Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    71
    Even with all its flaws, Nuclear Dawn is a treat for those who wanted a decent FPS/RTS hybrid.
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    65
    It's unfortunate to see Nuclear Dawn suffer from such simple errors, as underneath these tiny flaws is an above-average game with some new, interesting ideas at its core. If you're playing with friends or get lucky with a random server, it can be a lot of fun - but often that's not the case and as a result Nuclear Dawn doesn't quite earn the recommendation it's otherwise capable of receiving.
  3. 73
    So in the post-Call of Duty/Battlefield/Team Fortress 2 world of today, Nuclear Dawn will not have an easy time finding a safe place, not only because of the risk it has taken as a genre combination, but mainly because of the work that the FPS side still needs.
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    72
    As I said before, it may not be perfect, but it's a step in the right direction for the genre. It'll be interesting to see what improvements come to the game as the minor bugs are ironed out. And even more interesting will be where we go next, now that Nuclear Dawn has shown us what a game is capable of doing.
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. 70
    It could do with a practice mode or some proper tutorials to introduce newcomers to the commander mode, but if you're up for a challenge or find a decent server, Nuclear Dawn is an exciting take on a genre that's usually lacking new ideas.
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    60
    Despite its good ideas, Nuclear Dawn's rough edges, particularly on the FPS side, mean curious players will check it out, but they might not stay for long. [Nov 2011, p.104]
  8. Oct 24, 2011
    72
    To have fun with this game, there need to be a lot of players and able commanders. If you find some with matching abilities, the game is extremely entertaining. But that's a rare case.
  9. Oct 3, 2011
    60
    While it won't be able to compete with its big budget peers in pretty much any aspect, at least it's a fraction of the price of the likes of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3.
  10. 70
    Attractive combination of first person shooter with real time strategy delivers balanced action and tactical parts and offers a good alternative to other shooters. [Dec 2011]
  11. Sep 20, 2011
    62
    I applaud the developers for trying to make this work, but I honestly don't see many players spending too much of their time trying it out.
  12. Nov 3, 2011
    70
    It's certainly one of the better RTS/FPS hybrids, and with any luck, it will become a little more welcoming to players interested in something other than the typical shooter fare - and for people willing to invest themselves, it's already worth a look.
  13. Oct 7, 2011
    60
    Interwave needs to deliver the promised modes, improved tutorials and an offline option quickly if it hopes to survive beyond the release of this fall's marquee titles like Battlefield 3 and Modern Warfare 3. There's a lot to like in the concept, but I don't think Interwave has earned your money yet.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 10 out of 61
  1. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Nuclear Dawn is an awesome game for both two totally different groups of gamers to come together and enjoy. The FPS is a fast paced classNuclear Dawn is an awesome game for both two totally different groups of gamers to come together and enjoy. The FPS is a fast paced class combat game that pays homage to the likes of Team Fortress and Battlefield. The RTS is unforgiving, forcing a balance between your own tactics with the strengths of your human units on the ground. Loads of different tactics and styles to play to choose from which makes ND a great game to pick up with your gaming buddies.

    Support is already excellent, the developers promise a ton of updates and that they will always be free. In short, the â
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    A fantastic mix of FPS/RTS genre that provides players with a lot of different classes and builds to tinker with. Nuclear Dawn isn'tA fantastic mix of FPS/RTS genre that provides players with a lot of different classes and builds to tinker with. Nuclear Dawn isn't groundbreaking, but a solid shooter especially if you want to work as a team to succeed in winning. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    I think mostly fair opinion is:

    "Long time gamer here. I have played most of the titles in the BF series as well as a host of other shooters,
    I think mostly fair opinion is:

    "Long time gamer here. I have played most of the titles in the BF series as well as a host of other shooters, though I don't particularly care for the CoD franchise.

    ND is a welcome entry into the pantheon of online shooters. I haven't tried commander yet, as I have been exploring the classes, mostly medic/sniper. Solid visuals (though not mind-blowingly impressive), gameplay, and pacing make this one well-worth your time if you are a fan of team-based, tactical gameplay.

    It takes a while to get used to the maps and become acquainted with all of the structures and what they do, but the interface is quite slick and, more importantly, useful. It would be nice, however, to have more info on how the game works than the brief tutorial vids offer, but there is also info available in this forum and elsewhere that will do the trick.

    I am having a blast so far. If you're on the fence, I would say go for it...the game is only $25.00, and it's easily one of the more innovative and entertaining titles to come out in some time." (c) Mike
    Full Review »