No One Lives Forever 2: A Spy in H.A.R.M.'s Way Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A humorous story-driven first-person shooter featuring the beautiful but deadly UNITY operative Cate Archer. Cate must investigate a super-secret Soviet project that, if successful, could bring about a third world war. Armed with an assortment of conventional and experimental weaponry andA humorous story-driven first-person shooter featuring the beautiful but deadly UNITY operative Cate Archer. Cate must investigate a super-secret Soviet project that, if successful, could bring about a third world war. Armed with an assortment of conventional and experimental weaponry and gadgets, players will explore exotic locales, circumvent devious traps, and contend with deadly agents determined to take Cate out of the spy trade once and for all. [Sierra] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    The stealth element, which was the source of much frustration, has undergone a total overhaul: Virtually every one of the game's 40 missions can be accomplished using guile (instead of brute force). [11 Oct 2002, p.85]
  2. 100
    Its presentation is top-notch, its levels are varied and interesting, its AI is convincing, and the whole game drips with love and attention to detail.
  3. Truly a wonderful game, complete with enough humor and action to appease anyone in the market for a good shooter and a hearty laugh.
  4. Cheat Code Central
    90
    The game has a great sense of humor and parodies much of the spy genre without losing the focus of the game.
  5. Not only a worthy sequel but also advances the genre forward with a higher standard of AI, stealth and level design.
  6. 90
    Masterfully blending some spectacular action sequences and a unique sense of humor with elements of stealth games, first-person shooters, graphic adventures and even RPGs, the end result is a title that tops the original in every way, and stands out even among 2002's amazing crop of PC action games.
  7. If it sounds like NOLF2 is a lot like NOLF, and you're wondering why I'm complaining so bitterly, you have my sympathy. When I say they "gutted" NOLF2, I mean it, and I can back it up.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    I still recall this as one of the best FPS I've ever played. I would love to see this IP revisited with a new game. Great storyline, stealthI still recall this as one of the best FPS I've ever played. I would love to see this IP revisited with a new game. Great storyline, stealth modes and spy gadgets. It was as close as you can get to being in a 60's spy movie. Expand
  2. OdinoO.
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    Truly remarkable game, has a lot to offer and plenty to find in every mission. AI could be more clever, and not simply find soldiers talking Truly remarkable game, has a lot to offer and plenty to find in every mission. AI could be more clever, and not simply find soldiers talking random stuff about red tape when they know there are 5 guys lying on the floor... No matter, this game has it all and can be finished in stealth or brute force if required. Expand
  3. GabeS.
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    NOLF II has great graphics and the AI is amazing!
  4. Doggy82
    Mar 24, 2003
    9
    Great game :-)
  5. Oct 6, 2017
    9
    In general, the sequel feels more polished than the original, smoother and more intuitive to play, and it also feels much more "modern" in itsIn general, the sequel feels more polished than the original, smoother and more intuitive to play, and it also feels much more "modern" in its mechanics, despite being released only 2 years later. Whether you consider that a good thing or not depends on your taste. For example, levels are a little smaller, less labyrinthian, and simpler to navigate, and there is a compass on the HUD with objective markers. Some of the streamlined elements are undeniable improvements though, such as being able to review your objectives at any time, being able to scroll through your weapons & gadgets with the mouse wheel, and the skill point system, which properly rewards the player for gathering intelligence and gives them an incentive to do so. The visuals were also drastically improved and have aged so much better than the original, keeping with the vibrant and slightly cartoony look but incorporating a much higher level of detail and much better animations, particularly noticeable in the cutscenes, which are so much more enjoyable to watch here. In many ways this one is still aesthetically pleasing in 2017, and I can't really say the same about the original NOLF, apart from its art style.

    The stealth mechanics are much better too, and stealth in general is more entertaining. There's a proper crouch toggle now (which is invaluable), you have the ability to lean around corners and carry bodies, and there are visibility notifications in the HUD. Stealth is no more forgiving otherwise though, so quicksave is still your friend. The world is so much more interactive; you can open shelves and cupboards to look for items and intel, and turn off lights to hide yourself from guards, and both things were very welcome additions.

    There's really only a few things I can complain about, gameplay wise. Firstly, enemies respawn in this one, which keeps stealth a constant focus, and isn't done in a very grating way; BUT it does mean that any sense of relief you're granted by methodically removing enemies from the level is only temporary. Another minor problem of mine is that grenades and other throwables are really weak now, making them almost never worth using. The snowmobile is back again, driveable in one mission, and sadly still controls like arse.

    But it's NOLF again, with everything that made the first game so entrancing, but even better. An excellent continuation of the story, some really creative and sometimes ridiculous situations, great humour, fun new gadgets and weapons, and fabulous music. What a shame we'll probably never see a third game, and it's a true injustice that this series has been so easily forgotten. The sequel in particular is a wonderful achievement that every gamer must play.
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    6
    One of the funniest game ever played...
    But there is too many bugs in gameplay and graphics is too poor
    let's hope there will be NOLF 3 in
    One of the funniest game ever played...
    But there is too many bugs in gameplay and graphics is too poor
    let's hope there will be NOLF 3 in future with good graphics and gameplay
    Expand
  7. TomAto
    May 1, 2003
    0
    PC/Video games can be fun, but they are rotting our youths minds. I have never played this game, but my vote is a 0 as I believe you peoplePC/Video games can be fun, but they are rotting our youths minds. I have never played this game, but my vote is a 0 as I believe you people should be finding more worthwhile and perhaps educational things to do. In any case, thank you for reading this, and do not take this comment personally, as it is simply my thoughtful, yet perhaps completely false opinion. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews