Neverwinter Nights PC

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Jun 16, 2002
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 479 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 479
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EliasO.
    Dec 28, 2007
    4
    Sadly, the singleplayer is lacking quality, but the multiplayer makes up for it, however most RPG fans are looking for a good singleplayer story... Which NWN did not provide!
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    0
    What a disappointement, especially considering the high expectations at that time... only Dragon Age II has managed to disappoint me so thoroughly. The graphics are laughable at best (wireframes? seroiusly?), and to call the story paper-thin would be a wild exaggeration.
  3. JakeM.
    Jul 4, 2002
    3
    What in the heck was Atari thinking when they made this? No scratch that, what in the heck was I thinking when I bought this game? This is a horrible game, and you catch the drift right once you actually start playing. Reading is tedious, and I figured Atari would have figured that out, I spent the first 5 minutes talking to the first guy. And then the next 30 reading the rest of the crap What in the heck was Atari thinking when they made this? No scratch that, what in the heck was I thinking when I bought this game? This is a horrible game, and you catch the drift right once you actually start playing. Reading is tedious, and I figured Atari would have figured that out, I spent the first 5 minutes talking to the first guy. And then the next 30 reading the rest of the crap everyone else had to say. Thus leaving me out of action, and a game with no action, is a boring game. Trust me, when tomorrow comes around this game is going back to the shelf I picked it up from. The only reason I gave it a 3 was because I figured there are some people out there who like being submerged into stupid games. I suggest you check the game out at your friend?s house before wasting your time by just buying it and returning it. Collapse
  4. AnonymousMC
    Jan 30, 2007
    4
    I suspect that Bioware provided most of the big reviewers with loaded crackpipes for their use during the review process, because frankly the only way I'd get any enjoyment out of this game is if I were on drugs. The graphics, even for the time of release, are fairly poor. Sound is good enough but nothing to write home about. The musical score, such as I've heard, is prettyI suspect that Bioware provided most of the big reviewers with loaded crackpipes for their use during the review process, because frankly the only way I'd get any enjoyment out of this game is if I were on drugs. The graphics, even for the time of release, are fairly poor. Sound is good enough but nothing to write home about. The musical score, such as I've heard, is pretty appropriate, and the voice acting is at least adequate. The real sticking point here, though, is the utter tedium of the gameplay. Against more than one enemy, even early on in the game, your chances of survival are very slim because of the "sort of turn-based" nature of the combat. The D&D rules may be appropriate for tabletop gaming, but here they are simply limiting to the game's flow. I mean, come /on/ - this is a computer game, and thus the only reason to use such antiquated devices as dice rolls is verisimilitude, which is a bad thing in this case. This is the problem with most of the (admittedly few) RPGs I've played, that they rely too heavily on rules. IMO, computer roleplaying shouldn't be about counter-intuitive statistics and linear questlines - it should be about the freedom to do whatever you desire, creating your character through your interaction with the world around you. That's roleplaying. Whereas Neverwinter Nights is more akin to work, and therefore I won't be playing it again, nor will I ever go near a D&D-based computer RPG again. Expand
  5. JoshG.
    Jul 25, 2002
    0
    This game sucks major wang, this people don't know anything about a good RPG. All people who like this game are losers and there vote shouldn't count. This game is crap, I agree with Jake.
  6. B.Man
    May 10, 2003
    2
    I play virtually nothing but D&D computer games. I LERVE Baldur's Gate, and even think Icewind Dale and Pool of Rad II are okay. I've owned Neverwinter Nights for six months and spent a total of two hours playing it. My computer massively exceeds the specs but the game slows down so badly in places as to make it virtually unplayable. What's going on here?
  7. AnonymousMC
    Sep 25, 2002
    4
    Too much of a diablo clone. Yeah yeah, there's "Character interaction". Summed up, thats "talk, do fedex quest, get 20000 exp" sounds somewhat like diablo. I want a game that isnt boring click-wait-win-repeat type CRAP. DM'ing is just plain stupid, since theres about 2 ppl in the damn universe who dont SUCK at being DMs. Come on, DIABLO is pretty much the same game releasedToo much of a diablo clone. Yeah yeah, there's "Character interaction". Summed up, thats "talk, do fedex quest, get 20000 exp" sounds somewhat like diablo. I want a game that isnt boring click-wait-win-repeat type CRAP. DM'ing is just plain stupid, since theres about 2 ppl in the damn universe who dont SUCK at being DMs. Come on, DIABLO is pretty much the same game released roughly 6 years earlier. And I dont give a fuck if that figure is wrong, if you took long enough to look it up, tell someone ELSE that. Id rather be playing morrowind, which despite having characters that do not sit down, uses the "sit down characters" resources to make a good game. Expand
  8. JasonT.
    Feb 19, 2003
    0
    Games like these are just too slow paced and gives waste of time feelings cause its basically the same as all the other baldur's gate games except with a different set of characters and plots. SO what if the graphics are a better or you could rotate the view? It doesn't add anything fun to the game if it is still turn based computer controlled fighting. That's justGames like these are just too slow paced and gives waste of time feelings cause its basically the same as all the other baldur's gate games except with a different set of characters and plots. SO what if the graphics are a better or you could rotate the view? It doesn't add anything fun to the game if it is still turn based computer controlled fighting. That's just primitive, we want to be able to jump at the enemy and do crazy moves, not just click a button and watch the sword swing and have some dice calculate whether you hit or not. Its so lame and the story is so slow. Hardly anything interactive in this game. Whoever said that they just want to kill everyone in the room has the right sentiment. Expand
  9. Bruno
    Dec 17, 2004
    1
    Singeplayer : horrible, awful, boring, repetitive, linear ... The worst thing on it that it is trying to look like a roleplaying game, but it is a stupid hack'n slash diablo-style game, but even worse then diablo. Roleplaying game is a game where you think with the character, make choices based on the traits and feel with the character. Well in Nwn all choices you do are limited to Singeplayer : horrible, awful, boring, repetitive, linear ... The worst thing on it that it is trying to look like a roleplaying game, but it is a stupid hack'n slash diablo-style game, but even worse then diablo. Roleplaying game is a game where you think with the character, make choices based on the traits and feel with the character. Well in Nwn all choices you do are limited to kill him with focus+spec on Axe or focus+spec on Sword. You cant finish the game for example with a rogue-based character focused on diplomacy or persuasion. The closest game to RPG is still Fallout, Arcanum and Planescape Torment, BG1. Neverwinter nights is nothing, but a simple clickfest for kids that think they're playing roleplaying game. The only positive thing is the multiplayer, but the multiplayer can't be compared to MMORPG games like everquest or asheron, its just not that good. Absolutely NWN is the worst succesful game i've ever seen. Well maybe it is the worst succesful THING i've ever seen. Expand
  10. Me
    Nov 2, 2002
    3
    I always thought that I liked RPGs, apparently I don't. Because I think this game is average at best, but the rest of you seem to think it is some sort of coked-up heroine. I'd say its more like watered down beer. The way PCs interact with NPC is atrocious. I get so bored I just go around and kill everyone in the damn room. Nothing interesting happens, except you have to go to I always thought that I liked RPGs, apparently I don't. Because I think this game is average at best, but the rest of you seem to think it is some sort of coked-up heroine. I'd say its more like watered down beer. The way PCs interact with NPC is atrocious. I get so bored I just go around and kill everyone in the damn room. Nothing interesting happens, except you have to go to some place, fight a large group of people and try and run away so you can take one of them 1 on 1, if not then you die, respawn in a temple and have to walk back to go do the same damn thing again. Not to mention the limited weapons/outfits for characters. I think you can make a total of 6 different looking characters. AWFUL, but apparently some of you like it, however I must give it a 3. Expand
  11. PatrickS.
    Mar 29, 2004
    4
    The gameplay is slow-going, despite the lovely graphics. Feels like Diablo 2, without the grace and fluidity of Diablo. Yes, the graphics are pretty but there's been no advance in terms of quest, structure, and comcepts. All the extra storage in inventory, spell book, etc., don't add anything to the game besides greater elaboration on earlier RPG's which follow the same The gameplay is slow-going, despite the lovely graphics. Feels like Diablo 2, without the grace and fluidity of Diablo. Yes, the graphics are pretty but there's been no advance in terms of quest, structure, and comcepts. All the extra storage in inventory, spell book, etc., don't add anything to the game besides greater elaboration on earlier RPG's which follow the same formula. I played about 10 hours worth and got bored. I play games for the continual challenges and engagement. On this level, NWN simple fails. The pace is slow. There's wayyyy too much reading to do with NPCs. You have to wait till rooms or scenes load over and over and over. Unlike Diablo, changes of scenery involve slow-loading breaks in the action. Lame. Expand
  12. Oct 26, 2013
    0
    This game was a massive disappointment from start to finish. This proves that the game isn't the best RPG ever made by far. What a massive shame that it couldn't be better.
  13. Jun 22, 2014
    0
    any new players to the game, quit now before you put your time in. I put 6 months into the game and lost everything. game full of glitches and hackers, you can lose astral and equipment for no reason, you can try to contact customer support or "GM HELP" but they will most likely not respond and you will not get anything back.
  14. May 16, 2015
    2
    The main campaign really sucks. Each chapter, the main quests are always: find 4 items located at the four corners of the map. The quests are nonsensical. You cannot change the plot, there is no choices and consequences, you can only do what you are told to.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. If you’re going to play on your own there is enough to keep you playing for days, take it online and you have a masterpiece that could last you a lifetime.
  2. 100
    It's hard to fathom, but what it really boils down to is the fact that gamers may never really have grasped just how faithful an adaptation of the D&D ruleset we are looking at. It is totally accurate in every, single detail.
  3. Where Neverwinter Nights really earns the points is in its longevity.