User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 370

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Game Is My Personal Favourite ,,,,, The Storyline Plot Was Brilliant .... Graphics Are Great ....
    Police Pursuits Love Em . Car Selection In This Game Was Excellent .... I Cant Praise How Much I Love This Game .....No Other Need For Speed Game Has Come Even Close To Being Better Than Most Wanted .... And I Doubt There Ever Will ....
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    4
    The reborn of the worst NFS! Again, only it's musics are great. Good graphics, no physics (not as bad in Underground), the cars are good, fair controlling (not always), almost always the same "tracks" (not as bad in Underground), the cops are weak and idiot until phase number 4, then they are strong like Duke Nukem, irritating traffic, bad and cheating AI. Not as bad as NFS:U, but it's not a good racing game. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The best in the NFS series, great story and cast of characters, excellent graphics, and youre going to love the police pursuits.After playing NFS hot pursuit, Carbono, and the Run, Most Wanted beat'em all.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The one the only original and best NFS is now my to review. NFS MW is the 9th NFS game and it is really really great, the storyline is basicly epic and the graphics, the cops chasing after, making them fools of themselves, I know you can't do to cops what you can in GTA but this is NFS its a racing game and the best one out there in book. The thing I just don't understand is why did it have to be rebooted its so stupid, but Im going to review the new Most Wanted soon. The fight between any NFS game for the title best NFS game are really 5 NFS (Carbon, Underground, Most Wanted, Hot Pursuit and NFS World) that's real stupid all of them are great except for World because, I'll review it soon so you will know why. NFS MW has great songs but as good as Underground 2. I will give Most Wanted, 10/10. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    This game was one of the first I got on my PS2 and I still play it today.

    The open world is incredibly varied and really fun to just explore. The police chases get so intense but you can nearly always escape and not get caught. The car selection is great and the storyline is actually quite engrossing for a racing game and compared to Criterion's most recent version of the game which
    doesn't even have a storyline!

    Yes the physics could be better but to be honest when you're having as much fun as I usually have playing it you don't care about that.
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted is by no means a bad game, but it doesn't necessarily bring anything new to the table in terms of racing games. The gameplay is much less repetitive than any other racing game I've played to date, and the gameplay is much tougher than most racing games (due to the inability to hit civilian cars). It's purely fun, with good customization and fun racing. It's worth the time to check it out. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent ..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  8. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    really fun and BETTER THAN THE NEW MOST WANTED has great customiaztion and free roam also a very long game great cops aswell ONE OF THE GOAT GAMES everyone shuld play
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    definitely the best pc arcade racing game of the last decade.

    superb car handling, wonderfully adjusted challenging competitors, a story that pumps you up and beautiful car selection.
  10. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I actually liked this game because it's all racing and stuff, but there are different reasons too. Cops are chasing you, you can race against bosses and you fight t[he way to get your car back. Beginning is kind of boring but the rest of the game is awesome! Also there are some areas you got to unlock liked in Need For Speed Underground and I like it. The only thing that I might not really like is that when you trying to get enough objectives complete and then you got to beat the boss, when you get to the top ten it's getting boring that you being chased by the cops and when you finally escape, you got to do it again because there are not enough points. Collapse
  11. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    I remember the game its own story, not repeatable races. As well as a lovely atmosphere. However one of the best in the series. This superb unique colorful game deserves pohvolu and 10 points
  12. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game was the best need for speed out of all of them. the graphics amazing for a game made nine years ago and has a career mode that is simply outstanding. as well as the challenge series which includes a black edition heavy SUV police pursuit challenge where you have to outrun heavy SUVs whilst accumulating a bounty of over $500,000. when i tried it i accumulated a bounty of over $2,300,000.
    unfortunately it did not contain the Nissan skyline R34, one of my favourite cars from need for speed. so i could not give this a ten
    Expand
  13. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    Need for Speed ​​Most Wanted is one of the best titles in the series, maybe even the best. An interesting story, great gameplay, honestly, what you want more? For me it is the best in the entire series. This game really worth playing.
  14. Jul 10, 2011
    5
    I won't even bother to read the manual, don't know what it takes to win the race against the cops (in all the hot pursuit modes). But this game is too easy, I can speed for half an hour without getting caught by the cops in all the game modes and tracks/circuits. When I won the race and I don't even know what happened or what the rules are, I just keep on speeding around and around until I won! Too easy to master as how to outrun, evade and dodge the rocketeering cops ... but infact some of them (bulldog SUV 4x4 times two) shot into your sportcar like a rocket. This game is meant for arcade fun, only 2/5 of it is for realism. I can see how hard it is to make a decent game, well at least EA has tried and scored well for fun only. Still I see no Sea Harrier jump jet firing rockets. No good to keep the Maori waiting for their fried chicken, too long and them would strike with their fists on the counter. Let's hope these game makers are not white, because there are white supremacists out there who don't want to see any of their white *rses failed! Expand
  15. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    One of the classic racing games. This has everything going for it. Awesome police chases, a wide variety of cars (some of the best cars that you will ever see). The AI is good (Level 5 cops are good). This is one game which you can play over and over again and not get bored. I think this is the last NFS that I actually played as the ones after this were just not true to the NFS name. An absolute must play if you like racing games. Expand
  16. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    In Need For Speed Most Wanted like in previous two games you will be a street racer. But this time you will be an agent that turns into street racer. You will have a solid, quite big free roam. Your guide through the game will be Mia and Razor, the bad one who is just frightening you. There are some faster cars than the previous two games. The graphics are quite good. You have to defeat all 15 blacklist members, the first ones are easy to defeat but the later ones are harder to beat. Sadly though tuning is a bit worse than Need For Speed Underground 2. In this game there is police too. Someone will like it and someone not. Story is good and easy to understand. There are some cut scenes in this game but many of you wanted more of them. But this game is quite good and everyone who likes fast driving and police chases on the streets, this game is for you. Expand
  17. Jul 17, 2011
    6
    Without a full night of sleep and rarely played this game, on the Challenge Series 68/68 driving the green colored Lamborghini I lasted over 1 hour with $12M bounty, so this game is not hard at all. There are loop holes in this game, such as you can beat the police pursuits more easily by speeding past the inside of the sport stadium and the streets nearby. The first 10 minutes really makes me sleepy evading those white colored police Corvettes, as I needed to stopped still to wait for the cops driving the Corvettes to catch up with me once or twice per "lap". After the cops overshot a sharp turn I crawls in very low speed for another "bull fight", too many time the "bulls" overshot around a sharp turn. Pushing or lure the speedy cops into the opposite-lane traffics are fun and easy. Yes, they're only game makers, they're no the masterful game players, but I bet they'll be inhuman one day! Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Need for Speed at its best. Everything you could ever want is here. A decent backstory, lengthy singleplayer, free roam, cop chases (which are the best part of the game- very intense), challenges in the Black Edition, nice choice of cars, great soundtrack, beautiful graphics with very distinct and modern lighting, fun and arcade. You get deep visual customisation along with performance upgrades and even some simple tuning on the go. Cars do feel very different and personal. Everything in this game is just solid gold. The events are varied and of just the right difficulty- especially the tollbooth ones where it can get intense trying to reach the last one with seconds to spare and cops on your tail. The length of events is perfect, the progression is well-paced. The city is large and very much suited to the kind of racing and cop chases you will engage in, with long highways, off-road shortcuts and tight city streets. Not only are the foundations solid, but everything in it is utilised and exploited to the fullest extent. Multiplayer is there too with a good range of game modes and stages. Controls work just as well on keyboard as they do on a controller. The sounds - everything from the engine, tyres and police radio and even voice acting - are imaculate. The only reason I can't give it a 10 out of 10 is because it doesn't do anything revolutionary or extraordinarily ahead of its time. It's a really well-made game for its time but nothing that's mind-blowing or unbelievable. Expand
  19. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    Playing a Need for Speed game for the storyline is like smoking when you're hungry: you get nowhere. Also, once you play a Need for Speed, you played all of them, from the very first to the most recent. However, with this one being the only one i have after reading people's opinion on the web that is the last great apisode in the series, i have to admit that, apart from graphics, nothing really improved in the more recent ones. From here i'll jump right to Midnight Club: Los Angeles. When i'll get a PS3, that is. For now, this NFS gets an 8 for general internet opinion and because it still looks good. Expand
  20. Apr 10, 2012
    7
    A good Need for speed with graphics succeeded well enough to play the new generation. A story mode pretty lazy, but the gameplay is complete.A good Need for speed with graphics succeeded well enough to play the new generation. A story mode pretty lazy, but the gameplay is complete. This is more sophisticated Need for Speed â
  21. Apr 18, 2012
    4
    Mediocre. Getting chased by the cops is fun for 1 hour. Racing with your friends on LAN is fun for another hour. After that, there is little to like. For me, the lack of realism and innovation is what stops this from being good. Ok if you can get it for £1
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    What i have come to find after a day of playing it is that the controls are inconsistent due to the nature of switching between steering regularly and drifting. The controls feel mostly solid until your turning hard and then its like the game thinks your trying to drift. Then when you need to turn the other way for the next turn, its slow as hell to respond.

    The handbreak is frustrating
    as well because sometimes it gets you into a great long drift, and other times it feels like it doesn't do a damn thing...

    My next quibble is the unrelenting, magical cops. One second, after finally getting to the cooldown, im trying to keep my distance from the cops behind me, when 3 cops appear in front of me on the map - so what do i do!?!?!? i make the next turn to evade both front and rear pursuers and BAM
    a magical SUV barricade.

    Third - EVERY SINGLE THING you touch makes you wreck. Taps from drivers next to you "push" you into the wall as if they made you steer into the wall?????

    I really wanted to like this game but i feel like it's currently unbalanced.
    I haven't been 100% happy with a NFS game since they started juggling developers. MW1 was great, though it lacked the customization of the previous games.
    I'm not opposed to a challenge. A game that's well balanced AND challenging is fun.
    This feels like "Oh your gonna go this way... HA take 2 ARMORED CARS UP YOU ***"
    It feels like a big **** you when you try to make progress in it.

    The graphics are awesome, but the framerate is choppy no matter what, again, "currently" even with an i7 4GHz 12GB ram GTX 680 4GB Vertex 4 SSD and ALL GFX SET TO LOW OR OFF (except for HD textures). really...? (oh and the on screen prompts/ blinding lens effects regularly disturb your view, which can feel like a cheap trick to make you crash...)

    The variety of vehicles is nicely balanced so that you rarely see more than 2 of the same vehicle in a race (with exceptions from time to time)

    I think after some tweaking, balancing and optimizations it could be a lot of fun, because i did have fun when none of those issues arose. For now i'm going back to Borderlands 2, Euro Truck Simulator 2, Dishonored and Darksiders II.
    Expand
  23. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    This game is still the best NFS in the series and it's 7 years after its release. The storyline was extremely addictive, the graphics are awesome and the gameplay is just perfect. It has a nice variety of cars, that will lead you to #1. on the blacklist. Make sure to patch your game or else you'll suffer with the game crashing often and other issues. But otherwise is game is perfect! I give it a 10. Expand
  24. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This game is my favourite game. I think that it's the best game ever. Great graphics, great race and even
    great plot.................I have no words.........Just brilliant game!
  25. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    My review went to the wrong game, please ignore my mistake as I was intending to review the 2012 edition of Need for Speed: Most Wanted the one by Criterion Studios.
  26. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Far superior to it's latest version by Criterion. Better story, better visuals even though the graphics are slightly weaker, full tuning, great variety of cars and more realism. It was just a perfect balance, although it could use a bit more realism in certain parts, this game cannot be classified as an arcade-racer unlike the utterly-rubbish Criterion version.
  27. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    *Steering wheel* *Gas&Break* *Beamer with good projection*

    You're ready to RIDE!

    I've not been a fan of games or racing games before, but Need For Speed: Most Wanted is just too cool! It takes you in, makes you addicted within minutes (or seconds At first you really need to learn to drive, and make sure the sensitivity of your steering wheel is right. Once you get the feeling, it's
    amazing and just really really well done!

    After losing your car in a race, you'll have to win in back by beating the racers on the Blacklist. Slowly you work your way up, beating the rivals and the cops! It all feels really realistic and it's cool how you'll get to know the world you're driving in.

    Plus you get to pimp your ride :)

    Only minus would be that there isn't enough of it Oh and there are no people on the streets... would be cool to smash people lol

    Anyways, I highly recommend this game!
    Expand
  28. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Po prvi put priča u obliku kvalitetno izvedenih animacija, mnogo auta, utrka sa policijom i bosovima...................................................
  29. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    This game is my childhood. Need for Speed Most Wanted is probably the best streetracing game I've ever played. It has good story, amazing gameplay, decent graphics by its release time, and great police mode. And we shouldn't forget the car customization, which in my opinion offers the best tuning options I've tried. Very nice.
  30. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    There are many features that interesting for me. Moderate excellent cars, hard pursuit and moderate tuning feature, which the custom of cars is not hard. But it has medium graphics, bad song and long circuit track that can worst a lot of time.
  31. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    Good game different assortments with difficult pursuits and a solid black list challenge. Cars are varied, muscle cars, exotics and tuners, you can keep one for a long time as long as you keep upgrading it such as keeping a Punto near the end and changing it for something better since it lacks top speed without specific unique parts (called Junkman parts). The city is nicer than most other NFS series and even than some more modern ones it's the same one used in part on NFSW and it helps to keep in mind about shortcuts and still I don't know everywhere yet. Daylight racing is specially interesting in compartison to the Underground series and it adds up with good graphics for it's age and are not too resource intensive. The pursuits are really difficult near the end with Spikestrips and Corvettes as pursuit vehicles. Expand
  32. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    One of the bests nfs, the history was really nice, the gameplay and graphics really good too, and who doesn't like the most epic car from nfs, the M3? It's just really nice, i really recommend it, if you're a fan from the nfs you will like this one.
  33. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Best NFS ever made! Great gameplay, music, choice of cars and tuning. Everything in this game is perfect. Thanks to cops, you can play this game for longer time, then underground 2. Only thing I dont like about this game, is that it should be longer, and have more cars :)
  34. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    I remember playing this game in 2005 as a 10 year old boy and loving everything about it: -soundtrack was AMAZING, best by far alongside Underground 2 -story might be simplistic by trying to be the best, but still was awesome and had intrigue early on and made you want to earn your BADASS BMW M3 back! -open world city to drive... NUF SAID! -cool customization and awesome rewards for beating bosses... pink slips were the most awesome to get for the bosse's ride with its unique paintjob

    Simply put: THE BEST RACING GAME EVER all around!
    Expand
  35. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    This is Need For Speed at it´s best. Best part ever. The graphics are still good, even compared to new racing games because some new racing game graphics are surreal (too many annoying lights and stupid special effects). It could be a 10 of 10 but a little bit more of a simulation and less arcade racing would have been better.
  36. Dec 22, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers. I actually liked this game because it's all racing and stuff, but there are different reasons too. Cops are chasing you, you can race against bosses and you fight t[he way to get your car back. Beginning is kind of boring but the rest of the game is awesome! Also there are some areas you got to unlock liked in Need For Speed Underground and I like it. The only thing that I might not really like is that when you trying to get enough objectives complete and then you got to beat the boss, when you get to the top ten it's getting boring that you being chased by the cops and when you finally escape, you got to do it again because there are not enough points. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 85
    The stylistic presentation and graphic sensibilities are impressive, and they're complemented by excellent engine sound effects and smart cop chatter.
  2. 85
    The nod back to the cop chase mechanics of the Hot Pursuit games is certainly welcome, plus it's interesting to see that the vaunted "open" gameplay of the last two games has been dialed down by a more forcibly linear structure to keep things interesting.
  3. 90
    Making a name for youself by climbing the game's Black List, aka series of bad-ass mo-fos you must beat, is good fun.