Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 41
  2. Negative: 12 out of 41
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    49
    It could have been a modern version of Hothouse Creations’ Gangsters 2 mixed with XCOM. But what you get is rather superficial in every aspect. The turn based battles suffer from an inconsequent and sometimes broken cover system, while the business aspects don’t offer any challenge at all.
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    40
    A flop in every aspect – should do time. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.74]
  3. 40
    Outside of its fights, Omerta is some sort of mind-numbing occupational therapy for the slowest of days, inside of them, it's often an incompetent carbon copy of much older and much better titles. It's not even that it's so bad that it's good. It's just boring and its plain existence is free of any relevance whatsoever.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    40
    A very good idea wasted on a poor layered structure is in a few words the essence of Omerta. An offer you can definitely turn down.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    40
    The blend of management and tactical combat in a prohibition historical context was a nice promise. The atmosphere, the jazzy musics, the deep gameplay elements, everything is theoretically there, except for one major thing: challenge. There is no tough choice, no difficulty in getting wealth and shaking the authorities, no trouble in the combat. Whatsoever.
  6. Feb 8, 2013
    30
    Omerta will certainly keep you occupied for long periods of time, but only if you’re punishing your attention span. The world itself is quick to drop you into the 1920’s experience, but never amounts to anything more than a lifeless shell. Factor in some embarrassing voice acting, painful writing and a reluctance for Omerta to ever truly let itself go wild with its concepts, and all you’ll left with is a hollow time consuming experience.
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    40
    A promising concept of managerial and turn-based strategy from the Prohibition in the United States era. However, its realisation is unfortunate. From the managerial point of view the game is too long, reminding Waiting for Godot. Entertaining fights are subsequently killed by repeating locations and unpolished cover system.
  8. Feb 8, 2013
    40
    Omerta feels like nothing but work, and dull, repetitive work at that. It's certainly not a success, but a soulless, bland, incoherent experience that frequently frustrates with its inability to capitalise on a handful of good ideas.
  9. 30
    You can see the basis of a good game here but Omerta gets almost everything wrong, from the shallow gameplay to the bland, characterless gangster atmosphere.
  10. Mar 30, 2013
    40
    Omerta's 1920s mobster charm quickly wears away to show its shallowness, and any hope of mob-boss stardom dies with it. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  11. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    Bland, boring, and turgid to the last - look to Tropico 4 for a fine example of micromanagement, or instead XCOM Enemy Unknown for turn-based kicks: Omerta: City of Gangsters deserves to be thrown in a trunk and taken "someplace up state."
  12. Feb 19, 2013
    40
    Aside from the campaign mode, there is a lackluster sandbox involving the building of a criminal empire without objectives or opposition. Go online and you can take the terrible combat system and enjoy it with friends, or against them, if you wish. But you won’t feel like a gangster, but rather an accountant with a penchant for real estate.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 52
  2. Negative: 30 out of 52
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    3
    I have played this game for about 8 hours so far and I have mixed feelings about it. The combat is very mediocre and I skip it whenever I can. I think the strong suit of the game relies in the economy of the game. That said it is extremely repetitive. There isn't much to build or manage and they make up for it by just making you start over for every mission. I really wish there was more of a persistent world thing going on. It's pretty simple and easy to learn but it is lacking a lot of depth which makes it mind numbingly boring after a while if you are a strategy game fan. One gripe I have is about unique weapons. Maybe I accidentally skipped something but I haven't found a single one yet and I've done a bunch of missions that say I get one in those missions. I end up buying most of the property on the map before I move on too, so I don't know. Would be okay if this was a 19.99 game instead of a 39.99 game. It just doesn't have much lasting appeal. Full Review »
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    0
    44.99 euro for this?
    It has been said before. You will pay a AAA price for a flash game.
    You will regret paying when you realise how utterly
    boring and shallow the game is.
    The mafia strategy genre is still waiting for a proper game adaptation. This is NOT it!
    Kalypso has taken the hopes of gamers for a good gangster game, and crushed what little was left of their credibility along with those hopes.
    No amount of patching (doubtful Kalypsoy will even make any) or the numerous amounts of expensive DLC (that will no doubt follow) will ever justify the price charged or the lost credibility.

    This is shameful, pathetic and sadly these days, not even original.

    For shame, for shame...
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    I like the game quite a bit. Is it perfect? No. It could be a bit more challenging, and it lacks a little depth in my opinion. However, that being said it's an enjoyable game with a number of great features. The music, setting and overall concept are fun and well thought out, there are just a few problems in execution. I do wish there was more extensive Co-op options. Full Review »