NBA 2K13 PC

Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 4, 2013
    92
    Thanks to the online features that work flawlessly, the magnificent commentaries and perfect gameplay, as well as the variety of historic rosters and Olympic teams, NBA 2K13 is undoubtedly a classic hit in the sports games genre. [February 2013]
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    91
    Gorgeous, immersive and packed with game modes, NBA 2K13 is one poorly designed keyboard setup away from b-ball glory.
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    91
    With such smooth, realistic gameplay held together by truly astounding presentation – meaning Jay Z's intros, the series' dead-on perfect animations, and note-perfect commentary – it's hard not to love and appreciate NBA 2K13 if you have any affinity for pro basketball whatsoever.
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    81
    NBA 2K13 is very smart game that offers so many tactical possibilities.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    0
    Heavily scripted, plays make no sense most of the times, and only shines in a few spots (ignore the garbage reviewers say about lookingHeavily scripted, plays make no sense most of the times, and only shines in a few spots (ignore the garbage reviewers say about looking `realìstic``, thats absolute bs, that`s marketing $$ talk), still enjoying the fact that there's no real competition out there for it. Oh and the GM talk, roflmao, what a joke. Gj 2k, this will be my last copy. Full Review »
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    0
    Very disappointing that the PC version isn't supported by 2k and is missing a lot of things that come in the console versions.Very disappointing that the PC version isn't supported by 2k and is missing a lot of things that come in the console versions.

    http://www.nba-live.com/nba-2k13-pc-differences-from-console-versions/
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    Besides a few good things, this game gets old pretty fast. A person who knows how basketball works will not enjoy this game as it could not beBesides a few good things, this game gets old pretty fast. A person who knows how basketball works will not enjoy this game as it could not be much further from the real thing.

    GAMEPLAY

    OFFENCE: First of all, teammates are blithering idiots. I've come across many occasions where a player had a completely open shot, which he decided not to take, only to drive into four players taking a stupid looking contact shot. I've yet to see one of those go down. Another problem is when you call for screens. For a dozen times at least, my teammate literally ran into me, leaving me no place to go but into the defender.

    Passing system (or the lack thereof) NEEDS A COMPLETE OVERHAUL. Can't stress this enough. No matter what I try, if a defensive player wants to steal a pass, he will. Leading a player as you pass does not work in the slightest. Passing needs a dedicated stick (for those like me, who use an XBOX 360 controller on the PC). Here's an idea; left stick dedicated to dribbling like in the previous year's game and right stick for passing.

    DEFENCE: Locking someone down is near impossible. Your controlled player moves like he has a walking stick somewhere lodged in him. Changes direction like a truck. I should be able to control my momentum more effectively, without having to wait a full second each time I want to change my direction. Also, stealing mechanics are absolute GARBAGE. The times I've been called a reach-in foul for no reason are numerous. Forced me to stop going for on-ball steals. That is just wrong. Which actually does not matter much because anyone can turn into a GOD OF STEALS by playing the passing lanes. A random player could make Gary Payton look like a terrible defender.

    Teammates, again, are morons. Forget about a 1 on 1 stop, anywhere, they will just get out of the way. The only stops I have seen are a few blocks, and the times the offensive player dribbles like a 10 year old kid into the defender, dropping the ball.

    MODES

    The "My Career" mode feels life playing numerous exhibitions as the game tries to suck up to you, pampering you in a few different ways. No late 1st round pick should be labeled "FUTURE OF THE NBA" after a handful of games. A GM or a fan should be able to tell me "You're a useless player, shut up and get out". And the interviews, absolutely pointless. Development system could be much more realistic. Playing Blacktop games shouldn't earn you SP (which allows you to upgrade your statistics). And most importantly, you should get some SP from the sponsorship deals, magazine covers etc.

    Other modes, I can't say much about. I did not have enough time to play them.

    One more thing to say would be the lack of an All-Star weekend on the PC. One of the most exciting events to watch in real life, 2K decides to leave out.

    DESIGN

    A basketball game being produced by Jay Z does not mean much for me. I prefer a good basketball game produced by......Big Bird to a bad basketball game produced by Jay Z. In-game presentation graphics could be better. I think 2K should consider making it more like a TV broadcast.

    OTHER POINTS and POSITIVES

    I really like the commentating. Besides a few occasions they did not annoy me, which is all I can ask from game commentators these days. Pre-game introductions are okay, could be improved by adding player-by-player introductions like before real NBA games. Shoe creator is an interesting but welcome addition.

    OVERALL

    I love basketball but this game fails to reflect the beauty of the game, it just tries to. I can appreciate the effort given to detail. You can tell people in 2KSports have really tried to make this as detailed as possible, but failed to deliver in the most important parts. Maybe they need some competiton?
    Full Review »