User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 73
  2. Negative: 2 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Stunning!! Just played it and still looks great even though it is now more than 6 years old. Immersive and innovative gameplay, why don't they make more of these types of games anymore?
  2. NightTripper
    Nov 16, 2004
    8
    I think one of the best things about this game is the storybuilding and atmosphere. I really liked playing Homeworld 2 but it didn't make me feel emerged in the story or emotionally connected to the characters. I think Nexus does this job a lot better. The developers at made an interesting story around it and in stead of the monotone storytelling of Homeworld2, Nexus has lots of I think one of the best things about this game is the storybuilding and atmosphere. I really liked playing Homeworld 2 but it didn't make me feel emerged in the story or emotionally connected to the characters. I think Nexus does this job a lot better. The developers at made an interesting story around it and in stead of the monotone storytelling of Homeworld2, Nexus has lots of conversations in it, which truely gives you the idea that you're dealing with crews and captains in stead of computerized hunks of metal in space. I don't agree with people saying that this game doesn't have any strategy in it. I found myself playing and replaying missions, trying to find the right weapons for the right situations and trying out different ways of defeating th enemy. All in all, I must say I really enjoyed this game but I'm sure that, especially because of the slow pace of the game, it's not for everyone... Collapse
  3. Billy
    Dec 9, 2004
    9
    I think this game really awesome but extremely low paced. If you love epic sci-fi battles well, you'll love Nexus. On the other hand, if you're a fan of pure space strategy (i.e. HW, HW-C, HW2, Project Earth, Haegemonia), well, this game could not be for you. Anyway, i think this game an absolute must for everyone. S.M., Italy.
  4. KelemvorNick
    Dec 6, 2004
    9
    Very good game. Nice graphics ok story and very realistic physics. The game is versatile and fun. Even humor is a very strong part, but mostly hidden..you need to have a sense for it. Just one name: Rear Admiral Norbank...this guy is hilarious! ;)) If you like a mixture of Freespace and Homeworld, GRAB IT, and have fun!
  5. BrunoC.
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    Great game. Altought is quite complex as any fleet strategie game should be. How easy it can be to control a Space Fleet? The Graphics are awesome, but the story so far is quite normal. Personally I prefer it to Homeworld, in Nexus we don't have to build nothing, we 've no Rp units or something like that. It's a plain "simple" fleet tactics, control and combat, but everyone Great game. Altought is quite complex as any fleet strategie game should be. How easy it can be to control a Space Fleet? The Graphics are awesome, but the story so far is quite normal. Personally I prefer it to Homeworld, in Nexus we don't have to build nothing, we 've no Rp units or something like that. It's a plain "simple" fleet tactics, control and combat, but everyone should read the manual. Expand
  6. SeanN.
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    The Mods Bring the full potential of this game to its fruition. I am a great fan of mods an I think the ability to manipulate a game further at home is truly a marvel of the "Entertainment Age"
  7. DavidF.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    Excelent sci-fi RTS with great space conflict story.
  8. MartinM.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    Most parts of this game are only somewhat better than average, but what's outstanding in this title, are the almost realistic spacephysics and the smart shipdesigns. So, if you ever wanted to play a spacegame that also FEELS like one, Nexus is what you were looking for.
  9. ChrisH.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    I really, really like this game. It's detailed, it's large, and it's extremely hard. But it's the kind of game you keep playing even if you get your behind kicked to the next millennium.
  10. JV
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Best Tactical Space Game Ever. Fresh idea and amazing graphics. Battles on an Epic scale. The only game that is worthy of the backdrop of space!
  11. EriccaR.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    The atmosphere of the hole game is glamourius, and I think the best think in this game is the story and the caracters. And the battles are interesting as well, you have to use your logic and creativity to win them. I really hope that the second 'epizode' of this will be at least as great as this first one.
  12. Mike
    Jul 26, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game. Looks great even after such a long time. Easily one of the best space RTS games I have played. Some critics here rated it low because they didn't manage to kill the ships. Well, get rid of the shields first guys. If you can't do it, then do the tutorials. A steppingstone but once over it the game is really good. I could not let the game go and I don't find Fantastic game. Looks great even after such a long time. Easily one of the best space RTS games I have played. Some critics here rated it low because they didn't manage to kill the ships. Well, get rid of the shields first guys. If you can't do it, then do the tutorials. A steppingstone but once over it the game is really good. I could not let the game go and I don't find many games like that nowadays. Besides, below $10 for a game like this? I know it's old now but it's a bargain at that price for what it is offering. Expand
  13. Niding
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. A user commented that ships never dies, something I thought too in the beginning. Once I figured out what modules/weapon works against this and that, the hostiles fell like flies (relativly). Brilliant game, only surpassed by Homeworld Series.
  14. ^RedbullSen
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    This game isn't buggy if you add the patch to it. People who can't get this game didn't try very hard. I love this game. Can do the Fight for Earth nearly every time - hint: use Big Bang missiles!
  15. MatthewT.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Holy Crap! Best overalll game that I've ever played. Played it one time through on easy for the story line and to see how it played, then immediatly played it through on hard and still found it interesting and picked up on new sublties in the storyline. Most definately worth the buy.
  16. Meestyk
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    Should there be one last space adventure game, this title truly cut it. Even for a 2004 game, it should inspire you cravings for space battles meet Babylon 5 style. Truly spectacular epic cutscenes as well as the narration. Gorgeous graphics, tactical gameplay, friendly interface. You would do well to play this one, or face the gallows! Even some space games of 2007 are put to shame by Should there be one last space adventure game, this title truly cut it. Even for a 2004 game, it should inspire you cravings for space battles meet Babylon 5 style. Truly spectacular epic cutscenes as well as the narration. Gorgeous graphics, tactical gameplay, friendly interface. You would do well to play this one, or face the gallows! Even some space games of 2007 are put to shame by this title. Well done, HD interactive. Expand
  17. Psymon
    Nov 8, 2007
    9
    An absolutely stunning game marred only by a few bugs. The graphics are beautiful and the ships all look suitably unique. The explosions look utterly incredible. The gameplay is very good, when you control more than a couple of ships it can flick from slow and methodical to frantically micromanaging to keep your ships alive (especially the ones that carry over between missions) while An absolutely stunning game marred only by a few bugs. The graphics are beautiful and the ships all look suitably unique. The explosions look utterly incredible. The gameplay is very good, when you control more than a couple of ships it can flick from slow and methodical to frantically micromanaging to keep your ships alive (especially the ones that carry over between missions) while striking back at the enemy. Do you concentrate on maintaining your shields or strike back at your enemies? Should you launch fighters into the melee or should you try to take out the flak guns first? Do you close to range and pummel the shields with energy weapons or stand off and use some of your precious, limited missiles? Do you charge your shields now and go in all guns blazing, or cloak your ship and sneak up alongside before opening up, leaving yourself similarly exposed? Making choices like this can make or break a battle, but there's no single way to do it. The story is absorbing and the characters and voice acting top notch. Your character, Marcus Cromwell's, diary makes for interesting reading, giving you greater insight into the background of the game and frequently making me laugh. Now onto the bad, even with the 1.1 patch, the game is a little buggy. It appears to vary between people, but on mine it manifested as blue screening and restarting my PC on certain opening cutscenes. This is, to say the least, rather annoying and made it necessary to save the game before starting a mission in case it crashed and lost all the modifications I'd made to my ships. This is the main reason I gave it a 9 out of 10, but if you like the game, it's a very small fly in the ointment. Expand
  18. PedroD.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    It's 2007 and i picked this up for $10, it's been one of the best games i've played for a while. To say it's real time strategy is a bit misleading, this flows a locked story line where each mission is a progressive battle, test or puzzle. The gameplay is awesome and looks amazing still ! The storyline is very sci-fi and keeps you in suspense, really liked the It's 2007 and i picked this up for $10, it's been one of the best games i've played for a while. To say it's real time strategy is a bit misleading, this flows a locked story line where each mission is a progressive battle, test or puzzle. The gameplay is awesome and looks amazing still ! The storyline is very sci-fi and keeps you in suspense, really liked the characters and they tend to grow on you over the course of the game, but the best is the huge battles with very customiseable ships. Awesome. Expand
  19. CalebS
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    minus a few crash bugs that you can easily recover from with saving the game is great. Unless, I guess, your one of the few who aren't literate enough to learn how to take down shields. Anyone who likes space combat games should drop the $10 for this. I'm not sure how to even take the "critic" scores, they give this game a 77 and players give it 8.7. Empires TW just came out and minus a few crash bugs that you can easily recover from with saving the game is great. Unless, I guess, your one of the few who aren't literate enough to learn how to take down shields. Anyone who likes space combat games should drop the $10 for this. I'm not sure how to even take the "critic" scores, they give this game a 77 and players give it 8.7. Empires TW just came out and got a 91 from critics and a 7.4 from real players and I see why mine crashes after every engagement. I'm just not sure what critics are good for, they just give all new games high marks if they come from big name companies and assume they suck from smaller ones without even trying the games it seems then I'm just left disappointed with games that i wish we're as good as this one. Expand
  20. [Anonymous]
    Nov 5, 2004
    3
    Played for 2 hours, still cannot understand anything, nice 3d environment, but poor navigation and very poor control over what units are to do. Also I stillhave no clue how todetermine distance nor range of any unit including my own. My ship spent much of its time shooting useless units and ignoring those that I wanted to destroy. This is not a TFS, but a game of gussing. If you have Played for 2 hours, still cannot understand anything, nice 3d environment, but poor navigation and very poor control over what units are to do. Also I stillhave no clue how todetermine distance nor range of any unit including my own. My ship spent much of its time shooting useless units and ignoring those that I wanted to destroy. This is not a TFS, but a game of gussing. If you have played homeworld, do not waste your time, as it is a complete let down,not to mention waste of money. I had high hopes for an enjoyable game, but got this. Sometimes it pays to wait before buying a game this is one such time. Expand
  21. DannyB.
    Jul 6, 2007
    2
    Visuals are great. That is about all of the positive I can think of. I am about 4-6 missions in and I give up. I have got better things to do with my life than to put up with enemy ships that are not allowed to die. Their components are not selectable. I 've just finished a 40min fight where in the end, They stopped shooting and I had shot everything off of them I was allowed to. Yet Visuals are great. That is about all of the positive I can think of. I am about 4-6 missions in and I give up. I have got better things to do with my life than to put up with enemy ships that are not allowed to die. Their components are not selectable. I 've just finished a 40min fight where in the end, They stopped shooting and I had shot everything off of them I was allowed to. Yet they did not die and the game just continued on and on and on with nothing in sight but frustration. It is hard to not be worth the $7.00 I paid for this game but this game managed that feat. Avoid this game. Avoid this game. Do not waste your money on this game. Buy something else. Buy anything else. Just not this game. Expand
  22. DaveyL.
    Feb 10, 2006
    5
    Did 26 missions, the second to last mission, Fight for Earth is a nightmare. Spent more time with the spacebar then playing the game. The spacebar pauses the game. Played it on beginner, just who plays it on the upper levels of difficulty, I don't know. Tried the cheats, (the Trainer) and the game just crashes. This could have been and all time great RTS Space Game even better then Did 26 missions, the second to last mission, Fight for Earth is a nightmare. Spent more time with the spacebar then playing the game. The spacebar pauses the game. Played it on beginner, just who plays it on the upper levels of difficulty, I don't know. Tried the cheats, (the Trainer) and the game just crashes. This could have been and all time great RTS Space Game even better then HomeWorld, but the programs dropped the ball and played mind games on the Fight for Earth Mission. Be well advised to buy this game used and be ready for a lot of hidden secrets and bugs. What a waste of talent that went into this game. Expand
  23. AnonymousMC
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    IMHO: Excellent gameplay, brilliant gfx, awesome music and a very good tutorial.
    If someone playing for 2 hours still can't see the point... Well, perhaps the problem isnt with the game! Reading the manual or restarting episode1 and reading (not just skipping) the tutorial messages could help...
    And this is NOT an rts like homeworld. But it IS a tfs - the best one!
  24. AnonymousMC
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    This is a great game, without a doubt one of the most challenging tactical space games that I've played. It is also the buggiest game that I have ever battled through to finish. Some missions have to be done a certain, specific way; others flat out crash if things are exactly right. Great game that needed a little more work.
  25. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    I really love this game, Great strategy behind it, Compelling story. Really decent graphics for a game of its time. Wish it had a skirmish build, but I understand it is a story Driven game with goals other then just pass space conquest. You can get a ton of mods for it off of Mod DB which helps bring more return playability after the campaign is over. Rumor they are making a Nexus 2 asI really love this game, Great strategy behind it, Compelling story. Really decent graphics for a game of its time. Wish it had a skirmish build, but I understand it is a story Driven game with goals other then just pass space conquest. You can get a ton of mods for it off of Mod DB which helps bring more return playability after the campaign is over. Rumor they are making a Nexus 2 as well so Look out for that title I hope they keep up to the name of the first Nexus an do not ruin it by trying to make it a Sandbox style Space game, Keep to the core of what made this game compelling an fun, please. I like the interface a lot the weapon use,repair tree, selecting to give more or less power to certain systems. The capability of single shot control of your weapons systems, or being able to switch the mode from Defensive or offensive like different Alert statuses depending on battle or recon scenarios. Only thing I find lacking is the non support for a higher Resolution for wide screen monitors with a 16:9 ratio you can not run 1600x1200 so you have to run under a lower resolution an lose a giant part of your screens viewing capability. An they have not patched this issue nor does it seem they ever will. Wish a Mod programer would address this an make a 1.2 Game Patch for enhanced graphics/resolutions. Maybe some day... cause of that I give this game a 8, cause of mechanics on options. Other then that the game is a joy to play, being able to customize the build out lay of ships is fun an brings a curve to the strategy of how to play each mission to the fullest capability your ship can have in different scenarios. Expand
  26. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    The best space-tactic game I've ever played. Believable physics and AI, graphics are very nice for a game from 2005. Ships try to run away if they're getting pounded and if they're about to blow up they evacuate which, afaik, has no in-game purpose, but it adds a very nice touch. Reminds us there are living beings on board and that war isn't nice, even if it's a very pretty war in space.The best space-tactic game I've ever played. Believable physics and AI, graphics are very nice for a game from 2005. Ships try to run away if they're getting pounded and if they're about to blow up they evacuate which, afaik, has no in-game purpose, but it adds a very nice touch. Reminds us there are living beings on board and that war isn't nice, even if it's a very pretty war in space. Gameplay reminds me of a star-trek episode. There's usually so much more to do than just "shoot stuff and go home". You get to scan things, solve puzzles, make decisions... and the actual combat is very good! You get to target subsystems, prioritize them, assign repair crews, try out different weapon combinations and board ships with commandos! Overall, very good game, heartily recommended for anyone who likes scifi.

    Overall
    Expand
  27. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    I played this again recently and it's still looks good even 8 years on (after some tweaks to get 1920x1080) and is still one of the best RTSs I've played. Shame it had such a bad release and no one knew about it, otherwise they would have been able to finish the sequel. Currently £1.49 on steam, if you like sci-fi and RTSs it's one you need to play.

    The down sides are... it has
    I played this again recently and it's still looks good even 8 years on (after some tweaks to get 1920x1080) and is still one of the best RTSs I've played. Shame it had such a bad release and no one knew about it, otherwise they would have been able to finish the sequel. Currently £1.49 on steam, if you like sci-fi and RTSs it's one you need to play.

    The down sides are... it has quite a steep learning curve and it's not aimed at people who cannot figure things out for themselves (like most games do these days), there is no hand-holding and the AI is ruthless. Which makes it very hard.
    Expand
  28. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Some people complained that this game was all too classic, without new rivaling ideas I couldn't object more! Yes, the plot is classic, and that's a way I love. The rest is really well laid out, an epic story, many different aspects, sometimes not explained well enough, I agree there. It is too bad that the creators apparently did not have the time to release more patches because someSome people complained that this game was all too classic, without new rivaling ideas I couldn't object more! Yes, the plot is classic, and that's a way I love. The rest is really well laid out, an epic story, many different aspects, sometimes not explained well enough, I agree there. It is too bad that the creators apparently did not have the time to release more patches because some things are unbalanced and a little random. If you can forgive that, you'll have much fun with this game. AND there are some game guides out there that can help you get over the first difficulties. Also, the graphics are still something to catch your eye, even today (I discovered the game only recently). In any case, Nexus sure captured me, despite the (for me forgivable) flaws it unfortunately has. BUT they are "merely" technical in my point of view. Expand
  29. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    A great looking game, with a good story. However, shoddy music and an incredibly steep learning curve, coupled with frustratingly hard missions and no offline play other than the campaign, make this game one that I would happily cheat on to complete it.
  30. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    This game will drive you mad, why? Because it's such a challenge. It is nice to see a game that is a little more than a click fest. The only complaint I have is moving units and controlling them is a bit difficult because of the way the 3D map works. Definitely worth the money
  31. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Everything about this game is top-notch.

    The only reason it gets a 9 instead of a 10 for me is because at the highest difficulty it can be far too difficult.

    Other than that, it is a crying shame this game is not more well-known, and that the sequel is having such trouble getting a release.

    This game is fun, playable, AND makes you think. It is truly a problem-solver's game.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Overall however, we're rather taken with Nexus. Its mixture of tactics, mouse-control and combat-orientated gameplay is suitably different from both "Homeworld" and traditional space-combat games like Freespace, delivering something unique and yet familiar enough to appeal to fans of either game. [PC Zone]
  2. It's delicious to watch. Nexus' whirling space charts and system-spanning ships slip past spiraling asteroids, fend of the shadows of "Homeworld" and make your head spin. [Christmas 2004, p.114]
  3. The first couple of hours of the game are fantastic, as you're introduced to the universe, the ships, the stunning battles and the interesting gameplay, but for the average strategy fan, the realisation that the game is all about increasingly complex micro-management of your ships and crew is something of a let-down.