Orcs Must Die! 2 PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 492

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    7
    Really nice, fun gameplay. Can terribly drawn, the game is really nice, not too hard. Does coop or yourself can be really fun. For this an interesting plot and overall defense systems and weapons for our heroes. It is a pity that the game after a long time, but finally, terribly bored and really does not have anything special you do not have other tower defense games. But the game fun. MyReally nice, fun gameplay. Can terribly drawn, the game is really nice, not too hard. Does coop or yourself can be really fun. For this an interesting plot and overall defense systems and weapons for our heroes. It is a pity that the game after a long time, but finally, terribly bored and really does not have anything special you do not have other tower defense games. But the game fun. My rating - 7/10 Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    Orcs Must Die 2 follows the same action tower defense formula that worked so well in the first game. Included are some new levels, items, and monsters, a new playable character, and two new game modes, co-op and endless mode. Even with the new stuff, the look, feel and gameplay are pretty much identical to the first game, making it feel more like a standalone expansion than a trueOrcs Must Die 2 follows the same action tower defense formula that worked so well in the first game. Included are some new levels, items, and monsters, a new playable character, and two new game modes, co-op and endless mode. Even with the new stuff, the look, feel and gameplay are pretty much identical to the first game, making it feel more like a standalone expansion than a true sequel. If you enjoyed the first game and are looking for more, then you will probably like this game. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    If you played the original Orcs Must Die, you'll be disappointed. Gone are the tutorials in the loading screens, headshots, and the fairies, although I might not have encountered them yet. Also the maps lack a certain creativity about them. Still, the game is very enjoyable with all the new stuff added. I just can't help but think how much better this game could have been. Oh, and theyIf you played the original Orcs Must Die, you'll be disappointed. Gone are the tutorials in the loading screens, headshots, and the fairies, although I might not have encountered them yet. Also the maps lack a certain creativity about them. Still, the game is very enjoyable with all the new stuff added. I just can't help but think how much better this game could have been. Oh, and they kept those annoying purple things that none of your traps can seem to hit. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    7
    I never played the first, but this is a very enjoyable, unique gaming experience that has me hooked. The DLC is a bit overpriced, and the artwork is not very genuine, but it's still a fun title. I'd say about 7.5/10
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    OMD2 is a great addition to the TD genre of games and gives a new twist on the gameplay mechanics. However, there are some features that leave much desired.

    What OMD2 does right is that its *generally* fun to play. Then again, most TD's are. The idea that both the war mage and the traps share in the killing is a great mechanic. The idea that you can customize your traps is another great
    OMD2 is a great addition to the TD genre of games and gives a new twist on the gameplay mechanics. However, there are some features that leave much desired.

    What OMD2 does right is that its *generally* fun to play. Then again, most TD's are. The idea that both the war mage and the traps share in the killing is a great mechanic. The idea that you can customize your traps is another great mechanic. And the idea of providing a variety of different floor traps, wall traps, and ceiling traps, each with their own strategical options is fantastic.

    But as you play the game, you will see that this game not only caters to Co-op, but is made for it. Forced co-op ruins games, and OMD2 is no exception. The most enjoyable levels are where you only have to defend from 1-2 points; but unfortunately these levels are few and far between. Instead, you have many, many maps where you have to defend 3-4 openings, and with 2-3 defense points. This makes single player mode extremely frustrating at times, and it just becomes too much. Is it really necessary to have 4 openings? Well, yes if you want 2 players playing together.

    And the sad thing is, you dont really have any options to customize your maps. I cant disable the other openings when playing single player. The game is basically telling you, "you BETTER DEFEND FOUR openings, damn you, or play multiplayer. That's it. End of story!"

    Why cant I customize my levels? How about just do pure troll waves? Or how about a pure flyer level?

    The other major problem is that traps are not powerful enough. Even when fully upgraded, they only serve to slow down or cripple the approaching hordes of orcs. TD is named "Tower Defense" for a reason! There is something very satisfying seeing your concoction of traps slice, dice, crush, fling, burn, freeze, and zap orcs to oblivion; but their power output just isnt enough. Its up to the player to thin the hordes. Unfortunately, this just is not as fun as the strategy of your traps. TD is primarily a strategy game after all, it spawned from Warcraft 3. Blowing up orcs with my shotgun sort of gets old. Combine this with the fact that you have multiple openings, and if you're playing single player, you will be running around like a chicken without a head!

    These points have been discussed not only in this review, but many OMD discussion boards.

    These are the sort of things that prevent a "good" game from becoming a "great" game. I'm surprised, since this game is sort of considered to be an indie game, there is no toolset. There is no modding support. The modding community would jump on a game like this. New sets of both single player and multiplayer maps would be introduced in no time. This is a huge disappointment. I know there are probably some mods out there for this game, but its few and far between.

    Overall, OMD2 is a good game. It has the basics right. It's generally fun and polished. But there are several mechanics of the game that prevent it from becoming great. OMD2 is a great example of a game with missed opportunities.

    Hopefully OMD3 will support a modding toolset and more customized features. If they do and stick to the formula then OMD3 will become a classic.

    7/10
    Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    I wanna start off this review by stating that if you like Tower Defense games, buy this game right now. You'll love it. As for me, games like this get boring for me quickly. Its a great game, but after getting about halfway in i just got bored with it. There are only so many new obstacles you can give me and map changes before i get tired of it. Again, like i said, this is an incredibleI wanna start off this review by stating that if you like Tower Defense games, buy this game right now. You'll love it. As for me, games like this get boring for me quickly. Its a great game, but after getting about halfway in i just got bored with it. There are only so many new obstacles you can give me and map changes before i get tired of it. Again, like i said, this is an incredible tower defense game. This score just reflects how this games not for me. I had fun for time i played but im done with it now and dont have any incentive to go back and play unless im doing coop. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    I bought this game on steam when it was on sale I spent 3 dollars on this game. I am very pleased with my purchase. This game is a tower defense combined with third person elements. You are also able to take direct effect in combat with either the sorceress or the warmage. The warmage is a tanky melee fighter who can take more hits than the sorceress. the sorceress is ranged dps who canI bought this game on steam when it was on sale I spent 3 dollars on this game. I am very pleased with my purchase. This game is a tower defense combined with third person elements. You are also able to take direct effect in combat with either the sorceress or the warmage. The warmage is a tanky melee fighter who can take more hits than the sorceress. the sorceress is ranged dps who can take less hits but has more damage. These different play styles are also reflective in the traps you can place. Some of the traps are specific to the character in the end game and the early game. Like the sorceress has the acid sprayer and the warmage has the black oil. The traps can be upgraded by the form of in game currency skulls and you can upgrade each trap 3 times, and then give them a unique passive of one of 2 abilities that trap gets. This can also be done with the weapons and their are in game skins you can buy with the in game currency. The few things that hold the game back are its relatively short story mode. how exploitative you can be in co op. That for me just holds it back more then it should but I completed the campaign in about 6-8 on normal mode. The draw to these kind of games is trying to perfect your strategy for that one room you couldn't do just right and going back and trying to get it just right. There is always endless mode and the weekly challenge if you wanna keep playing and if you wanna find that new challenge. The longevity of this game is gonna be dependent on how much wanna perfect these strategies and finding new ways to combine traps. This game was above average but not great. Expand
  8. AWG
    Jul 21, 2013
    7
    I never played the first one but I have to admit this "Orcs Must Die! 2" is a funny and enjoyable game. Loved the single player campaign and the male character.
  9. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    awesome game but just a few things they changed like the orcs am I the only one that thinks that the orcs looked a lot better in the first game but there are a lot of improvements to like refunding skulls that is good if you decide you want different items and you can always get skulls in endless or the weekly challenge to get all the traps and other cool items in the shop you want alsoawesome game but just a few things they changed like the orcs am I the only one that thinks that the orcs looked a lot better in the first game but there are a lot of improvements to like refunding skulls that is good if you decide you want different items and you can always get skulls in endless or the weekly challenge to get all the traps and other cool items in the shop you want also I'm not sure if this is true or not but the amount of archers you can have went up and I liked that because I hate having to deal with air its hard to kill the air then get back to the ground units before they get close and that is a big problem later on in the levels and the multi player ohhh I lave multi player games so that was good and I hope they make another game some day but work ant the orcs a bit more and the story was a bit short sure you can go back and try to beat you're scores or play endless but I like more story line without having to buy dlc but again I still think it was a very good game with the coolest concept fps meets tower def Expand
  10. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    Multiplayer fanboys have ruined another great singleplayer franchise. OMD2 is nowhere near as good as OMD1 is. It is buggy, laggy, and just feels rushed. Singleplayer is insanely boring and uninteresting this time around. Sure, it's possible to finish the game in SP, but you won't enjoy it. Each map is designed with 2 players in mind, and it ruins any flow to the game. Not a single one ofMultiplayer fanboys have ruined another great singleplayer franchise. OMD2 is nowhere near as good as OMD1 is. It is buggy, laggy, and just feels rushed. Singleplayer is insanely boring and uninteresting this time around. Sure, it's possible to finish the game in SP, but you won't enjoy it. Each map is designed with 2 players in mind, and it ruins any flow to the game. Not a single one of the maps is memorable and makes me want to go back and try a new strategy. In fact, i found myself playing the classic levels more than the standard ones. Also, 80% of the traps and weapons in this game are reused from OMD1. Yawn. There is also the crossbow which is almost completely useless because of the totally broken headshot hitbox. On top of it all, OMD2 is poorly optimized. You will get massive framerate lag on most machines when you get near particle effects, and it's pathetic. There is no evidence of care or passion in this game at all. It's simply a cash grab. OMD1 was a great game, OMD2 is not. Multiplayer fanboys, please stay away from our singleplayer games. You've ruined another promising franchise. Expand
  11. Jan 7, 2013
    6
    More of the same old with co-op added. The single player is neglected this time around. This series is beginning to lose its charm and sense of humor. The story mode was half the length of the original and felt rushed. This game is worth buying just for the multiplayer endless mode.
  12. Dec 23, 2012
    5
    Very nice game, but:
    1. No Auto fire Option in Game (3 klicks = 1 Org = Pain)
    2. Bad Multiplayer gaming. (No radom players - just Steam friends ; Timeouts while playing)
  13. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    Great game and worth the money I spent on it. It's a simple easy to pick up and play fun game. Requires a bit of strategy to get the higher scores and extra skulls so it appeals to everyone.
  14. Sep 30, 2012
    7
    An excellent take on the tower defence / action genre. The game only falls short in the sense it really needs to be experienced coöperatively; and as this functionality is limited to online only (*no split-screen or LAN), the game suffers for it. The traps in OMD!2 serve only to 'soften up' the hordes and the bulk of the killing needs to accomplished by the player; something thatAn excellent take on the tower defence / action genre. The game only falls short in the sense it really needs to be experienced coöperatively; and as this functionality is limited to online only (*no split-screen or LAN), the game suffers for it. The traps in OMD!2 serve only to 'soften up' the hordes and the bulk of the killing needs to accomplished by the player; something that grows more and more apparent as you progress through the game. As such, limited 2-player options do significantly hurt this game in the medium to long term. Summation: The best TD game mechanically, but the lack of coöp options adversely affects the game's longevity. For SP play only, it's hard to recommend unequivocally. For multiplayer, a must-buy for TD fans. 7/10 Expand
  15. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    Takes everything from the original and makes it better. Instead of using a talent tree that costs gold per map to upgrade, there is a persistent upgrade system. You are rewarded skulls for finishing a level that you use to upgrade your traps, weapons and accessories. Being able to respec for free between maps adds a great deal of flexibility and promotes teamwork in the new co-op modes.Takes everything from the original and makes it better. Instead of using a talent tree that costs gold per map to upgrade, there is a persistent upgrade system. You are rewarded skulls for finishing a level that you use to upgrade your traps, weapons and accessories. Being able to respec for free between maps adds a great deal of flexibility and promotes teamwork in the new co-op modes. All 3 game modes can be played co-op and the monster spawns are adjusted accordingly, leading to different strategies for SP & co-op. Both this and the original are cheap and worth picking up. Do you like killing orcs with guns, bows, hammers, traps, pets, or even magic? Then this is the game for you! Expand
  16. Sep 18, 2013
    7
    More of the same as the original only perhaps a bit more difficult. Still fun but not much new that jumps out and pulls you in. I did not play co-op and prefer single player and that experience is perhaps a bit below the original for reasons given by others.
  17. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    Decently fun game, but nothing that would make heads turn. Worthy of the 14.99 price tag but lacking several key features. Being only able to coop with players on your Steam Friends list is pretty dumb, they need a coop lobby ASAP. I cannot see it keeping longevity without that.

    All in all a good fun experience, that could be easily complimented by better online integration.
  18. Aug 30, 2012
    7
    Had fun wasting some time playing this game. Would not advise paying full price for this game, especially with the DLCs already surfacing soon after launch.
  19. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I waited a month to buy this game and read the average and negative USER reviews. I never read the positives ones unless something is weird.
    Played for days and it's a challenging and fun game. A nice combination between FPS and Tower Defense with a very good re-play value. Different mechanics from the original game and co-op mode are still unbalanced and sometimes you run desperately
    I waited a month to buy this game and read the average and negative USER reviews. I never read the positives ones unless something is weird.
    Played for days and it's a challenging and fun game. A nice combination between FPS and Tower Defense with a very good re-play value. Different mechanics from the original game and co-op mode are still unbalanced and sometimes you run desperately around the maps to hold the hordes. Also head-shots are more like criticals than kill-shots what makes it lame. They are charging the DLC's so i won't buy none, nothing special to be added to this game so far, so why bother?
    Expand
  20. Oct 14, 2012
    6
    I LOVED the first game and played it around 30-40 hours. That's why I pre-ordered the second one. And there starts my disappointments one after another. First of all, the game is almost the same as the first one, yes there is a new character but her weapon choices are almost identical with the original character. The new weapons in the game are very very limited, I almost feel like I'mI LOVED the first game and played it around 30-40 hours. That's why I pre-ordered the second one. And there starts my disappointments one after another. First of all, the game is almost the same as the first one, yes there is a new character but her weapon choices are almost identical with the original character. The new weapons in the game are very very limited, I almost feel like I'm playing the old game only with multiplayer capabilities. Then there is the DLC problem. First of all I think the people who trust the developers and pre-order the game should at least get one of the DLC's as free. I hate the fact that I have to pay 10 bucks to play this game with it's new weapons and monsters, which I strongly believe is the way it should have launched in the first place. I hate the fact that Robot Entertainment came up with the DLC only 3-4 weeks after the launch, which means the DLC was already on the works or it was even ready to launch, they just want to milk the customers. No way in hell I'm buying those DLC's for 10 bucks, waiting for the Steam sales....

    This game is still fun since you can play with your friends, and I have almost 30 hours under my belt with the second game as well, but this doesn't change the fact that Robot Entertainment lost my respect and I won't be pre-ordering or paying full price for their next game. They just lost a customer because they are trying to milk us...
    Expand
  21. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    I absolutely loved the first Orcs Must Die game, but I must admit the second episode is way below my expectations. The biggest problem for me is that the newly introduced coop feature (2 players) has shaped the design of this second episode to the point of being very detrimental to single player.
    For instance, maps are balanced around the presence of 2 players (yes maps for solo and coop
    I absolutely loved the first Orcs Must Die game, but I must admit the second episode is way below my expectations. The biggest problem for me is that the newly introduced coop feature (2 players) has shaped the design of this second episode to the point of being very detrimental to single player.
    For instance, maps are balanced around the presence of 2 players (yes maps for solo and coop are one and the same...), so when you're alone, you have to run frantically around the map. Furthermore you can't rely on traps any more because they have now a bit of randomness : you can't be sure that no enemy will slip past your traps. So you have to periodically check, hence the running around the map.

    Bottom line: the experience is frustratingly difficult in single player and the fun's long gone.
    I still rate it at 5 because I didn't experience the coop part so it might be better and because the price is really low.
    Expand
  22. Aug 25, 2014
    7
    The problem about Orcs Must Die2 is: ITS NOT Orcs Must Die!!
    Not as good as its predecessor, but its still a good game.
    Too bad the best of Orcs Must Die is not present imho...
  23. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    The re-make of UI with customization of traps, addition of endless mode, new weapons and traps are good features brought by this installment. However, the good things I can think of simply end up here. The level design is much worse than OMD1, and the traps are less deadly as well. The fun of watching Orcs being wiped out by the traps, while players finish off the remaining ones is longThe re-make of UI with customization of traps, addition of endless mode, new weapons and traps are good features brought by this installment. However, the good things I can think of simply end up here. The level design is much worse than OMD1, and the traps are less deadly as well. The fun of watching Orcs being wiped out by the traps, while players finish off the remaining ones is long gone.

    The game simply become an action game with player running around to shoot the enemies weakened by the traps. At one point in game, I think I am just playing a shooter game with ability to set traps rather than a tower defense game with action element. It is just a chore in later stages of game, especially when you are playing solo, since the maps are mainly made for co-op purpose.

    Single player experience is of less fun, but co-op experience also suffers. There is no match making available, and player has to find a partner from their friend list in steam themselves.

    At last, there are tons of DLCs in this game, while the game itself has less maps than the original. All in all, this game just look like a quick cash-in for milking the hardcore fans before the franchise losing all its charm. A Disappointment.
    Expand
  24. Dec 16, 2013
    5
    I really enjoyed the original orc must die (35+ hours) and maybe had too high expectations on the second one. I only went up to level 10 or 12 and I have to admit I got already bored.

    The mine environment is boring and dull, and there is way less space to put traps on so you get no room for creativity. Most of your kills will be done by your basic attack and spell but very few by your
    I really enjoyed the original orc must die (35+ hours) and maybe had too high expectations on the second one. I only went up to level 10 or 12 and I have to admit I got already bored.

    The mine environment is boring and dull, and there is way less space to put traps on so you get no room for creativity. Most of your kills will be done by your basic attack and spell but very few by your traps. So you will end up clicking like crazy, which is not very interesting gameplay wise. On top of that your basic weapon feels off compare to the original crossbow.
    The orcs doesnt look as good as in the original.
    There is not a single feature which feels like an improvement... I didn't try coop though. But I already can't be bothered playing this game anymore. I give it a 5 for the fair price.
    Expand
  25. Nov 12, 2015
    7
    I liked this game and i think its fun however its not balanced at all for one player mode making it feel and play like a co-op only game, which it is fun to play with a friend but then i don't always have someone who wants to play this game when i do so that make replay kind of **** It could have had more variation in how traps could be placed as well every level feels more or less likeI liked this game and i think its fun however its not balanced at all for one player mode making it feel and play like a co-op only game, which it is fun to play with a friend but then i don't always have someone who wants to play this game when i do so that make replay kind of **** It could have had more variation in how traps could be placed as well every level feels more or less like there are certain places and trap layouts you must follow inorder to play at the highest settings so you can't really get that creative. however having said all that i did enjoy it and would play it more but everyone i know has moved on and the single player mode is only fun with a trainer may it should have included one :P Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    80
    Excellent shooter / tower defense mix with many great ideas comes with black humor, cooperative multiplayer, tons of weapons & traps and a gazillions of upgrades. [Sept 2012]
  2. Sep 16, 2012
    80
    In spite of its balance wobbles, Orcs Must Die 2 is a frenetic blast of co-op joy - the ideal 30-minute post-pint pick-me-up, be it a step-change sequel or not. [Oct 2012, p.106]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 16, 2012
    80
    Borrows a little too much from the original game but features some fantastic moment to moment action. [Sept 2012, p.58]