Omerta: City of Gangsters Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 215 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: OMERTA - CITY OF GANGSTERS is a simulation game with tactical turn-based combat. Taking the role of a fresh-from-the-boat immigrant, with dreams of the big life, the player will work his way up the criminal hierarchy of 1920's Atlantic City. Starting with small jobs, his character recruits aOMERTA - CITY OF GANGSTERS is a simulation game with tactical turn-based combat. Taking the role of a fresh-from-the-boat immigrant, with dreams of the big life, the player will work his way up the criminal hierarchy of 1920's Atlantic City. Starting with small jobs, his character recruits a gang and expands his empire by taking territory from other gangsters. Eventually he establishes his own crime syndicate and becomes the de facto ruler of Atlantic City. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Omerta: City of Gangsters Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 41
  2. Negative: 12 out of 41
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    84
    What struck me most was the potential. Omerta is a good game but if it succeeds, it has the potential to be a great game. Add opposing AI gangs and allow for turf wars to occur, shrink the building sizes on the strategic maps and give players control over many more buildings, and you have a strategy title that has no equal and is infinitely playable.
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    70
    Omertà is a good gangster game that mixes well the economic management with tactical turn based combat system. If only it could be more challenging and technically better.
  3. Feb 4, 2013
    67
    Omerta is the sort of game where if you want to play it at all, you should wait for it to drop well below the $40 price where it is now.
  4. Games Master UK
    Mar 24, 2013
    52
    A blend of XCOM and Tropico that boils down to shallow strategy in a Goodfellas skin. [Apr 2013, p.78]
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    50
    Tidy, but styleless visuals are the final insult. This game looks just as bland as it plays. It is neither good or bad, it just exists. It is hard to believe that this was made by the people who brought us Tropico 3 and 4.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    40
    A promising concept of managerial and turn-based strategy from the Prohibition in the United States era. However, its realisation is unfortunate. From the managerial point of view the game is too long, reminding Waiting for Godot. Entertaining fights are subsequently killed by repeating locations and unpolished cover system.
  7. 30
    You can see the basis of a good game here but Omerta gets almost everything wrong, from the shallow gameplay to the bland, characterless gangster atmosphere.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 55
  2. Negative: 29 out of 55
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    To be fair, writing this review on 27 June 2013, many months after the game's original release and after having very recently purchased theTo be fair, writing this review on 27 June 2013, many months after the game's original release and after having very recently purchased the super-patched version with all the DLCs, I cannot agree or disagree with the reviews of the originally-released version, which seemed flawed and incomplete. Consequently, my score of 10 corresponds to the version I have recently bought (and the only one I have played), which was enhanced by the major end-of-May patch.

    I only played the first mission of the Campaign, which is a first of many tutorial missions. After that, I experimented with various sandbox-mode setups.

    I'm not an action-game tactical fighter. Consequently, I do not mind if the A.I. adversaries are too easy to defeat in the turn-based combat encounters. Those do not happen often, and I find them fun, even though they do not constitute difficult challenges.

    I'm not a financial wizard, either. Consequently, I do not mind if the game's economic simulation of a criminal enterprise lacks "realism" and deep challenge. There is just enough pseudo-realism and economic interactions to represent a decent simulation challenge.

    What I am is a RPG player. I enjoy to design PCs (human-controlled Player Characters) and to play-act them according to their positive and negative limitations. In the sandbox mode, the game shines if it is played with such a RPG-style mindset.

    If you play it with a strategic and/or tactical "wargame" mindset, you will feel underwhelmed.

    Playing in a huge window, on my 1920x1200-resolution desktop, with 8x AA, after having tinkered with my video "Catalyst Control" settings, the game looks great crisp and clean.

    I'm having a lot of fun. I will certainly pay full-price if more DLCs or expansions are offered.
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I enjoy the game, It has sandbox so you can have your own freestyle play in several areas of atlanta city. I am sure there will be expac DLCI enjoy the game, It has sandbox so you can have your own freestyle play in several areas of atlanta city. I am sure there will be expac DLC stuff to maybe get other towns or more stuff to do. The camagne starts off basically you come to america as a european trying to live the american dream. You slowly build up a crew an then finally take on some of the crime syndicates to eventually create your own. I am enjoying the game but there are so lack luster areas. The combat is not like I was truely expecting its more so sim style then true RTS turn base. Cause you can simple auto play battle like if you were playing a game like King Arthur the role playing wargame but with alot less options...heh. characters can have different guns/weapons they use or specialize in an the RPG element is okay. I have to say overall the game should of been released at a price point of 29.99 not 39.99 but least i got 15% off via steam prepurchase. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Omerta: City of Gangsters's gameplay can become somewhat repetitive and the sandbox and multiplayer options on offer will only entice aOmerta: City of Gangsters's gameplay can become somewhat repetitive and the sandbox and multiplayer options on offer will only entice a limited number of replays. However, this unpretentious mafia strategy game has an entertaining (yet somewhat predictable) story with a great 20s era soundtrack to boot. I thoroughly enjoyed the single-player campaign and if you enjoyed the campaigns in Tropico 3 and 4, set your sights on Omerta: City of Gangsters. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    I approached this game with a lot of curiosity yet at the same time remembered many games that were expected to be great yet somehow turnedI approached this game with a lot of curiosity yet at the same time remembered many games that were expected to be great yet somehow turned out to be bad. Well, this game falls to the latter category it's bad.

    The first thing that struck me is that the combat which was introduced as an important element is just a bunch of scripted events, where enemies are randomly dumped onto the area and the same fight can go completely different if you just restart it. The combat mechanics? Mixed feelings here you have options to use covers but those seem to have little to none impact on the fight. Also, the percentage of hit chance is a failure it makes you happy to hit 3 times in a row at 10% but when you miss 3 times at 95%, then something just feels wrong. Best avoid combat whenever you have the option to do so, as it's not a good experience.

    The economic part is just too damn easy, and that's all there is to say about that. Sure, the system with taking over buildings and redoing them to your needs is nice, but there is no challenge to it as everything is scripted and any combat where you might loose something happens once-twice in a mission. So unless you waste your starting money on stuff that doesn't generate income, you've basically won.

    All in all, this game is not terrible like some people here write about it. It's "just" bad a bunch of nice ideas were executed in a poor way, the game feels like it was made for a tablet of sorts, and the difficulty level is just a laugh. If you can get it for 10 euro, go for it as it has some nice parts that can keep you playing for a while anything higher than that is too much and you'll waste money.
    Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2013
    3
    The score is particularly low because I bought it through pre-sale and this game is THE reason why I do not buy anything before release...The score is particularly low because I bought it through pre-sale and this game is THE reason why I do not buy anything before release...

    What to say? A great concept, transformed into a bland execution, overall trite, with a dull plot and with the game mechanics outdated and not very intriguing.

    A failure... sorry to say that Kalypso usually gives to client a 50-50 chances: very good or very bad.
    Tropico is good? This is bad.
    As was some others titles from their library...

    The funny thing is that their games usually seems ALL interesting, before release, and then some get out bugged, half-finished or executed in an almost amateurish way...

    This is that last case.
    Expand
  6. May 24, 2013
    2
    In short words: very bad interface design, repetitive gameplay, horrible combat system. This game has no depth at all, and looks veryIn short words: very bad interface design, repetitive gameplay, horrible combat system. This game has no depth at all, and looks very unprofessional in all its aspects. It would deserve a 4 if it was marketed as a small cheap game, but given its AAA price, a 2 is well deserved. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    It's the worst game in some years, the problem are in the play method by turns because this method is very boring, the game is similar toIt's the worst game in some years, the problem are in the play method by turns because this method is very boring, the game is similar to Chicago 1930 but with a stupid and annoying method by turns DON'T BUY THE GAME and DON'T LOSE YOUR MONEY. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews