Need for Speed: Undercover Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a uniqueNeed for Speed Undercover has players racing through speedways, dodging cops and chasing rivals as they go deep undercover to take down an International crime syndicate. The game heralds the return of high-intensity police chases and introduces the all-new 'Heroic Driving Engine' -- a unique technology that generates incredible high-performance moves at 180 miles per hour during breathtaking highway battles. A mix of computer graphics and live-action movies immerses gamers in the rich world of the Tri-City Bay Area. The city’s open-world environment features over 80 miles of roads, including an enormous highway system that sets the stage for highway battles. These high-speed, high-stake chase sequences push players to the limit as they fight off cops and opponents while whipping through traffic at 180 miles per hour. An intelligent new A.I. mechanic delivers a realistic and high-energy action driving experience. Going back to the franchise’s roots, Need for Speed Undercover features more aggressive and intelligent cops whose sole purpose is to take down the player quickly and by any means necessary. Need for Speed Undercover also features the series' signature car customization, real-world damage and realistic driving physics. The game includes some of the hottest licensed cars such as the Audi R8, BMW M6 and Lexus IS-F. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Gamers.at
    84
    Undercover is significantly more fun than ProStreet and offers far more long-time playing motivation as well. [Issue#17]
  2. It hurts to say it but, “the need for speed” is lacking in this latest rendition.
  3. Instead of being some kind of "Best of" Need for Speed: Underground is nothing more than an uninspired generic racing game with high hardware requirements. It's a good game, but still very disappointing, because the good parts of the game are just like in NfS: Most Wanted and the new bits don't work very well.
  4. PC Zone UK
    68
    Gets boring quickly. [Feb 2009, p.82]
  5. PC Gamer UK
    62
    Neither the need or the speed. [Jan 2009, p.82]
  6. The game modes are not particularly intense, and the vehicles, although very detailed, fail to offer the feeling from the best of the series.
  7. 50
    Need for Speed Undercover is a poor game with a ton of problems, both technically and in terms of design.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 47
  2. Negative: 24 out of 47
  1. sdfsdfsdfdsdf
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good goodgood good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good Collapse
  2. Feb 12, 2018
    9
    A very good racing game, and almost my top pick in the need for speed series. Amazing visuals considering it's release date. The controls,A very good racing game, and almost my top pick in the need for speed series. Amazing visuals considering it's release date. The controls, game-play and mechanics of the game where very polished and felt really good. The story was also pretty cliche, but was pretty well done with live action cut-scenes. The only thing that was frustrating most of the time was the AI. It's wasn't nearly as polished as in previous need for speed games. Expand
  3. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun andThis game... I don't see what's so bad about it. The physics are unrealistic and the story is just bad, but the racing itself is fun and there's plenty of it. Both the sprints and circuits are enjoyable and the checkpoint races get to be a bit challenging. As in every NFS title the cars are customizable and great in themselves. The graphics were great (and my system is not high-end). The only thing I didn't like was that the cop chases do get monotonous after a while, and once you get to the level where they start sending Feds it becomes unreasonably hard. But all in all, it's not a bad game. Expand
  4. TonyGrosinger
    Nov 30, 2008
    4
    Great cars and looks real nice. Cops are unreasonably fast however and very stupid. On all cop chases you will be driving along andGreat cars and looks real nice. Cops are unreasonably fast however and very stupid. On all cop chases you will be driving along and instantly spawn 15 feds in SUVs that can go over 200 mph. I don't believe that that is realistic in any way at all. Expand
  5. AigorUppercut
    Mar 8, 2009
    4
    The game has a known recipe that has been out there for some years now: nice cars, open world, cheesy FMVs. . . But it lacks the shine of the The game has a known recipe that has been out there for some years now: nice cars, open world, cheesy FMVs. . . But it lacks the shine of the previous installments of the NFS franchise. Somehow related to Need for Speed Most Wanted (mainly because of the police chases) the resemblence ends right there. It's impossible to compare such a good game like MW to Undercover. The physics are awful (all the cars handle as if the road itself was made out of rubber), the car customization system is very limited, and it's difficulty rises from a very (VERY) easy start to end with a nonsensical dificulty as you reach higher levels, whereas oponents cars can outrun you every single time, even when you use your NOS to pump some juice into your engine, the AI goes faster and faster until their car crashes into something or you pass along it with your NOS bar empty. Perhaps you may think that I'm overlooking some important aspects like graphics, sound and others. Yes, the game looks really good and has an acceptable soudtrack, but gameplay is always my main concern and that's where NFSUC fails. To all those things that I critizised in the upper paragraph, you may add the ridiculous high system requirements required to experience a pleasant game experience. Even when my system is far from being high end (an e7300 with 2Gs of RAM, coupled with an overclocked 512mb HD 3850) the game on highest settings (no Vsync) ranges from a minimal 32 to a top 48 FPS, with 45 being the most common value. That sounds nice, but the game suffers from random FPS drops and suttering. And it's not the processor or RAM, when checking CPU usage the game never reached more than 3/4 of it's total capacity. This issue is common, even with stronger systems (q6600, 4Gs, 8800 GTS) the anomaly persists and it gets very annoying when your car is racing at 350 km/h and you suddenly find yourself in danger because the game stuttered and left you in the wrong side of the road with little time to react. And NO, the official patch did nothing to solve this issue. So, taking all that's been said, my humble advise is to stay away from this one. It seems that fans of the good'ol NFS games will have to understand once and for all that EA will keep smearing a good name with lousy, unfinished games. Expand
  6. SankalpG
    Feb 23, 2009
    2
    I really have nothing to say about this game. I installed it on vista. HUGE PROBLEMS. I gave it another chance. Installed on XP. MOREI really have nothing to say about this game. I installed it on vista. HUGE PROBLEMS. I gave it another chance. Installed on XP. MORE PROBLEMS. Indeed and the worst part is that I don't find much of a difference between this game and the Most Wanted. I hope if you're thinking of getting this game, get Burnout Paradise instead. Expand
  7. Tulatin
    Nov 25, 2008
    0
    A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving A big, boring game that seizes your hand and throws you where your'e supposed to go in the city. It's far too easy and the driving physics are terrible. Beyond that, the vehicles sound like the bastard child of a singer and a ricer rocket. Perhaps the only redeeming quality of it is the return to an arcade field, but who are we kidding? Don't waste your time, don't waste your money, don't even waste the packets, and if you do, for the love of god, don't waste a DVD9. Maybe EA can bundle it together with ProStreet and sell the NFS: Shit Pack to recoup some losses. Or maybe they just need to develop Big Rigs 2 next. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews