Omerta: City of Gangsters PC

Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OMERTA - CITY OF GANGSTERS is a simulation game with tactical turn-based combat. Taking the role of a fresh-from-the-boat immigrant, with dreams of the big life, the player will work his way up the criminal hierarchy of 1920's Atlantic City. Starting with small jobs, his character recruits aOMERTA - CITY OF GANGSTERS is a simulation game with tactical turn-based combat. Taking the role of a fresh-from-the-boat immigrant, with dreams of the big life, the player will work his way up the criminal hierarchy of 1920's Atlantic City. Starting with small jobs, his character recruits a gang and expands his empire by taking territory from other gangsters. Eventually he establishes his own crime syndicate and becomes the de facto ruler of Atlantic City. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 41
  2. Negative: 12 out of 41
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    84
    What struck me most was the potential. Omerta is a good game but if it succeeds, it has the potential to be a great game. Add opposing AI gangs and allow for turf wars to occur, shrink the building sizes on the strategic maps and give players control over many more buildings, and you have a strategy title that has no equal and is infinitely playable.
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Omertà is a good gangster game that mixes well the economic management with tactical turn based combat system. If only it could be more challenging and technically better.
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    67
    Omerta is the sort of game where if you want to play it at all, you should wait for it to drop well below the $40 price where it is now.
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    52
    A blend of XCOM and Tropico that boils down to shallow strategy in a Goodfellas skin. [Apr 2013, p.78]
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Tidy, but styleless visuals are the final insult. This game looks just as bland as it plays. It is neither good or bad, it just exists. It is hard to believe that this was made by the people who brought us Tropico 3 and 4.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    40
    A promising concept of managerial and turn-based strategy from the Prohibition in the United States era. However, its realisation is unfortunate. From the managerial point of view the game is too long, reminding Waiting for Godot. Entertaining fights are subsequently killed by repeating locations and unpolished cover system.
  7. 30
    You can see the basis of a good game here but Omerta gets almost everything wrong, from the shallow gameplay to the bland, characterless gangster atmosphere.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 54
  2. Negative: 31 out of 54
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    To be fair, writing this review on 27 June 2013, many months after the game's original release and after having very recently purchased theTo be fair, writing this review on 27 June 2013, many months after the game's original release and after having very recently purchased the super-patched version with all the DLCs, I cannot agree or disagree with the reviews of the originally-released version, which seemed flawed and incomplete. Consequently, my score of 10 corresponds to the version I have recently bought (and the only one I have played), which was enhanced by the major end-of-May patch.

    I only played the first mission of the Campaign, which is a first of many tutorial missions. After that, I experimented with various sandbox-mode setups.

    I'm not an action-game tactical fighter. Consequently, I do not mind if the A.I. adversaries are too easy to defeat in the turn-based combat encounters. Those do not happen often, and I find them fun, even though they do not constitute difficult challenges.

    I'm not a financial wizard, either. Consequently, I do not mind if the game's economic simulation of a criminal enterprise lacks "realism" and deep challenge. There is just enough pseudo-realism and economic interactions to represent a decent simulation challenge.

    What I am is a RPG player. I enjoy to design PCs (human-controlled Player Characters) and to play-act them according to their positive and negative limitations. In the sandbox mode, the game shines if it is played with such a RPG-style mindset.

    If you play it with a strategic and/or tactical "wargame" mindset, you will feel underwhelmed.

    Playing in a huge window, on my 1920x1200-resolution desktop, with 8x AA, after having tinkered with my video "Catalyst Control" settings, the game looks great crisp and clean.

    I'm having a lot of fun. I will certainly pay full-price if more DLCs or expansions are offered.
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I enjoy the game, It has sandbox so you can have your own freestyle play in several areas of atlanta city. I am sure there will be expac DLCI enjoy the game, It has sandbox so you can have your own freestyle play in several areas of atlanta city. I am sure there will be expac DLC stuff to maybe get other towns or more stuff to do. The camagne starts off basically you come to america as a european trying to live the american dream. You slowly build up a crew an then finally take on some of the crime syndicates to eventually create your own. I am enjoying the game but there are so lack luster areas. The combat is not like I was truely expecting its more so sim style then true RTS turn base. Cause you can simple auto play battle like if you were playing a game like King Arthur the role playing wargame but with alot less options...heh. characters can have different guns/weapons they use or specialize in an the RPG element is okay. I have to say overall the game should of been released at a price point of 29.99 not 39.99 but least i got 15% off via steam prepurchase. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now let's see... You got a great theme (for all Mafia/ prohibition lovers out there), descent battle choice (turn-based at last!) and an expectation that the mix won't fail you (as the price is high). Unfortunately the game feels unfinished... My main concerns lay in the absolutely lack of info/report regarding what your premises produce (in terms of "products" and like/fear rating) or what your joints or construction sites sell (again for both aspects). You should also be able to see the benefits received by upgraded buildings in this report. The battle is nice but missed shots when you are literally next to an enemy is a fail... As the game has something that gets me hooked and wanna finish it, I will not bury it but I'd suggest the developer to implement the changes (that I am sure had in mind but not the time to implement) and give content free of charge to all those that bought the game at full price. A re-pricing at 15-19 is mandatory and please add the option to be able to chat with your opponent/ co-player! Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    4
    Jogo muito ruim. Evite-o, principalmente se você conhece "XCOM" e sua jogabilidade infalível. Creio que os produtores precisam melhorarJogo muito ruim. Evite-o, principalmente se você conhece "XCOM" e sua jogabilidade infalível. Creio que os produtores precisam melhorar bastante este jogo. Não valeu o preço que estão cobrando. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    This "game" had plenty of promise. Best described as playing monopoly against yourself. Was going to give it 30, but took it down to 20This "game" had plenty of promise. Best described as playing monopoly against yourself. Was going to give it 30, but took it down to 20 because of what they charge for this fail game. Expand
  6. May 14, 2015
    2
    Every so often you come across a game that makes you swear never to buy a game from a certain studio ever again. Omerta is that game fromEvery so often you come across a game that makes you swear never to buy a game from a certain studio ever again. Omerta is that game from Kalypso.

    Awful game, just awful. It takes skill to make a game about prohibition era gangsters so gosh darn boring, but boy did they succeed. I can think of nothing good to say about this game.

    Seriously, the closest you feel like a real crime has been committed is the fact they had the nerve to charge AAA price for it.
    Expand
  7. May 3, 2013
    0
    I am not gonna waste my time trying to explain why this game sucks. Everyone else did a pretty good job of it. But I do not even think it isI am not gonna waste my time trying to explain why this game sucks. Everyone else did a pretty good job of it. But I do not even think it is worthy of a single point, this game is a complete rip-off at the price. If it would have been in the 10 dollar range I may have given it a 6 or 7 at best, but this is just a sad, sad game for a whopping 40 bucks. And to piss me off even more, they charge 5 bucks per HORRIBLE DLC content. Money all wasted. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews