Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    85
    The only real flaw I can point out is optimization – Oil Rush slows down randomly once in a while. It does not impair its great playability though. [March 2012, p.46]
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    80
    It is not an epic strategy game like Dune but this little gem offers something for almost everybody: Beginners will not be overburdened while experienced players will get a challenge with the unusual mechanics and veterans can ramp up the difficulty level to get their money's worth.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Oil Rush could have been an all graphics, no gameplay showcase for Unigine, but somehow they have managed to make a neat looking and refreshing RTS that makes for a great evening in front of the computer.
  4. 80
    A surprise hit indie for me. It fails to score some high marks in particular areas, but overall is an exceptional endeavor and will offer hours of entertainment if you take the time to know it better. [March 2012]
  5. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    Oil Rush is an interesting hybrid that combines RTS and Tower Defense mechanics with a great success. Visually remarkable, and with fresh and addictive gameplay, we miss more deep strategy elements.
  6. Jan 28, 2012
    80
    Aside of being visually remarkable, Oil Rush is a clever and elegant strategy game that combines RTS and Tower Defense mechanics to create an interesting hybrid, not as demanding as a RTS, but more active and dynamic than TD, reaching an attractive and very well executed middle point.
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    80
    What could have been a messy title merely created to showcase the Unigine Engine has turned out to be a surprisingly polished and deep strategy game. Oil Rush isn't just a joy to behold in action, but manages to make an old genre feel fresh while looking the part.
  8. Feb 1, 2012
    78
    Oil Rush is a solid, nice looking RTS, with a good number of missions and a decent variety of maps. It's fun and enjoyable, especially for the fans of the genre, but it also suffers from a couple of annoying problems.
  9. Feb 3, 2012
    77
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Feb 16, 2012
    75
    For an engine company, Unigine has displayed some solid design with Oil Rush. It plays just as good as it looks, and offers a less micro-intensive strategy alternative. At its heart, it's all about unit distribution, and gathering that critical mass of firepower to shift the momentum in your favour.
  11. Mar 26, 2012
    73
    A decent game with an original premise, good graphics, varied missions and solid multiplayer - it's a complete package for a low price, despite its strategic limitations. The shallow story and poor voice acting really hurt the experience, though.
  12. 70
    Oil Rush manages to separate itself from the flock through a range of novel ideas and features, while still remaining accessible to all fans of the genre. It has a few flaws, but is still well worth getting.
  13. 70
    Non-traditional real-time strategy with a number of great ideas and small backlogs. Fortunately, the resulting impression is very positive. [March 2012]
  14. Feb 15, 2012
    70
    Oil Rush is simple, intuitive and technically sound. However, there is only one way to really appreciate its qualities: the multiplayer. Unfortunately at this time the online fan base is still very small.
  15. Feb 14, 2012
    68
    Enjoyable single-player campaign, fast and fun multiplayer skirmishes, great eye-candy… It's a pity that the game is so skimpy on the content. It'll take you just a couple of days to thoroughly explore Oil Rush.
  16. Mar 1, 2012
    65
    Oil Rush delivers a new experience within the Tower Defense genre and Unigine Corp. delivers a decent game. The flaws of Oil Rush are the lack of variety and freedom within the game. Despite these flaws, the game is a real brainteaser at times.
  17. Jan 31, 2012
    65
    The flawed story mode can be safely passed by, but if you're able to find an opponent online or skirmish against the AI it's easier to appreciate Oil Rush's strengths.
  18. Mar 23, 2012
    62
    Unlikely ever to fuel frenetic action akin to Galcon, or plumb great strategic depths. [Apr 2012, p.121]
  19. Apr 9, 2012
    60
    A game that has a great little concept, a wonky campaign, AI bots that aren't quite up to the challenge of challenging you and somewhat dodgy netcode. It's incredibly frustrating, because the core concept works, and it works well. It's just all the rest that's falling apart at the seams.
  20. 60
    Oil Rush is a refreshing and original game, but its over-simplification ends up limiting the experience.
  21. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The novel charm of Oil Rush is often marred by its strategic limitations.
  22. Feb 7, 2012
    40
    The Steam blurb for Oil Rush says it "combines strategic challenge of classic RTS with sheer fun of Tower Defense." But as far as I can tell there's nothing more Tower Defenseish about Oil Rush than any other RTS in which you build defensive towers -- which is pretty much all of them. I'm not sure Unigine knows what Tower Defense is.
  23. Jan 30, 2012
    40
    For the most part, this is a game about running around for five minutes and then a long grind of the winner winning until he wins while the loser loses. Press "F" to watch.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    8
    Gameplay: the tower defense / strategy combination is something that I find really awesome. It's very smooth and engaging. I feel like I'mGameplay: the tower defense / strategy combination is something that I find really awesome. It's very smooth and engaging. I feel like I'm really in command of these units, so when one of them goes down I swear retaliation and prepare more units for my cause.

    Graphics: Wow... just wow. I might be in the small percentile of people with "high-end" Linux PCs, but I can assure you that by seeing what this game looks like at maxed out settings it is worth it. Graphics aren't everything, but they're a welcome addition to a neat game. The water, world, and environmental parts are rendered beautifully and fluidly, and everything is as smooth as butter.

    I have been playing it since the beta builds and it has improved with every incremental update. The final release, version 1.0 was finally released today (January 25, 2012) and it's just plain awesome. Unigine have a fine game on their hands and multi-platform support (I play on Linux) is something not all too common in developers these days. For that, I commend them and their game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    6
    As far as gameplay, Oil Rush is a highly-polished version of Phage Wars and other node-based games (Eufloria, Galcon Labs, etc.). Course,As far as gameplay, Oil Rush is a highly-polished version of Phage Wars and other node-based games (Eufloria, Galcon Labs, etc.). Course, that's just dandy. After all, even Starcraft 2 is just a ton of cosmetics on top of a pretty simple 12-year-old resource management game, and that's why we love it! But speaking of cosmetics, the other reviewers are right. The Russian devs apparently tried to do the translation by themselves, and it doesn't sound good. The intro speech from the commander actually sounds fine, but after that it's a big mess. If you can shut your ears to the goofed up language, then it's an amusing and visually nice game. But for a game that prizes itself on cool cosmetics, they really boned the hound on the whole translation thing. Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Very fun game! Gameplay: it's like a speed chess in multiplayer: you need to make the right decisions very quickly, each wrong move can costVery fun game! Gameplay: it's like a speed chess in multiplayer: you need to make the right decisions very quickly, each wrong move can cost you the whole match. I'm glad that there is no micromanagement: you can concentrate on real strategy instead of moving each unit like crazy.
    Single player campaign could be longer (took me about 8 hours), but all missions are different, so it was also fun, especially for an indie game.
    Graphics quality is amazing! Eastern villages are my favourite maps, they are just beautiful.
    Conclusion: great looking cross-platform (Windows, Mac AND Linux) game with fun gameplay for just $20. I love it!
    Full Review »