them a lot since you can't reload them and they make you run slow.

    The visuals
    Mirror's Edge is that type of game you play a couple times, but still remember how good it was, the gameplay is absolutely unique, you will jump across building, climb walls, pipes, fight hand-to-hand with enemies, all that in a intense 1st person perspective, even as there are guns in the game, you won't use them a lot since you can't reload them and they make you run slow.

    The visuals are amazing, set in a futuristic-dystopian city, everything looks so clean and shiny, the enemies concept looks great, all that alongside good graphics and excellent Physx use.

    This game is very good, it haves solid story, great visuals and innovating gameplay, recommend for all those who likes adrenaline run'n'punching.
    Expand
  78. ComradeSv
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    A perfect game! Awesome graphics (and FPS), cool setting with a design I never seen before in any other game, nice theme music and a average storyline. I was simply unable to stop playing this game till I seen last lane of titles. Sadly it took only one day, but still - game is awesome. Sadly no MP or user-friendly SDK to create own levels. As for online trials - there is alot of cheaters there.
  79. MarkO
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    Don't be misled by the bad controls and the frustration; it is true that it takes awhile to get use to the game. But really, I never found myself stuck in any one place for more than a few minutes; it really isn't hard to pull most of the stunts. It just takes practice and some patience, which is nothing wrong in my opinion. Other than that, this game is simply gorgeous and you Don't be misled by the bad controls and the frustration; it is true that it takes awhile to get use to the game. But really, I never found myself stuck in any one place for more than a few minutes; it really isn't hard to pull most of the stunts. It just takes practice and some patience, which is nothing wrong in my opinion. Other than that, this game is simply gorgeous and you really feel engaged(I have never felt so immersed in a videogame before). It feels as if you are really running on top of those rooftops and the runner's actions are smooth and graceful. Every movement feels totally credible and authentic, which engages the player even more. I also love how you don't have to rely on weapons to progress through the game (as a note, the weapon mechanics really aren't that bad as others say; I found aiming and disarming foes pretty simple. It just takes some normal practice. . .) This game reminds me alot of the old-school platform games but with an arcade feel to it. If you really miss those good-old Japanese/anime games, then you really need to give this one a try; you'll feel as if you're back on your original playstation. The story is also great; the cartoon cutscenes totally match the anime feel, and I found the plot to be pretty profound and complex even though the game is rather short. But, if you really pay attention to the story, it really has some sense and interest to it, and it evokes some human compassion (unlike most games today which concentrate on pure human bloodshed). My only criticism really comes with the end. I found it a bit too adrupt, even though it's very touching. Others would criticize that the game is too short. True, the game is "short", but it's really not a flaw. If you really want to explore every nook and cranny in the game, you can probably squeeze 20-30 hours. Most ppl will play it for 10 hours which I think is great, because at one point, you need to finish playing the game, so why not earlier than later? Most people have other things to do in their lives, and so, I would rather play a game that is short and profound than one that is long and empty (*cough* Oblivion) What matters is the quality, and this game is all about that. Mirror's Edge is really underrated and underappreciated. It has some potentially annoying flaws, but really, it's all forgiveable. Now, go make all your roof-jumping fantasies come true and try the game. Expand
  80. ConR
    Dec 29, 2009
    5
    Some incredibly figity controls make this game one of the most annoying and infuriating games i have ever played! While it is also the only game i've ever played like it. It's fun... sometimes and rewarding even less of the time! It's quite hard from the camera angle to actually get what the character is doing all the time. Which makes improvement in a particular area of Some incredibly figity controls make this game one of the most annoying and infuriating games i have ever played! While it is also the only game i've ever played like it. It's fun... sometimes and rewarding even less of the time! It's quite hard from the camera angle to actually get what the character is doing all the time. Which makes improvement in a particular area of the gameplay just pure chance. Be prepared to get stuck on area's and be frustrated. Good innovation, poor execution. Expand
  81. bztang
    Dec 17, 2009
    9
    Great game, especially for getting it for only $5 on Steam, much much better than I expected. Pros: -Beautiful atmosphere, artwork and graphics -unique gameplay makes you think using a fully three-dimensional perspective and using wall-runs as another element -pretty decent story and neat animated cutscenes -chases are great and well paced -I actually liked the music, it was different and Great game, especially for getting it for only $5 on Steam, much much better than I expected. Pros: -Beautiful atmosphere, artwork and graphics -unique gameplay makes you think using a fully three-dimensional perspective and using wall-runs as another element -pretty decent story and neat animated cutscenes -chases are great and well paced -I actually liked the music, it was different and somewhat memorable -Can't wait for the sequel! Cons: -Some parts are slightly frustrating -weapons are not quite the caliber of that of a standard FPS, and I only learned that you could pick up dropped weapons halfway through the game lol Expand
  82. brandonn
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible, original, and amazingly fun game to play. Played in the first person perspective but not an FPS it's really a platformer at heart. One of my favorite parts of the game are the chases and they are very expertly paced throughout the game enough so that your excitement is always pretty high but not frustratingly so it gives you time to enjoy the striking visuals. This is an incredible, original, and amazingly fun game to play. Played in the first person perspective but not an FPS it's really a platformer at heart. One of my favorite parts of the game are the chases and they are very expertly paced throughout the game enough so that your excitement is always pretty high but not frustratingly so it gives you time to enjoy the striking visuals. My least favorite part of the game is the story which says a lot about the game because even that was not strictly "bad". I loved how they spread flavor throughout the world that gave you more information about the space you were working in, it's just that at the end I was left wishing that there was something a little better. All in all this was a superb game and with it being priced around 20 dollars now there should be nothing stopping you from giving it a try. Expand
  83. Sep 4, 2010
    7
    The controls take a while to get used to, but once you get the hang of it the game is kind of a fun little diversion. I picked the game up for $5, at that price it was well worth the money!
  84. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    Wow what a fun game to play! I loved having the feeling of running between buildings and being able to do things that only happen in our dreams. I loved the controls, I just modified the controls to fit my style of play and there was no problems. It is a very graphically beautiful. The action in the game is fun because you can disarm your enemies which is alot of fun to do. There is aWow what a fun game to play! I loved having the feeling of running between buildings and being able to do things that only happen in our dreams. I loved the controls, I just modified the controls to fit my style of play and there was no problems. It is a very graphically beautiful. The action in the game is fun because you can disarm your enemies which is alot of fun to do. There is a slow-mo part of the characters abilities were she can slow time down to be able to see movements of the enemies to be able to disarm them. The story was alot of fun to follow and the cut scenes looked like you were watching a good looking cartoon. This game is a thinking game and you have a couple of routes you can go to overcome particular parts of the game. When you fall off of a building you really do have that sensation that you are falling so it is pretty nerve racking to fall. If you time the jump wrong and barley miss the ledge to grab onto it then its a scary feeling. I really appreciated the "Hint" button that they incorporated into the game, it really helps you to stay on track and not get lost. The guns in the game are intense and fun to shoot after you steal them from an enemy. This game was a blast to play, just make sure when you play it that you aren't afraid of heights because you will get the vertigo feeling. This is a great game, well worth the money. If you love living on the edge this is the game for you! Expand
  85. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Read the full review here: http://mattiesworld.gotdns.org/weblog/2010/06/20/game-review-mirrors-edge/
    summary: In an era in which FPS games rule, I believe DICE came with quite a innovative almost daring concept: a fine mix of first person melee combat and puzzles. Combined with a unique graphical style and chilly music, they certainly made a remarkable game. There is definitely room for
    Read the full review here: http://mattiesworld.gotdns.org/weblog/2010/06/20/game-review-mirrors-edge/
    summary: In an era in which FPS games rule, I believe DICE came with quite a innovative almost daring concept: a fine mix of first person melee combat and puzzles. Combined with a unique graphical style and chilly music, they certainly made a remarkable game. There is definitely room for improvement here and there, but the result may certainly be seen. In the meantime EA has already announced a sequel, so letâ
    Expand
  86. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    kdyz jsem videl prvni video, rekl jsem si wow tohle bude neco. A takyze je. Mirror´s Edge me nezklamala jak hratelnosti/grafikou tak desigenem levelu.
  87. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    One of the most unique and intriguing games I have played in my lifetime. I truly think that the critics have underscored with this one. I am so looking forward to the sequal!
  88. Dec 30, 2011
    5
    The game is far too short and there are issues everywhere, such as dim enemies, control issues and the drabness of the setting. However, the core gameplay does work most of the time. The whole idea does make sense. A sequel should be made because somewhere in this idea, there is a great game to be made.
  89. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Великолепнейшая игра. Я отдыхал глазами, играя в неё.Великолепнейшая игра. Я отдыхал глазами, играя в неё. Изумительная чёткость, чистота цвета, атмосферность. Игра просто наслаждение. Она однозначно в моей тройке комп. игр всех времён. Expand
  90. Oct 20, 2011
    6
    It's a glorified tech demo. It has it's charms but in the end it feels like an unfinished, unpolished product. It has some great part and ideas which it delivers in a way that could be fun and exciting, but it also contain elements that is so poorly executed that it's almost insulting(fighting and shooting mainly)
  91. MikeM
    Apr 2, 2009
    9
    Amazing and cutting Edge game.. and new with some new thinking.. I can only Recommend this game if you have a Good Graphic card and you like to die a few time in a row.. i think its Great because of its amazing Graphics and new way of thinking when it comes to gameplay. the story is Great too and i hope to see more of them (there will as EA have comfirmed a 2 and 3) i give 9 as the game Amazing and cutting Edge game.. and new with some new thinking.. I can only Recommend this game if you have a Good Graphic card and you like to die a few time in a row.. i think its Great because of its amazing Graphics and new way of thinking when it comes to gameplay. the story is Great too and i hope to see more of them (there will as EA have comfirmed a 2 and 3) i give 9 as the game is abit too short and the Fight system isn't the best. Expand
  92. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    By far one of the most amazing games I've played. Admittedly, it was quite a bit short, but perhaps that's just myself yearning for more time to play it. The graphics are drop-dead gorgeous and run ridiculously quickly even on the highest setting. Someone should pay those coders a ton of money, then have them teach those dudes down at Bethesda how to write efficient code. That's right, IBy far one of the most amazing games I've played. Admittedly, it was quite a bit short, but perhaps that's just myself yearning for more time to play it. The graphics are drop-dead gorgeous and run ridiculously quickly even on the highest setting. Someone should pay those coders a ton of money, then have them teach those dudes down at Bethesda how to write efficient code. That's right, I went there. Expand
  93. Jul 23, 2012
    4
    Funny at first, but it got boring pretty quickly. After you get used to the controls it is really cool running around and jump from roof to roof. It becomes "more exciting" when a bunch of police men starts shooting at you. And also a little frustrating, because it is not always instantly obvious where you have to go, especially when the game mechanic hinders your way and you think "OK,Funny at first, but it got boring pretty quickly. After you get used to the controls it is really cool running around and jump from roof to roof. It becomes "more exciting" when a bunch of police men starts shooting at you. And also a little frustrating, because it is not always instantly obvious where you have to go, especially when the game mechanic hinders your way and you think "OK, this must be wrong way" but actually it was the right choice. Happened a few times. Also the fact that you better should (or actually have to) run from everyone, instead of taking down at least one or two police men to get you some space, was quite disturbing. But in the end the most boring part was the repetitiveness of the levels. Running mostly on top of roofs, every level looks actually the same and the game does not much to alternate your experience. Expand
  94. May 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Whats good about this game: The graphics. And the feeling. God, it feels so smooth and free. Well, until you fall off because Faith resisted to jump. Or because you thought that you may go this way but NO, you cannot. You die Thats probably the worst aspect of the game: its omnipresent linearity.. I mean, you see a roof which doesn´t lead you anywhere, but its near so why don´t explore it? Well, because, even if the hight isn´t to high, you die. Not cool. Also, there is ONE way to the exit. One. No side ways. Thats not that bad, because the ways are obvious enough, most of the times. Hints are ok, even if not useful at every time. I mean, what does it help me to know where the exit is, if i don´t know how to reach it? Ok, but enough nagging. Because mostly, this game is butter. I mentioned the controls already, sometimes you just fall of because you apparently didn´t hit the button hard enough. But lets forget about that for a moment. Because most of the time, you just slide trough the beautiful clean world. The story is helping I think, because its no big mind bordering stuff. Honestly, you can forget about that completely. All you have to do is running and jumping. And man, thats just smooth. You navigate Faith from cut-scene to cut-scene. Doesn´t sound challenging? Well, perhaps it isn´t. And jumping and running are not that great variety of actions. But the good looking surroundings with different aims (more jumping or running) makes up for that. At the end all I can say is: It isn´t the best game I´e ever played. But it was definitely worth the feeling. Expand
  95. PaulA
    Jan 21, 2009
    4
    This was a really exciting game at first until I realised that there is no depth to the gameplay all you do is climb stuff over and over and over and over and over again to get to the next area. The combat system could barely be used..... waste of money imho.
  96. ArdaG
    Jan 17, 2009
    3
    Disappointing. When you get used to slickness and the precision of Prince of Persia controls, Mirror's Edge becomes a chunky and crappy console port. Story and setting is unimaginative. Gameplay is mediocre at best, nothing ground breaking or "new", just e general copy of freerunning games such as Assassin's Creed, Prince of Persia or other indie games. Plus all of that, game is Disappointing. When you get used to slickness and the precision of Prince of Persia controls, Mirror's Edge becomes a chunky and crappy console port. Story and setting is unimaginative. Gameplay is mediocre at best, nothing ground breaking or "new", just e general copy of freerunning games such as Assassin's Creed, Prince of Persia or other indie games. Plus all of that, game is short, not worth the $50 tag, maybe 20$ at best. It's a nice experiment from DICE and EA, but nothing is really innovative or groundbreaking about this game. Expand
  97. Urh
    May 25, 2011
    3
    I would really like to know who thought a first-person perspective platform game was a good idea (let's not kid ourselves, this is exactly what Mirror's Edge is). EA and DICE should at least be praised for trying something new in an industry that is stagnating due to chronic risk-aversion, but these new ideas really should at least be vetted before they get into development. As a result,I would really like to know who thought a first-person perspective platform game was a good idea (let's not kid ourselves, this is exactly what Mirror's Edge is). EA and DICE should at least be praised for trying something new in an industry that is stagnating due to chronic risk-aversion, but these new ideas really should at least be vetted before they get into development. As a result, we have a game which is flawed on a very fundamental level.

    The gameplay is where Mirror's Edge falls apart, and on quite a spectacular level to boot. The game entirely relies upon "leap of faith" gameplay, and you know what that means. Your character will die many, many painful deaths. While chase sequences with armed security guards do add a sense of urgency and tension, these chases fall apart on two levels. Firstly, the guards couldn't hit the side of a barn with a shotgun - which is necessary, as otherwise the chases would end before they start with you lying in a pool of your own blood. Secondly, there are many sequences where you have no choice but to engage guards in hand-to-hand combat, which brings me to the second major gameplay failing of Mirror's Edge. Granted, melee combat is a tricky thing to implement in a first-person perspective game, but I honestly cannot recall a sloppier implementation in recent memory. You may very well find yourself passing some of these combat sequences out of sheer luck rather than through any skill on your part.

    As for the visuals, well, they certainly are unique, but in a bad way. I can't remember the last time I found myself squinting at my monitor. Some sections were quite literally painful for me to look at. My impression of the overall aesthetic design was that it was sterile, verging on the utterly lifeless. To me it feels like a horrible fusion of "real-world" and cel-shading which just doesn't work.

    In conclusion, the only good thing to have come out of Mirror's Edge is a lawsuit which may very well end nearly two decades of persistent copyright trolling by Tim Langdell.
    Expand
  98. ThomasH
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing steal for 5 bucks off steam, I still would pay 20 for it. Was totally worth it, lots of action, the close action, the climbing, it was all amazing. The story was interesting aswell. I love the envirmoent the most, it was bright, sunny, very clean, if you're a Portal fan and a assassins creed fan, and you haven't played this, Then you are MISSING out! PhsyX is great for Amazing steal for 5 bucks off steam, I still would pay 20 for it. Was totally worth it, lots of action, the close action, the climbing, it was all amazing. The story was interesting aswell. I love the envirmoent the most, it was bright, sunny, very clean, if you're a Portal fan and a assassins creed fan, and you haven't played this, Then you are MISSING out! PhsyX is great for nvidia users, I had ATI tho... but still.. it was worth it. I wish i had a Nvidia card tho to take advanage of the PhsyX Expand
  99. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Sehr Geilers Run-Game ! :DDDDDD
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Mastering the game's in-body platforming is an urgent thrill, beaten down less violently here under the auspices of our old friends keyboard and mouse, and stands out from the homogenised interfaces of modern first-person and platform games.
  2. The beautiful visuals look even better on the PC and the controls are smart and responsive. There are some flaws, though, in particular the short play time, some stiff level design and the overall potential for frustration. But if you manage to go with the flow, you will find Mirror's Edge to be a thrilling and unique gaming experience.
  3. 85
    While its elegant controls, visuals and audio weave a dreamlike tapestry that its animated cut-scenes do their best to eat away at, the whole is an experience you'd be remiss to let fly by if you missed it on consoles.