Neverwinter Nights 2 PC

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2006
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 559 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenjaminB
    Mar 12, 2008
    9
    Giving it a 9 mainly because of small crash to desktop issues, else it is a game of neverending joy where one self even can decide the content for eg. mod building, anyhow with all the posibilities you get, then you can really get alot of gameplay out of it as well as lust for creating your own mod for both multiplayer reasons or singleplayer reasons. The Reason to that I do not give it a Giving it a 9 mainly because of small crash to desktop issues, else it is a game of neverending joy where one self even can decide the content for eg. mod building, anyhow with all the posibilities you get, then you can really get alot of gameplay out of it as well as lust for creating your own mod for both multiplayer reasons or singleplayer reasons. The Reason to that I do not give it a 10 is mainly because of certain hardware errors that occurs with some video/sound cards that causes you crash to desktop with the option to report an error to windows, those most of the time can be walked around still, but you are in need to know in what to do if you receive an error like this.. For those people giving the score of 1, I would say some of the stuff I have read does not explain or anything constructive said other than eg. talking about another game for then simply flaming away in a way that does not provide any proper feedback. Expand
  2. WolfMan
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Hmm, I am rather confused with the negative votes. I just finished the game after buying it (April 2008), and I have to say I really enjoyed it. I am big on storyline as I am tired of hack/slash games. There is a deep story involved if you are willing to seriously roleplay your character. I enjoyed the action and combat. I think people are too obsessed with desiring over the top graphics Hmm, I am rather confused with the negative votes. I just finished the game after buying it (April 2008), and I have to say I really enjoyed it. I am big on storyline as I am tired of hack/slash games. There is a deep story involved if you are willing to seriously roleplay your character. I enjoyed the action and combat. I think people are too obsessed with desiring over the top graphics and special effects. I thought the graphics were great and the effects enjoyable, I played my character true to form and enjoyed a wonderful walk through making tough choices and got to destroy the bad guys. My negative points would be that some of the boss fights were over done, I dislike having to over-strategize and hope it all works out because its all based on D&D rules with a non-existent DM. But then again in my pen&paper days of gaming my favorite DM was forgiving and friendly, while others would make you roll dice every 5 seconds to see if you could remain seated on your horse, a mate of mine rolled a critical failure and had to go the rest of our campaign with a permanent broken leg. If you play games for an enjoyable storyline then this will bring you enjoyment. If you are looking for hack/slash and over the top graphics and special effects then buy a PS3 and get Heavenly Sword, or a God of War series and stop complaining. I avoided this game for a very long time because of the negative reviews, and now I wish I had just ignored them and played this earlier. I gave it an 8 because I wish there had been more interaction between characters and boss fights were over done. (Possible spoiler ahead) In general I get irritated when a games makes you kill the boss more than once to finish the game or continue to the next stage. Just die and be done with it, stop lingering. Expand
  3. blakKim
    May 12, 2008
    8
    I bought the NWN2 Gold edition, much later than the initial release, so I probably didn't experience a majority of the bugs and flaws that may have given the game a lower score from other people. NWN2, in my opinion, is a good sequel - not great. Basically, it's NWN1 with better graphics, more spells, more classes, etc. The default controls aren't great, but can easily be I bought the NWN2 Gold edition, much later than the initial release, so I probably didn't experience a majority of the bugs and flaws that may have given the game a lower score from other people. NWN2, in my opinion, is a good sequel - not great. Basically, it's NWN1 with better graphics, more spells, more classes, etc. The default controls aren't great, but can easily be tweaked to your liking; you can even make it play just like NWN1. In fact, the menu gives users a lot of control over graphical features, control, etc. Added features, like the quick spell menu, really help streamline the gameplay, and make it a much more enjoyable experience. One thing I find disappointing is that NWN2's toolset system is more difficult to use, and has slowed the creation of community mods. If you're looking for a solid RPG DnD experience, I would highly recommend NWN2. Collapse
  4. MichaelW.
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    At first, I thought the game was about a 4. Clunky interface and mediocre visuals. Slowly, I decided after using my friend's computer as a server (no 3rd party server needed), that that feature alone was excellent. After playing through 8 levels and running a second 3 player campaign (which we are only 6-7th level) that the fun was rolling along. Each spell and each night spent with At first, I thought the game was about a 4. Clunky interface and mediocre visuals. Slowly, I decided after using my friend's computer as a server (no 3rd party server needed), that that feature alone was excellent. After playing through 8 levels and running a second 3 player campaign (which we are only 6-7th level) that the fun was rolling along. Each spell and each night spent with a friend over 1,000 miles away makes me realize, that when the multiplayer servers are up and running, that the game has potential. The graphics are better than I thought, but they do tax my system as well as the interface is still mildly clunky. But heads up. We're doing a 2-3 player raid which has lasted over 20 hours and is better and better as we go. So far, maybe one gamespy crash. But well worth the 10 minute delay. Expand
  5. TroggleH.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    I play D and D 3.5 every week and I love this game. It does an ok job coverting 3.5 into a real time game, but i would rather have turn based. The games strongest point is its plot. This game does a great job creating a roleplaying experence similar to a real (paper and dice) RPG. The main story is complex with many aproches to that incresses replay vaule. Wile the plot is thick the game I play D and D 3.5 every week and I love this game. It does an ok job coverting 3.5 into a real time game, but i would rather have turn based. The games strongest point is its plot. This game does a great job creating a roleplaying experence similar to a real (paper and dice) RPG. The main story is complex with many aproches to that incresses replay vaule. Wile the plot is thick the game alows you to engage parts you may enjoy, like building up your keep, and ingnor parts that are lame, like the bard. This game is a real rpg fueled by player choices not FMV. Expand
  6. FredF
    Aug 28, 2009
    8
    I got the game about a half year after release and couldn't see what all the bad player reviews were about. Bugs have been fixed for a long, long time and the game is a lot of fun. NWN'ers will have about a ten minute learning curve and then will loose themselves in the customization and immersion the gorgeous graphics and character generation process give you. Good game, still I got the game about a half year after release and couldn't see what all the bad player reviews were about. Bugs have been fixed for a long, long time and the game is a lot of fun. NWN'ers will have about a ten minute learning curve and then will loose themselves in the customization and immersion the gorgeous graphics and character generation process give you. Good game, still needs higher end hardware to run well on high settings. Good story, good options, great graphics, familiar feel. It's a worthy successor to the crown. It's biggest problem was the system requirements were way misleading and that pissed a lot of people off in 2006. It's still an issue today in 2009 but a medium end gaming rig will run this game on High. Expand
  7. MikeK.
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    I agree with most of you naysayers out there. NWN2 has serious camera issues, AI flaws, and steep hardware requirements. My computer barely meets the requirements, and I have the graphics all the way down. The cut scenes still look decent, but in general, not a big step up from NWN1. I've used the toolset a little bit, and its daunting. But with the online community it's pretty I agree with most of you naysayers out there. NWN2 has serious camera issues, AI flaws, and steep hardware requirements. My computer barely meets the requirements, and I have the graphics all the way down. The cut scenes still look decent, but in general, not a big step up from NWN1. I've used the toolset a little bit, and its daunting. But with the online community it's pretty easy to get your feet wet, and after all, for a truly powerful toolset you would have to complicate things...its in the nature of power. Finally, the game is FUN. The voice acting, while at times exaggerated, is hilarious. I can't wait to play though as an evil character. The different choices do an excellent job of making the player feel like he's bearing an impact, and quest accomplishment is rewarding. It gets an 9 for its overall play value, and while it does have issues, its one of the most potentially replayable games in a long time. Expand
  8. AndrewS.
    Dec 19, 2006
    9
    To sum up: good= long, brilliant, immersive storyline, well crafted characters, very well voiced dialogue. bad= Looks somewhat dated except on cutting edge hardware, unstable framerate, a few minor bugs(that are being ironed out in patches bit by bit)
  9. MarioK.
    Oct 27, 2007
    9
    I dont know what is the problem with you people here!! NWN2 had some bugs, true! But they are not so big to give a great game a score 0/10. Almost noone mentions the bugs Oblivion had, which is far worse game in every regard when compared with NWN2! This so unfair! And it is clear that Bethseda payed you people to slander NWN2 so they could boost their sales on Oblivion, which BTW doesnt I dont know what is the problem with you people here!! NWN2 had some bugs, true! But they are not so big to give a great game a score 0/10. Almost noone mentions the bugs Oblivion had, which is far worse game in every regard when compared with NWN2! This so unfair! And it is clear that Bethseda payed you people to slander NWN2 so they could boost their sales on Oblivion, which BTW doesnt deserve one point above 7. Expand
  10. QeltarK.
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    An excellent game (after the fifth patch). Not quite as good overall as the original but better in many ways.
  11. JamesG.
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    I am impressed. It definitely has a different feel from the original Neverwinter Nights... if you've played Dungeon Siege, try to imagine that with better graphics and an actual plot. I'm running a 1.73 Ghz Pentium 4 with 1.0 gigs of ram, with a GeForce 6800 video card, and while I can't play at an extremely high resolution, the detail settings are pretty high without any I am impressed. It definitely has a different feel from the original Neverwinter Nights... if you've played Dungeon Siege, try to imagine that with better graphics and an actual plot. I'm running a 1.73 Ghz Pentium 4 with 1.0 gigs of ram, with a GeForce 6800 video card, and while I can't play at an extremely high resolution, the detail settings are pretty high without any frame rate issues. It's doable, and enjoyable, if you have my specs or even slightly lower. The gameplay is engaging and the character details are fabulous. I also enjoy the "cinema" conversations, which resemble dialogue in your average popcorn movie. The interface is a tad cluttered, and the whole game does not feel as "sharp" as NWN 1, but the trade-off is excellent. I recommend this game for anyone with reasonable computer specs and a love for the NWN story. Expand
  12. SpleenyD.
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    The first real RPG in years. If you liked BG2 and KotOR, this will ´rock your socks off!
  13. Peter
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    I really don't understand what you people are complaining about the "camera angles" for...I've never had any trouble with the camera. Maybe that's because I actually control it to look at what I want to look at. Also, the graphics look a billion times better than NWN1. The A.I. is spotty, yes. But, that is in the very nature of A.I. so there is really no reason to rag on I really don't understand what you people are complaining about the "camera angles" for...I've never had any trouble with the camera. Maybe that's because I actually control it to look at what I want to look at. Also, the graphics look a billion times better than NWN1. The A.I. is spotty, yes. But, that is in the very nature of A.I. so there is really no reason to rag on Obsidian for that. I haven't been able to play the multiplayer yet, but it doesn't seem that bad. Just wait for the PW's to get back in the swing of things. Single player story is pretty good, but I've never been a single player guy. A lot of people have been talking about it being a "rehash of NWN1." Obviously you never followed NWN2's development. They did that on purpose, going by the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" policy. I wish they had added more voices sets, but still. It's progress forward. I don't have the video settings on high because my comp has been built on a small budget, but it runs very smoothly for how I do have it set, so once again I don't know what you people are talking about. And, don't compare it to BG...I'm sorry, but BG wasn't that good anyway. And, NWN2 is 2 generations past BG. NWN was designed (from my perspective) to sit the fence between single- and multi-player. BG was meant to be single-player. The official campaigns are not going to be the same quality, because they want us to have room to make our own stuff. Expand
  14. TolisG.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    I play the game and I am close to end it. The game is great the graphics are very good the story is great with lot of subquests and the gameplay is good. I like the way that equipment appears on the caracters the swords the armors and especialy the clocs. I believe the only problem it has is the camera but with the patch the things are better. I play D&D 5 years and the game the best I play the game and I am close to end it. The game is great the graphics are very good the story is great with lot of subquests and the gameplay is good. I like the way that equipment appears on the caracters the swords the armors and especialy the clocs. I believe the only problem it has is the camera but with the patch the things are better. I play D&D 5 years and the game the best singleplayer RPG for those who love D&D. Expand
  15. May 13, 2011
    9
    NWN2 is to Baldur's Gate what NWN1 is to Icewind Dale. That is to say, where NWN1/ID focus primarily on combat, NWN2/BG give equal time to roleplaying.
    In NWN1 there really was only one substantial roleplaying quest (the trial in chapter 3), companions had no personality ("please help me find some item, and I'll give you a bonus", repeat...), quests didn't go beyond "fetch X" and "kill Y",
    NWN2 is to Baldur's Gate what NWN1 is to Icewind Dale. That is to say, where NWN1/ID focus primarily on combat, NWN2/BG give equal time to roleplaying.
    In NWN1 there really was only one substantial roleplaying quest (the trial in chapter 3), companions had no personality ("please help me find some item, and I'll give you a bonus", repeat...), quests didn't go beyond "fetch X" and "kill Y", and the world just didn't feel like a place were people actually lived.
    In contract, in NWN2 NPCs once again have memorable personalities, quests are diverse, the world is atmospheric, you get to invest in it by building up a base of operations, etc.
    I do have to say that I played this game when most bugs had been patched, and by then its only major weakness was that it required a very heavy pc while not looking particularly great.
    Now, 5 years later, I still consider NWN2 to be one of the better RPGs ever made. It's right up there with games like BG, KotOR, and Morrowind. (And the first expansion, Mask of the Betrayer comes close to Planescape: Torment.) Heartily recommended!
    Expand
  16. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    While the this game is not without its flaws, few of the negative reviews have taken into account one of its strongest points: mods. Multiplayer, especially when played on the dedicated servers put up by the more prominent mod teams, is an entertaining alternative to games such as World of Warcraft. The animations may appear lackluster in comparison with more recent titles, but theWhile the this game is not without its flaws, few of the negative reviews have taken into account one of its strongest points: mods. Multiplayer, especially when played on the dedicated servers put up by the more prominent mod teams, is an entertaining alternative to games such as World of Warcraft. The animations may appear lackluster in comparison with more recent titles, but the multiplayer is free, and I for one am more than willing to ignore occasional bugs (which are far less common than other reviews would have you believe) in favor of a multiplayer system devoid of monthly fees.

    The player community on these servers is also far more engaged than that of big-ticket MMO's: roleplay is encouraged, granting an element of versatility to the game and enhancing replay value significantly. This offer a sharp contrast to the pettiness I encountered during my brief stint playing WoW; players are willing to flesh out their backgrounds significantly and remain true to their characters even when doing so negatively affects gameplay. While this may not appeal to all, it enhances that the suspension of disbelief essential to many enjoyable video games. Single player offers a somewhat different position; the original campaign is slow at first (the first few levels feel almost like another tutorial), but it soon becomes more interesting. While I found playing a truly evil character difficult (the game seemed to be forcing me to conform to a particular brand of evil: those who have reach the end of the game as evil characters know what I mean), neutral or good characters offer a wealth of interesting gameplay with enough material for roughly two interesting playthroughs. My only true complaint with regard to the single player campaign is the often stilted dialogue of minor NPC's. In many cases, they restate their commentary two or even three times before finally relinquishing their unwelcome hold over your computer screen. The issue of poor voice acting is less prevalent in the first expansion, Mask of the Betrayer, but it resurfaces with a vengeance in Storm of Zehir. Beside better dialogue, MOTB continues in much the same vein, with the occasional moral dilemma to make the story more engaging. In conclusion, aside from bugs and somewhat disappointing voice acting, this game is one well worth purchasing, with significant replay value, enjoyable roleplay-based multiplayer and a comparatively low price of $20 on Steam. I would strongly recommend it for any who enjoy fantasy RPG's and would like a multiplayer service to occupy a few hours on dreary evenings without the prohibitive monthly fees.
    Expand
  17. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    Classic Forgotten Realms adventure. In fact it's positively cliche, but don't let that put you off: this is one excellently realised linear D&D romp, with extremely entertaining NPCs (NWN2 doesn't take itself too seriously). The single "romance" plot (I won't spoil it) is just the ticket if you're fed up with BG2's melodrama. It's too easy (there's only one properly tricky encounter,Classic Forgotten Realms adventure. In fact it's positively cliche, but don't let that put you off: this is one excellently realised linear D&D romp, with extremely entertaining NPCs (NWN2 doesn't take itself too seriously). The single "romance" plot (I won't spoil it) is just the ticket if you're fed up with BG2's melodrama. It's too easy (there's only one properly tricky encounter, the optional dragon battle), but I had ages of fun with this. Why so many detractors? Expand
  18. Aug 19, 2011
    8
    looking at all the other reviews, i have to agree the game cold be buggy. but not any more than many other rpgs, and it is fairly stable when patched. balance is fairly bad for PvP, but that's not really what this game is about. i am quite amused at people complaining about the AI, as i found it good in the original campaign and it just got better in the later campaigns (after spending alooking at all the other reviews, i have to agree the game cold be buggy. but not any more than many other rpgs, and it is fairly stable when patched. balance is fairly bad for PvP, but that's not really what this game is about. i am quite amused at people complaining about the AI, as i found it good in the original campaign and it just got better in the later campaigns (after spending a few minutes setting it up in the AI menu, which is admittedly fairly easy to miss). importantly, every mechanic is there in the spell/ability description, and all the numbers too, unlike that annoying trend recently. Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    Very good story. Good graphics. Not well optimized performance-wise (graphics quality to machine-requirement ratio). Good moddability but more coding needed. The mods weren't as big as in NWN though. Agreements could be the cause of this, and maybe additional complexity in the toolset. The expansions weren't of the snuff but the single player experience with the base NWN2 was very good.
  20. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    This was the first game that actually pull me into the D&D lore, the game is good and the story is kinda epic, the Tools to create maps are really really hard to use and are not intuitive.
  21. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    While NWN1 was the true classic, NWN2 did very well. One big downfall was the lack of native Linux support like NWN1 had. This immediately lost half the NWN user base, as most NWN servers ran the Linux version. These were the decent ones too the proper gamers. Obsidian also messed up on the DM Client too. making it worse for DMs. With these big downers to start with, there was aWhile NWN1 was the true classic, NWN2 did very well. One big downfall was the lack of native Linux support like NWN1 had. This immediately lost half the NWN user base, as most NWN servers ran the Linux version. These were the decent ones too the proper gamers. Obsidian also messed up on the DM Client too. making it worse for DMs. With these big downers to start with, there was a lacklustre reception to this game. Eventually some expansions came out though, making things slightly better. Expand
  22. May 16, 2013
    8
    The main plot of this game is absolutely amazing, with lot of twists, lot of decisions that matters! Classic RPG with great voice acting and lot of variety for customization! Also soundtrack is pleasant! The bad sometimes it's buggy, main protagonist doesn't have a voice! Conclusion one of the best game of 2006!
  23. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    Great-great character creation!Nice combat.Not great camera control.For D&D fans a must buy hence the 9 at the score.For normal people I would rate it as an 8.
  24. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    This game was really enjoyable, I played through it twice at least back in the day. Don´t know why it has such a bad score. The storyline was enjoyable, the classes were fun and leveling up your characters was fun. I don't remember having any issue with bugs in it either, except one with the cut scenes but they fixed that.
  25. DnD83
    Dec 16, 2006
    8
    I'm able to run this game on my business notebook at a reasonable speed and with few of the bugs that I've seen so many people claiming to have "high-end" systems have reported. Some patience is necessary but this game is probably 3 or 4 patches away (from v.1.03) from appeasing the critics. This game is in a rough spot, critics-wise, because it's caught between the rabid I'm able to run this game on my business notebook at a reasonable speed and with few of the bugs that I've seen so many people claiming to have "high-end" systems have reported. Some patience is necessary but this game is probably 3 or 4 patches away (from v.1.03) from appeasing the critics. This game is in a rough spot, critics-wise, because it's caught between the rabid loyalty of fans to NWN1 and the excellence of TES:Oblivion. Taken alone, however, it's a pretty good game. Of course, it isn't Oblivion, graphics-wise, but if you enjoyed Wizardry in its early incarnations, Bard's Tale, Ultima and Baldur's Gates I & II, there is no reason, a few bugs here and there, not to like this game. Expand
  26. May 18, 2013
    9
    This game is a honorable part two for the neverwinter nights series. There might be some bugs and crashes, but those aren't bad enough to blame the game. The graphics are very good and the story is good, too.
  27. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This is my favourite game of all time. But: it was released unfinished, and many features were left out that could not be fixed with patches (for example: lacking companion interaction, dialog, lack of romance options, etc.). The patches fixed many other things, so it is definitely worth a try. The story, the music, the great characters and the atmosphere of the game made me love it withThis is my favourite game of all time. But: it was released unfinished, and many features were left out that could not be fixed with patches (for example: lacking companion interaction, dialog, lack of romance options, etc.). The patches fixed many other things, so it is definitely worth a try. The story, the music, the great characters and the atmosphere of the game made me love it with all my heart. If only this game was in development for 1 more year.... Expand
  28. Nov 22, 2014
    9
    The start is slow, there are some clichés and the ending still makes me want to hunt down Avellone and punch him. So why do I keep returning to this game? It's fun. Its companions are witty and amusing and alive (sometimes). The plot is ...well, Faerun-esque, but enjoyable.

    I believe everyone is familiar with the trial scene (and if not, you should be), some seemingly dull quests
    The start is slow, there are some clichés and the ending still makes me want to hunt down Avellone and punch him. So why do I keep returning to this game? It's fun. Its companions are witty and amusing and alive (sometimes). The plot is ...well, Faerun-esque, but enjoyable.

    I believe everyone is familiar with the trial scene (and if not, you should be), some seemingly dull quests provided much amusement and it's a rich trip down the old Forgotten Realms. It may not be to everyone's tastes but for a D&D enthusiast, this is a classic.
    Expand
  29. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    As close as a RPG can get! Combat can be a little sluggish at times but with patches, that problem clears up. Sadly, developers are making games now where its more hack n slash with a little story.
  30. f00dl3-
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. The only problem that it has that keeps me from giving this game a straight 10 is the fact that it does take quite a bit of tweaking to get the game to even run. The main problem that causes performance hits is the water FX, as they seem to be severely bugged and can make the FPS rate go to 2 or 3 on even the highest-end system. However, after you get past, or This game is a masterpiece. The only problem that it has that keeps me from giving this game a straight 10 is the fact that it does take quite a bit of tweaking to get the game to even run. The main problem that causes performance hits is the water FX, as they seem to be severely bugged and can make the FPS rate go to 2 or 3 on even the highest-end system. However, after you get past, or work around those initial technical issues and actually start playing the game - its amazing. I don't want to spoil anything, but RTS fans may be excited to get this game too. There are some RTS elements thrown into this game. Expand
  31. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This game is hard to like when you play only the (tutorial) inicial part. The story does not start as good as Baldurs Gate series, so, dont rely on this to continue the game. The game becomes very good after the inicial part and once you get used to turn based in real time that easy to see it greatness. Its 7.5/10 for me, But the 10/10 was given due to low score given by many without fullThis game is hard to like when you play only the (tutorial) inicial part. The story does not start as good as Baldurs Gate series, so, dont rely on this to continue the game. The game becomes very good after the inicial part and once you get used to turn based in real time that easy to see it greatness. Its 7.5/10 for me, But the 10/10 was given due to low score given by many without full gameplay. I recommend to buy it on STEAM. Expand
  32. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    Considering how much of a blow Neverwinter Nights was to me, it's suprising I did try this one at all - and I didn't regret it! This a lot of fun, the graphics are actually pretty good (no more wireframes like in NWN1!), and - the story! The characters! Time to roleplay. Loot, skills, feats, everything D&D was meant to be! Ah yes, and even the multiplayer works and is a whole lot of fun.
  33. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Man! I am total surprised at the low score this is getting. You have to give it marks for just providing an editor (the tool set). The ability to create a multi-player mod give this game 9 right off. Yes! The campaign provided is crap..agreed. However, this game is about communality content. Like me, if you are a wanna-bee game designer you have no other options out there to createMan! I am total surprised at the low score this is getting. You have to give it marks for just providing an editor (the tool set). The ability to create a multi-player mod give this game 9 right off. Yes! The campaign provided is crap..agreed. However, this game is about communality content. Like me, if you are a wanna-bee game designer you have no other options out there to create multi-player worlds.. So from a game designers perspective this game is a must have. I have hundreds of hours spent building my modal and I find it very rewarding. . Coming from a game designers perspective the NWN2 tool set id leaps beyond the nwn tool set. Yes. the nwn2 tool set requires an advanced builder..so maybe cut your teeth first with the first tool set. Expand
  34. Futurist
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    One of the best rpg I have ever played. The graphic is nice, the plot, as a whole, is outstanding, the ending "cinematic"'s passable, but not great. The voice work and dialogs are absolutely the stunning. Don't be discouraged by the naysayers, this is a great game for those who are NOT D&D hardcore and over skeptical. 10 out of 10.
  35. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    An excellent RPG with great expansions. The addition of the Auto down loader makes visiting PWs a snap.
    The graphics are better than NWN1 and the mod community is strong and helpful.
  36. MatteoA.
    Jan 8, 2007
    9
    A pleasant surprise compared to other boring RPG around. It is a game where the design is so pervasive that you need to cover it entirely to experience all the nuances in gameplay and variety. The factor that dragged down the game in the eye of a lot of people is that you have to actively play it to enjoy it. If you are trying to find a game where the first hour of gameplay is an A pleasant surprise compared to other boring RPG around. It is a game where the design is so pervasive that you need to cover it entirely to experience all the nuances in gameplay and variety. The factor that dragged down the game in the eye of a lot of people is that you have to actively play it to enjoy it. If you are trying to find a game where the first hour of gameplay is an exaustive demo of the entire game experience go away, in this game every action you take counts. It's a better sandbox game that those dull approximation of a lifeless reality that they dare to call RPGs. At least here there's a story to shape aside incompetent NPCs to kill. Expand
  37. John
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    Finally, finally, after the blunder of Neverwinter Nights I, they have gone back to the way Baldur's Gate was done -- brilliantly sophisticated and intelligent, funny at times and always subtly beautiful. Well done guys.
  38. HighVoltage
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    Awsome game! Bioware's games rule! Why?... I DONT KNOW! They just do! Neverwinter Nights forever! But if talking seriously - its a good game because it have a tonn of side quests and its never boring. The bad thing about it is the "waiting for the loading to stop" that takes up about 20 % of your whole playing time... But in all the game is great. 9/10 - awesome
  39. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    With NWN 2 Obsidian tweaked the UI, the camera, party size, and toolsets of NWN to "improve the experience". Whether they succeeded is open to debate. The game starts very slow and it takes a long time for the plot to lead anywhere. By this time many would have quit already and maybe added a bad review. I suggest that if you like RPG games be patient with the slow start. This game getsWith NWN 2 Obsidian tweaked the UI, the camera, party size, and toolsets of NWN to "improve the experience". Whether they succeeded is open to debate. The game starts very slow and it takes a long time for the plot to lead anywhere. By this time many would have quit already and maybe added a bad review. I suggest that if you like RPG games be patient with the slow start. This game gets better as your party levels and the storylines start to come together. The whole NWN2 experience can be bought on sale in Steam for a song and includes a LOT of (bug free) RPG gaming. Despite its imperfections this game is great in the end and a must buy for RPG fans. Expand
  40. MareusDurante
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Everyone who gave NWN2 a score 0 is a total retard. The game has some bad points, true. Its far from perfect, but 0!!!! COME ON!!!! Thats why i am giving 10!
  41. AersS.
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    Only the (not justified) huge system reqs prevent it from being plain perfect; even so, it's the best game since NWN 1.
  42. LukeM.
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  43. May 13, 2014
    10
    I was just watching let's play for Might & Magic X and I thought back to one scene in Neverwinter Nights 2 with (2) young adventurers asking you for a quest and I remember HOW MUCH FUN I had playing this.

    The Original Campaign has SO many elements of a fantasy RPG that I love... 1. Great voice acting 2.Character choices that affect your world and your interaction with NPC 3. Great
    I was just watching let's play for Might & Magic X and I thought back to one scene in Neverwinter Nights 2 with (2) young adventurers asking you for a quest and I remember HOW MUCH FUN I had playing this.

    The Original Campaign has SO many elements of a fantasy RPG that I love...
    1. Great voice acting
    2.Character choices that affect your world and your interaction with NPC
    3. Great quest with amazing variety
    4. The story draws you in, has twists and turns, as well allowing you to explore the world.
    5. In-depth lore that is given to by the NPC as you go along in the quest
    6. Game length 100+ hours

    PLUS a great modding community with everything from expansion mods to graphics and voice mods. Also, there are 3 DLC's that easily add another 100+ hours. 10/10
    Expand
  44. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed this. 3.5 with the whole warlock thing going on. There's also an ability to take that character to epic if you go on to Mask of the Betrayer.

    PROS: -3.5 D&D character creation -3.5 D&D character creation -great companions with much humor including: crazy overconfident sorcerer, stick up the butt paladin trying hard to be a moral compass for everyone, dwarf on a personal
    I enjoyed this. 3.5 with the whole warlock thing going on. There's also an ability to take that character to epic if you go on to Mask of the Betrayer.

    PROS:
    -3.5 D&D character creation
    -3.5 D&D character creation
    -great companions with much humor including: crazy overconfident sorcerer, stick up the butt paladin trying hard to be a moral compass for everyone, dwarf on a personal quest to become a monk, hyper-intelligent snobbish mage, evil and thus sarcastic ranger who spends most of his time arguing with the pally, super perky mechanical minded gnome bard
    -village under attack, oh noes, must go on a journey not just to protect the village but to rout out this great evil
    -romance is lol, goes all love triangle
    -minigame for building/reinforcing your own castle
    -classic style adventure

    CONS:
    -some bugs, still not fixed
    -village under attack, oh noes, must go on a journey not just to protect the village but to rout out this great evil
    -romance is lol, goes all love triangle

    It's pretty standard, but you'll like it because Mask of the Betrayer is even better. Worth the $10 over on GOG.com
    Expand
  45. Aug 11, 2014
    8
    A great game with some bugs. There are tons of classes and class-combinations which give a huge replayability. Also the side / npc characters are interesting and their motivations / personalities are beliveable. The setting and story are pretty good. There are many side quests and "minor spoilers" you can build your own stronghold later in the game. There were some bugs which prevent aA great game with some bugs. There are tons of classes and class-combinations which give a huge replayability. Also the side / npc characters are interesting and their motivations / personalities are beliveable. The setting and story are pretty good. There are many side quests and "minor spoilers" you can build your own stronghold later in the game. There were some bugs which prevent a higher rating (scripted events did not start and in 2 or 3 times my save file was corrupted). Expand
  46. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    This has to be one of my all time favourite games. I have sunk way to much time in it and I still find myself coming back for more. When it first came out it had its share of bugs and issues. Most of these were fixed over time.

    The game is based on D&D 3.5 - and is the closet you will ever come to playing such a ruleset on the PC. The game also features an integrated toolset to create
    This has to be one of my all time favourite games. I have sunk way to much time in it and I still find myself coming back for more. When it first came out it had its share of bugs and issues. Most of these were fixed over time.

    The game is based on D&D 3.5 - and is the closet you will ever come to playing such a ruleset on the PC. The game also features an integrated toolset to create your own adventures. The single player is fun and with the huge amount of quality user-created content out there, it will keep you entertained for a long time. Even building your "ultimate character" is like a mini-game in itself. The sheer amount of customisation that can be achieved is mind-boggling.

    For people that do not know much about D&D, it can be a difficult game to master - but it is well worth doing. It is a game that keeps on giving. Simply put, the game is a masterpiece. I wish we would see more of this kind of game these days.

    Jimbo Rating: 10/10
    Expand
  47. DonaldB.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Only the late release and a few bugs keep me from a 10 here. I don't know what Andrew C is talking about with the camera, the controls are just like, and just as responsive as the original NWN. As to there being not enough monsters, or not enough models, well, let's just say that if there's not enough, I haven't seen it and they do an excellent job of killing me Only the late release and a few bugs keep me from a 10 here. I don't know what Andrew C is talking about with the camera, the controls are just like, and just as responsive as the original NWN. As to there being not enough monsters, or not enough models, well, let's just say that if there's not enough, I haven't seen it and they do an excellent job of killing me whenever I don't plan well for a fight. Graphics are phenomenal, the storyline is engaging and long (I'm over 15 hours in and still in Act I), and the back end of the system is solid. On second thought, it's worth a 10. It just so happens to own my soul right now. Expand
  48. Mactaveous
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    This is an enjoyable new saga to the nwns world. Great intro cut scene and a very powerful modding program combined with a strong story makes it a must by for all those d&d players out there.
  49. CB
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Solid entertainment, improves on the first.
  50. [Anonymous]
    Nov 3, 2006
    9
    Though there are a few technical deficiencies, the official campaign is a massive improvement over the first game's. The party companions are always sure to bring plenty of chuckles with their dialogue and character. The toolset and multiplayer mean infinite value for a long time.
  51. JimmusMaximus
    Nov 3, 2006
    8
    Been playing it since yesterday. Here are some of my observations: Good: Gameplay feels like Knights of the Old Republic (also by Obsidian) Bad: Gameplay feels like Knights of the Old Republic, camera angles and controls are a bit funky at times Good: More character options to choose from when creating a character Bad: Not enough faces, and some of the faces are ug-ly! Good: More sounds Been playing it since yesterday. Here are some of my observations: Good: Gameplay feels like Knights of the Old Republic (also by Obsidian) Bad: Gameplay feels like Knights of the Old Republic, camera angles and controls are a bit funky at times Good: More character options to choose from when creating a character Bad: Not enough faces, and some of the faces are ug-ly! Good: More sounds and music Bad: Many of the sounds are ripped right out of Neverwinter Nights 1 - kind of a rip-off Good: Graphics are gorgeous to look at Bad: Requires a high-end system for all options, probably worse than Oblivion Good: Armor, capes and weapons are beautiful Bad: Helmets do NOT show up on henchmen/party NPCs (whose decision was that?!) Good: Interface, commands and hot-keys are intuitive Bad: Many options, like the radial menu from NWN are gone Good: Load times are really fast Bad: Setting some options (like resolution) will require that you reload the game from the main menu because the maps are glitched Good: Spell effects are freakin' awesome!!! Bad: Gets a bit confusing with all the fireworks Verdict: Excellent - The good fortunately outweighs the bad, in my opinion. I was able to tweak my graphics to a smooth-playing configuration that looks pretty good without sacrificing responsiveness. Cannot wait for people to start releasing mods for it. Expand
  52. JameyM.
    Nov 6, 2006
    9
    A faithful continuation of the NWN franchise, this one blends elements of the first NWN game as well as elements found in the older party-based InfinityEngine games such as Baldur's Gate. Recommended for fans of D&D.
  53. Battleheat
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    I can't stop playing this game. The graphics are lush and very detailed. Everything is dynamically lit and done very well. The technical flaws keep this from becoming a 10. Sometimes the cut scenes wont focus on a character and my frame rate keeps dipping (on a 3 ghz, 6800 geforce, 1gb ram). Still, inspite of the flaws, I'm really enjoying this game so far its very addictive and I can't stop playing this game. The graphics are lush and very detailed. Everything is dynamically lit and done very well. The technical flaws keep this from becoming a 10. Sometimes the cut scenes wont focus on a character and my frame rate keeps dipping (on a 3 ghz, 6800 geforce, 1gb ram). Still, inspite of the flaws, I'm really enjoying this game so far its very addictive and well done. Expand
  54. MorganC.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    Don't believe the nay-sayers, this is a great game. The graphics are nice (especially if your system is strong enough to take advantage of them). The difficulty level isn't too easy, it's quite challenging at times. There are lots of new races and abilities added so lots of variety in character choices. I haven't played multiplayer yet but I'll check it out soon.
  55. NisseI
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    This game is several light years ahead of the original Neverwinter Nights and its expansion packs concerning the singleplayer campaign. Granted, it does have its flaws, like for example the camera, AI and the poor performance. These negative factors are however overshadowed by the interesting characters, a good plot which steadily improves during the course of the game, the big variety of This game is several light years ahead of the original Neverwinter Nights and its expansion packs concerning the singleplayer campaign. Granted, it does have its flaws, like for example the camera, AI and the poor performance. These negative factors are however overshadowed by the interesting characters, a good plot which steadily improves during the course of the game, the big variety of different classes and feats you can choose for your characters, the often very well written dialogue with its many choices and the party/henchman based system which leans more in favour of the system in Baldur's Gate than the original Neverwinter Nights much more uninteresting more Diablo-esque system. To summarize my experiences with the game, I most point out that I have had a great amount of fun with the game. And if you desire a more refined gaming experience than that of the rather shallow predecessor, than Neverwinter Nights 2 could very well be worth buying. Expand
  56. AndrewJ.
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    Good fun dnd game. Interesting tactical fights. No major bugs for me. Toolset seems very powerful so I can't wait to see what gets made.
  57. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    I didn't play this game when it came out because I heard so many negative things about it. Mostly, I heard that it was filled with bugs and that the system requirements to play it were so high that most PC's couldn't even run the game. However, almost 10 years after release numerous patches have been released and today's PCs have more than enough power to run this game easily, so II didn't play this game when it came out because I heard so many negative things about it. Mostly, I heard that it was filled with bugs and that the system requirements to play it were so high that most PC's couldn't even run the game. However, almost 10 years after release numerous patches have been released and today's PCs have more than enough power to run this game easily, so I finally played it. I played the original campaign, the Mask of the Betrayer expansion, the Mysteries of West Gate expansion, and the Storm of Zehir expansion. I was STUNNED at how truly amazing this game was!!!! I had heard so many bad things, that my expectations were low, but man was I in for a surprise! This game is a masterpiece!! I think most of the bad reviews are because of how buggy that game was when it was initially released.

    Anyway, here is my opinion of the game:

    The character creation system has sooooo much depth. You can spend hours creating a character because there are so many options - race, class, attributes, deity, skills, feats, etc. Unlike the garbage that was NWN1, in this game you can actually have a full party, you can equip all your party members, and you have full control over all of your party members!! The game uses D&D 3.5 rules and the combat is very strategic! The story is good and the companions are well done (for the most part). The graphics are also good for a game that was released back in 2006.

    The original campaign is pretty good, but the 3 expansions are even better!!! I truly love this game, and it reminded me of Dragon Age: Origins in so many ways. It is better than Dragon Age: Origins in some ways - the character creation has soooo much more depth than DA:O, and the combat has more depth and is more strategic. But DA:O definitely had the better writing, story, and characters. So if you are looking for an RPG with great characters and story, DA:O is better. But when it comes to character creation and combat, NWN 2 wins.

    Anyway, don't let all the negative reviews scare you - the game has been patched and now it is truly a masterpiece.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. So it isn't perfect, particularly not for players who prefer using the mouse, but Neverwinter Nights 2 is nevertheless a hugely enjoyable trip.
  2. Rich narrative, engaging gameplay, and total attention to role-playing detail.
  3. Neverwinter Nights 2 is a strong single-player adventure thoroughly enjoyable in and of itself. That it will serve as a platform for endless mod gaming only makes it that mich more appealing.