Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll onOnce a bustling location, Neverwinter has faced a great many disasters in the past hundred years. Rule of the city remains unclear following the unfortunate demise of the last Lord of Neverwinter and factions still battle for dominance after the all-consuming Spellplague took a high toll on the population. Even Neverwinter’s dead are beginning to rise from their graves and march upon the city they once called home. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aug 1, 2013
    90
    A sensationally addictive massively multiplayer action RPG, and it's free. What are you waiting for?! [Aug 2013, p.78]
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    The new MMO transposition of the famous paper role-playing game Dungeons & Dragons is a success, and one of the best examples of free-to-play titles currently available.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Neverwinter certainly has room to grow, but the amount of game that's available with no barrier of entry — neither fiscal nor educational — is mind-boggling. It misses the mark somewhat on that Dungeons & Dragons feeling of absolute character ownership, but that doesn't make the game any less refreshing to play. With its fast-paced combat and ubiquitously streamlined design, Neverwinter nails the concept of what an action-MMO should be.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    75
    There’s no doubt in my mind that Neverwinter is most certainly a fun game to play, standing proudly amongst the other F2P MMOs as one of the front liners. However, the suspect use of the F2P model along with a linear, unimaginative quest progression and a lack of good end game content make me feel it still has much to grow before I can proclaim it to be the F2P that completely wiped away the stigma they hold in today’s game market.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    70
    Online incarnation of Neverwinter is an interesting proposal for fans of MMO and action RPG, that enjoy a fantasy setting. The game is pretty and playable, but I'm not sure if the Foundry is enough to keep players for a long time. Creating your own quests is really cool, but it does not make up for an unbalanced PvP. Let's hope Cryptic Studios considers all of the opinions and solves the problem of expensive micro-transactions, as well as gives max-level players something interesting to do.
  6. May 30, 2013
    70
    Neverwinter is worth a visit by anyone who is a fan of both MMOs and of action-RPGs. Despite some glaring issues, including the lacklustre PvP and the Zen Market, the game is wildly fun and is a worthwhile detour on one’s journey through the MMO space today. It remains to be seen what Cryptic does with the feedback it has received from the players during the past month, but Neverwinter is one to keep an eye on as time goes by. As the title says, Neverwinter is an Astral Diamond in the Rough.
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    55
    Neverwinter is a disappointing MMO. There isn’t a lot of freedom for players to roam and it doesn’t re-imagine itself in the open world genre. For a free-to-play game it offers too little.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 124
  2. Negative: 56 out of 124
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    the game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. Itthe game is very fun. the game has great action in the combat. It fells like a true action rpg with mmo elements. The game looks great. It is fast to install. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I've been playing WoW for 7 years... then stopped... started this game up and all I can say is WOW!!!!!!!! the combat is not only easier butI've been playing WoW for 7 years... then stopped... started this game up and all I can say is WOW!!!!!!!! the combat is not only easier but more fun! keep in mind that this game is not a huge MMO like WoW, its more like a Diablo/WoW mix.... i have NO complaints Collapse
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    As of this writing, I've gotten one character to level 60 (Rogue), and another to 30 (Cleric). I've tried the basics of the other classes,As of this writing, I've gotten one character to level 60 (Rogue), and another to 30 (Cleric). I've tried the basics of the other classes, though not advanced them very far since they didn't catch me as much as Rogue and Cleric classes did.

    It's not a perfect game by any means. It's mostly an action adventure game, with a somewhat short period required to play through a RPG section to get your character to max level (It goes really, really fast) The combat is very easy in the beginning, and slowly ramps up as the levels increase.

    A lot of times, I'll spend too much of the more difficult battles staring at the floor, which is a result of the system of area effects larger enemies give off. Trying to stay out of the red can be tricky, and require some relatively quick reflexes, but it's mostly manageable excluding a few occasions where you let the crowd of other spawns run too rampant.

    The cash shop is built for Whales only. These are the people of whom, are willing to spend the big dollars, as everything is quiet expensive. It is entirely possible to earn the Crystal currency in game, and convert that over to cash shop money, so in, never having to spend a dime on the game, but look forward to a lot of grinding/professions/time for some of the really big ticket items.

    I can't speak of the player versus player, not something that has ever interested me.

    The community seems fine enough, people like on any MMO's can run the gambit of types and personalities. If you can get friends to play the game, it improves greatly (much as any MMO)

    The foundry is interesting, and gives limitless potential for random quality entertainment. The best ones in theory get voted to the top. There are weekly sales in the cash shop, but I don't particularly think things are discounted enough for the regular joe.

    It's relatively easy in my experience to make a good looking character, and the customization is relatively deep (Way moreso than other games of the ilk). All and all I've invested a little money into it, and find it enjoyable and challenging at a times, and mostly fair (There are some instances where I've been hit by things when I was completely out of the danger area)

    In the end, it is completely free to play, and there are aspects of the payment system of which, from what I've read, and seen hints of, that those that pay might have the possibility of distinct advantages over you in the deeper endgame.
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2013
    5
    Summary

    The game will keep you entertained for awhile, but after you hit level 60, it goes downhill from there and quality noticeable
    Summary

    The game will keep you entertained for awhile, but after you hit level 60, it goes downhill from there and quality noticeable drops.

    The Good

    Neverwinter has excellent combat and physics as well as good tactical elements that make the game fun. The graphics are above average for an MMO and the sound effects in combat are excellent and immersive. Controls feel solid and everything is very responsive from target specific enemies in a crowd or dodging attacks. Players who invest in mechanical keyboard and precision mice will make good use of it in here. Combat is fun and for those with good sound systems, this only makes it more enjoyable.

    The Bad.

    The game is very simplistic for a D&D game. One of the questionable aspects if the decision of Cryptic you make use of only 3 slots for powers, 2 slots for dailies, and 2 slots for passive skills, which in this day and age for very limiting. You do not have multiple hot bars and in order to swap powers, you must navigate clumsily through the menu to do this. After you swap powers, dailies, or passive skills, there is a fairly long duration before you can start using them.

    There is also a large lack of class variations and customizations. You have six classes when approaching level 30, can choose a paragon path which is a sort of subclass for that class. Cryptic had a very good chance here to make things interesting but decided not two. The are very slight differences between either affect gameplay very little and most players will see no differences at all. In the end, everyone in the game pretty much uses the same cookie cutter template for their class.

    There seems to be balance issues concerning classes. Fighters aren't generally welcomed in any group, and the game is comprised mostly of rogues, wizards, and rangers. The reasons are fairly obvious when you play game and I won't go into details because the list of issues are large and can be found at the official forums.

    Other concerns
    The community is very elitist are very unfriendly to feedback in the forums and are just as rude in game. Developers seem to be more concerned with bringing updates for cash items than making meaningful changes to the game and the new content dubbed Module 1 and 2 both use the same cookie cutter layout but with different map layouts and graphics. Most quests are pretty much fetch quests or killing stuff in a general area.

    Conclusion
    Good combat, responsive control, but poor decisions make the game unenjoyable in the long run.
    Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    This game starts out quite fun. Decent combat for an MMO, linear questing and the foundry is an interesting concept.

    But after you've
    This game starts out quite fun. Decent combat for an MMO, linear questing and the foundry is an interesting concept.

    But after you've scratched the surface, you'll find nothing but exploitative PW cash shop (pay IRL money for respecs????) the game has been hacked to shreds and they refuse to reset not to mention the region locking.

    Avoid.
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    2
    This has to be the buggiest game known to man. The developers don't seem to care a hoot about making this game fun to play. Very poor designThis has to be the buggiest game known to man. The developers don't seem to care a hoot about making this game fun to play. Very poor design overall and the execution is terrible. Needs a new owner/management. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. interesting game, destruction or given characters, where if you do not buy a currency for real, you're the last link in the entire game and most interesting Chop, PVP fights always razdelyayutsya that lyubogm case against enbya 3/5 donaterov and you have a party only Nuba in green Exodus. **** slag, do not play this wanker!!!!! Expand

See all 124 User Reviews