Oil Rush PC

Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    73
    A decent game with an original premise, good graphics, varied missions and solid multiplayer - it's a complete package for a low price, despite its strategic limitations. The shallow story and poor voice acting really hurt the experience, though.
  2. 70
    Oil Rush manages to separate itself from the flock through a range of novel ideas and features, while still remaining accessible to all fans of the genre. It has a few flaws, but is still well worth getting.
  3. 70
    Non-traditional real-time strategy with a number of great ideas and small backlogs. Fortunately, the resulting impression is very positive. [March 2012]
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    70
    Oil Rush is simple, intuitive and technically sound. However, there is only one way to really appreciate its qualities: the multiplayer. Unfortunately at this time the online fan base is still very small.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    68
    Enjoyable single-player campaign, fast and fun multiplayer skirmishes, great eye-candy… It's a pity that the game is so skimpy on the content. It'll take you just a couple of days to thoroughly explore Oil Rush.
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    65
    Oil Rush delivers a new experience within the Tower Defense genre and Unigine Corp. delivers a decent game. The flaws of Oil Rush are the lack of variety and freedom within the game. Despite these flaws, the game is a real brainteaser at times.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    65
    The flawed story mode can be safely passed by, but if you're able to find an opponent online or skirmish against the AI it's easier to appreciate Oil Rush's strengths.
  8. Mar 23, 2012
    62
    Unlikely ever to fuel frenetic action akin to Galcon, or plumb great strategic depths. [Apr 2012, p.121]
  9. Apr 9, 2012
    60
    A game that has a great little concept, a wonky campaign, AI bots that aren't quite up to the challenge of challenging you and somewhat dodgy netcode. It's incredibly frustrating, because the core concept works, and it works well. It's just all the rest that's falling apart at the seams.
  10. 60
    Oil Rush is a refreshing and original game, but its over-simplification ends up limiting the experience.
  11. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The novel charm of Oil Rush is often marred by its strategic limitations.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 7 out of 26
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    8
    Gameplay: the tower defense / strategy combination is something that I find really awesome. It's very smooth and engaging. I feel like I'mGameplay: the tower defense / strategy combination is something that I find really awesome. It's very smooth and engaging. I feel like I'm really in command of these units, so when one of them goes down I swear retaliation and prepare more units for my cause.

    Graphics: Wow... just wow. I might be in the small percentile of people with "high-end" Linux PCs, but I can assure you that by seeing what this game looks like at maxed out settings it is worth it. Graphics aren't everything, but they're a welcome addition to a neat game. The water, world, and environmental parts are rendered beautifully and fluidly, and everything is as smooth as butter.

    I have been playing it since the beta builds and it has improved with every incremental update. The final release, version 1.0 was finally released today (January 25, 2012) and it's just plain awesome. Unigine have a fine game on their hands and multi-platform support (I play on Linux) is something not all too common in developers these days. For that, I commend them and their game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    6
    As far as gameplay, Oil Rush is a highly-polished version of Phage Wars and other node-based games (Eufloria, Galcon Labs, etc.). Course,As far as gameplay, Oil Rush is a highly-polished version of Phage Wars and other node-based games (Eufloria, Galcon Labs, etc.). Course, that's just dandy. After all, even Starcraft 2 is just a ton of cosmetics on top of a pretty simple 12-year-old resource management game, and that's why we love it! But speaking of cosmetics, the other reviewers are right. The Russian devs apparently tried to do the translation by themselves, and it doesn't sound good. The intro speech from the commander actually sounds fine, but after that it's a big mess. If you can shut your ears to the goofed up language, then it's an amusing and visually nice game. But for a game that prizes itself on cool cosmetics, they really boned the hound on the whole translation thing. Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    6
    To think about every RTS game,this game feels like lacking something from this game,and they lacking some gameplay.....and every time i playTo think about every RTS game,this game feels like lacking something from this game,and they lacking some gameplay.....and every time i play is....Click your army,Engaging,press "F",Capturing,build tower defense and thats all...Nothing new about this game...Graphics are good...just as expected from russian made game,water effects are good too....but others,feels uninspiring.And Story feels weak and dialog is poor.
    Not sure to recommended this game.But i just hoping this game would be better if they improve the gameplay....
    Full Review »