Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 40
  2. Negative: 13 out of 40
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    90
    Personally, after enjoying this installment immensely, I'm very much looking forward to seeing what's next, and sincerely hope that between this title and the impending Gabriel Knight remake that we can well and truly see Jensen getting back to doing what she does best on a more regular basis.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    82
    Overall, Moebius: Empire Rising is an interesting game.
  3. 80
    Jane Jensen gave life to a beautiful flower planted into a pile of visual manure. But we all know how good a pile of manure is for growth. [Issue#241]
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    Worrisome backers can rest easy with this investment. The intriguing and bromantic tale manages to bring introduce some fresh concepts in the well-established point-and-click genre.
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    79
    If you're a Gabriel Knight fan you shouldn't miss Moebius. It's not perfect, it would have benefited a lot from a bigger budget, but all the Jane Jensen mojo is still there.
  6. May 3, 2014
    78
    Jane Jensen is back with a metaphysical thriller rich of good texts and locations. Malachi is a great character and its analysis of antiques and personalities are what makes Moebius: Empire Rising stand above many other adventures.
  7. Jun 12, 2014
    72
    Jane Jensen's newest delivers a deep and compelling storyline, which yet again combines fact with fiction in intriguing ways. Although the script is solid, same can't be said of the technical execution of the game. Buggy graphics and especially lazy puzzle design make Moebius the worst adventure game Jensen's made. It's not a bad game, but it's not something you'd expect from one of the best scriptwriter of the industry. [June 2014]
  8. May 14, 2014
    72
    Moebius: Empire Rising bears a resemblance to an expensive item, like the ones its protagonist values. While initially it seems extremely valuable, even though it comes in a not so beautiful package, in the end it appears to be of not so high value. It's not fake by any means, it's just that it does not correspond to the promises its fame and figure had created.
  9. Jun 16, 2014
    70
    Despite awkward graphics, it uses classic adventure themes to craft a mystery and a world worth exploring. [July 2014, p.72]
  10. May 2, 2014
    70
    While it is plagued with bad animation, lackluster puzzles and other issues, Moebius: Empire Rising can still offer a nice experience thanks to Jensen’s high writing level.
  11. Apr 16, 2014
    70
    Not without its flaws, but very few of those flaws matter too much: Moebius is, on the whole, a well-written and interesting investigation.
  12. Apr 16, 2014
    68
    After that trick that was Gray Matter, Jane Jensen returns with her first crowdfunding game, Moebius: Empire Rising, that takes us in a very Dan Brown-esque journey through the world in a story very well conceived that falls down towards its climax. Its biggest sin is trying to be as adult and complex as Gabriel Knight, but it ultimately chooses the Nicolas Cage National Treasure's path. Investigation is preferred over puzzles, which are very casual. And it's a shame that the Deduction an Analize mechanic, well designed, ended being tedious instead for some designing elections. Moebius is an entertaining journey, but it seems we'll have to wait for the new chapters to see the whole big potential of Jensen's creature explode with the force it should be exerting in this game.
  13. Apr 20, 2014
    66
    If you like a straightforward plot and don't mind Lovecraftian-like animations.
  14. Jul 23, 2014
    65
    Moebius is not bad, but it’s the weakest entry in Jane Jensen’s portfolio and we have every right to demand more from her than just a decent game. [06/2014, p.70]
  15. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    And it wasn’t until later, when I settled down and reflected on the game, that I realized a potential purpose of such mundane tasks in Moebius: Empire Rising: Jane Jensen wants you to feel––not just see––the psychology of Malachi Rector, a man scarred by a family tragedy, and tormented with a genetic gift. If that is indeed the primary purpose, then I applaud Jensen.
  16. Apr 25, 2014
    60
    Flawed in so many ways, but it still manages to engage and entertain. Jane Jensen-fans will find much to enjoy here.
  17. 60
    A refreshing experience and well worth the time. If only there were more adventure games of this ilk.
  18. Apr 17, 2014
    60
    While you certainly won’t hate your experience, Moebius offers nothing remarkable. You can have better adventures elsewhere.
  19. Apr 14, 2014
    60
    Moebius is missing a spark — something that makes you want to keep playing. It has a few shining moments with some standout humorous lines, but they're buried in bad dialogue, empty characters, and a dry mystery. Sadly, I don't think people will be talking about Malachi Rector with the esteem they do Gabriel Knight.
  20. On this new Jane Jansen adventure game, we are taking the role of an Antique dealer Malachi Rector, a man with terrible 3D graphics.
  21. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    Suffers from being too faithful to its old-school roots. [Issue#148, p.116]
  22. May 11, 2014
    50
    I had high hopes for Moebius: Empire Rising, but while it shows early promise it ultimately falls far short of living up to it. I suspect that Jane Jensen has a good story to tell, but this is definitely not the way to go about it.
  23. Apr 27, 2014
    50
    The story is cleverly constructed, similarities between protagonist Malachi and Gabriel Knight abound. But herein lies the problem: In comparing itself to the classic, the difference in quality becomes all the more apparent.
  24. Apr 23, 2014
    50
    The premise nicely informs the sturdy-if-unspectacular gameplay framework, Malachi Rector is a well realised and fascinating character and the story is smart, but those sound fundamentals are in constant battle against jittery Sims-esque character models, wildly inconsistent art and a slew of mild technical issues.
  25. Apr 18, 2014
    50
    Again, it didn't work out – again, Jane Jensen is serving only a neat story that is, however, wrapped in both unnecessary graphics and gaming features that appear functionless at best, and that lead the game down a blind alley.
  26. Apr 18, 2014
    50
    While mildly entertaining at times, Moebius is disappointingly light on the charm, intrigue, and ingenuity that marked Jane Jensen’s earlier work.
  27. Apr 14, 2014
    50
    Moebius: Empire Rising is a strikingly mediocre point-and-click adventure game, adequately checking all the boxes of a traditional entry in the genre but excelling at none of them.
  28. Jun 7, 2014
    40
    Terribly ugly and just a little too dumb, Moebius feels unloved and abandoned by its developers. [Issue#249, p.73]
  29. May 26, 2014
    40
    The feelings and pathos that Moebius: Empire Rising tries to convey are evident, but the game is technically flawed and too clumsy in building the proper atmosphere.
  30. May 19, 2014
    40
    The potential interesting story of Moebius: Empire Rising is mostly buried underneath the messy engine. Who perseveres sees parts of a literary thriller. The rest is an embarrassment.
  31. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Moebius is one of the worst games written by Jane Jensen. Too many bugs and some major plot holes are there to destroy the few good aspects of this adventure.
  32. Apr 24, 2014
    40
    Ultimately, Moebius' technical glitches and visual blemishes mean nothing. In a stronger game, with good writing and consistent puzzle design, they'd be small distractions. But Moebius' ugliness goes right to its core, with a misogynistic tone, awful main character and poor storytelling.
  33. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    Ultimately, Moebius feels like an early version of a full game, something that needs playtesting and a keen critical eye before it's ready for public consumption. Even fanfiction authors have editors.
  34. Apr 17, 2014
    40
    The recipe for a good adventure game is there, but the measurements are all wrong. Rector is too flawed, the puzzles are too easy, the metaphysical elements get too ridiculous are not well explained - everything is just off.
  35. Apr 15, 2014
    40
    Moebius: Empire Rising is a poor adventure game that still offers an intriguing story and a strong main character... Maybe it will be able to deliver a better global experience with the next episodes?
  36. Apr 14, 2014
    40
    Moebius: Empire Rising starts with an interesting idea, but the plot never takes off. Some moments may briefly grab your interest, but disappointing puzzles, shallow characters, and tedious methods behind investigations keep the game feeling lethargic all the way to its uninspiring climax. Instantly forgettable, this game is better off lost to time.
  37. May 12, 2014
    30
    The lack of meaningful puzzles and memorable characters make it pale in comparison to her Sierra adventures, and when put next to Telltale or Daedalic's offerings, it comes off as even more outdated.
  38. Apr 20, 2014
    30
    The most insidious thing about Moebius is that you don’t know how wretched it truly is until the very end.
  39. Jun 5, 2014
    20
    Fan support and unlimited creative freedom gave birth to a monster. If Moebius were a debut by some unknown studio, I would have simply sniffed at it in disdain. But the knowledge that this wretched thing was produced by a lauded veteran of the industry fills my heart with primordial horror.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 12 out of 37
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Save your $$ and to choose another game to buy.

    As an avid point-and-click adventure game fan, I thought I would enjoy "Moebius: Empire
    Save your $$ and to choose another game to buy.

    As an avid point-and-click adventure game fan, I thought I would enjoy "Moebius: Empire Rising." Unfortunately, the story is tiresome and the lack of interactive hotspots is extremely disappointing.

    Where this game really fails, however, is in the technical execution. The 3D graphics and animation are some of the worst you will see in a new commercial title. This is a terrible shame, as it nearly kills the experience, and the shoddy 3D work clashes with the well-done backdrops. As others have said, the character movements are wacky and very slow; you will be screaming at the character to walk faster after playing for 20 minutes, if you are patient enough to last that long.

    I don't know where Jane Jensen found this terrible Phoenix Online Studios developer or if this was the only option she had with her budget (although backers on Kickstarter DID give Jensen hundreds of thousands of dollars to make this game, and other developers have been able to do MUCH better with that much money), but I can't help but think that this game could have been salvaged by a developer able to produce work above an amateurish level.

    If you are a Jane Jensen fan, you will probably be demanding that any games from her in the future be done with a different, better developer. If you aren't a Jane Jensen fan, "Moebius" won't turn you into one.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I'll give everyone a fair spoiler warning before i begin...

    I'm really disappointed with this game as a fan of Jane Jensen's previous work. Having played her excellently written Gabriel Knight series I came in to this game expecting a similar level of script writing but was surprisingly disappointed. Having been a backer on Kickstarter and playing one of the chapter as a preview, I agreed with others who made comments very early on stating that there were major fixes required for the animation which seemed to have gone completely unheard by the production staff. Walking animations and Malachi's strange standing pose as well as the fact that he seems to have boulder shoulder syndrome. Other things of note were subtle hand movements weren't paid any attention, most notably in one cutscene where a man climbs a ladder while seemingly not grabbing any of the rungs and instead appearing to become some kind of spider-like creature crawling up the ladder.

    The written dialogue as well as the way in which the lines were delivered were very stilted from some of the characters, namely by Malachi himself. The fact that the 'interact' icon appears on a lot of items which cannot be interacted with until you have done something first is frustrating and looks sloppy as surely there could have been a way to hide that icon prior to the option being available? That would have saved a lot of hassles to be honest.

    The story is bizarre. I mean hey, as I mentioned before I LOVED Jane's older works, played all 3 GK games and had shivers with the way Tim Currie delivered his lines especially the famous "what can you tell me about voodoo?" but here we have a very wooden delivery of a discussion about the possibility of history repeating in people? That is ridiculous. I love a good fantasy story or something that stretches the imagination but this just seems really lazy.

    I was really looking forward to this game. I played the first chapter when it was released to backers as a beta test and was disappointed but was glad to see some changes were being made... but overall I am still very disappointed and kind of sad to see that in comparison to other Adventure, Point and Click games being released at the moment via Kickstarter, this is probably the lowest in quality.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    5
    Unfortunately this game gets nowhere near the Gabriel Knight series and is a mediocre Adventure Game at best. Character animations are veryUnfortunately this game gets nowhere near the Gabriel Knight series and is a mediocre Adventure Game at best. Character animations are very wobbly and look unnatural (+arms frequently clip into bodies), actually interactive items are rare for a game from this genre and the puzzles... I just don't know. Most items can't even be picked up before the character 'knows' he needs them which I always find frustrating (f.e. a bottle of motor oil certainly could prove useful in the future, damnit) as it leads to needless walking back and forth between scenes as a fetchquest. Thats not stimulating to me. Analysing people as well as objects Sherlock-Style (the main character is a -very- logical person) could have been interesting but the execution falls flat once more as - at least with people - it all comes back down to clichés and guesswork as the player receives 3 possible options per noticed thing (one often being rather nonsensical though, so lets say 2 options). Comparing modern-day people to people in history is interesting as well but ultimately boils down to just counting how many datapoints match up - which, really, is not very engaging either after a few times even as the player learns more about historical figures.
    Overall: Pass.
    Full Review »