Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    With a great atmosphere and deceptively simple mechanics, it stands out as one of the most unique and addicting games of 2013.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    I just found Monaco hard to enjoy. I was either rushing to reach a checkpoint before guards killed me or I was roaming aimlessly, being booted back to the beginning of the level when I died too many times. Monaco very rarely hits that stealthy sweet spot - that sense of quietly and carefully infiltrating enemy territory, knowing that you're vastly outnumbered and you'll be killed if you screw up. Instead, it usually just tests your patience.
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    It feels great, but it also looks amazing - it drives home the fantasy of being a quick-witted thief in a way that no Hollywood cut-scene ever could.
  4. May 16, 2013
    85
    If you're looking for a good party game that is very different from the norm, don't hesitate to snatch up this title.
  5. May 1, 2013
    50
    Theoretically Monaco: What’s Yours is Mine is a great game. In actuality, your mileage may vary.
  6. May 1, 2013
    80
    There’s a certain sense of satisfaction that comes from sneaking through an entire building of guards and making it out with a bag full of loot. It’s one that video games don’t take advantage of often enough. Monaco takes that and makes it an exciting and challenging affair to enjoy with friends. Just make sure you don’t sign up for the job if you plan to play alone.
  7. May 30, 2013
    88
    Fresh, inventive and unlike anything you've played before. [July 2013, p.74]
  8. Apr 26, 2013
    90
    The single-player mode is only an appetizer for the frantic, exciting and unpredictable banquet offered by the cooperative experience.
  9. Apr 27, 2013
    85
    It has all the virtues we can expect from an indie game. If you're going to play with friends you'll make the most of it, since playing on your own makes the game losing some of its appeal.
  10. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    Monaco: What’s Yours Is Mine is truly an outstanding title and it’s here to rob us of our time and money. Yet, just like the perfect heist; no one will be left the wiser as they’ll all be left with a smile on their face.
  11. Apr 26, 2013
    84
    Monaco is one of the best co-op games of the year, and it's an amazing off-line stealth adventure. If you want to know how it feels to be a professional thief this is your chance.
  12. May 6, 2013
    80
    Some stealth games end up solely being about moving from one shadow to another, but Monaco has a good balance between fast paced action and careful planning. That’s what makes it successful in the end, despite its – at times – confusing and cluttered visuals.
  13. Apr 24, 2013
    92
    Monaco: What’s Yours is Mine is yet another game that illustrates just what kind of gems can come out of the indie gaming scene. It’s refreshingly original in terms of visual design, unique in its approach to the stealth game genre, and it offers a load of co-op fun that makes it an absolute steal at the default $14.99 USD Steam price, to say nothing of the price you get with the 4-title bundle option.
  14. Apr 24, 2013
    95
    Monaco: What's Yours is Mine truly is a game for anyone and everyone. It is simple enough to pick up and immediately understand how things work, while at the same time offers the complexity to have multiple players spend a few minutes sitting still, devising a self-titled "Best Plan Ever" complete with tracing the plan on the screen with fingers, saying “Ready? GO!”, only to see it backfire in seconds.
  15. Jun 13, 2013
    87
    Monaco: What's Yours is Mine is fine as single player but great with friends. [June 2013]
  16. May 30, 2013
    80
    Monaco: What's Yours Is Mine is one of the most enjoyable and clever cooperatives experiences in the indie scene and beyond.
  17. Apr 27, 2013
    80
    Delivers on a unique cooperative experience that has you sneaking through levels as a member of a team of four burglars, with the right composition of classes. It won't be long before you'll get sucked into the charming atmosphere developer Pocketwatch Games established here. Alone, or with ill-intentioned players, it loses a lot of the charm and gets really hard during later parts of the game. Only play Monaco with accomplices.
  18. Apr 25, 2013
    84
    This arcade-style take on stealth takes a careful balance of planning and execution, and even if it’s not quite a perfect crime, it’s still a pretty darn good one.
  19. Apr 29, 2013
    80
    One of the best ever multiplayer stealth games and one of the most successful attempts yet at the perfect heist game.
  20. May 5, 2013
    70
    Monaco is a good game but with too many repetitive mechanics and without a real differentiation between the characters. The coop mode starts with a bang but eventually becomes a little bit boring.
  21. Jun 10, 2013
    70
    Despite the small budget, this is an interesting indie title with a few nice ideas.
  22. Apr 25, 2013
    90
    An amazing blend of high stakes and comedic timing, one that will leave you hungry for constant four-player action.
  23. 90
    While some of the controls can be a bit bothersome, the overall gameplay mechanics and sense of enjoyment is overwhelming. Mix one of the most gratifying cooperative campaigns in recent history with an absolutely charming cast of characters, and you have an addictive upper echelon independent game.
  24. Apr 30, 2013
    64
    As good as the concept was three years ago and as entertaining a successful coop session may be, in the end this is little more than an interesting design study.
  25. May 7, 2013
    80
    A simple yet addictive crime caper whose fun factor and hilarity both increase as players are added, Monaco: What's Yours is Mine is an easy recommendation.
  26. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    While I admittedly became less enamored with Monaco as it ramped up its difficulty and turned some of its later missions into tedious exercises in trial-and-error, the vast majority of Monaco's content is simply a delight to play, especially when enjoyed alongside a rogue's gallery of your most deviously skilled friends. It may not best serve the solitary brand of player, but for a cooperative group of would-be thieves, Monaco can be terrific fun.
  27. May 5, 2013
    73
    Monaco: What's Yours is Mine is mostly fun when playing with a well put together team of criminals. It's weaker when playing with unknown accomplices or when stealing alone. The game is just a little bit too unclear and chaotic to be a great stealth game, but as a party game Monaco is an excellent choice. It's mostly the charming style that'll steal your heart, not the chaotic action.
  28. May 9, 2013
    90
    One of those games that you must play, Monaco is innovative, funny and cleverly designed.
  29. May 2, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  30. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    The biggest weakness of Monaco is the simplicity of its gameplay – it’s a trivial, almost mobile game. I recommend playing it in a 4 players co-op mode, where the low difficulty level and simple rules are not so bothersome. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.78]
  31. Apr 24, 2013
    100
    £12 for this level of perfectly-crafted entertainment is an absolute steal.
  32. Apr 26, 2013
    90
    Monaco handily captures the Ocean's 11 flair for fun and action, but it runs deeper than its heist theme, presenting a challenge for hardcore fans of strategy and clever design.
  33. May 29, 2013
    80
    Monaco borrows elements from Ocean's Eleven, Thief, Prison Break and Commandos to create a great stealth game suitable for both hardcore and casual fans. The game can be played all the way through on your own, but Monaco is best experienced with three other players, allowing you to form a crack team of thieves that can steal anything that isn't nailed down.
  34. May 1, 2013
    90
    Monaco offers a new and unique kind of chaotic co-op stealth gameplay, resulting in a work of indie art worth stealing. [May 2013, p.94]
  35. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    To date, there aren’t a whole lot of games like Monaco. There’s action oriented isometrics like Trap Gunner and strategy heavy games like Frozen Synapse, but Monaco succeeds in blending the two playstyles together effortlessly. Even if you aren’t the type who plays nice with others, Monaco offers more than enough content to help you channel your inner thief.
  36. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Wins with simplicity. Strategically challenging without losing pace. Lack of variation and a bit to stupid AI brings down the grade, but it's still one of the more charming games I have played in a long time.
  37. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    There is so much to like and discover about Monaco: What's Yours is Mine - just make sure you have some good friends along to share the spoils.
  38. May 29, 2013
    90
    If you meet along some trustworthy cooperative kleptomaniacs, a virtual world of Monaco will become your next home. This stealth multiplayer game loves its dollar bags the same way you do.
  39. May 9, 2013
    90
    A simple idea executed almost flawlessly. One of the most enjoyable stealth/action games in years. [June 2013, p.78]
  40. May 9, 2013
    90
    Monaco is a lot like Hotline Miami. The latter is a great "psychedelic killing simulator" while Monaco is probably one of the best "burglar simulators" out there. All it took was simple graphics, good ideas and excellent execution (and that meant many months of hard work). Monaco is a complicated machine that delivers chaos and fun at the player's wish. It's worth a shot!
  41. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    Monaco is an amazing co-op game. It works both as an arcade-style romp and as strategic game that rewards deep thinkers...If you don’t want to play with others, however, I would skip it.
  42. Jun 19, 2013
    70
    Monaco fails at balancing fun and cold math; the first levels are so easy that you’ll run through them without even thinking, but by the end the awkward arcade shenanigans will become the downfall of your carefully laid plans.
  43. May 8, 2013
    88
    Although frustratingly hard in places, most of the time Monaco is a delight to play. It looks great, has a wonderfully fitting soundtrack, and has simple gameplay while maintaining a high level of precision required to be really successful.
  44. 81
    It combines some simple concepts, throws them in a co-op pot, adds connectivity, removes nasty bugs and, instead of salt and pepper, it sprinkles a budget price on top. The only catch, you have to bring some buddies along with you. [June 2013]
  45. May 1, 2013
    100
    This is the second time in a month that I’ve been completely bowled over by an indie project that I’d never even heard of, created by people whose games I’ve never played. I can think of no better indicators that no matter how bad SimCity turned out, no matter how disappointing the gameplay in Bioshock Infinite, no matter how familiar any Call of Duty, no matter whether the next Xbox is always online, it’s a perfect time to be into videogames.
  46. Apr 29, 2013
    95
    The easy learning curve, the variety of characters, the sprawling levels, and the lovely sound and art all combine to make an extremely appealing and replayable game. It may only be April, but Monaco is already a strong contender for Game of the Year.
  47. May 27, 2013
    80
    A few griefers are a small price to pay, however, for the experience of a well-oiled four-player game of Monaco, and for the assistance this provides toward unlocking the entirety of the second campaign, which, as if channeling The Unusual Suspects, returns you to previous areas, but with an entirely new perspective.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    For an old school gamer like me, this game is an amazing reminder of what game's were like at the dawn of video games, and how far they have come as well. The single-player game is good, but the game truly shines in coop play.

    Up to 4 friends running around laughing and shouting in vent (I'd love to play this like we used to play Goldeneye on the SNES, but alas, employment options have us all over now), running around in panic from a missed alarm or some angry guards while trying to grab all the cash you can is amazingly fun.

    I haven't gotten far in the campaign or tried all the classes yet, but even the early missions are hilarious and chaotic with friends, and buying it via Steam was a snap. The game screams for custom levels in the future, giving it even more appeal and longevity.

    A heartfelt thumbs up!
    Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2013
    6
    The early levels are great, especially with friends manic, tricky and fun to negotiate. Unfortunately, it's one of those games where the developers didn't know how to ramp up the difficulty level without sapping the fun completely. In a multi-player, once one of you dies in the middle of one of the frequently occurring laser net death-traps, you essentially can't finish the level, since anyone attempting to restore the dead player is themselves killed. Absurdly, enemy guards can walk right through these laser fields without activating them, meaning that on occasions your entire team is forced to move excruciatingly slowly from safe square to safe square while enemies blithely converge on them from all sides.

    I know some people love challenges and rage against games being dumbed down, but for me, in the case of this game, the fun factor really comes down to dealing with the unexpected and surviving tremendous by the skin of your teeth. Once minor mistakes start getting your entire team wiped out, and once I'm having to repeat levels so often that I know every square inch off by heart, it loses much of its appeal. And that started happening for me and the people I play with at around the tenth mission.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    I'm liking Monaco quite a lot, but it's not perfect game by any chance. There are couple of gripes I have with this. First of all enemy AI. It's just ridiculously stupid and scripted. Guards patrol the area in semi predictable ways, I like their pattern and figuring them is a bit of a challenge which I like, but when they eventually see you, you just need to break the line of sight with them and then they just quit, they don't search the area where you went missing, or even look behind a door where I'm hiding even though I obviously went there but they just barely saw me in front of the door so they can't, it all feels just too scripted and it sucks out a lot of tension that a stealth game should have. Also, Monaco feels a bit too much coop heavy and in single player some of the classes are just way too underpowered to face many of the situations. There's nothing wrong with making coop game, it's perfect here actually, the best coop experience I've ever had, but if putting in a single player with no means to get any traits of other classes some of them just become a bit pointless, of course you can survive with all of them, I've tried but you can't do it really sneaky and stealthy like you should be able to in a sneaking game. Overall I really like this game, it's a great game but in terms of tension, AI and balance it falters a bit too much for a stealth game, it just feels like a 7 to me. This isn't the definitive stealth game some may have been expecting, but definitely pick it up if you have couple of friends you can play on your couch, you can play this locally with 4 players, even on PC and even on the same keyboard which is really rare these days. Full Review »