Mount & Blade: Warband PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 795 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 795
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2017
    1
    Horrible game. The combat is complete garbage and makes no sense. Mounted enemies are impossible to outrun and are unkillable no matter how many times you hit them. Crossbows are so bad that they should just be removed from the game. Overall this is a very horribly made game and it's not fun at all.
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    Тупое дерьмо, эта игра сосет член.Мне дали квест пойти и освободить сына одного пиздюка и я тихо пробрался в замок подхожу к темнице ну и там стоит стражник его надо уебать и взять ключи, но у него меч и броня пиздатая,а у меня палка и броня и олений кожи,а все потому что в замок с крутой броней и мечом нельзя зайти потому что тебя с палят ну и этот пиздюк тебя убивает все время.Тупое дерьмо, эта игра сосет член.Мне дали квест пойти и освободить сына одного пиздюка и я тихо пробрался в замок подхожу к темнице ну и там стоит стражник его надо уебать и взять ключи, но у него меч и броня пиздатая,а у меня палка и броня и олений кожи,а все потому что в замок с крутой броней и мечом нельзя зайти потому что тебя с палят ну и этот пиздюк тебя убивает все время.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    1
    Awful combat, awful quests...graphics not too bad but not worth the money. If you like a game where there is no real goal and you keep having to repeat certain quests, this is the game for you
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    This game is absolutely awful, boring, no direction, awful graphics for a game released in 2010, the gameplay is clunky and unresponsive. The game is an overall mess, even at £4 this game should not be brought.
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    the graphics are **** controls suck...and for the love of god there is no voice acting. Its 2014 I shouldn't have to read every thing an NPC says in a game....
  6. Jan 1, 2017
    0
    Mais qu'est-ce que c'est que ce "truc" ? un jeu de rôle, ça ? une (mauvaise) blague, ouais !

    Passons sur les graphismes datés, certes vilains au possible mais là n'est pas l'essentiel. Parlons plutôt du système de sauvegarde -unique- qui ne permet de sauvegarder que lorsqu'on quitte le jeu (!), une hérésie dans tout jeu de rôle qui se respecte. Or, clairement Mount and machin ne se
    Mais qu'est-ce que c'est que ce "truc" ? un jeu de rôle, ça ? une (mauvaise) blague, ouais !

    Passons sur les graphismes datés, certes vilains au possible mais là n'est pas l'essentiel. Parlons plutôt du système de sauvegarde -unique- qui ne permet de sauvegarder que lorsqu'on quitte le jeu (!), une hérésie dans tout jeu de rôle qui se respecte. Or, clairement Mount and machin ne se respecte pas, y compris dans son interface tout droit sortie d'une poubelle. Les menus sont atroces et l'ergonomie la plus élémentaire n'est même pas respectée.

    La maniabilité est tout sauf maniable, les contrôles sont une plaie et la jouabilité est aux abonnées absentes : "Madame Jouabilité est actuellement indisponible, veuillez ré-essayer ultérieurement, et accessoirement, allez vous faire foutre."

    Tout est à l'avenant dans cet erzatz de jeu programmé avec le fion (même le menu des options est buggué sa mère et la moitié des dialogues sont en anglais... lol !). Cette erreur de la nature a été conçu par une (war) bande de trisomiques. On se croirait revenu 15 ans en arrière. Et encore.

    Une grosse merde infernale comme on en voit (heureusement) assez peu... mais là c'est le pompon !
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2016
    4
    A terrible tutorial, or lack there of. Caused me to waste so many hours and I am no where up to speed. Great idea with some terrible execution. Unless you enjoy wasting 20 (unenjoyable) hours learning, find a different game.
  8. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    Game is totally broken. No servers load so I can't play. I tried to fix it by turning off firewall and changing the ini but nothing works. Don't buy this broken game you will be wasting your money, it's broken and unplayable.
  9. Jan 3, 2016
    0
    Good Ideas, but man are the trailers, screenshots and positive fanboy-reviews misleading!

    This "game" just doesn't work at all! It doesn't work on a "simulation"-Level and it doesn't work as a "open world"-RPG-RTS. It's just a clunky mess of half-a**** ideas and bad implemented everything! But let me start at the beginning: The (optional) tutorial is pretty useless, since it
    Good Ideas, but man are the trailers, screenshots and positive fanboy-reviews misleading!

    This "game" just doesn't work at all! It doesn't work on a "simulation"-Level and it doesn't work as a "open world"-RPG-RTS.
    It's just a clunky mess of half-a**** ideas and bad implemented everything!

    But let me start at the beginning:
    The (optional) tutorial is pretty useless, since it doesn't explain most important basics to you.
    Yes you learn "fight" with different weapons, cope with a unresponsive control-system that was clearly designed with a motion-control in mind or a not-thought-through-idea of ... erm... "realism" in mind.
    But it doesn't introduce you to so many important points like commanding your troops, cope with multiple enemies, give you feedback ... nada!

    If you expect combat-mechanics like in Skyrim with a mix of Dark Messiah of M&M or Chivalry, put your expectations far away!
    You are in for a unresponsive and buggy mess.
    Arrows can go just through your enemies without even hurting them, hit-detection of your melee-weapons is right off buggy and you can't even run!
    Since there is no gore you just have to rely on a little text that tells you how much damage you actually deal.
    This buggy mess tries to give you the impression of a medi eval-battle-sim, and can't even manage to add gore by default!
    Prepare to get backstabbed a lot.

    You are NOT travelling through a huge world like trailers and screenshots might suggest. No! You are just slowly moving on an overwold map, clicking with your mouse and waiting sometimes for a response.
    The (often random) battles are fought in a relatively small area with invisible walls everywhere!

    The OST. A mess like everything else in this game. The most random, unepic and generic "medi-eval"-songs shoved into low-quality .ogg files, you can imagine.(Hell! They even put in a Hallelujah-Chorus! WTF?!) Looped of course!
    No way getting mods for music replacements!

    ("Dialogues" are presented in an ugly interface and are at least interesting to read, but your choices are totally irellevant, since yourt options often give you random answers.
    For example: A Guy at the bar talks to me about joining my army. Why would I ask hima bout a kidnapping I never even heard of before in response?! ANd man, why isn't it at least half-way voiced - like BG managed years ago?!)

    It's a shame you are expected to pay 20 bucks for this unpolished waste of time (and 20 another bucks for a DLC with guns...)!
    Expand
  10. Apr 6, 2012
    3
    3/10 for the concept, the hitboxes are so terrible in this game that you cannot even hit anyone effectively. Several times I have shot arrows going straight through people with them taking zero damage. It's so buggy, and it doesn't seem like the developers intend on fixing the hitbox horrors. I wish a game like this existed with a similar concept but with proper execution.
  11. Sep 9, 2010
    3
    The game has huge potential as a concept, but there again as previously mentioned, has little in the way of competition on the market. I'm purely an online multiplayer gamer and have little interest in the single player aspect of the game so this assessment is purely based on my online experiences. After giving the game a go for several weeks, the steep learning curve, number of glitches /The game has huge potential as a concept, but there again as previously mentioned, has little in the way of competition on the market. I'm purely an online multiplayer gamer and have little interest in the single player aspect of the game so this assessment is purely based on my online experiences. After giving the game a go for several weeks, the steep learning curve, number of glitches / exploits, lack of interesting servers (most are DM or Battle, very few are CTF or Siege in our part of the world) ruins any form of enjoyment for me so I'm reluctantly giving it a 3... Expand
  12. May 10, 2011
    0
    I tried to love this game, I wanted to, sounded like the perfect game, but this was the worst 12 dollars I've ever spent on a utter ineptI tried to love this game, I wanted to, sounded like the perfect game, but this was the worst 12 dollars I've ever spent on a utter inept developer.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The single player is akin to the space stage in Spore, but with slightly more depth, even more grind and horrid pacing. Spending days of play time trying to get anywhere in the game, using a pseudo turn-based style which makes me only yearn for a better game like Civ 4 or Gal Civ. Totally unable to raise your diplomatic standings with lords other than repeating the same 5 basic quests over and over often half way across the world, the game becomes a **** chore as you fight battles with brain dead AI that you can kite in a circle.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    In multi-player, the combat in this game is incredibly hard, if you plan to be any good at it plan to spend at least +100 hours of practice - giving you the most control in any game also means that you shouldn't expect to kill anything as you'll be getting 0/0 or 0/20 kill/deaths as you will be killed instantly in most cases or ganged upon with no way to defend yourself other than the directional blocking which is awful or shields that shatter after 4 hits. I can get like a 11/6 at best but the vast majority of players you'll see will get a 1/1 K/D with the exception of 4 out of 60 players who will be 20/1. It all works in theory, but for 99% of the population, dealing with multiple targets is hard enough while blocking and attacking, but directional blocking and stuns (a split second to block otherwise you're dead) make it completely overwhelming as you'll be killed from behind by someone you didn't see because you were trying to focus on blocking rather than situational awareness. And players who get high K/D? They just kite players into 1v1 situations and kill them that way rather than charge in, its not possible to master. There is so much more I can go into about this, but I will say only that "easy to learn, difficult to master" does not apply to this game like a well-designed game should - no tutorials, no guide, nothing easy about it and mastering it is not rewarding at all - this isn't like Demon Souls where it is designed to be hard, this is due to their sheer unintentional ineptitude as a developer.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    To be honest the only great thing about this game is the +200 person cap on servers and massive battles, but nearly everyone will tire of it immediately as you will often be killed by anyone you engage for 5-10 hours until you can kill maybe 1 person a match or shot by arrows or lanced by a horseman you didn't see. And you can't help your team in any way, only get in their way, no engineering, nothing, only the very clunky combat system.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you are anything like a normal gamer, a gamer who loves strategy games, or anything other than a person willing to dedicate months to master a game with an awful single player and brutally difficult multiplayer should just avoid this piece of garbage.
    Expand
  13. Sep 13, 2010
    3
    this game is the complete **** same game as the first one. Nothing has been improved, not even the overly retarded sieging its just a **** again. its just watching your soldiers get slaughtered one by one. maybe the graphics have been improved abit but that dosent matter a **** **** with the ****load of bugs and the even worse AI in warband. i played a tournament and there were more than 3this game is the complete **** same game as the first one. Nothing has been improved, not even the overly retarded sieging its just a **** again. its just watching your soldiers get slaughtered one by one. maybe the graphics have been improved abit but that dosent matter a **** **** with the ****load of bugs and the even worse AI in warband. i played a tournament and there were more than 3 **** NPC's that were just riding or running into corners of walls not being able to get out. there's no point of selling a game for 30 $ that is the same as the original 30 $ game. this sucks dont buy it, buy the original please for gods sake just stay away from this piece of **** **** seriously buy the original it dosent matter if you think it has bad graphics cause the gameplay overcomes it for the ones who think graphics judge games. and the tavern hasnt even improved either ... Expand
  14. ChetL
    Apr 13, 2010
    4
    For a regular priced title, M&B: warband does not deliver what you'd want after playing the original. Naturally, more options and more content were added and the way units interact on the map and in battle have somewhat improved. HOWEVER, and as a result, more bugs were also introduced. One major annoyance comes from the siege battle. It is still the very same way in the original. For a regular priced title, M&B: warband does not deliver what you'd want after playing the original. Naturally, more options and more content were added and the way units interact on the map and in battle have somewhat improved. HOWEVER, and as a result, more bugs were also introduced. One major annoyance comes from the siege battle. It is still the very same way in the original. Your troops clumsily climb a narrow wooden ladder (which has been trumped with slightly more appeal to it LOL) only to be a choke point for your troops. They just line up on that ladder to be cannon fodder to the enemy merciless arrows and bolts and profane shouts or incomprehensible curses as none of your men are able to get off the damn ladder LOL. You wind up watching a slaughter fest of your own men that can take away most of your gaming time and in a loss in the end. Of course, there is that "multiplayer" mode but what good to play that if you can't even take a town from the enemy! A total waste of time and money. Don't buy it if you haven't yet. I do not recommend any games coming from this developer. Support the developers who provide us with a full game not a broken game. They didn't even fix the original FYI. Expand
  15. TomL
    Apr 15, 2010
    3
    Dude! This sequel looks just like the previous version with more bloom effect! Nothing much was added to make it any different from M&B 1. The interface is the same, the graphic is the same, the units are the same, the limitations are the same, the siege is also the same loaded with bugs!!! Units get stuck in walls and ladders, the works! Hell no, I'm not buying this scrawny Dude! This sequel looks just like the previous version with more bloom effect! Nothing much was added to make it any different from M&B 1. The interface is the same, the graphic is the same, the units are the same, the limitations are the same, the siege is also the same loaded with bugs!!! Units get stuck in walls and ladders, the works! Hell no, I'm not buying this scrawny duplicate for 30 bucks. Why should I buy the same game over again....hell no. The tavern is as boring as ever. Taleworlds is a laughing stock. Expand
  16. May 30, 2013
    0
    Ok, so, like many of you, I am a hardcore rager. I have snapped game disks, stomped on my x box and and eventully I broke my x box. And i got a gaming pc. With that said, unless you are a huge rager like me, avoid this review. So many times i have yelled. As loud and as long as i could until i couldent see through my eyes because dark spots appeared everywhere. This game did that. I thinkOk, so, like many of you, I am a hardcore rager. I have snapped game disks, stomped on my x box and and eventully I broke my x box. And i got a gaming pc. With that said, unless you are a huge rager like me, avoid this review. So many times i have yelled. As loud and as long as i could until i couldent see through my eyes because dark spots appeared everywhere. This game did that. I think i have broken 2 mouses because of this game. But for some reason i cant explain i keep coming back to it. Just recently I spent all the money i had in the game on armour. I lose a battle because this games combat is and i lose it. I smash my mouse, hit my desk as hard as i can 15 times, walk around making that typical rager yell while hitting everything i could find. And finally, i rage deleted the game like i have done many times. This game is complete in terms of graphics and combat. Along with no story and absolutly no depth. All writing is in text and the game dosent even have an ending. I would strongly reccomend you get this game. But if you like games that use logic and make sence, don't get it. And if you are a rager, by no means should you get this game. Expand
  17. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    First downloaded a demo of this game, seemed fun. Then bought the whole game, seemed fun. Then played singleplayer... got borring pretty fast.
    Then played multiplayer, gamed seemed pretty lame (to say the least).
    This game looks and feels like an Alfa version. Bugs like arrows stopping in mid air!!?! WTF! Overpowered weapons, pick-up of items is a mystery, bunny hopping to avoid
    First downloaded a demo of this game, seemed fun. Then bought the whole game, seemed fun. Then played singleplayer... got borring pretty fast.
    Then played multiplayer, gamed seemed pretty lame (to say the least).
    This game looks and feels like an Alfa version. Bugs like arrows stopping in mid air!!?! WTF! Overpowered weapons, pick-up of items is a mystery, bunny hopping to avoid arrows??! Slow swing/fast swing never knowking when, and the list goes on. So much potential, so many bugs... What a shame. When they release the final version (un-bugged), I will give it a go. This game is just pure crap... People, do your self a favor, do NOT buy this game. (Yes, they want money for a alfa version).
    Expand
  18. Jul 14, 2014
    3
    It's annoying that some of these reviewers are rating the game 10/10, when they even admit that there are some pretty bad flaws in this game. Yes, the game has huge potential. Does it live up to that? No.
    Mount and Blade: Warband is what you would get if you mixed a crappy version of Dragon Age Origins with an even more crappy version of Skyrim, and then threw in a broken version of
    It's annoying that some of these reviewers are rating the game 10/10, when they even admit that there are some pretty bad flaws in this game. Yes, the game has huge potential. Does it live up to that? No.
    Mount and Blade: Warband is what you would get if you mixed a crappy version of Dragon Age Origins with an even more crappy version of Skyrim, and then threw in a broken version of Chivalry. Map movement is slow and bland. Combat is broken and stiff. Movement is yawn worthy. Overall gameplay is weak. The only saving grace is that it's addicting, but even then, you just hate yourself for being addicted to this broken mess of a game.
    There's a lot of potential with this game, but it ultimately went to waste when the developers decided to take a huge **** all over their game.
    I'd normally give it a weak 6/10, but since people here are exaggerating their positive reviews, I'm evening the field with 3/10 . . . and that's not even a far stretch.
    Expand
  19. Mar 30, 2015
    3
    Worse than its predecessor, better graphics and more options to do in RP, but worse combat and AI. Fancy combat moves which have no place and mostly wont hit, like mounted attack right into horses head. Rubber horses are back, even in my favourite mod Brytenwalda. I still like first game most of all M&B's.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 80
    Although there is still room for improvement, Warband's excellent combat system, respectable multiplayer and a lifespan that will prove to be a total timesink means that the game is well worth the USD$29.99 price tag on Steam. Fans of the action RPG genre and medieval games in general would do well to pick this one up.
  2. 80
    All in all, Mount and Blade: Warband is a great game, even despite its flaws. The overall concept is satisfying, and with a more heavyweight publisher behind the team at TaleWorlds, this is one game that could be absolutely great.
  3. On the one hand, there are the open world and the freedom to do what you want to do, on the other hand, the world is lifeless. It's a great game for some people, but the opposite for most.