User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 120
  2. Negative: 19 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    This takes the best of oldschool gaming and combines it with battlefield and C&C Renegade. This is exactly what more shooters need. This easily beats cod, hands down. Only complaint is that there is not a large player base, anymore, but it is a very solid, and fantastic shooter. If you like games where you have to work as a team, this is for you. If you want to do nothing but snipe, you will never enjoy this. Snipers are penalized (and so is the team with the snipers), as they contribute absolutely NOTHING to the core game play. There are 4 classes, assault (rifle, grenade launcher, sniper), exo (heavy armor and anti-building), engineer (resupply, flamethrower, and medic), and stealth (assassin, sniper, and saboteur). Building destruction is a MUST! If you do not destroy them you can say hello to a 21 rocket launcher salute, all aimed at you! Games can last several hours, if not on a timer. This easily beats anything else you have seen with the source engine and still far much better than CoD. AGAIN, THIS IS NOT A GAME FOR SNIPERS!!! Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    I recently got this game, a CS beta vet, through 1.6. This game is CS with RTS. It blows my mind this community is so small. All the updates to this game have made it one of most enjoyable experiences for me in FPS so far. Its a no brainer to grab it for 2.50 on a steam community sale, but if you are looking for something solid to play with a dedicated small group of loyal vets, jump in. They are willing to show you the ropes and keep this community growing and the game enjoyable.

    I also like the idea that these developers are supported.. Check it out!
    Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    8
    Nuclear dawn is a amazing game,the atmosphere is great,game play is a breath of fresh air. but there are tons of bugs. the AI is garbage. but the game play makes up for it. The fps-rts hybrid works really well here,but attempting to play the rts with bots is a pain,in fact. one time i told the bots to "defend" on a primary objective and they were trying to jump onto the roof
    Its a great
    stupid fun game,and its worth picking it up,just mind the glitches Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Nuclear Dawn- Yes, I would recommend it. I enjoy the large amount of strategy and the variety of challenges you face as a commander, and I will admit it gets pretty challenging... The terrain somewhat fits the theme( post apocalyptic) but could use a bit of brushing up with the consideration of the actual effects of a nuclear war.

    I do love playing, but if I were to find something just
    as solid, I might consider changing favors. To all my friends-get it. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    Multiplayer fps game, with strategic elements. The strategy part falls short of what could have made this into a great game. Too simple and not enough depth. Atleast compared to Natural Selection 2, which is far better than this. All in all though, it's a decent game. The FPS part of it is fun, and have some nice classes and traits. Nothing new but it works Low server population makes me dump it a grade. If it's on sale, and u want to try something less fancy than NS2, then why not. Expand
  6. AWG
    Aug 1, 2013
    6
    A FPSRTS mashup where the FPS part is good (not perfect, but good) and the RTS one is... well, unnecessary. Fact is without the RTS part the whole game would be an unnecessary, plain FPS so in the end it's very hard not to consider Nuclear Dawn quite a forgettable game.
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    More like an 8.6 (gave it a 10 to attempt to offset some of the "10 minutes played" crowd reviews). At first play, it's not hard to understand why so many negative reviews were posted about this game. Sluggish movement, mediocre graphics, balance issues, low TTK, etc etc. If you can get past all that and into the actual gameplay, then I'm sure you'll fall head over heels for this game. Why? Teamplay, several classes (4+ when you factor in the subclasses) to choose from, RTS aspects... just to name a few. Class is kind of self-explanatory and the counter-class concept works pretty well (ex: Exo assault stealth exo, etc). Teamplay is kind of required in this game, if there's no communication going on between members or more importantly, between the infantry and the commander, then likelihood is that your team is going to lose. But it's this communication that makes this game so great. Picture this: You and your teammates are on the front lines advancing forward when all of a sudden you hear the crash of enemy machine gun fire. Two of your men are now lying dead in the alleyway and the bullets are still pouring in. Can't move forward so you phone the commander for support, hoping to hell that he sends something in time because the machine gunners are edging in closer, a ricochet just barely missing your head. Less than a minute letter a turret package drops from the skies and deploys, cutting down the one of the machine gunners and sending the rest of their team into cover as you charge forward and rain hellish fire on their retreat. I don't know about you guys, but I live for this kind of gameplay. It's true that your success is dependent on the commander's abilities but the reverse is true too, creating a fun symbiotic relationship that makes it all the more exciting when you get a good matchup.

    TLDR: This game is freakin' brilliant. Get it. ND developers, find a way to scale game to the size of Planetside 2 and take the gaming world to a whole new level :D
    Expand
  8. May 21, 2013
    6
    Nuclear Dawn is nothing more than an above average game. It attempts to mix FPS and RTS elements and in the process of doing so, it spread it's development resources too much between the two and ultimately failed to deliver a compelling experience on either end. At first, I really enjoyed Nuclear Dawn, but the more I played it, the more i realized how lackluster it really is. The game chugs at times, and even on high end machines you'll feel your framerate lag while firing your weapon which makes it a real chore to enter combat. There are also certain classes that are far superior to others and RTS strategies that are sure to win every match. This effectively eliminates any attempt at player creativity and enjoyment. The lack of online players and servers end up making this game really not worth the money. Expand
  9. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    I once gave this game a rave review. Having been the first FPS/RTS hybrid I played it was a refreshing twist on a tired and mindless frag fest first person shooter landscape. But, having recently experienced the Natural Selection series the glaring weaknesses I found upon returning to this game hit me in the face like a sack of bricks. Most notably the ability of a commander to spam the battlefield with hundreds of mass murdering turrets that shred through buildings and enemies alike. It creates a really restrictive style of gameplay where all the players are forced into one little area of the map. Mobility is highly restricted and it results in the commander having infinitely more influence over the outcome of a battle than the players actively fighting on it. It no longer becomes a tactical first person shooter, but rather a game of having to spend 10-15 minutes just standing in place as an Exo trying to destroy a thousand turrets faster than the enemy commander can build them. The graphics are still nice, the classes still feel perfectly balanced, and teamwork is extremely important (all reasons I gave it a high mark in my first review), but the turret spam turns fun matches into tedious grinds in the blink of an eye. And trust me. Getting hit in the face by the rocket turrets in this game is one of the least pleasant ways to die in a FPS. Its spam animation and fast time to kill will have you enraged. Expand
  10. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    well mi last post was erased so here comes a new one,the game is not bad but is so dead that i have to give a 0 because i dont want people buying this dead game and wasting money.
  11. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    Nuclear Dawn is a very good RTS/FPS hybrid,especially for its price.Its graphics aren't the best but they are good for an indie game.As for the FPS aspect of the game.It is a fast paced shooter inspired by Team Fortress 2 but more strategic and more serious.There is a class system with 4 classes and with some different builds for each class.You also get a new perk each time you level up.Now As for the RTS aspect of the game.When you are a commander your role is to build some structures to help your team.I think the game is awesome and especially the class system.It is certainly worth your money. Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2012
    7
    Nuclear Dawn is a class-based FPS game with RTS-elements and a mixture of Natural Selection, Enemy Territory: Quake Wars and Battlefield 2142 where the "Consortium" dukes it out against the "Empire" on approximately 7 maps. Each time starts with a small base and there are several resource points that have to be captured in order to generate resources so that the commander, whom is chosen by opting-in at the beginning of the battle, can expand his base and hopefully be more tactical than the opposing commander. This is also the game's weakside: if a commander is horrible at what he's doing, the team will surely suffer a frustrating loss. On the other hand, being a commander is very exciting and feels like a huge responsibility, it adds much more depth to what would otherwise be a rather bland FPS game with very little customisation for players. You can choose the arch-type of soldier you wish to play such as the Exo (A tank with massive amounts of health), support (Who can be divided into a medic and an engineer), a scout that can cloak and perform instant take-downs and the Assault that can spot cloaked units and generally comes with very accurate weaponry. Unfortunately,there is no way to customize kits. The engineer will always have a shotgun and the medic will always have a subpar SMG. The game also suffers from a series of bugs that have never been fixed, the most annoying one being the reloading bug where you suddenly find yourself unable to reload your firearm until you switch it around. This can happen up to 3 times in a row if you're unlucky. Given that the game has not seen a patch for over 6 months, I think it is safe to assume these problems will never be fixed and the server count seems to be at an all-time low, with only 2 European servers out of 6 actually being in use. It is obvious that this game hasn't got very long to go any more which is a shame because the maps aren't bad looking and neither are the graphics, the guns feel good when you're firing them and the controls respond well in most cases. It's a very good FPS but its release is anachronistic; the game mechanics used would have fit well in the Battlefield 2142-era where it would have been hailed as a highly innovative and engaging game. For a 2011-release, it's just too old-school but I'd still recommend it if it's for sale. There are still plenty of good rounds to be had and the people playing, save the slow-learners, seem to be know what they're doing and are generally pleasant to be around. I have found absolutely no signs of cheating, I think the game just isn't interesting enough for people to troll because of the low player count. Highly recommended for if you're a fan of the aforementioned titles. (and don't forget you can practice commanding by playing a game with bots!) Expand
  13. Oct 10, 2012
    2
    Game depends heavily on team work!! If your team is lousy, then no matter how good you are, you will witness your team die a slow (or quick) painful death while getting killed many times in the process. As a commander it is very frustrating constantly worrying on whether or not your team is doing their job, collecting and holding resources points, and being swift to respond in the enemy's tactics. If your team is not doing this, they usually start blaming the commander. Game balance is very poor, very often, high ranking players all stack on one team while the other team has all the beginners. When a team is losing instead of fighting harder, too many players like to switch over to the winning team. Gameplay is not consistent as too many players constantly enter and exit resulting in swings of skill levels and game direction. Servers have too much lag. Too many unresolved glitches and hacking. The most common glitch is being stuck in a transport gate and not being able to get out unless pressing enter twice (especially when you are being shot at) before finally being able to move. Other examples include structures being built in the sky, and players occasionally being able to jump like astronauts. I have seen some cheating players shoot through three layers of walls. Although the concept of the game sounds nice, the reality of playing the game is very very different. Expand
  14. May 14, 2012
    8
    The first thing I noticed after completing the tutorials is that there is only one server that is not full and has a decent amount of people playing. If you join a server with less than ten people, Nuclear Dawn will play and feel like a ghost town. I suppose this can be said about any other multi-player only game. In the beginning, everything seems very confusing, regardless of how many people you are playing with. The classes are well rounded and fun to play, even though Stealth seems to be overpowered at times. Capturing strategic points and destroying structures can be quite fun and competitive. The voice acting warnings about our base being under attack gets quite repetitive, and I'm not sure that can be turned off. The map design is outstanding. Every single one of the official maps are a pleasure to look at and take part in. There is so much detail and thought put into the cityscapes that you feel like you are there yourself. The leveling up system is also very well implemented. There are several upgrades that you can make to your weapons and gear. To acquire different weapons and move up, one has to do plenty of teamwork and actually earn experience points. It is refreshing for a multi-player game to require the participants to work as a team. The relationship between all of those involved gives the player a sense of accomplishment and value. Being a commander takes experience and practice, which sometimes means you will have a novice running your team, but to be fair, we all must learn and all players should be given equal chance at the opportunity. The overall feel of Nuclear Dawn is very futuristic, and everything from the graphics, presentation, to sounds is done in a high quality fashion. The developers often make large updates to the game, fixing problems, and adding new features. Even though the load-outs are limited in options, what is currently there offers players plenty of fun. In addition, gaining experience and moving up the ranks also adds a personal level of competitiveness, and a feeling of real achievement, as there are some unlocks in the form of gizmos. With the current patch, there seems to be some glitches/bugs making the player stuck at random places in the map. This is not only related to the structures being built. It also occurs in open spaces, as well as inside of buildings. From the first time I began playing Nuclear Dawn a few months from this writing to now, it has become extremely obvious that the player base has been getting smaller and smaller. As of this writing, there is only one active server, and it is rarely full; playing at about half of capacity at all times. With that said, if you can find populated servers, Nuclear Dawn is great. All classes play differently and there is much fun to be had alternating between each one of them. The gun play in conjunction with capturing and destroying the enemy's strategic points and structures is extremely exciting and fun. This never gets boring or dull. Some Commanders are terrible at what they are trying to do, some are excellent, and some are fair-weather Commanders who will sabotage your side's efforts and forfeit everything at the first sign of an enemy approach or whatever idiotic reason. I wish there was a way to report such fair-weather Commanders and get them banned permanently, as they ruin many games with their worthlessness. With all of that said, Nuclear Dawn is a great game that deserves much attention in the present, and hopefully in the future as well. It is the most multi-player fun I've had in a long time, and I hope that there are more servers spawning in order to maintain its player base alive. Expand
  15. May 1, 2012
    8
    If you like first person shooters that rely on teamwork you have to give this a try. Games won't always go your way, but that's part of the excitement! :)
  16. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    It's a unique mix of RTS and FPS, worth to be played, so far so good, it's look very nice, it doesn't have a big community, but if you have a chance to pick it up, you should do it, it's one of those "Must have" games, and the more people will buy it, and the more updates the game will have, soon there should be also vehicles if the community will be bigger enough.
  17. Apr 14, 2012
    6
    Im fearful of real stinker games. I dont buy ANY game at full price, but I was tempted when I saw Nuclear Dawn on a Steam daily deal for $7, a deal almost too good to pass up. I still read reviews even before buying cheap games; some the negative comments I found here almost stopped me from buying it, but I thought "on the otherhand, its so cheap, the risk of it sucking royally is not an issue." I caved and bought it. Indeed, I have been plesantly surprised by the game; I wont say its the best game of the year, but I will say it is a solid FPS/RTS hybrid. I want to address some of the criticisms that almost stopped me from buying the game in the first place; I have found them to be only half true or completely false. Someone said something negative about the accuracy of the guns. I find the accuracy quite acceptable: every gun fires accurately during short controlled bursts but start to spread during full-auto, exactly how guns really behave. I don't know about you, but I like that accuracy model; it means you can still get long range head shots with a lowly SMG or pistol if you take the time to aim thru the ironsights, firing in short bursts. I just wanted to clarify that because when I read that comment about the accuracy, it gave me the impression the accuracy of the guns were like that f-ing assault rifle from Halo 1, where the first bullet in a short burst NEVER went down the middle of the crosshairs. Its not like that at all people :D I promise! There are no realistic ballistics tho: every bullet is fast as a laser and doesnt drop due to gravity. Another criticism was not being able to adjust your class until you die. Its true that you cannot open the class selection screen while alive UNTIL your commander builds an armoury (since it's a pretty important building, it wont be long until he does build it). You can then go into the armoury and use it to open the class selection screen and change your class instantly WITHOUT HAVING TO SUICIDE like in other games *cough* Battlefield *cough*. Sometimes, if your commander isnt clever enough to build an armoury near the frontlines, it means you may have to trek back to the HQ base to change classes, and you may just say f-that and suicide anyway, but I think I made my point and countered that half-true statement mentioned earlier. Someone else criticised the balance of the game, where one team can reach critical mass and completely stomps the other in a killfest slaughterhouse. It is true that this happens, but I want to make an analogy to another game to highlight that this is not a balance issue as it was suggested by that reveiwer. The game is an RTS hybrid, meaning that control of resources is crucial to winning. The analogy: consider Starcraft... say a player manages to expand to 5 bases and keeps his opponent on only 2 bases by out manouvering him and generally out playing him; that match would probably descend into a killfest slaughter of every remaining asset the 2 base player had until he surrended or died completely. I ask you: is such a killfest a balance issue!? I dont think so, Id say the other guy just got outplayed. The same logic applies to this game, and even to Battlefield or every other FPS game that revolves around controlling strategic map locations: the team that controls most of the map is more than likely to win the match. Its not a balance issue, its a legitimite game mechanic. Anyway, with proper countering tactics it is still possible to beat back a superior enemy knocking at the front door of your main base in Nuclear Dawn; not likely, granted, but it is possible. About the bugs: I did find the odd user interface bug such as the perk (or gizmo as its called in Nuclear Dawn) selection menu not closing properly sometimes, but none of that is a show-stopper in my opinion, as I encoutered similar UI bugs in both Modern Warefare and Bad Company. As for the game being full of bugs, I don't see it that way. Maybe some of you guys could post specific problems instead of a vague comment that clarifies nothing and doesnt even seem true now that Ive played the game myself. Now that Ive preached about the game enough, I want to talk about a bug that did piss me off. The bug happens when I shoot from behind certain objects: the empty air at the edge the object will stop my bullets even though my crosshairs are clear of any obstacle! It is infuriating when it happens, as I usually get killed immediately after for giving away my position without killing my target. Another complaint of mine is not being able to go prone or lean, which are basic FPS control movements that should be available in EVERY first person game. I mean, Im essentially a person in the game world, why cant I move like a person actually would? A person doesn't simply crouch when shot at... he hits the f-ing deck man! Developers please get with the program and include lean and prone control in your f-ing games Its 2012 ffs! Score: all in all, a sturdy 6 points out of 10 Expand
  18. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    This game contains a wonderful FPS element and the commander role fits seemlessly. And I mean, this game is really fun. I mean really fun! Totally worth it, the players are all so professional and nice, there is not a CoD brat to be found. Great game :)
  19. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Love the game, combines FPS and RTS and the small studio behind it is doing their best every single month to update the game with more features and bug fixes over and over. Can only become better and better over time.
  20. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    My favorite FPS of all time. It's an incredible team based FPS with strategical elements. When other games fail on hitboxes and gun damage/accuracy balance, Nuclear Dawn prevails. This is the first game I've played that actually depicts shotguns properly, and even the sidearm is effective. Everything is balanced, and no class is overpowered when pitted against other classes. The exo isn't even overpowered with the incredible amount of health he has, because bullets in Nuclear Dawn actually do damage. I've loved this game since the beta and I likely always will. Expand
  21. Gu5
    Mar 12, 2012
    9
    The is quite good... I would give it 82-85%... The playerbase could be better and there are some things that aren't finished. Further class modifications would be nice too.
  22. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    I honestly can't believe this is a Source engine based game--it's so polished! I'm really enjoying the concept on this one. Each team elects a single commander who controls all the RTS game elements like placing turrets and other typical support structures. The rest of the team fights FPS style and carries out objectives laid out by the commander with class based characters. It really plays well if you have two teams with expert commanders. A good mix of character skills make this quite a fun experience.

    This is quite possibly the best integration of Real Time Strategy with First Person Shooting that I have played. Highly recommend.
    Expand
  23. Feb 29, 2012
    5
    Decent for $5, paid more? Well you better LOVE fps-rts hybrids.
    Graphics are typical for a modern source mod, they get the job done but are not impressive.
    There's a lot of bugs, a mix of bad engine and inexperienced developers breaks entire rounds or forces players to reconnect, kill themselves, or restart.
    The developers left out vehicles, they're clearly in the engine and SDK, but
    removed, probably due to the engine being terrible and inexperience, hopefully with all the money they've made they'll improve it without DLC patches. Expand
  24. Feb 23, 2012
    0
    First there is the troll community as others referred to. Then there is the company of employees who appear to be forum trolls turned employee - and that's just the community. Then there are the maps, filled with eye candy but so imbalanced that the game is decided in the first 10 minutes and the rest of the time is spent with one team ending up farming the losing team for kills. Then there are the framerates - an old source engine with lots of eye candy and total disregard for the Valve hardware survey - this game is designed to be bad for most Steam users, not some, most. The concept is good, but then ripping of the Empires Mod to make a commercial game just shows that the Empires Mod people had a good idea Expand
  25. Feb 11, 2012
    2
    PLAIN AND SIMPLE, this game looks awesome on the basics of its game-play. The classes are set up to evenly distribute the players, yet the lag is so overpowering that to enjoy the game is impossible. The idea of having commander control units and build defenses is feat in itself, but not having the ability to play because cumbersome lag is annoying as it gets. Good aspect on game-play, weapons are strange in their variation, some are quite horrible at accuracy even in point blank range. Graphics are poor for the generation, yet if you don't care about graphics then their decent. I lag was just so bad, thats really the let down. With 25 meg internet, I got jumping frames all over the map, and 4870 graphics card pushing my computer with 4 cores. I could only stand to play it by turning down all the video settings. Good luck whoever buys this laggy game. Expand
  26. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Nuclear Dawn is a rare original game, combining the best of strategic teamplay FPS with a team commander who has to help the entire team and build base and plans to a smart strategy. It is a solid game with regular updates and this week a new map. it is just launching and that is good. i like this game allot.
  27. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Very good and entertaining game, looks like Battlefield, but the Commander feature changes the gameplay to a whole new level, making gameplay different everytime and increases the replayability.
  28. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Perfect mix of an RTS and FPS. The graphics aren't top notch, but if you ever wondered what Battlefield and Command and Conquer would be like merged into one game this would be it. Huge focus on team play as well!!
  29. dak
    Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Nuclear Dawn is a great combination of dynamic gameplay with a rich tactics possibilities where coordination and cooperation mean a lot. For both, infantry and a commander. Sure, it's not flawless â
  30. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Giving Nuclear Dawn a 10 for effort. It's an indie game, but it's got what counts: great gameplay and a positive attitude. The devs actually listen to and continue to improve this title. It can be frustrating at times to play as you are only as good as your commander and/or your team. Teamwork counts for soooo much here. A refreshing change from the typical 'squad based' game that devolves into people "ramboing" around the map winning on their own while ignoring what everyone else is doing. If you like teamwork based games, you'll probably actually enjoy this title. I was pleasantly surprised trying it on the free weekend, and purchased it as a result. Ignore the low critic review scores, I say look more closely at the player reviews. Expand
  31. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Game is similar to that of Savage by S2Games for sure. Id play for 30-40 for this, well worth the $12 I spent. Haven't experienced any bugs as of yet, seems to be very polished. VOIP system is amazing and very useful. Game def. has a good but different feel to it. Team play in this game is essential and forced in many ways which is very good for an FPS game.
  32. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    The latest addition of a commander tutorial is just what this game needed, moving it from the category of "confusing and frustrating" into "a blast to play, win or lose". Whether you like the strategic gameplay of the gods-eye commander, or being the linchpin of a base assault on foot, or even support and spec-ops, moving quietly around, doing their jobs without attracting attention; this game has a role for you to enjoy. This is what Natural Selection wished it could be, back in the day. Hopefully, the free weekend on Steam will draw in the numbers of players this game will need to survive and thrive. Give it a shot! Expand
  33. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    This game is like Battlefield 2 with Towers. That's the best way to describe it I guess. I think it is highly overlooked by the media and players and deserves way more recognition. Finally a good game beside all that military / realistic crap we get nowadays. It cannot and does not want to compete with Battlefield or Call of Duty. But, it is still good. It could use more weapons and more unlocks in general, just for the variety but I don't feel like that I am missing too much. It is fun, it can be intense and when you think you just won, the enemy can turn the tide of the battle and come back to kick your sorry a*** if your commander fails to see the weak points of his makings. But, for people like me that dislike BF or CoD, this is a more than worthy alternative. It is also designed in Source Engine which makes it run smooth. Granted, it has some minor bugs and problems, but nothing game breaking so far after 22 hours playing it. Buy it! Expand
  34. Dec 16, 2011
    5
    I'm a huge fan of past games in the RTS/FPS genre (Savage, Natural Selection) so I was really excited when I saw this one come up for a free weekend on Steam. Unfortunately, while the game has a lot of potential, it's still missing a lot of the basics needed to be more than a novelty.

    - The very short tutorial has almost nothing to do with the actual game. I was lost for hours trying to
    figure out what was going on aside from trying to kill guys on the other team. And yes, I realize I can go watch YouTube videos made by fanboys... that isn't the point.
    - The shooting feels sloppy and inaccurate. When I scored kills, it felt more like luck than skill.
    - Some of the weapons make no sense and are hard to use.
    - Maps are too large for the number of players the game supports... be prepared to spend a LOT of time running.

    The groundwork for a great game is here, but they need to spend more time on getting the core experience right (shooting, movement, an actual tutorial) before this game is ready for prime time.
    Expand
  35. Dec 6, 2011
    2
    I love the concept and stile of this game... but it is literally the WORST game I have ever played. Its amazingly buggy laggy as all hell and if your commander sucks then the hole 30 minute game is a slaughter fest of your team until you finally collapse under the pressure. I'v had the game since beta but stopped playing during the period of time when the game would crash everything you started a game, i had forgotten about in until a few days ago. So I started it up expecting a polished and really epic game but instead found a horrible monstrosity with at most 3 servers running at once and all with ping over 100... great, then as I began to play I was surprised to find that the game is actually worse no than it was in beta. SERIOUSLY DON'T BUY THIS GAME (all though I do really think if the developers of this game weren't restarted it would have been a good game) also map design is ok. Expand
  36. Dec 4, 2011
    8
    offering a beautiful combination of FPS and an RTS commander, this game is a slick game.
    while it can be a little unbalanced (if your loosing, its unlikely you will take it back) and it relies heavily on a good commander, this game playes well and is very fun.
    as for teh cheap price tag, its a multiplayer only game, and its definitely worth the money of you like a good run, gun and tactical fun.
  37. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    This game is a much needed breath of fresh air that has a very faithful fan base. Players cooperate well and talk on headsets, not in every game but its there. It does not take long to learn all the basics and it's a fun learning process that rewards with a little patience.Although a few bugs that still need to be sorted out but the devs have been very engaging in this since beta testing was done. Updated regularly and steady player activity. This game will be a favorite for many to come. Expand
  38. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Nuclear Dawn!
    I loved it when I only saw the pictures.
    A battlefield where commanders build their buildings and soldiers getting resources for him.
    My score would be a ten if more ppl played this game. Now it are only 2 full servers of 32 players max!
    Hey listen! This is a new genre! Buy it to support it's development!
  39. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Using the Left 4 Dead 2 engine that run so smoothly on my computer (2007 iMac), the FPS reminds me of a Battlefield game... the most expansive maps I've seen in a Steam powered game. The strategy of having a commander on your team playing a RTS style game is a unique aspect to a FPS game. Nuclear Dawn is a great game.
  40. Oct 25, 2011
    7
    Quick review: A decent game with a neat premise. RTS element, is minor but important to gameplay. FPS is a standard experience, does not bring anything new to the table but supplies all the standards people have become used too. Graphics are above average and environment has received alot of detail. Gameplay mechanics are solid with very few bugs. This game is a good buy for its price.

    Detailed Review: This game tries to combine what many RTSers want, a RTS/FPS. The game does not do this, however, it does not claim too. This is a FPS with some RTS elements to it. Such as the majority of people are not going to play as the commander, who builds defensive structures, spawn points, and a simple tech tree. It has a top down view which you can angle and change, and a simple but intuitive design to make it easy to work. As for the FPS, there are several classes which fulfill different battlefield roles and the games style requires teamwork and class variety if your team is to succeed. Some interesting choices of class are the scout who can become invisible, your classic assault class or the hulking armor tank with big guns. Each class has a role and plays slightly differently, enough so where specializations will take place but not enough to create the need for only one. There are a selection of weapons from each class, and unlocks which players receive by leveling up their profile and what the commander unlocks through the tech tree. The gameplay is solid, and fairly straightforward; capture this point and recive resources. Commander spends resources to build buildings and upgrades which the team can use to try and get an advantage. Overall this game is worth playing, and if you like the nitch worth buying. Overview: Pros: Good grahpics, Good sound, Refreshing gameplay; hybrid of RTS and FPS, Leveling system, some customization, detailed maps (both 3D and 2D). Good UI system; built in voice chat and communication structure and varied classes.
    Cons: Not as polished as some other shooters such as BF3 or COD but they are not in the same genre so comparisons may not be fair. No campaign. Replay value is medium. Personal Opinion: I was slightly disapointed with the game, I was hoping for a larger role of the RTS side but found it not to my tastes. This game did not appeal to me much after I played it for several hours. The reasons is because I am a veteran RTS player and strong FPS and this game did not sate either of my lusts. This is not to say the game is bad, in fact its one of the better games I've played for some time. It just did not do what I had hoped it would when I first heard that this Hybrid was coming out.

    Hope this is helpful for anyone looking to pick up the game.
    Expand
  41. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    Just got this game recently and I have enjoyed my time playing it so far. Haven't experienced any "gamebreaking" bugs that dNIde talks about it. The learning curve is a bit steep (especially for the commander role), but you can't play it like your normal CoD, "I'm a hero and I am going to go solo their team", it's not that type of a game. It's a team game. Spend a few minutes watching some videos and you should be good as far as getting started. It's a good game, however if you are a bit uneasy about it, the price will be going down and they are said to have a free weekend soon. Would much rather be playing this game then shelling out $60 bucks for another worthless BF or CoD installment. Expand
  42. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Its so very hard to get to grips with- has a very steep learning curve- but once you get off the bottom rungs of the ladder its oh so addictive and satisfying. An awesome mix of strategic decision making and fast shooter action. HIGHLY recommend everyone give it a try!
  43. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Nuclear Dawn hits the nail on the head in this small hybrid genre of game. A smooth well designed and well tested game that has clearly had a lot of polish (especially after the month of public bug fixes in their open beta). The game runs smoothly and is well balanced, especially when you consider how different some of the weapons and structures are on each side. You can jump in and enjoy the game just like any other FPS, but it rewards you time and time again with surprising hidden new features. The game's biggest flaw is a lack of interactive tutorials, which the developers have already announced that they are working on. Expand
  44. Oct 18, 2011
    2
    Nuclear Dawn fall short of expectations due to many reasons. The game is riddled with bug that cause random crashes or multiplier exploit issues that makes an already unbalanced game even more frustrating. The game also has almost no useful instructions which contribute to a steep learning curve. You can not simply jump in a game and start enjoying the game, it will take hours and those hours will not be that enjoyable.
    I would rather play Threewave CTF or Gloom than this game.
    Wait for this game to offer a free weekend or until it goes on sale, it isn't worth more than $5.
    Expand
  45. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Nuclear Dawn offers a fast action packed class based shooter that will engage players who enjoy games like Team Fortress, Battlefield, Day of Defeat, etc. The RTS component of ND (which is only playable by 1 player on each team, the randomly elected commander) offers up tactical scenarios that are more challenging and un-predictable than other strategy games.

    The strange thing about
    Nuclear Dawn is that possibly the most frustrating part of the game (well, the only game mode that is available at the moment) is also what becomes the most satisfying part. The commander has to learn to take care of the FPS troops on the ground to gain their trust and loyalty, so that they follow orders and steamroll the enemy according to his or her tactics.

    I'm giving this game a 10 because, whilst I don't feel like it is the perfect iteration of this hybrid genre, I definitely believe that with community feedback and a few patches Nuclear Dawn will mark a significant turning point in the niche of the genre and market that it appeals to. InterWave have promised the addition of better more interactive tutorials, AI players and commander controllable AI squads, new weapons, research, structures, and game modes in the weeks and months to come. By all accounts, the developers are offering the 'service' of an expansive game with a long life, no doubt drawn from the influence of Valve.

    InterWave has a lot to learn but have a great attitude toward game development and their customer's opinions. Definitely one to pick up if you're a supporter of indies... and definitely one to watch if you're a fan of Valve.
    Expand
  46. Oct 12, 2011
    3
    This game was a pointless waste of time and money for me. So basic I couldnt quite work out why anyone would want to play it. Would be the sort of thing I would expect to see on one of those mega cheap single game console toys they sell in supermarkets for young children and people with no money / or the novelty value. Novel? only if you havent owned a new game since the doom.
  47. Oct 11, 2011
    8
    Nuclear Dawn unsurprisingly takes place after a nuclear war between Russia, China and their associates named Empire against the United States, United Kingdom and their allies going by the handle Consortium. Resources are scarce and itâ
  48. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty awful; it requires you to work together, features a learning curve resulting in new players going RAMBO dying a lot, involves strategy, and has balanced unlockable "perks", rather than forcing you to grind levels in order to stand a chance. Worst of all is, you need to play with those RTS geeks...
    Yeah, imagine the horror!

    On a more serious note, I've so far enjoyed
    this game. Although not entirely bug-free, the FPS/RTS implementation is thought out extraordinarily well and the developers actually care about community input, which shows in their bug tracker.

    The only thing that bugs me, is the lack of a proper tutorial mode, which will fortunately be added in an upcoming patch.
    Expand
  49. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    Having been an avid online gamer since the early days of Quake, Unreal Tournament & Starsiege Tribes, I was quite looking forwards to having a go at Nuclear Dawn. Things didn't start well when it took me around 10-12 attempts to actually connect to even a previously empty game to see what things were about.

    Having played for a few hours I have to say that I'm seriously struggling to be
    impressed by Nuclear Dawn. The graphics, while functional, appear to be circa 2007 and are nothing special at all. The sound is admittedly reasonably good, though I eventually found the music to be annoying. The controls are acceptable and follow the standard setup for games based on the source engine.

    My main issue with Nuclear Dawn is the game play mechanic. The game play is a mixture of RTS and FPS. This is a fairly rare hybrid and there's a good reason why that is the case - the success of your team is extremely heavily dependant on the skill of the "commander" player. A poor commander results in frustrating annihilation for your team.

    I could accept the decidedly mediocre graphics if the game play was hugely engaging. Unfortunately it isn't. I was expecting something akin to the original tribes, however there's just too much missing to make Nuclear Dawn a compelling experience. You're unable to adjust your loadout until you die. You can't re-arm. In a couple of games I ran out of ammunition for my primary weapon, forcing me to carry out a pointless suicide charge at the enemy base.

    There exists a fair number of available upgrades, however their availability is dependant on research that comes from buildings created by the Commander (RTS) player. Again, a poor commander results in pointless and frustrating death after death due to being faced by foes equipped with vastly superior weapons & equipment. If I wanted to play a mindless twitch FPS then I'd load up Unreal Tournament 3 with it's glorious Unreal powered graphics and sound. If I want to play something somewhat more sophisticated then ARMA 2 fits the bill quite nicely. There's a reason why the original Tribes was so popular for years after it was released, despite it's game engine becoming utterly obsolete - the game play offered such a variety of tactics and strategies that it was hugely engaging. Unfortunately Nuclear Dawn offers no such variety and quickly devolves to a repetitive and frankly uninspiring point-capture game.

    I have to say that for the most part the level design is also uninspiring. Yes, there are a fair few levels and each offers a very different environment, but again that which is available is sadly limited by what is by now an old game engine. I was expecting more of a brand new game. Much more.

    I hope that Nuclear Dawn is a success for the developers because it's quite an achievement for an indie outfit. Unfortunately in a very crowded genre there just isn't enough on offer at the moment to make it worthy of a serious investment of play time. I may give this another look in 6 months, but for now it just didn't capture my interest well enough given the simplistic game play and mediocre graphics.
    Expand
  50. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Nuclear Dawn is a breath of fresh air in a market now clogged with generic team based multiplayer shooters. While some will certainly gripe that it isn't a clone of the latest Call of Duty game, it is still a very solid title. In fact, I would go so far as to say that its not feeling the need to copy someone else is a selling point. I also am apparently in the minority being glad to see the Source engine used in Nuclear Dawn. While the physics portion of the engine isn't really showcased it is noticeable when using grenades. Aim low with them because they will bounce and roll a few yards after landing.

    Bugs are there, but as others have said it's nothing that really breaks the game, and honestly they're more minor and generally less numerous than a lot of triple A titles that have been coming out like New Vegas and Crysis 2. Interwave also promises that not only will these bugs be patched, but future content will be added periodically and will always be free.

    But I think it's finally time to touch on the gameplay, because frankly that's what I think makes this game a really good buy. I was really dubious that an RTS element could be added to a team shooter but InterWave hit the bullseye. Standing alone, the class based shooting is above average given the genre and how polluted it has gotten, but the addition of the commander role to each team adds something truly brilliant to the experience. Each team votes in a commander (and out depending on how good a job is being done) and that commander's job is to support their team by researching upgrades and extending forward spawn points and turrets to help their team capture and control resource points. These resources in turn allow the commander to build further and the game is won by the team that manages to push all the way into their enemies base and destroy their command bunker.

    Both factions play differently enough for their to be a preference, but similar enough for their to be a balance. Small differences like how the power grid is extended make for interesting tactical choice differences for the commander, while not necessarily affecting the FPS players.

    Finally, The system is incredibly ballanced in that a team can't win if only the commander or only the players are doing well, it requires a tactical group effort to maintain an advantage and seize victory because if the shooters aren't doing well the commander doesn't have resources to build, and if the commander isn't doing his job then the shooters have less support going into firefights, putting them at a disadvantage.

    The bottom line here is, if you want a team shooter game where you can be 'the hero' and try to do everything by yourself this game is not for you. But if you, like myself, want to be a part of team and share victory or defeat working together with other players then I highly suggest you give this a try.

    As a fore note, this is an excellent game for use with a headset. You don't need one if you're not feeling chatty, as the other players who do have them do a pretty good job of announcing what they need help with; whether that be backup capturing a point or even the commander asking an engineer to repair a structure. (and there are a good number of players who do have headsets.) Text chat is an alternative but in my experience it just gets you killed.
    Expand
  51. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! Needs a lot of team work to win but a very fun game style that I have not seen before. Great for quick 15-30 minute shoot up or a 2 hour strategy sit in. Definitely even better when you use tactics with friends, but very cool when people online come and work together.
  52. TeT
    Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Nuclear Dawn is just awesome! Never seen a game before both fps and rts game-play in one package, and forces you to work together with your complete team! The game is built around Valve's source engine, it's like playing Left 4 Dead 2... But serious i did not expect the smooth graphics of this game, it's really good! If you like to work together, buy! If you love to game as an individual, don't buy! Expand
  53. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic, so long as you don't expect to kick ass as soon as you get in the game (as the two bad reviews state they thought they should). Also, it's fantastic if you absolutely hate playing games where anyone can do just that, and love playing games where it REQUIRES teamwork. That's right, an online multiplayer game that YOU WILL NOT DO WELL IN unless you work together.
  54. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This game is a hidden GEM! if you like strategy games like C&C or FPS games or MMO/FPS games, and especially if you enjoy both.. you MUST try... if you enjoy communication and teamwork PAY OFF and be easy to join ad-hoc basis and work together and be rewarded for it .. this is THE GAME to play. I certainly recommend this game to try.. the poster on steam maybe a bit cheesy and not doing the game justice.. i randomly decided to try it and I have to say past 2 weeks have been VERY entertaining. one of best games I have ever tried I have to say. Need more players and more recognition for such great achievement I beleive. maybe the low price point puts it away from where it should be and some just see it as a "cheap" game but best 23$ I have spent in a LONG LONG time!! Enjoy and hope to see you in game:) S! Potthead Expand
  55. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Nuclear Dawn brings something new to the gaming field and as an avid Battlefield player I can only say that I love what they have done so far with the game, finally something new and refreshing and worth the small amount of money it costs. As announced by the developers the game will get lots of updates a development kit and AI later so there is lots of potential here for a new star game to be born! Expand
  56. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    While not as in-depth as many other multiplayer games, this indie title is still worth your money. The maps are surprisingly detailed and sound is great. The RTS element fits in perfectly and the gameplay is spot on. One gripe, is the problem with a few bugs but they are minor and don't get in the way of what is a great game.
  57. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    A fantastic mix of FPS/RTS genre that provides players with a lot of different classes and builds to tinker with. Nuclear Dawn isn't groundbreaking, but a solid shooter especially if you want to work as a team to succeed in winning.
  58. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    I think mostly fair opinion is:

    "Long time gamer here. I have played most of the titles in the BF series as well as a host of other shooters, though I don't particularly care for the CoD franchise.

    ND is a welcome entry into the pantheon of online shooters. I haven't tried commander yet, as I have been exploring the classes, mostly medic/sniper. Solid visuals (though not mind-blowingly
    impressive), gameplay, and pacing make this one well-worth your time if you are a fan of team-based, tactical gameplay.

    It takes a while to get used to the maps and become acquainted with all of the structures and what they do, but the interface is quite slick and, more importantly, useful. It would be nice, however, to have more info on how the game works than the brief tutorial vids offer, but there is also info available in this forum and elsewhere that will do the trick.

    I am having a blast so far. If you're on the fence, I would say go for it...the game is only $25.00, and it's easily one of the more innovative and entertaining titles to come out in some time." (c) Mike
    Collapse
  59. Sep 27, 2011
    1
    SAVE YOUR MONEY. (Put in caps for people who are in a rush)
    Good, now that we're done with that, this game is terrible. I played it and I had fun for about 5 minutes, played it for about 2 hours. First off it's apparently running HL2 source engine which is fantastic if you hate accuracy or don't like delays in your games, because the source engine delivers- you will notice. There is no
    realism, players run around sprinting the entire time regardless of whats happening and your player will be dead on the ground long before you notice it, because of how fast paced this game tries to achieve.
    The entire experience is nothing short of unbearable, and for them to release it as a seemly new game with such an outdated engine for FPS is- in my mind a rip off. The RTS/ FPS idea seems great until you realize the entire game rests solely on your commander, if he fails you're at a huge disadvantage. You have newbie weapons (The commander can upgrade you to flamethrowers/ grenade launchers/ and "siege weapons") you have no forward re-spawns, no resupply points, no defenses to protect you from these pixie stick snorting enemies. If you have a lot of money and adore Half Life 2 mods, then this might be for you. If you appreciate technological advances and want something that resembles a decent game engine- run away, run far away from this next gen Command and Conquer Renegade clone.
    Expand
  60. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Nuclear Dawn is an awesome game for both two totally different groups of gamers to come together and enjoy. The FPS is a fast paced class combat game that pays homage to the likes of Team Fortress and Battlefield. The RTS is unforgiving, forcing a balance between your own tactics with the strengths of your human units on the ground. Loads of different tactics and styles to play to choose from which makes ND a great game to pick up with your gaming buddies.

    Support is already excellent, the developers promise a ton of updates and that they will always be free. In short, the â
    Expand
  61. Sep 27, 2011
    0
    I think mostly fair opinion is:

    "Long time gamer here. I have played most of the titles in the BF series as well as a host of other shooters, though I don't particularly care for the CoD franchise.

    ND is a welcome entry into the pantheon of online shooters. I haven't tried commander yet, as I have been exploring the classes, mostly medic/sniper. Solid visuals (though not mind-blowingly
    impressive), gameplay, and pacing make this one well-worth your time if you are a fan of team-based, tactical gameplay.

    It takes a while to get used to the maps and become acquainted with all of the structures and what they do, but the interface is quite slick and, more importantly, useful. It would be nice, however, to have more info on how the game works than the brief tutorial vids offer, but there is also info available in this forum and elsewhere that will do the trick.

    I am having a blast so far. If you're on the fence, I would say go for it...the game is only $25.00, and it's easily one of the more innovative and entertaining titles to come out in some time." (c) Mike
    Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. 73
    So in the post-Call of Duty/Battlefield/Team Fortress 2 world of today, Nuclear Dawn will not have an easy time finding a safe place, not only because of the risk it has taken as a genre combination, but mainly because of the work that the FPS side still needs.
  2. 70
    Attractive combination of first person shooter with real time strategy delivers balanced action and tactical parts and offers a good alternative to other shooters. [Dec 2011]
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    65
    It's unfortunate to see Nuclear Dawn suffer from such simple errors, as underneath these tiny flaws is an above-average game with some new, interesting ideas at its core. If you're playing with friends or get lucky with a random server, it can be a lot of fun - but often that's not the case and as a result Nuclear Dawn doesn't quite earn the recommendation it's otherwise capable of receiving.