User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 435 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 435

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeB
    Oct 10, 2008
    1
    I've followed the development of this game since it started out. SInce then, this game has seen many modifications with the help of its community and to this day, we finally can see the results. I've been a gamer for most of my life so far, and I'm a bit disappointed with the final product. After so many suggestions on the boards to implement and strenghten many areas where I've followed the development of this game since it started out. SInce then, this game has seen many modifications with the help of its community and to this day, we finally can see the results. I've been a gamer for most of my life so far, and I'm a bit disappointed with the final product. After so many suggestions on the boards to implement and strenghten many areas where Mount and Blade could have shined, they were never introduced, but given a pink slip. One of the main gripes is the siege. With a repetitive castle/town siege, you wind up having to fight an entire enemy on the walls using one single ladder. Your army must somehow climb it and defeat the enemy who shoots you down helplessly like ducks. It's quite fustrating to watch. And that's not all. There are myriads of other AI glitches that completely make the game unplayable from the start up. Will be the last time I've spent money on titles such as this one. Expand
  2. L.Tom
    Oct 23, 2008
    3
    Disappointed with it. Game is great with horses and riders and you're able to shoot and stuff, but there's not much else. There are taverns where you could do a little RPG like getting a drink with your men and chat with the barmaid with your adventures, but there's no such thing either. It's an empty tavern with a innkeeper that keep saying the same over everytime you Disappointed with it. Game is great with horses and riders and you're able to shoot and stuff, but there's not much else. There are taverns where you could do a little RPG like getting a drink with your men and chat with the barmaid with your adventures, but there's no such thing either. It's an empty tavern with a innkeeper that keep saying the same over everytime you visit the taverns! The towns and villages add to the monotony of the landscape,but even in those villages and towns, you only see npcs roaming around like zombies and they are few. There is not much to do in them either. Almost everything is eye candy. The only thing you really interact with is with your own character! Another thing that bothered a lot is with that single ladder siege...I mean what the heck is that?! If my memory recall, middle ages sieges are supposed to be fought after ramming the gates and destroying section of the wall so your men could rush and waste the enemy or climb multiple ladders, MULTIPLE, so your men have a chance at winning! The other thing I remember seeing are mounted men climbing steep mountains! What the heck is that?! Men on horses weighing more than 200+ that can climb steep mountains??? My jaw just dropped. I'm still kicking myself for getting this game. They claim this game sticks to realism of the medieval times. I think it stinks unrealism at best. Expand
  3. DerekL
    Jun 20, 2009
    2
    9-word review *It's like TES 4 Oblivion, only a lot worse* What a horrible game! There is a collection of dull, boring, identical towns in the main game, punctuated by a castle. Pretty much every building is the same. The exception is the nordic towns, which have a layer of frost. Upon getting to a town, you can trade with them. Actually, you can't really do anything except loot 9-word review *It's like TES 4 Oblivion, only a lot worse* What a horrible game! There is a collection of dull, boring, identical towns in the main game, punctuated by a castle. Pretty much every building is the same. The exception is the nordic towns, which have a layer of frost. Upon getting to a town, you can trade with them. Actually, you can't really do anything except loot them. Buying and selling is really not possible, as only the 1 or 2 rich towns in a provence has any cash to trade with. Buying is also hard, as it is almost impossible to move around much without a high-leveled, instant death raider party that takes your cash and goods. The game grapples with basic collision detection and glitches are frequent. The awful tutorial only describes the action game meat - WASD to move, Left Mouse Button to swing sword, etc etc. It fails to describe things like flasing arrows on the screen. The one attempt at making a worthwile game was horse combat, which is much to easy - Hold Button, Run Up, Pray. And usually your prayers are answered by one-hit kills. The entire thing (bar horse combat) is like Oblivion on a somewhat larger scale. If you consider buying this game, know that your hard-earned $30.00 will be better spent on The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion -- it's the same game, only WORSE. Expand
  4. J.B.
    Oct 1, 2008
    3
    An unfinished game and big letdown by the developers in the final stages of the game creation. What was promised never was delivered. The final release is a disappointment to many. There is absolutely no diplomacy options or any true strategy options given to the player. Only play it if your friends have it. It does not support any multipleplayer either, which is so not hip.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Oct 21, 2008
    2
    The game is half-finished and very buggy. It was not ready for a retail release at all. TaleWorlds has stated that they do not plan to support this game at all. Even for an indie game, this is a scummy thing to do, and I'm angry I paid money for this thing.
  6. NightNinja
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    m&b sucks big time. I'd rather play something else. Too many bugs. There are games out there that plays better than this piece of crap!!!
  7. Hexxer
    Sep 27, 2008
    0
    Do yourself a favor, don't buy this game. The developers of this game seem to think that making a game is simply to create a simple engine without deep thoughts into the details which are so important. Ever seen horsemen climb steep rocky mountain terrain before? Here you will. Ever seen how developers get lazy at listening to your own ideas of a game you'd want to play and Do yourself a favor, don't buy this game. The developers of this game seem to think that making a game is simply to create a simple engine without deep thoughts into the details which are so important. Ever seen horsemen climb steep rocky mountain terrain before? Here you will. Ever seen how developers get lazy at listening to your own ideas of a game you'd want to play and slack off when releasing an unfinished game? Here you will. If you never played a single game in your life, you might like this game because you have zero experience in game. If you've been a gamer for most of your life, you'll find that Mount and Blade just plain sucks. It does not deliver what it promises. Expand
  8. Orion
    Sep 9, 2008
    1
    1 for trying. This game is utterly boring to play with even at its latest pre final version. Save your money on many better titles out there ie Empires Total War, epic and strategic. Mount and Blade is another mediocre attempt to be a RPG/strategy that fails horribly on many aspects; poor old graphics, AI sucks both your own and enemy, siege is a total joke (your army gets slaughtered 1 for trying. This game is utterly boring to play with even at its latest pre final version. Save your money on many better titles out there ie Empires Total War, epic and strategic. Mount and Blade is another mediocre attempt to be a RPG/strategy that fails horribly on many aspects; poor old graphics, AI sucks both your own and enemy, siege is a total joke (your army gets slaughtered trying to assault the enemy on a SINGLE ladder!), The gameplay doesn't help either. Poor thoughts into the interface too, it looks like an old VGA game. On top of it all, the tiny community that supports it are mostly paid to tell you that this game rocks when in fact it sucks big time. The first impression you'll get is that this game seems great, but after you played it, you'll see its ugly head. The devs simply wanted to put a game out there to make a quick buck. Playing it, you'll get the idea why. This game was created on a low budget/resources and it shows. Support better games, this is NOT one of them. Expand
  9. ArtM
    Sep 29, 2009
    2
    A solid 2/10 for this title. For once official reviewers are almost on target with their scoring. The game itself is unfinished. It's nowhere near "revolutionary" as some claimed it to be. The graphics is outdated. The gameplay is mediocre at best. There is no story, and therefore, no point. It's non-linear, but that's its downfall. Sieging is downright appalling as there A solid 2/10 for this title. For once official reviewers are almost on target with their scoring. The game itself is unfinished. It's nowhere near "revolutionary" as some claimed it to be. The graphics is outdated. The gameplay is mediocre at best. There is no story, and therefore, no point. It's non-linear, but that's its downfall. Sieging is downright appalling as there is no real strategy and no resemblance to the dark ages period where sieging equipments were often used to great extent to batter the gates and scaling walls from different angles to overwhelm the adversary. It's a butcher affair to siege at all. The most intriguing part of this game is when I see mounted men cross unpassable terrain like mountain ranges during certain mountaineous areas on the map. It looks so silly and almost unbearable. The sequel to this is called Warband and looks identical from the trailer. Of course, certain "new" elements are shown, but they definitely should habe been included to this installment. The AI curiously is as dumb as the one found with the TW series; units will ride into trees/stones/walls to get stuck instead of going around them. To do some justice, the saving grace of this title lies with the modding community who with extreme talent has saved this game from catching dust. I certainly will stay away from warband as it will be the same silliness with extra grease to it. Expand
  10. Person99hasnoname
    Nov 21, 2008
    4
    Decent gameplay, sadly mixed with mediocre graphics and annoying aspects. Starting with the graphics, the terrain itself is a bit bland, nothing special, but the characters, while high-poly, are badly detailed. Be prepared for textureless skin, wood that looks like carpet, and wounds that look like someone spilled mountian dew on the victim. The animations are amusingly bad, the horses Decent gameplay, sadly mixed with mediocre graphics and annoying aspects. Starting with the graphics, the terrain itself is a bit bland, nothing special, but the characters, while high-poly, are badly detailed. Be prepared for textureless skin, wood that looks like carpet, and wounds that look like someone spilled mountian dew on the victim. The animations are amusingly bad, the horses run in an unrealistic toy-like way, the characters walk like they were pulled out of Extreme Paint Brawler 2. The fighting style is definitely fun once you get the hang of it, but rather glitchy and annoying. There are several very annoying aspects of the game, here are a few: -When you get in a fight with looters, the sequence before the fight makes it seem like the enemies are up close mugging you, until you get in the game, realizing they were threatening you through a loud speaker, and are actually a couple miles away on the other side of the mountain, forcing you to locate them. I suppose they could be slightly honorable and say "Alright, we'll go to the other side of the mountain, you step back a couple hundred feet, and we'll settle this." Overall, the game is fun, maybe for a rent, but don't buy it. Expand
  11. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    I got Mount and Blade in a Steam sale, and it was so bad and so unplayable that it prompted me to come here and sign up just to say how bad it is. Now I like Strategy, RPG and 4x games as much as the next person, and plan to make my own one day (hence the purchase), but right from the start, this game is so unpolished, and the graphics are so bad that it really puts me off. But despiteI got Mount and Blade in a Steam sale, and it was so bad and so unplayable that it prompted me to come here and sign up just to say how bad it is. Now I like Strategy, RPG and 4x games as much as the next person, and plan to make my own one day (hence the purchase), but right from the start, this game is so unpolished, and the graphics are so bad that it really puts me off. But despite this I struggle through to find the good Sandbox Strategy gameplay that I've heard about..
    I enter a battle and can either look for them or run away cause enemies are miles away (but somehow upon leaving I still must surrender to them???); so I re-enter and eventually find them. I gallop towards them firing off one arrow then my crossbow stops working - literally nothing is happening when I'm pressing fire (the arrow hits the ground several meters below the targeting reticule anyway), so I run them down with my horse which does 0 damage, and they beat the crap out of me, meanwhile I'm trying desperately to turn my horse or run through them; anything (nothing is happening of course as the controls are unresponsive to say the least). I die and immediately uninstall the game.

    The game is beyond poor.

    Ignoring the poor graphics, abysmal animation, terrible controls, and complete lack of a decent tutorial, underneath it all.. the game is just plain bad.
    Expand
  12. Jul 15, 2014
    2
    Quite disapointing. On paper, it has good user reviews, is an innovative tactical game, and support linux... I jumped in too fast. While i can confirm all those pros, it is not enough to compensate various limitations.

    First, the graphics seems as old as the game theme ;) With every option activated, think about an engine like an high res quake 3 (1999), with low poly count, worse
    Quite disapointing. On paper, it has good user reviews, is an innovative tactical game, and support linux... I jumped in too fast. While i can confirm all those pros, it is not enough to compensate various limitations.

    First, the graphics seems as old as the game theme ;) With every option activated, think about an engine like an high res quake 3 (1999), with low poly count, worse lightmaps and a lot more repetitive texture. I'm not usually very judgmental about graphics, and I can play most retro roguelike games or "smartphone 3D" games but M&B fail to provide the minimum imersiveness that i can tolerate for 3D.

    Then, the controls and activities are neither newbie-friendly (I could not complete the TUTORIAL without using google), and character combat is clumsy without giving any depth to the gameplay in my humble opinion. I'm not saying it's hard, I like hard tactical games (XCOM...) or TES series action-oriented combat but I dont like them frustrating.

    I had unrealistic expectations when I saw the regular price and reviews. The regular price is quite extreme for an indy game with flaws that only medieval combat fanatics will be able to overlook. Any one else will find more value and fun in AAA games on sale or less ambitious but more polished and reasonably priced indy games.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. A Medieval action RPG with a great battle system, and there are many ways you can play the game. The game doesn't have a storyline, which is why it becomes a bit boring and pointless after a while, but it does have many good mods and they will keep the game fresh. [Sept 2008]
  2. A fantastic game. It's hampered by a few problems, but nothing major. It provides ground breaking gameplay that I am sure will be imitated by others.
  3. 100
    For a game with such a heavy emphasis on medieval combat, Mount & Blade is just shy of perfection.