NaissanceE PC

NaissanceE Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NaissanceE is a first person exploration PC game developed on UDK by Limasse Five with the participation of Pauline Oliveros, Patricia Dallio and Thierry Zaboitzeff. The adventure takes place in a primitive mysterious structure and the game mainly consists to explore and feel the deep andNaissanceE is a first person exploration PC game developed on UDK by Limasse Five with the participation of Pauline Oliveros, Patricia Dallio and Thierry Zaboitzeff. The adventure takes place in a primitive mysterious structure and the game mainly consists to explore and feel the deep and strong ambiance of this atemporal world but platforming and puzzles areas will also enrich the experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    80
    NaissanceE is not a horror game. Yet the hairs on the back of my neck were at attention for most of the 10 hours I spent in its world.
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    A long, mysterious journey across an alien world that eludes our logic and communicates with us through its architectural madness.
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    75
    As it is, the game still comes recommended...but only for non-epileptic players who have a high tolerance for frustration.
  4. GameStar
    Mar 11, 2014
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. NaissancE is a beautiful game, but without much direction it can feel like a never ending mire of running, jumping, and falling. That being said, is the game worth spending $20 on? Certainly.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    60
    NaissanceE is an intriguing game which mixes a fascinating atmosphere with platform and puzzle gameplay. It's a shame those checkpoints, too rare or misplaced, make you want to stop playing despite your really wanting to see the end.
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    45
    NaissanceE could’ve been a neat game but Limasse Five should’ve just stuck with making a cool artistic world and left the actual gameplay at home. I may have then complained that there wasn’t enough game in it, but at least I would have actually enjoyed it.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    I really really appreciated this game. I've loved so much the atmosphere.
    I liked the exploration, and the puzzles too. Even if puzzles are
    I really really appreciated this game. I've loved so much the atmosphere.
    I liked the exploration, and the puzzles too. Even if puzzles are quite simple.

    I liked the fact that you can move from a very little room to a huge and limitless environment.

    I've just a concern about the final; that I found difficult. But it's the end of a game, it's normal :)

    Special attention and congrats to all levels between 30% and 90% of the game.
    They are just "ouaaahhhh"
    Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    This game is a huge recommend. It's an amazing journey through a massive structure which feels of some alien design. Environmental navigationThis game is a huge recommend. It's an amazing journey through a massive structure which feels of some alien design. Environmental navigation and puzzles are very satisfying within the artsi and surreal, shades of grey pallet. Becomes a true test of mouse and keyboard prowess in the later stages. A true PC gamers must play. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    This game sets out to make you feel alone and it keeps it promise.
    On an emotional level this game really delivers.
    At first you explore
    This game sets out to make you feel alone and it keeps it promise.
    On an emotional level this game really delivers.

    At first you explore simple yet confined level structures that very soon give way to absolutely monumental feeling set pieces that will have you in awe.
    The art style is in itself consistent and works very well, especially when paired with the rather excellent audio design. This visual and acoustic experience seems to always matche perfectly.
    The game really manages to deliver a wide range of experiences and emotions, from feeling lost in a huge and fascinating world to adrenaline pumping action sequences and solving the occasional puzzle, it does it all very well.

    The one thing I especially enjoyed is the at times very clever level design. While being a linear game with areas for you to explore it never feels like it is linear. In fact, I could swear I was making my way through at random or at being driven by interesting set pieces.

    Don't however expect much of a story. Not in the traditional sense anyways. Whatever happened or happens is up to your imagination. That is a good thing though.

    All in all, if you're looking for a game that will take you on a bit of an emotional rollercoaster ride while making you feel small, forgotten and alone, then play it.

    The thing that stayed most with me is the level design. Simply brilliant.
    Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2015
    9
    Tier 1
    + One of the most visually stunning displays of level design ever created for a game
    + An innovative audio-visual experience that is
    Tier 1
    + One of the most visually stunning displays of level design ever created for a game
    + An innovative audio-visual experience that is compelling from beginning to end
    + A lot of unique and interesting puzzles that tie thematically to the gameplay and world
    ? Some questionable exploration elements with frequent dead-ends
    - Some markedly frustrating platforming gameplay can pull players out of the experience
    Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2015
    8
    the graphic and the gameplay feel outdated but it's good enough if you enjoy platformers
    it's nostalgic in some ways.
    I personally enjoy
    the graphic and the gameplay feel outdated but it's good enough if you enjoy platformers
    it's nostalgic in some ways.
    I personally enjoy it's frustrating dumbness because the atmosphere and the design is really good. In case you don't know Pauline Oliveros is a huge experimental music composer that does music since the 60's or so. She's part of modern music history and that was the main reason i tried this game.
    And as Arainami says so, An apparently famous manga artist did the level design. Which is to say minimalistic but intriguing enough to make you keep playing.
    Puzzles are based on variation of space, light and air. cool heh?

    i think you would enjoy this game mostly for aesthetics reasons. I has a strong poetic potential. It is far from perfect, gameplay wise, but still for the weird atmosphere and design, it deserve a try.
    Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    7
    even though i like the general idea, naissancee felt from time to time like being back in a minecraft cave. you know, a tunnel and the searcheven though i like the general idea, naissancee felt from time to time like being back in a minecraft cave. you know, a tunnel and the search for an exit deep in a mountain. that particular type of games which feel unfinished imo. i hope it is not another beginner interactive art project because it feels like gameplay and game design are secondary here, not mentioning the feeling that some levels or puzzles are unfinished Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    2
    It's much less breathtaking than it looks. The puzzles, at least during the first hour or so which was all I could endure, involve pressingIt's much less breathtaking than it looks. The puzzles, at least during the first hour or so which was all I could endure, involve pressing light switches to move floating light sources around that make certain platforms appear and disappear. At first it looks like a clever mechanic like Closure (but in 3D), but it's really just switches. In HUGE levels, with no particular idea of where you're supposed to be going or why. It isn't open exploration, there's a linear route - and it's just intentionally not marked out well, or indeed at all. It's like: if I crawl through this little space here and jump over these boxes I'm in the "next" area, which is much like the last one except the boxes are a different way round. The gigantic scale looks good, but it's dull to wander round it. Another game that had this problem was EYE: Divine Cybermancy - if you've played the particular couple of maps in that with vast outdoor areas that take five minutes to walk across but have nothing to interact with or particularly look at on the way, that's pretty much NaissanceE. Only, without anything to do at the end of the long walk, or anything to look at on the way other than grey boxes.

    Another puzzle that annoyed me early on involved navigating down a big grey "lift shaft" type thing by hopping from ledge to ledge (long drops kill you forcing a return to the last save), and the puzzle is that the only available light source slowly drifts up and down the middle of the "lift shaft" so that you have to wait 30 seconds between each jump. I hate it when games make things difficult in the game that would be easy if you were physically there - and in this case could feel for the sheer drops at the edges of the ledges.

    I'm being really down on this game. It does have a moody, mysterious atmosphere going for it. But probably so would Halo if you removed the plot and replaced all the scenery with grey boxes and put a sort of pixelly filter over the front of everything. And it could well have profound spiritual revelations waiting further into the game, about loneliness, or whether anything means anything... but I just have a creeping suspicion that I could get the same revelations by walking around a shopping mall at night wearing dark glasses. They seem to be patching it lots, and it's a genuine indie not a cynical cash-in, I could just have done with more freedom to get lost walking round a huge grey building, the linearity at the start was a huge disappointment. Back to Anti-Chamber for me!
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews