Need for Speed: Shift PC

Need for Speed: Shift Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 386 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F,Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F, Porsche 911 GT2 and Lotus Elise. Players are thrust into the loud, intense, and athletic experience of racing a car from the driver's perspective through the combination of perception based G-forces, the hyper reality of the cockpit view, and the all-new brutally disorienting crash dynamic. Need for Speed SHIFT features an accurate, accessible physics-based driving model that allows you to feel every impact, every change of track surface and every last bit of grip as you push yourself to the edge. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 90
    A glorious return to greatness (and even excellence) for EA's seminal racing franchise. Slightly Mad Studios has delivered a driving experience that, while not completely accurate in terms of its simulation aspects, is practically dead-on in terms of what it's like to race around some of the world's best racing circuits.
  2. It's both a genre leading racing sim and a mass market EA game at the same time, which is a particularly difficult balancing act to pull off. Shift is easily the best driving game so far this year and will certainly be in amongst the likes of Forza 3 (and possibly GT5, if it emerges) when the brake dust from 2009 settles.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    87
    An excellent balancing act between arcade racing and simulated driving, with shudderingly fast cars. [Dec 2009, p.102]
  4. Need for Speed: Shift has found the right direction once again. The race feeling with the most cars is fantastic and the game looks great. There is enough to do and the experience system invites the player to do races more than once.
  5. SHIFT doesn't offer anything ground-breakingly new (despite the awesome Cockpit-View), but doesn't do anything important wrong either. So if you are longing for a solid Racing-Simulation with good graphics: go get it! But keep in mind that Forza3, Race On and GT5 are already on the horizon.
  6. Need for Speed: Shift fills an interesting niche for a gamer looking for a light-hearted action racer masquerading as something serious.
  7. PC Format
    71
    Tailor-made to please its boy-racer target audience, but if you want more sophistication in your racing go back to GRID. [Dec 2009, p.93]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 107
  2. Negative: 46 out of 107
  1. DaveA
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Everybody who rates this game below 6 are idiots. Judging from their description of their experiences they have configured their controller Everybody who rates this game below 6 are idiots. Judging from their description of their experiences they have configured their controller improperly and that's not the game's fault. This game provides the best racing experience of any racing video game up to date. Expand
  2. JohnB.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    An awful lot of moning minnies out there and as far as i can see completely unfounded! Granted i am playing the game on quite a high spec pc An awful lot of moning minnies out there and as far as i can see completely unfounded! Granted i am playing the game on quite a high spec pc with a G25 wheel but surely the console versions cant be that different! I go home pop this on and emerse into a world of realistic racing genious every night laughing my ass of half the time at the mayhem surrounding me. The game isnt easy but neither is the real thing! It takes practice skill and wit and the rewards are also realistic. Ive never really been a fan of electronic arts...until now. GENTLEMEN START YOUR ENGINES. Expand
  3. BeneF
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    Reviews with 0 are ridiculous. All I can say from my experience is, that with a good racing wheel (using the thrustmaster rgt) and a bit Reviews with 0 are ridiculous. All I can say from my experience is, that with a good racing wheel (using the thrustmaster rgt) and a bit setting-customizing the games handling (even with aids completely turned off) is in no way unplayable. Its challenging, yes. But please come on: get a grip all you cowards. Expand
  4. IsaacM.
    Sep 28, 2009
    6
    I would have given it 9/10 if it could run on 4870 the way it run on GTS 250, but bugs are PC user`s way of life. Has terrible AI and super I would have given it 9/10 if it could run on 4870 the way it run on GTS 250, but bugs are PC user`s way of life. Has terrible AI and super cars are not realistic, e.g Bugati beaten by a Zonda and muscle cars are undriveable. Compared to Grid, the game is big and has replayable value, but it looks to be a rushed job. To be honest, with all problems i enjoyed it and playing it on higher difficulty second time around and am more experienced to deal with the AI and the racing line Expand
  5. AdenC
    Sep 20, 2009
    4
    This game is absolute horse manure. When I heared there was a new Need for Speed game out I was quite excited, I was expecting an arcade This game is absolute horse manure. When I heared there was a new Need for Speed game out I was quite excited, I was expecting an arcade style thriller similar to the likes of Underground one and two or carbon. When I actually played the game however I soon realised that this is a completely different game probably designed by a team that doesn't even know the makers of underground and carbon. The game itself is a poor atempt at a realistic racing simulator game. The whole engine is fataly flawed, the cars handel worse than any vehicle I have ever come across, the graphics seem like they are modern graphics pasted on to an outdated engine and the in game loading times are ridiculous especially when you think about what it is you're waiting for. A game that I generously gave a 4/10. It is unclear what style the design team were going for when creating this game and I suspect this game is the result of too many ideas with poor implementation. In summary I would recommend this game to no one, it is a waste of money and the Need for Speed franchise need to realise we dont want games like Shift or even pro street, we want games like underground or most wanted. If you are looking for a fun arcade racing classic go for Race Driver Grid (PC). If on the other hand you are looking for a realistic driving sim GTR2 Evolution (PC) is not great but alot better than this. On the other hand if you own an Xbox get Forza 2. Expand
  6. JohnC
    Nov 30, 2009
    2
    This was a huge disappointment. The cars do not drive well; the AI drivers are terrible slowing down way too much at turns; and when you do This was a huge disappointment. The cars do not drive well; the AI drivers are terrible slowing down way too much at turns; and when you do inevitably hit another car, the collision physics is embarrassing. It is not a fun game to play at all. The cockpit view is unimpressive and the effects are forced. If you want to play a game with a great cockpit, try Dirt2. Expand
  7. DiegoN
    Sep 17, 2009
    0
    It's bad even for Electronic-Arts-console-game standards. Bad optimization, lack of realism, I hope crisis will soon finish EA and his It's bad even for Electronic-Arts-console-game standards. Bad optimization, lack of realism, I hope crisis will soon finish EA and his shareholders. Expand

See all 107 User Reviews