User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This game is soooo fun, i couldnt put it down untill i had beaten every level and gotten every coin (except the last 4 scrapyard lvls which were insane). Its kindof hard to explain what Nimbus really is since its so original, its in a sence a puzzle game that isnt your typical "chess" "checkers" "move this block here" type thing its all about flying your little "shuttle" that doesnt haveThis game is soooo fun, i couldnt put it down untill i had beaten every level and gotten every coin (except the last 4 scrapyard lvls which were insane). Its kindof hard to explain what Nimbus really is since its so original, its in a sence a puzzle game that isnt your typical "chess" "checkers" "move this block here" type thing its all about flying your little "shuttle" that doesnt have any engines to reach the goal based on physics in a 2d sidescroller if that makes any sence, id suggest a gameplay vid or demo to try it out. The price of Nimbus on steam is more than reasonable, the gameplay is awsome, addicting, and fun. Nimbus soundtrack fits the game so well, i cant wait for Nimbus 2 if there ever is one, solid 10 for me :) Collapse
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    A very clever and original little game. Part puzzle, part action/racer... you sort of have to play it to understand how it works, but that's why there is a demo! The developer is active on the Steam forums and a really great guy who pays attention to player feedback. One of my favorite games of 2010.
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    The game is fun, but it seems to have a sadistic pleasure in trying to kill you. The best levels are the ones that take it easy and have physics puzzles or interesting ways to get from point A to point B (my personal favorite being black holes). But the game suffers due to controls that are awkward. Push left to turn Anti-Clockwise, right to go clockwise. It's simple enough but it's hardThe game is fun, but it seems to have a sadistic pleasure in trying to kill you. The best levels are the ones that take it easy and have physics puzzles or interesting ways to get from point A to point B (my personal favorite being black holes). But the game suffers due to controls that are awkward. Push left to turn Anti-Clockwise, right to go clockwise. It's simple enough but it's hard to be accurate, but the level design insists on accuracy while speeding around at high speeds, often creating frustrating situations. Your ship has no propulsion so you have to rely on gravity to be your primary power source, but this creates a problem as most of the levels are designed to give you enough gravity or push via other means to just barely get you to the next part of the course. Once again a frustrating situation arises when just enough isn't enough because you didn't guide your ship in precisely the right manner to make the most of the propulsion at your disposal. The game would be much more fun if it focused a lot more on exploration and less on trying to trip you up. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    7
    This unique, 2D racing/arcade game is fun to explore and play until the novelty wears off. Awkward controls and timer issues with low-end systems were minor problems for me, but were offset by the graphical style and collectible-grabbing action!
  5. AWG
    Jul 29, 2013
    7
    "Nimbus" is a well-polished and funny game about puzzles and racing among puzzles and solving puzzles whilst racing... just play it. You will like it.
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    This game is soooo fun, i couldnt put it down untill i had beaten every level and gotten every coin (except the last 4 scrapyard lvls which were insane). Its kindof hard to explain what Nimbus really is since its so original, its in a sence a puzzle game that isnt your typical "chess" "checkers" "move this block here" type thing its all about flying your little "shuttle" that doesnt haveThis game is soooo fun, i couldnt put it down untill i had beaten every level and gotten every coin (except the last 4 scrapyard lvls which were insane). Its kindof hard to explain what Nimbus really is since its so original, its in a sence a puzzle game that isnt your typical "chess" "checkers" "move this block here" type thing its all about flying your little "shuttle" that doesnt have any engines to reach the goal based on physics in a 2d sidescroller if that makes any sence, id suggest a gameplay vid or demo to try it out. The price of Nimbus on steam is more than reasonable, the gameplay is awsome, addicting, and fun. Nimbus soundtrack fits the game so well, i cant wait for Nimbus 2 if there ever is one, solid 10 for me :) Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 70
    Simple but catchy and well-balanced arcade game. Pity there are so few levels we'd love to see more. [Issue#200]
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    90
    The designers had a clear vision for this game, and they made sure it came into fruition.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Nimbus is a delightful mix of racing for the perfect time and brain-twisting puzzles. This is a excellent game for those who love the feeling of becoming really good at something that is challenging, but never unfair.