Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 40
  2. Negative: 13 out of 40
  1. Jun 7, 2014
    40
    Terribly ugly and just a little too dumb, Moebius feels unloved and abandoned by its developers. [Issue#249, p.73]
  2. May 26, 2014
    40
    The feelings and pathos that Moebius: Empire Rising tries to convey are evident, but the game is technically flawed and too clumsy in building the proper atmosphere.
  3. May 19, 2014
    40
    The potential interesting story of Moebius: Empire Rising is mostly buried underneath the messy engine. Who perseveres sees parts of a literary thriller. The rest is an embarrassment.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Moebius is one of the worst games written by Jane Jensen. Too many bugs and some major plot holes are there to destroy the few good aspects of this adventure.
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    40
    Ultimately, Moebius' technical glitches and visual blemishes mean nothing. In a stronger game, with good writing and consistent puzzle design, they'd be small distractions. But Moebius' ugliness goes right to its core, with a misogynistic tone, awful main character and poor storytelling.
  6. Apr 22, 2014
    40
    Ultimately, Moebius feels like an early version of a full game, something that needs playtesting and a keen critical eye before it's ready for public consumption. Even fanfiction authors have editors.
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    40
    The recipe for a good adventure game is there, but the measurements are all wrong. Rector is too flawed, the puzzles are too easy, the metaphysical elements get too ridiculous are not well explained - everything is just off.
  8. Apr 15, 2014
    40
    Moebius: Empire Rising is a poor adventure game that still offers an intriguing story and a strong main character... Maybe it will be able to deliver a better global experience with the next episodes?
  9. Apr 14, 2014
    40
    Moebius: Empire Rising starts with an interesting idea, but the plot never takes off. Some moments may briefly grab your interest, but disappointing puzzles, shallow characters, and tedious methods behind investigations keep the game feeling lethargic all the way to its uninspiring climax. Instantly forgettable, this game is better off lost to time.
  10. May 12, 2014
    30
    The lack of meaningful puzzles and memorable characters make it pale in comparison to her Sierra adventures, and when put next to Telltale or Daedalic's offerings, it comes off as even more outdated.
  11. Apr 20, 2014
    30
    The most insidious thing about Moebius is that you don’t know how wretched it truly is until the very end.
  12. Jun 5, 2014
    20
    Fan support and unlimited creative freedom gave birth to a monster. If Moebius were a debut by some unknown studio, I would have simply sniffed at it in disdain. But the knowledge that this wretched thing was produced by a lauded veteran of the industry fills my heart with primordial horror.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 12 out of 37
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    Save your $$ and to choose another game to buy.

    As an avid point-and-click adventure game fan, I thought I would enjoy "Moebius: Empire
    Save your $$ and to choose another game to buy.

    As an avid point-and-click adventure game fan, I thought I would enjoy "Moebius: Empire Rising." Unfortunately, the story is tiresome and the lack of interactive hotspots is extremely disappointing.

    Where this game really fails, however, is in the technical execution. The 3D graphics and animation are some of the worst you will see in a new commercial title. This is a terrible shame, as it nearly kills the experience, and the shoddy 3D work clashes with the well-done backdrops. As others have said, the character movements are wacky and very slow; you will be screaming at the character to walk faster after playing for 20 minutes, if you are patient enough to last that long.

    I don't know where Jane Jensen found this terrible Phoenix Online Studios developer or if this was the only option she had with her budget (although backers on Kickstarter DID give Jensen hundreds of thousands of dollars to make this game, and other developers have been able to do MUCH better with that much money), but I can't help but think that this game could have been salvaged by a developer able to produce work above an amateurish level.

    If you are a Jane Jensen fan, you will probably be demanding that any games from her in the future be done with a different, better developer. If you aren't a Jane Jensen fan, "Moebius" won't turn you into one.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I'll give everyone a fair spoiler warning before i begin...

    I'm really disappointed with this game as a fan of Jane Jensen's previous work. Having played her excellently written Gabriel Knight series I came in to this game expecting a similar level of script writing but was surprisingly disappointed. Having been a backer on Kickstarter and playing one of the chapter as a preview, I agreed with others who made comments very early on stating that there were major fixes required for the animation which seemed to have gone completely unheard by the production staff. Walking animations and Malachi's strange standing pose as well as the fact that he seems to have boulder shoulder syndrome. Other things of note were subtle hand movements weren't paid any attention, most notably in one cutscene where a man climbs a ladder while seemingly not grabbing any of the rungs and instead appearing to become some kind of spider-like creature crawling up the ladder.

    The written dialogue as well as the way in which the lines were delivered were very stilted from some of the characters, namely by Malachi himself. The fact that the 'interact' icon appears on a lot of items which cannot be interacted with until you have done something first is frustrating and looks sloppy as surely there could have been a way to hide that icon prior to the option being available? That would have saved a lot of hassles to be honest.

    The story is bizarre. I mean hey, as I mentioned before I LOVED Jane's older works, played all 3 GK games and had shivers with the way Tim Currie delivered his lines especially the famous "what can you tell me about voodoo?" but here we have a very wooden delivery of a discussion about the possibility of history repeating in people? That is ridiculous. I love a good fantasy story or something that stretches the imagination but this just seems really lazy.

    I was really looking forward to this game. I played the first chapter when it was released to backers as a beta test and was disappointed but was glad to see some changes were being made... but overall I am still very disappointed and kind of sad to see that in comparison to other Adventure, Point and Click games being released at the moment via Kickstarter, this is probably the lowest in quality.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    5
    Unfortunately this game gets nowhere near the Gabriel Knight series and is a mediocre Adventure Game at best. Character animations are veryUnfortunately this game gets nowhere near the Gabriel Knight series and is a mediocre Adventure Game at best. Character animations are very wobbly and look unnatural (+arms frequently clip into bodies), actually interactive items are rare for a game from this genre and the puzzles... I just don't know. Most items can't even be picked up before the character 'knows' he needs them which I always find frustrating (f.e. a bottle of motor oil certainly could prove useful in the future, damnit) as it leads to needless walking back and forth between scenes as a fetchquest. Thats not stimulating to me. Analysing people as well as objects Sherlock-Style (the main character is a -very- logical person) could have been interesting but the execution falls flat once more as - at least with people - it all comes back down to clichés and guesswork as the player receives 3 possible options per noticed thing (one often being rather nonsensical though, so lets say 2 options). Comparing modern-day people to people in history is interesting as well but ultimately boils down to just counting how many datapoints match up - which, really, is not very engaging either after a few times even as the player learns more about historical figures.
    Overall: Pass.
    Full Review »