Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 345 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F, Porsche 911 GT2 and Lotus Elise. Players are thrust into the loud, intense, and athletic experience of racing a car from the driver's perspective through the combination of perception based G-forces, the hyper reality of the cockpit view, and the all-new brutally disorienting crash dynamic. Need for Speed SHIFT features an accurate, accessible physics-based driving model that allows you to feel every impact, every change of track surface and every last bit of grip as you push yourself to the edge. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Go, NfS! I had serious doubts about this one, but it delivers like a Porsche.
  2. It's both a genre leading racing sim and a mass market EA game at the same time, which is a particularly difficult balancing act to pull off. Shift is easily the best driving game so far this year and will certainly be in amongst the likes of Forza 3 (and possibly GT5, if it emerges) when the brake dust from 2009 settles.
  3. An excellent balancing act between arcade racing and simulated driving, with shudderingly fast cars. [Dec 2009, p.102]
  4. Need for Speed: Shift has found the right direction once again. The race feeling with the most cars is fantastic and the game looks great. There is enough to do and the experience system invites the player to do races more than once.
  5. SHIFT doesn't offer anything ground-breakingly new (despite the awesome Cockpit-View), but doesn't do anything important wrong either. So if you are longing for a solid Racing-Simulation with good graphics: go get it! But keep in mind that Forza3, Race On and GT5 are already on the horizon.
  6. Need For Speed: Shift is a brilliant new start for the franchise and has clearly been built by a team that loves racing.
  7. Tailor-made to please its boy-racer target audience, but if you want more sophistication in your racing go back to GRID. [Dec 2009, p.93]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 103
  2. Negative: 46 out of 103
  1. DaveA
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Everybody who rates this game below 6 are idiots. Judging from their description of their experiences they have configured their controller improperly and that's not the game's fault. This game provides the best racing experience of any racing video game up to date. Expand
  2. Philip
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    Jim twotimes is just plain lying... there ARE replays and you CAN skip the cut scenes! Not sure what game he was playing; and as for the the frame-rate maybe it's your PC which is the problem!? Cause on my 'recommended-spec' PC it works perfectly with everything on high. Be more accurate before you feed garbage to people who visit the site. As for SHIFT, it's not perfect, but it comes very very close! Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    I Need For Speed ​​Series goes to another level. He enters the world of simulators and makes very good appearance. Physics are very real, honestly, I really like. And yes .. I think that is one of the longest game in the series. Expand
  4. MugrosDNM
    Sep 18, 2009
    6
    With a Metascore of 85% and a user rating of 4.5 there has to be something fishy here. After the first races if have to say that i can't support the high Metascore. The games has some serious issues: - The AI Even after a very bad first race i was classified as Experienced, so i set it to Pro :) With the AI set to Medium i was easily seconds ahead. With the AI on Hard i was still doing good. Well, not all the time, read on. - The handling Well, on the first tracks i did good. On the last of the first 5 the car handled very different and i had almost no chance of winning. So i went back and set the driver level back to Experienced. Now it was just too easy to drive around. It is also a balance issue. If you set it to Experienced it is too easy. If you set it to Pro it is too hard. - more handling I know that early cars are not really good, but on the later tracks my RX8 felt really bad on Pro. No matter what i did it was spinning almost all the time. Little error here, spin, little error there, spin. In the winding and tight tracks it was useless. It felt like the game just wants to spin you and there is simply no chance of recovering. - even more handling i normally use the hood camera, but the game starts with the cockpit cam. What i immediately noticed was the sluggish response of the steering wheel. It responded like it was pulled by a rubber string. And this is exactly how the driving feels. This makes it even harder to try to catch the car's rear. And many times the car was just swinging from one side to the other like an old car. With full level 1 upgraded on a sports car this shouldn't happen. I have driven Colin McRae Dirt and GRID where the response is perfect. These are proper racing games. The car response is direct and you can immediately feel the reaction of the car to your action on the controls. Then you can struggle with the track, you improve yourself, you race the opponents. In NFSS you struggle with the handling mostly. I don't feel like i am racing, more like a test driver in a bad car. I can't concentrate on the race because the car feels so bad. But a big disappointment is the way NFS is going. I played all PC NFS titles and it was a great series. But it was going downhill. In the beginning NFS was about racing on public roads with sport/supercars, also against the police. Now it is closed circuit racing, which is rather boring. I can't understand how editors can say that it catches the spirit of NFS. It doesn't. Expand
  5. Jimtwotimes
    Sep 17, 2009
    4
    Awful game, no replays, unskippable cut scenes, cant quit the first race, wont alt+enter for win mode, very poor presentation, frame rate all over the place, etc, etc.. There is a good game in here, but everything surrounding the racing is sub par, and not up to what we expect in 2009. Expand
  6. JohnC
    Nov 30, 2009
    2
    This was a huge disappointment. The cars do not drive well; the AI drivers are terrible slowing down way too much at turns; and when you do inevitably hit another car, the collision physics is embarrassing. It is not a fun game to play at all. The cockpit view is unimpressive and the effects are forced. If you want to play a game with a great cockpit, try Dirt2. Expand
  7. DiegoN
    Sep 17, 2009
    0
    It's bad even for Electronic-Arts-console-game standards. Bad optimization, lack of realism, I hope crisis will soon finish EA and his shareholders. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews